(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,
the bumper mat is good! my son can flip a few times from middle of the mat to end of the mat loh....if it's normal mattress, he would have flipped to the floor liao!

Wah! Fiona just pooed 20 mins after my posting!!! A huge pool!!! Yucky!
Haha! Looks like everytime after i post abt her prob, she will poo! kekeke
okasan, wow 21 days??? that's v long!

mornign ladies! :D

kite and okasan,
i also bought the bumper mat before he's born! hahaha

i have yet to use it, i shd 'open ceremony' soon since he already started flipping.

am thinking of getting an exersaucer for him. what you all think of it? can be used long?

wow! the mats r so big! i'm just thinking if it can be used as wall mural! very nice leh! would be nice if the bb rm's wall has such a design.

i oso bought the bumper mat and a playyard surrounding it.. yes.. it's quite big.. it occupies 1/2 of my living area.. heehee but he seems to enjoy it esp the playyard with the activity panel.

btw mummies, anyone is using First Teeth toothpaste..bought it for my boy but hasn't started using it yet..

re: bumper playmat

ya good for bb to turn leh
And the design is sooooo nice hor! I got a vvv big pooh wonderland one and 3 other bumper mats... 2 of them still lying around in the bag cos at one time i was v obsessed with the mats that I bought so many... Joelle lies on it in the afternoon at my mum's place.. and flip and play on her own ... Samuel plays on it in the evening at our home... v useful indeed...

re: sunshine playhouse at toysrus

i was at toysrus opening in vivo city last sunday morning... lots of people cos of the sale... we got the step2 push buggy, superbig thomas the train set and FP bouncing zebra.... i wanna get the playhouse but worried it may be too small leh cos got 2 kids mah... but really is a v good price.. those who wanna get playhouse but have limited space at home should consider getting it

kite, okasan & mspiggy...wonder did we joined the same playmat BP? I also bought it before my bb was born...during Dec last year...kiasu mummies...

Tinklebell...wow your ger din poo for 14 days...luckily the poo decided to come out...haha...i will try to make my ger poo at least once every 2 days...try to give your ger water at least twice a day...a little bit will do...

Duffybuff...you bought the playyard for your bb already ah...did you join the BP? i was tempted to buy also but thinking will it be too early since my ger cannot crawl yet...

Thanks for yr concerns. Brought my son home from my mum's place yesterday nite, though still worry abt his condition but looking at him drinking more than normal, very happy and playful, it really soothe my mood and my worries are gone for that moment.
Since my son was at my mum's place and feeding him FM, I've since stopped BF and has been delaying the expressing time.
Any mummies who has stopped BF naturally, i.e. without taking any med, how long did it take to stop the milk?

RE: Poo
My son still poo after each feed leh... is it normal? When in hospital, the docs did ask me is it normal for him to poo so many times in a day. After the docs left, my hubby and I then start ponder if its really normal to poo after each feed??

duffybuff,
I just started using the first teeth few days ago. My son likes it alot, he keeps licking while I massage his gums. lol

kk:
the bumper mat is non-slip n very safe, very good. Yest i went Baby hyperstore, saw it selling at $119. So far ok cos my living room is very long, L shape kind, got space for e mat.

Car seat:
I went baby hyperstore bot a Maxicosi car seat at $279. its meant for 6mths onwards.

Walker:
i read that walker not good for baby's spine, not good for their back's development.

Okasan:
thats good. sigh my HB keep asking me to continue BFing beyong 6mths. i see how 1st. but i always want to stop anytime now.

Poo Poo:
I observed something. Wkdays my ger seldoms poo. Oni wkends when i latch her directly she wil poo alot. and can poo twice a day on wkends. i tink i overfed her cos every 1 to 2 hrs, i wil latch her until full. even gg out, along e car journey fr point A to point B, i wil latch her too so that shopping n outing wil be easier.

Spicegal:
i joined e bumper mat BP in May, not dec. hehe.

msnanas:
u mean u hv stopped bfing? but u stil express out for your baby to drink? think perhaps 1 to 2mths to stop e milk completely. ur son got teeth already? when is e exact time to start using toothpaste?

btw did u all give pacifier to your baby? heard its not good for their teeth.

my PIL keep asking me to give pacifier to my ger but i didnt give, end up i always use human pacifier.

okasan,

i don't have the pic of the playhouse. Its yellow walls with red roof. My fren say another version is white & yellow walls with green roof.

poohy,
you bought the FP bouncing zebra, heehee was tempted to get. but thot not yet. as boy still small for it.
But thought they do have quite good sales for some items.

kite:
is there a model for the maxi cosi that you bought? what is the actual retail price?

Kite,

It is really up to individuals whether they wanna use pacifier or not. For me, i dun give pacificier to my ger because it will really hinder teeth development, leading to "bugs bunny" teeth at times. And imagine, going out have to bring pacifier along. Heehee, pardon me, but i really dun like to see babies going out in their prams with pacifiers in their mouth. My colleague on the other hand say the babies look cute with their pacifiers!

Mine use fingers as pacifiers haha. Hopefully she will slowly kick off the habit. In fact it is unhygienic too. But good thing is, when my ger is out, she doesn't put her fingers into her mouth

hi spicegal & kk,
i bought mine from the BP some time ago.. i shared another 0.5 set from another mummy.. so bought 1.5sets in order to fit the bumper mat.

re: car seat
i tried my boy on the maxicosi car seat yesterday.. he liked it so much! he sat there quietly and looked ard the surroundings.. we oso bought a travel hanging toy that dangles down from the car handle.. he tried to pull the toy.. heehee.. today brought him to my mum's pl.. he sat on the car seat again.. hmm.. slept throughout the trip.. seems like he really enjoys and feels comfy.

though the sales mentioned that it suitable for bb >6mths but i thk so long as bb's head is strong.. shld be able to put bb in liao.

hi msnanas,
oh u tried the toothpaste liao ah? hmm.. then i shld start trying tomorrow.. how often do u 'clean' her gums?

hi kite,
the toothpaste that msnanas & i were talking abt is meant for bb 3mths and above. it helps to clean & massage bb's gums.. there's no floride or any other chemicals involved... can help to prevent bacteria caused by milk residue.

duffybuff,

The carseat is convertible ya? Or only front facing? My colleague told me for front facing, bb must be > 9 kg. Hmmmmm, i wonder whether i should let my ger face the front now since she has somehow hit 9 kg, i guess she will enjoy it better

The stingy dad say if tonite he win 1st prize 4D, he will buy the playmat, play yard, safety gates and videocam for my ger haha!

duffybuff,

I saw one type of bb toothpaste selling at watsons. I wonder whether it is the same tat u mentioned?

So we use the toothpaste to rub against the gums with our finger?

Where did u get the toothpaste?

hi kk,
ay, heehee i dunno abt the carseat cos it is a gift fm friends.. haha didn't really figure that out but we fixed it front facing.. thk it's only front facing.. based on the instructions manual. the manual states that it for bb >9mths.. but we tried putting him before we fix & he was really comfortable so we decided to fix it in the car for him.

as for the toothpaste.. it's called First Teeth toothpaste. I bought it from kiddy palace. but was really ex.. cos i realised that it's half the price in the BP... thk the BP is still on..

duffybuff,

i am also interested to buy the playmat & playyard. How much did u pay altogether? Any picture of the playyard to show? Other than the BP, is it available elsewhere?

msnanas,

my son also poos almost at each feed even at 3m+. I think that's why he's so small size. Did the PD say it's normal? Sometimes the poo is green and slimy too.

duffybuff...oic...i also interested to buy the playyard but i guess i have missed the BP...hope there will be another BP soon...so must buy 1.5 sets to fit the playmat ah?

msnanas & duffybuff...so fast you started using the 1st tooth toothpaste liao...din know that we can start using from 3rd mth...so have already missed out on a lot of BPs....

hi lok & spicegal,
i paid $157 for 1.5sets playyard. saw at kiddy palace, it's $119 for 1 set of 4 panels. I dun hv the picture with me.. but u can chk out haenim toy website for the pic of 4 panels playyard. As for the bumper mat, mine is the world map design so cheaper.. it's $115 i thk. u can chk out cheong choon store for the playyard cos the BP organiser oso ordered fm them.

spciegal,
not sure if the BP for the toothpaste has ended or not.. u can chk it out..

hi kk,
the toothpaste comes with a finger toothbrush which is made of rubber material. u can put it on yr index finger then use it to rub/ massage the gums.

duffybuff...i have seen the playyard before...very nice design...wanted to buy later cos that time find that its too early...now that my ger can flip, i think its time to take out the playmat now...

Still got BP for toothpaste? I go check it out. Thanks!

kite,
I just expressed and throw away. Too tired and lazy to sterilise the pump each time, label the milk, and warm up. Making FM is faster then warming up the milk.

To all BF mummies,
Keep it up, continue to at least 6 mths!

duffybuff/kite/spicegal/kk,
The toothpaste is for 3mths and up, so can use already.
I intend to clean his gums once every few days.
I got it from the BP, $8.50. After i ordered, then the other BPs selling at $8.
Retail selling at $19.50, so from BP its a GOOD BUY!

morning ladies!

bb poo-
I notice my boy poos frequently when latched. When on tbf/ mostly latching, ~ 3 times a day poo. On tbf/ bottle, ~ 1 time. On fm/ mixed ebm, once every 2 days?

msnanas,
since you not giving ebm to your baby anymore, then maybe try delay pumping so u can reduce pumping sessions and gradually to no need to pump anymore?

think to stop naturally, will need abt 1 mth? I'm reducing my supply gradually now coz intend to stop when baby is 6mth old this coming end nov

Good Morning Everyone!

Okasan,
Has been delaying pumping since last Wed. So far, the last pump was yesterday 4pm. Now abit engorge, maybe pumping later when bb sleeping.
558923.gif

msnanas,
how many times u pumping now?

btw, if u want to reduce supply, dun empty your breast...just pump till comfortable can liao...

okasan,
used to be 7 hrs once, then each day delay by abt another hr i think. So abt twice a day now.
Hopefully can reduce to once a day by end of the week! hee

kite,
did you go vivo in the end on fri night? i was there, weave through the crowd to get to nursing room to pump. but when reach there realise i didnt bring along milk storage bag so didnt pump! then wandered aimlessly around vivo, think without baby we feel a bit loss.i've always wondered when will life be back to normal, now realise the tiredness, etc etc is normal!

poo:
after eating heinz rice cereal mix with FM my boy's poo became so thick till he have to strain his face to get it out.feel so sorry for him when i see him like this.but he has been eating that once a day for 3-4 days already, so far poo normal till the last one on saturday. tried to giving him water but he push it away. so i let him latch on TBF over the weekend, hopefully it'll help.

how much water should give bb to help with poo? a few sips counted?

Good Morning!

On leave today!

Fiona just had her first hair trim... trim a bit only.... fussy and refused to keep still! Just enough hair to make the Taimaobi.

re: Poo Poo
My hub checked with a few PDs and they all say it is a bit unusual if never poo for 14 days
it could indicate that she is not taking enough milk so all are absorbed. One recommended that she takes a bit of cereal and drink more water. But i thought TBF'g dont need to drink water? And >6 mths is the recommended age to take solid? Hmmmmm..... anyway, think i will try her on a bit of cereals once my BP HT cereals is collected. Hopefully she will poo more often.

Fi, maybe yours takes too much that's why cant poo!
And must take a lot of water when taking cereal cos bb's digestive system needs to take time to adjust to solid food.

tinklebell,
oh oh..cause he like the cereal very much and have outgrown his tongue reflex.after cereal dont want milk and so cereal has replace a feeding!

think i shall try put cereal into his EBM bottle like okasan till his poo get used to it.that why he still get the fluid from EBM to balance of his cereal isnt it..

anyone tried avent teat when mix cereal into bottle? wonder if teat size no.3 or even 4 is big enough. shall try...

Anyone used infant glycerin suppositories? PD suggested this if really serious.
Dont think i want to try this unless she is cranky.
Does Gripewater help? 4 mths plus can take Gripewater?

Morning mummies...

Fi, maybe you are giving your boy too much cereal liao...cos my mum say cereal is heaty..so for the initial stage you try to give him a little bit...then slowly increase the amount...for plain water, i normally add a bit of gripe water, put into a small bottle and let her suck twice/thrice a day...never really monitor how much she is drinking..

Tinklebell...my bb's stool has become more solid since taking grounded brown rice...her poo comes out snake-like...usually she will poo everyday...but after taking grounded brown rice...she sometimes poo once every 2 days...so I dun think cereal will help bb to poo...

Fi, my ger is using bfree bottles...when she take grounded brown rice with milk, i changed the teat to cross-cut for the thicker liquid to flow through...

Tinklebell, i gave my ger gripe water from 2nd mth onwards..

spicegal,
what's the gripewater for?to make water tastier? my mil mention 'pu tau sui' add to water to make water tastier so that bb will drink.but i dont know what that is and concern its adding sugar into water so i rather cut down the cereal intake, solve the problem at its source rather than do that.

avent's larger teat has more holes (still same size, i observe) not different shape of cut.we shouldn't be cutting the teats ourselves is it?

kite,
do you still have that article about walker and baby's spine?my boy now likes to be in walker cause its a new toy for him!his back not really strong yet so he has to use his hand on the tray for support, same for his high chair. regarding spine, thought this position would be the same as though we are carrying him in sitting position?

Fi,gripewater is 'Fei Zai Shui',i think your MIL is referring to that,its to prevent colic and reduce wind in bb's tummy, i have been adding that to plain water for my ger to consume since 2nd mth.

You can test the flow of the teat by filling it with water and watch the flow...avent larger teat has more holes but is the hole big enough for thick liquid to flow through? Bfree teats stage 3 has bigger hole but still not big enough for the grounded brown rice mixture to flow through so I bought the cross-cut teat...i feel that its unsafe to cut the teat ourselves..somehow thinking that if we did not cut properly, a portion of the teat plastic may come off and kana eaten by the bb...quite paranoid about this..