(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

oki,

I went to people's park yesterday, hub ask me to check out the tour but i didn't. In dilemma, worried i will miss bb, also the place i want to go is too ex. Then tic to melbourne for year end is fully booked!

wld like to give my bb cereal.. just wondering how much to give bb.. my PD gave me so many packets of nestle rice cereals. hee. but how much shld i give? pls advise. read the instructions.. the sample pack requires 200ml to milk to mix. so nt sure if i can mix whole pack for bb.

Serene,

I am going for 3D2N cos wiil be missing bb. Taking Jetstar & will be staying at Arnoma
Paid close to $400 inclusive of taxes (excludes 500 baht)

If u go far far, sure go for many days... like that I also will be having difficulties to leave my ger alone with her ah ma. Doubt I can enjoy cos will be missing her lor

Aussie in Dec, weather very hot leh !!

Duffybuff,
do be careful not too much cereal at the start.my bb already straining to poo and could only see this 3-4days after he try. Nestle has sugar added?

spicegal,
my mil say its not 'Fei Zai Shui'that she's refering to. but 'pu tau sui' direct translation will be 'grape water'.

i'm quite concern of my boy in walker.my girlfren also told me to be careful cause spine not strong enough to support themselves yet.but mil is now using it, always like to compare to sil's kids.if they can use, why can't i? if sil's kids can eat this why can't mine? and they like to talk about which baby can do, walk,etc..by when.so must practice to strengthen this and that. a lot of times in law side also carry off my boy to sleep,play, meet other relatives etc while i stand around like decoration and only needed to BF.sometimes i feel like a coward for not insisting and stand up for what i believe is good for my boy.

oki,

$400 is quite ex for 3D2N Jetstar! Which agency you book with?

I thought Dec still not as bad(hot) compare to Jan/Feb...my brother is there, so thought we can meet up too.

Duffybuff...ya i agree with Fi...start with 1 teaspoon 1st, then slowly increase the amount...you can open the cereal sachet and pour them into a container, then add 1 teaspoon to milk for your bb to try...

Fi..oh...then its the blue container glucose powder...i heard my mum say its not advisable to give to bb less than 1 year old...cos its actually powdered glucose...

Okipoki...do enjoy your trip...your package quite expensive...could be now jetstar asia air tix no special promo bah...during my trip i also paid $261 for my air tix early this month, plus 1 night hotel stay, cost me total about $320..excluding airport transfer...quite expensive also becos we booked at the last minute...

serene/okipoki,

I went melbourne in dec still ok. Great ocean road cold winds blowing!! Shiok haha..

But never go perth in dec. Temperature as high as 38 degrees! MY whole body sweat! Imagine i am not one who sweat easily. Whole tee wet leh, horrible. And our stupid coach small and hot. Southwest still ok, but still warm, except for evening breezes.

Serene,

Ya lor, I remember I paid such price for Pratuwan Princess few years back. Anyway, the airport tax has increased @ SG. I booked with City99 @ People Park.

Spicegal,
Probably u are right, no promo now. Mine includes airport transfer
Btw, u book seperately is it ? Which airline and which hotel ? Me also last min, juz booked on Sat and flying the following Sat

serene,

Melbourne is a very nice place! Me and hubby miss it a lot
My hubby say next time he go great ocean road, he will try self drive

12 apostles there is no longer 12 apostles already. A few has fallen, i think left only 8 there? And there was a newspaper report that said one has just fallen. SIGH! What a pity!! And we really feel for it, especially when we have been there before

this am brought bb jake for his final 6 in 1 jab. he weighs 8.57 kg now.

spicegal, i plan to start bb jake on cereal. you mentioned start off one teaspoon of cereal mixed with milk, but for how many days do we do this before we increase the qtty? Do we add this teaspoon of cereal for all milk feeds, or just one per day?

okipoki..i also fly by jetstar asia...booked directly through their web page...as for hotel, i booked from precision reservations...cheaper priced then asiarooms...

amy...start off with 1 feed per day, each time 1 teaspoon, then you monitor his poo for a few days to 1 week, when he seems to be ok, you can increase to 2 teaspoon, but only feed once a day, preferably in the morning, to give their digestive system more time to digest. So far my ger has been taking grounded brown rice (bi kor) for almost 3 weeks liao, but i did not increase the amount, i continue to give her 1 teaspoon mix with milk for her morning feed...

kk,
I've been to Melb in Sep 2003, been to great ocean road too! Can't rem how many apostles left that time haa! I experienced self drive, along the great ocean, the twist and turn road and also drive up to Mt Buller. It's great experience!
Too bad, my hub never go with me the other time...

spicegal, ok... one teaspoon only. with milk, can use Avent teat 3? dunno whether the cereal will be stuck in the milk bottle anot... hee hee...

oki,

I've checked with Farmosa Holiday just now, they quote me $208 by thai airways. I think 208 must be 3D2N excl. tax.

Re: Melb

I enjoyed my trip very much the last time esp self drive out of the suburb area, the scenery is so nice and carefree....really miss it! The wine and beer there very cheap, nice.

duffybuff,

thks for info. The playyard is suitable for which age group? Is it high enough so there's little risk of bb climbing over it? My bb also loves his Britax Royale car seat which i bought last week. Allows him to have a view and he usually falls asleep.

poohy,

is your playyard also from haenim? I'm keen to shop around before decided which one to buy.

tinklebell,

last friday, i open my gate big big to catch a glimpse of your family but so fast u disappeared. Still dunno how u look like..

serene,
i chose the one you chose but add $20 to make the name stamp on the gourd.
Wh box did u get?

Lok,
ya loh... noticed ur family was at home when we left... but i didnt see anyone in the living area. M/o, my boy was sleepy so we left quickly. What time u normally come back? maybe this week i can pop by to say hello to u n yr family

tinklebell,
if never poo many days, it's coz baby take just enough of bm or not enough...for my case, my son used to poo once every week....when I intro cereal into the ebm when he's 4mth old, he poo everyday now....poo is still soft, just like when he drink ebm without cereal...

btw, when babies grow older, even if they are total bf, they still need water....for infant, no need water, bm is enough for them...but older babies will perspire or drool, hence loss of water...

when I fed my son water, I realise he's actually thirsty loh....eso when he sweat or drool alot or after his sleep....

fi,
my son poo everyday after eating cereal...if your baby is opposite, maybe u need to give him some water....also coz u give him in paste form so maybe that's the reason, less fluid consumption....

maybe u can try avent teat no. 4....think I saw a few mummies used that for cereal feeding in bottle....u try first, if your baby keep choking or milk comes out of his mouth, then it's too big for him, then u switch to no. 3 loh....

for my case, I just bought the biggest pigeon wide neck teat, let my son drink...he choked a few times, then soon, get used to the flow liao...

re: gripewater

for me, I only give my son plain water...coz I want to train him to drink plain water...if now intro drink with flavour, they will learn to reject water loh...actually, one doctor friend of mine told me before that no other fluid - gripewater, glucose water, barley water, fruit juice...is as good as plain water...and that we should cultivate our kids to drink plain water from young

duffybuff,
no need to follow instruction on the amt of cereal to give...try 1 small teaspoon to test your baby response..then add more if deem neccessary....

tinklebell,

i was the only one at home last friday when u left (watching tv on the sofa). BB was still at my in laws place cos my hubby had a company function so no car to bring him back. Must be too petite, that's why u didn't see me.
Usually bring back around 8+ to 9pm.

oki,

I didn't check with them about the hotel cos they seems too busy to antertain me on phone!

spicegal,

I've forgotten the hotel that i've stayed but it's near chinatown, 3 star hotel only but convenient as the train station is just outside the hotel.

tinklebell

I didn't buy the box for the brush, find it too expensive...maybe i will ask my dad to look for 1 in china when he goes next Feb.

okasan,spicegal and okipoki: my mil said it is the blue tin glucose
i want to create healthy eating habits for my child, so no sugar.

okasan and amy,
i'm going to try avent teat no.4 see if cereal can come out.if not mil say want to self cut the teat already!
any muummies self cut the teat?

okasan,
maybe the pigeon wide neck teat can fit avent bottle?

Fi,

How much cereal are you giving to your baby? I've added 1 teaspoon cereal to the 6oz milk and using avent bottle with teat no.3. It's flowing perfectly fine. How come you need to use teat no 4 so early? It's ok to cut the teat yrself if you know to do it. In the olden days, most of the mummies cut it themselves including my mum and my MIL. But nowadays the teat comes with various sizes for various stages' needs so no need to cut it yrself unless yr present teat still new and you don't wish to change it.

serene,
sigh sigh..cause i'm not at home to experiment all this.afraid trouble my mil so i just pass her the biggest i have which is a no.4,somemore the quantity of hole increase but not the size right. all these to avoid my boy drinking glucose water
but i'm real happy to hear from u that even no.3 works, hope to hear my boy happily drinking when i come home this evening.

kk,glad to hear that you also cut the teat.guess i just need some assurance.

nowadays mil also tell me that my boy want to be carried and accompanied all the time, so getting difficult to take care leh
maybe he doesnt have enough toys...

Serene,
U giving ur bb cereal via bottle? I now give my ger 2.5-3 teaspoon of rice cereal with about 2 oz of ebm mixed and feed her via spoon.

fi, serene

are your babies using avent teat 3 now? my gal doesnt seem to get used to it...she gets frustrated easily and i have since reverted back to no 2.

Fi,

no no, may not leh.. my ger starting from one stage also want to be carried and sit on our laps. Especially when we are having dinner, she would want to watch us eat, as well. She will scream if placed in walker haha.. despite giving her toys, she is not interested. I dun think she doesn't have any toys. She dun even look at them haha.. waste my money

stephanie,

Some babies are less adaptable to new changes. I dunno about avent teats, but my ger stick to S sized pigeon teats till around 5th mth when i started feeding her heinz cereal through bottle. The texture is thicker, making use of M sized teats possible for her.

amy,
wah... Jake is growing very well on your breast milk...

okasan,
I also think better to feed plain water
. I started to feed plain water about 3 weeks ago, slowly Aloysius is taking more and more water each day

Wah... most of you starting cereals already.. I think I will start at 6 months.

Do you gals have any recommendations what to buy from San Francisco? My sis is going there for one month. I am thinking of ordering things there and ask her to bring back.. Anything to recommend?

lyn, tinklebell,
great meeting u and ur darlings, sorry if my Irvin's wailing gave everyone a headache :p . Thanks for the lunch treat too, so paiseh. Haven't had time to transfer the pics from my mobile...

560404.jpg

So anyway here's some of Irvin laughing and smiling instead of wailing, hehehe.

Celeste,

You giving 2.5-3 teaspoon already ah? I hasn't increase the amount of cereal yet, worried his poo will be hard, monitor 1st. No matter what, my boy is drinking formula milk so compared to BM, still more heaty. Did you mix it thick or watery?

stephanie,

I think individual baby is diff. If you use teat 3 and if it's too fast flow for yr gal, milk spill out, then you have to stick to no.2 teat 1st...it's perfectly alrite as long as you gal drinks well. My son is ok with teat no. 3 now.

Serene,
Yuppies...i started giving her rice cereal 1+week ago. Then I followed according to the instructions lor. 1st day is half teaspoon. Then 2nd day is 1 teaspoon. 3-5 day is 2 teaspoon then after that 3 teaspoon.
At first i mix it watery for first 2-3 days. After that i make it more gluey kind. So far she takes to it quite well

lyn,
Are you shopping for yrself or yr son? I think for USA, to buy their local brands is most worthwhile. If you buying for yrself, will be GUESS, Timberland, Forever21, Coach, etc. For babies, will Baby Oshkosh, BabyGap, BabyGuess, Carters etc.