(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste,
I bought the Heinz cereal too, noted the instruction stated behind but i never follow it. Still giving him 1 teaspoon since from 2 wks ago. As my son dun poo everyday, sometimes skip for 2 days no poo, so i dun dare to give him too much cereal at a time. Does yr gal poo everyday?

Celeste,

When you give your gal 3 teaspoon of cereal, how many oz of milk to add into? I'm not sure how much the ratio is just nice for the baby now. Worried it be too thick and thus heaty......My son is on formula milk now.

Serene,
Oic....my ger poo everyday. Sometimes poo like 3-4 times a day. I wonder when will she start poo-ing only once a day. Cos some of my frens on BM told me their babies poo once a day only. And I realise ever since i gave my ger the rice cereal once a day she start drinking more water which is gd
I guess its becos the rice cereal is more heaty. So other than rice cereal did u give him other kinds of food? My GP told me dont start her on other stuffs yet. Only give her rice cereal for now.
For now. 2.5 - 3 teaspoon of rice cereal i will add 2oz of EBM to it. As for your case, mabbe if u r worried that it will be too heaty then mabbe u try using lukewarm water to mix with rice cereal instead of FM? cos I read can use lukewarm boiled water also

celeste,
Oh yr gal poo everyday or 3-4 times a day ah....so good! My boy dun poo everyday! That's the thing that makes me worry. This week, he never poo for 2 days already, hopefully he poo today...
Ok thanks for yr suggestion, maybe i will try giving the cereal mix with water instead of milk or i just add 1 spoon of milk powder to 2 oz of water.

Serene,
Actually as long as they are not having constipation then i think its okies if they dont poo for 2 days rite? Maybe ur boi is very gd at absorbing all the nutrients thats y got lesser poo? Sometimes i wonder if my ger is absorbing much of the EBM since she poo so much *sigh*

celeste,
with that amount of cereal, yr gal poo ok? how many feeding use FM or total EBM? my boy ate the amount like yours (but mix with FM.rest of feeding still BM) and after 4 days poo hard so i've to change to feeding via bottle mix inside EBM to increase fluid intake.

lyn,
u doing a good job on the plain water. how much can aloysius take?

stephanie,
my boy is using avent teat size no.2 now but going to try size 4 for cereal today. oh no..skip size 3 hope he dont choke.

kk,
for brown rice,u've to cut the teat but for heinz rice cereal M size teat still can? brown rice bigger texture? so more toys don't work? lucky i dont go on shopping spree for toys. during dinner also he same same want to sit with us so we have to put him on high chair but dont dare to put too long cause he's support not very good yet.

Celeste,
Besides the Heinz cereal, i didn't give him any other food yet. But i've bought 2 bottles of organic food. The apple sauce and sweet potato...hasn't give him yet. Not sure how much to give also, can't be giving the whole bottle rite? Then, can we store the balance in the fridge? Do we have to warm it b4 giving to the baby? There is no instruction on the bottle.

good morning mummies :D

you gals already making plans to travel... *envy*
btw, those that bringing babies along. how do you sterilize the bottles and teats on holiday? bring the sterilizer along?

Fi,

I haven't tried putting ger on high chair yet. She still tend to sloudge forward, scared later fall haha..

My mum brought the brown rice and si shen to chinese medicine hall to grind into powder form. Mix with water and boil to thicken, then put into FM. Maybe that's why so much thicker. I tried once before, and really thick! And my ger dun like spoon feeding for cereal, so no choice, got to do bottle feeding.

Heinz rice cereal.. each time i only put 2 teaspoonsful into 4 oz of FM. So still watery

Same as other mummies here, scared heaty, so i won't increase amount of rice cereal yet. My ger's stools very hard over the last weekend. We fed her apple juice and her stools go soft again

Serene,
those organise food in glass bottle, i read once opened can only store for 48hrs in the fridge. So I thought it was not quite worth it becos for our babies now they can only take a bit. End up might throw away half a bottle of unconsumed food kinda wasted. Thats y i saw those juice hor there is 1 kind for 4-6mths baby costs bout $1+ i also never buy. *lol*

kk,
I heard that brown rice very heaty so havent tried on my ger yet. So far ur ger take to the brown rice well?

vivi,
I think Healthy Times has organic cereals rite?

celeste,

i think so too. Is HT cereals the only ORGANIC cereals around?

how about those brown rice where we grind ourself. Is there also ORGANIC 1s?

kk,
how old is your girl? my boy is 5 months also slouch forward but support himself with his arm on the tray, same when he's on walker. don't want him there too early too but he's a handful these days...

vivi,
Healthy Times has many types of organic cereal.rice, brown rice,oat, barley...and it comes in cartoon, happy colourful box. happy shopping

vivi,
That i am not sure. cos I only know of HT organic cereals as i saw them in NTUC before

Serene,
Yuppies. I think those bottled ones maybe we introduce when they are like 6 mths old or wat will be better?

celeste, Fi,

will check out NTUC. Liberty supermarket only heinz n others but not HT.

Will checked out the organic warehouse near my office and update every1 here.

celeste blur,

My ger sian the brown rice already haha.. she can only take that once per day, second feed she dun want liao. Choosy girl.

i have tried bottled foods on my ger. I dun think she like it. Then hor i very naughty, last nite bought one small bottle of gerber's creamed spinach and put a little bit into her milk. She drank until halfway gave up!! Think she caught the smell and taste, so dun like lor.

I dun see any HT cereal at rivervale mall ntuc
Only saw HT biscuits on sale there yesterday.

Fi,

My ger going to 6.5 mths le.

Haha, same same.. my ger also fuss a lot recently, so we "throw" her in walker. But she also complained leh. SIGH!

Where to get HT cereals?? Cold storage got?

vivi,
I saw HT at Jurong East NTUC.
But I didnt see it at the Geylang Bahru NTUC near my hse.

kk,
actually how much solids shld we give our bb hah? Cos now I give her one solid a day. donno when is the rite time to intro two solid a day.
Speaking of mixing stuffs into milk. Last nite my hb fed my ger rice cereal half way then after tat i realise i forgot to give her medication (cos she's got cough n flu), so i added the medication to the rest of the cereal. When giving her the cereal she gave us a funny look as if the cereal tastes odd *lol*

Serene,
Do you know which website is cheap for Timberland shoes?
And babies clothes, do you know websites to get cheap OshKosh, Gap, Carters and Guess clothes?
What about toys? Are the toys cheaper in US?

Fi,
Now, he can take 50ml.. Gotta try to feed everyday..

kk, i also give my ger grounded brown rice with si shen once a day mixed into her FM...besides this you also give your ger cereal? I wanted to intro cereal but my mum say after taking cereal she dun want to take ' bi kor' liao so did not give her...

errr.. i understand from mrs wong that soy FM is no good cos it will make bb have retarded growth, so she advises us to stay away from soy milk.. think it's better to confirm with PD.

spicegal,

i find cereal more convenient than bi gor haha.. i am lazy mum :p

i didn't know my ger takes heinz cereal so well. I just wanna try and bingo! She is very choosy over all the market shelf products and so worried i buy she dun take. Luckily she accepts heinz rice cereal. i also mix the rice cereal with babana flavoured one (the one for bb > 6 mth) and she likes it

celeste blur,

i always got to add medicine into the milk, u know? haha.. my ger that time flu, so we fed her flu medicine with the syringe, she spit out everything, including milk!!! naughty girl!!

So from then onwards, any medicine we put into her milk. And funny leh, she doesn't reject haha.. now she is down with cough, so on cough syrup

spicegal,

if my mum take care of my ger, she sure reject to feeding cereal one cos she believe bi gor very good and other market shelf products all rubbish haha.. luckily my mil very receptive and accepts everything. Whatever i buy and ask her to feed my ger, she will do so

Imagine taking bi gor everyday, my ger will get sick of it too. So might as well introduce other food to her.

Sunflower:
the Maxicosi car seat i bot last sat is beige in color n the baby hyperstore gave us a cushion for the carseat for FOC. i think of buying the headrest, any recommendation? i m not sure wat is e retail price n its model, cost $279.

Pacifiers:
nowadays my ger using human pacifier n her fingers as pacifier. I notice 1 thing, During latching or bottle drinking, she wil insert her thumb together while drinking, hv to keep pull out her thumb. lol

kk:
the baby hyperstore bumper mat is e same as my poohbear which i bot from BP. haha. so no need pic.

duffybuffy:
same here bot Maxicosi carseat. what kind of travel hanging toy u bot for it? i m stil using the oral gel daily for my ger as prescribed by PD. do u think its wise to use it to remove milk residue?

Playpen bassinet:
anyone of ur bb stil slping in bassinet? mine stil slping in graco one. i think of removing it since my ger abt 7kg+. the limit of it is below 6.8kg.

msnanas:
wow u threw away ur BM. may i know how old is ur baby now n how long hv u BF? how u delay pumping, drag n let it leak? painful?

Fi:
oh end up i didnt go vivocity last friday cos too rush
alamak u forget to bring milk bag ah. so u endure til go home?

Cereal:
i wil start my ger most likely 6mths onwards cos early introduction might cause allergy. PD also advise me to start 6mths onwards

kite : playpen bassinet : heehee yah, i forgot that there is a weight limit !! my dd is 8.5kg already ! so i am using the bottom level instead ...

Celeste,

from what i know FM will cater its formula as close as BM. And for Soy milk, it for those lactose intolerance or for child who is having diarrhoea.

however, to choose the types of milk to give baby, its better to ask PD for 2nd opinions.

kite,

my boy same as your gal! -
During latching or bottle drinking, he wil insert his thumb together while drinking, hv to keep pull out his thumb.

vivi and kite,
sometimes my boy also put his thumb when latching. but often he likes to scratch his head, pull my hair and thump my chest.

kite,
ya din bring milk bag.edure and want to rush back but was stuck at toys r us but didnt buy anything cause wan to refrain from replacing my absense with toys. what's that oral gel for? which PD u seeing, good? i'm curious cause a lot of mummies refer to PD milk intake, for food reference etc.but i only go poly for jabs and a doc only see my bb at certain month eg.3rd month. 4th month the nurse say no need see doc.

kk,
very good of your mom leh..that means she have to prepare the bi koh herself. grind and cook a lot of work..

kk,
if u wanna give medicine via syringe to ur bb hor. Must slowly give. I try b4, jin ma-fan, for example if the dosage is 2ml hor. I will inject like 0.5ml each time into the side of her mouth so that the amt is very tiny she wont push it out. So must inject 4 times woh....tats y i give it to her in the milk *sigh*.
Tat time the GP gave her rotavirus via syringe also...aiyo...i was so worried she push all the syrup out cos it costs $100 woh! *lol* Heng she only push out a tiny bit.

vivi,
oic....I still tot whether to give soy or normal FM is up to the parents.

vivi,
I am not sure about Friso Soy GMO... It's not stated. Actually, I wanna give organic soy milk, but those gotta wait till 1 year old. Becos of that, I feel like breastfeeding till 1 year old, but it's not possible for me.. I will consider Prosobee cos FrisoSoy has sugar added.

celeste blur,
It depends on what books you read to comment on which is better
I will still stick with soy based FM. Gotta supplement DHA for brain growth...
Dun follow me till you find out more hor...

peng,
My friends' kids have been on soy milk since birth till now, the oldest ones I know is 5 years old already. So far, they are very healthy and active kids
and kids that do not fall sick easily...

A couple of months ago, there's an article in "wo bao" on organic babies. The mother is one of my friends. The elder one has been on soy FM since birth. Now he's wearing clothes size that of ang mo kids at 4 years old. He's only 2.5 years old. There's quite a lot of controversy in this area
Just follow who you believe

celeste,

better to check with the DR. Some babies are allergic to soy too. So gotta check.

Actually im more concern with the GMO issues for soy powder...

Will check the Singapore Food regulations & the FDA on Infant FM milk.

Also, gotta check with the DR NOT Nurses. Unless Nurses verify with DRs if can put the med in the milk cos some med are not suitable to drink with milk.

HTH.

hi spicegal/ fi & serene,
i've been giving my boy brown rice powder with mik since he's 3mth+, 1-2 teaspoons.. it's still in liquid form not very thick. in fact i'm planning to start him with solids and PD gave me nestle samples so thkg of trying. the rice cereals is without sugar/ milk. so if i mix, it'll be paste-like mixture.

I read somewhr that once notice bb has tongue reflex can try solids.. my bb can now stick out and roll his tongue.. and he has been taking brown rice for a while. so thk mayb can start giving cereals.. so shld i mix into paste-like or liquid?

kite,
I am also waiting till after 6 months then introduce semi-solids. I am also afraid of allergy and baby's digestive system development. I also read the recommendation is after 6 months from new research studies... Last Sunday, I just met a friend who started her baby semi-solids at 8 months...
Her boy is still active and growing up very well... Now 2 years old already...

My friend told me her breast milk dry up within 2 days when she tells herself that she's going to stop breastfeeding...
My mum told me her friend said drink "lemon grass" boiled water for 2 days and the milk supply will stop without any problems...
Maybe will try that...

lyn,
oic...thanks
i tink i juz go for normal FM bah. Cos I let my ger try Friso and Dumex Mamil b4 and she's okies with it so i might juz stick to something that she's taken b4

vivi,
I didnt know that certain medications are not suitable to be mixed inside milk to be given to bb? Because so far i gave her fever medication mixed with milk for once after her injection (ok by doctor). But for the cough n flu one i asked the nurse she said okies so i also do it. Next time think i will ask the doctor then

Serene:
wow melbourne tix sold out! I went mel in Dec 04, came back sunburnt n alot of houseflies along Great ocean road! Dun go during summer, too hot.

kk:
haha next time ask ur HB self drive. tat time we went we also self drove. very fun. dun like join tour.
Yes sad to say 1 of apostles collaspe.

Lyn:
same here. u starting at 6mths? wats e reason? for me, i m afraid its might trigger allergy.

Soy Vs FM:
Oh! issit? soy is not as good n nutritious as FM? hmm how, cos my ger already to similac. Think n guess i hv to BF longer. sigh
Else she has to take soy.

Anyone heard of Earth times cereals b4? how is this brand? heard organic cereals/brown rice is not as good as not organic one? anyone can verify this?

Breast Size after BF:
Hey after stop Bfing, does our b goes back to normal or smaller in size? how to preserve the size as e same as BF? hehe

hi kk/ celeste
my bb is oso on medication.. he has to take antibiotics once every evening for 6 weeks. So what we did is we bought a pacificer which come with an attached small container for medication. we poured the medication in and tighten the container, attach to the pacificer and feed him. he's more willingly to suck that then giving thru syringe. cos whenever we walk towards him with syringe, he'll cry. heehee.

kite,
My GP told me that most of the time the breast will be smaller than ur pre-pregnancy breast size which means it will shrink!! I shudder when i think of that cos i was not voluptuous b4 pregnancy liowz...cannot imagine it shrinking. I also wish to know how to at least maintain the pre-pregnancy breast size rather than having it shrink?

duffybuffy,
i didnt know there is this kind of pacifier? But my ger doesnt take to pacifier *sigh*

kk...my mum also very against feeding my bb other solids besides bi gor...hope i can persuade her to accept HT cereals bought from Mich's BP...

Any good recommendation on stroller? I need 1 which is not too expensive (S$200-S$250) range, lightweight and ample storage space below.

Kite,
I read that from the new research studies, babies' digestive system is more developed by 6 months. If introduce semi-solids too early, might cause allergy and not so good digestive system when they grow up. I do believe in this research work
Last time, when we were babies, the general consensus was to feed semi-solids from 4 months. That could be the reason why a lot of people are having digestive problems nowadays. It's a pretty controversial topic... I just follow my heart after reading up

Breastmilk is still the best
Both soy milk and cow's milk have their own pro and cons. Pat pat on your shoulder... You have done very well in breastfeeding
Jia you oo...

I am finding ways to store the breastmilk and to feed as long as possible. I might stop in Feb07. Start pumping and store from Jan07. Then baby still can drink breastmilk for another 2 months
That will be 10 months of breastfeeding, I suppose.. hahaha.. the new research studies recommended total breastfeeding for 1 year! That's why I quite "bu she de" to give up breastfeeding... I want a piggy baby.. so gotta stop and pray I will get preggie as soon as I stop bf... :p

celeste blur,
Really? will shrink ah? cham liaoz... If you know of how to preserve the original size.. let me know too.. kekeke....