(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Fi,
I think its best not to freeze EBM in glass container. I store my frozen eBM in those milk bags isntead. As for puree, I am planning to store it in those ice-cube containers but GP told me not advisable to give my bb puree yet cos she is juz 4 mths 1 week old now.
She told me to juz give her the Heinz rice cereal for 4mths old bb instead.

fi,
ya, should eat variety of food loh...coz breastfed babies are supposed to be more ready for normal food coz they already taste them when drinking bm....if u restricted your diet to only a few food, then defeat the purpose loh...

think next time, my son will love coffee and spicy food :p

kite,

To reduce milk supply, try to drag the time interval between each pump.

re: variety of food
I think its good that we eat a variety of food so that our bb can taste the different subtle taste in the milk. Read that mummies who ate carrots when pregnant & BFing, their babies take to carrots easier than mummies who don't, just an example given by the book. Also variety of food ensure that we get all the required vitamins & minerals.

so now, I try to eat more carrots & tomatoes - haha cos these are the 2 vege that I don't really like.
so hopefully my boy will take to these 2 vege.

sunflower,
ya, eat more veggies....kids tend to reject veggies coz of the raw taste...so by eating more now, they taste it in the milk, so they more likely to accept veggies when they start eating solid food

msnanas:
don't feel that way. All of us wil get sick at one time or the other. Life's not a bed of roses. You are giving the best you can to your bb.. your love and tender loving care

take care of yourself & keep your spirits up!

okasan,

my boy always barefoot at home. At nite, then I let him wear long pants with 'feet' cos I switch on aircon.

keke... sometimes when we go out, I also let him barefooted especially in the morniing/afternoon when its hot, unless going to aircon places.

Ok thanks. wil try to reduce drinking at nite. i think last nite i drank a glass of orange n a bowl of soup. But while sleeping, i didnt feel anything wrong or full. Guess i need to set alarm clock.

Btw Tapioca leaves helps to prevent blocked ducts as stated from the newspaper.

Okasan:
No. i never let my baby barefoot cos her foot always feel cold n icy if never wear socks. But sometimes if sweaty, i wil take it off n air it awhile n put socks back

msnanas, cheer up. very soon you will be out of this down period, and you will forget this unhappy incident. actually, most of the time, our bbs are not even bothered by any illness or discomfort, as long as mummy is there by their side.

poohy, wow... joelle so happy in the exesaucer. how is she these days? must be enjoying her swim sessions huh? I didn't bring jake swimming for quite some time... rashes and haze... been swimming at home though, maybe will do so this weekend.

lyn, sometimes i work from home when my mum is looking after jake. can take breaks in between to say hi to him... but i still find it's relatively easy to concentrate on my work. think it's easier to work from home than bringing your laptop out. hee hee... think you will miss aloy more...

okasan, bb jake goes barefoot at home.

frozen EBM:
milkbags: my ILs find it more troublesome. they prefer bottles. So will store in bottles still.

does any of your frozen EBM takes long to thaw? even if I move it down from freezer to fridge the nite before, in the morning, its still frozen ice.

okasan, sunflower, amy
I also let my ger go barefooted at home. Only when at nite when we on the air-con to sleep then we will let her wear socks

Sunflower,
I normally take the frozen ebm out the nite b4 to the fridge to let it thaw overnite. But normally next morning will still have a bit of "ice" in the ebm
then i juz pour into the bottle and heat up the bottle using a hot glass of water.

Frozen EBM:
its ok to put in the fridge to thaw overnite but usually its still frozen. My mum will normally thaw e milk at room temp and serve it immediately for my ger.

msnanas,

I'm sorry to hear that both u and yr baby is sick. Please don't be dishearten, don't say regret giving birth to him. The more difficult it is, all the more you have to be strong. You must take good care of yourself and get well soon so that you can take care of your baby. I'm sure your baby will get well soon. Best wishes.

Medusa: ok, will go check babiesandcream webby. thanks! yup, i have an LJ , do you ??

Lyn: i know, i read up on some, but thinking of going to the class to learn "properly" heheee

Stephanie: Dont worry, they are usually a bit "off" after the jabs ... poor things right ??
jsut cuddle more often

okasan,

During the daytime, i let my son barefoot. But at night time/bedtime, he either wore jumper suit with foot covered and mittens still or will wear mittens and booties.
My mum says he's so old already, still wear mittens and booties but he sleeps with me in aircon, if i dun let him wear that, his hands and feets will be cold.

lyn,

You're right, baby's smile and laughter will melt our hearts...Even when he cried with tears dripping, i feel so xin tong....

which milk powder do you intend to give your darlings when you stopped bf-ing? am doing research now :D

so many of you let your babies barefoot when at home...think I'll also let my son goes barefoot liao....think better for them too right? coz they can use their feet to feel things too

okasan,
at home my boy barefoot cause he like to play and eat his toes, if wear boots he'll eat them.

stephanie,
after jab my boy always fever, about twice.last month me and HB still bring boy out to shop after jab, till fever then we bring home.cause the parents gian to go out play, take childcare leave and shop.less people on wkday.

mspiggy,
same here, doing research on formula milk too coz intend to stop bf next mth when baby is 6mth old...so far, u got shortlist any?

fi,
wow, your son can eat his toes liao...mine recently only start to hold his legs....

same here, everytime I bring my son for jab, I'll also go shopping!!

okasan,
i also let my son go barefooted even when he sleeps in aircon room.

i've been supplementing him with Friso 1 so far, not sure if i shd go on with Friso 2.

Mspiggy , okasan

My hubby has been researching on FM even b4 gal was borned :p....according to him, the stage 1 FM are the same for almost all the brands. However when it comes to stage 2 ( 6 mths onwards), Friso is a bit 'inferior' cos its AA, DHA components are very very little as compared to the rest. So, we might switch to Similac....

okasan: hehee, i envy your coffee !!!
when i drank teh-si, my dd refused to sleep the whole night ! so now i refrain from taking caffeinated drinks ...

okasan,
cause my boy DOB is late may,that's why earlier.last time i join may thread but my boy's development too slow for that side so i've been joining here lor.
when they suck toes very cute must capture on video, if over the stage they won't perform anymore. last time when they discover existence of their hands also very cute. he'll stare at his hands,or aim his hands at his mobile, but each time i take out the camera he'll be distracted so i miss that phase.

but polyclinic don't give mc

kite: hope it works for you !
i think sld take more though ... hehee, i used to take like heaps of tablespoon on my rice- and eat wif dishes.
after that, my engorgement became better, in fact, now i can pump once/ 4 hrs, and i dont feel uncomfortable.

fi,
my son also late may...he's a few days older than yours

one bad point abt having jabs at polyclinic is no mc loh....told my hubby liao..next time if gonna have 2nd baby, will have jab at GP or PD...although more ex, but can get mc, better loh :p

okasan,
don't matter when flip,when etc..read a funny website before that says as a general rule of thumb, which adult don't know how to flip.
my boy also took a long long time to steady his head cause i think too heavy

ya, already pay 5 in 1 jab, cannot pull out liao. somemore have to queue for hours.no mc really wasted leave.

eating my chicken rice now. yum yum..

Fi: you mean GP can give U MC for taking your kid to get a jab ??
heehe, i normally schedule my shopping with my baby's jab, so can go jalan jalan after her appointment

fi, okasan

ya lor, i just found out on monday that the nurse at polyclinic cannot issue mc...she told me want mc can, but have to see a doc and pay $4 for it.....

okasan,

If you are letting yr son to sit on walker or exersaucer, it's better to be barefoot so that he can feel it and not slippery too.

k ong,

You bring yr baby go jalan jalan after the jab ah? Guess i'm abit too careful liao. Usually after the jab, i will bring him home to rest and not go out that day....worried he be tired or cranky...But so far, he doesn't have any fever after the jab. *touch wood* Think on the next coming jab, i will take it naturally and bring him out as usual. ;)

okasan,
I used to give FrisoSoy... But I might change to Prosobee... FrisoSoy has glucose or sucrose. I dun want to give Aloysius artificial sugar at a young age...

kite,
Yes... I think braless is better than bra. Cos bra can cause bad engorgement and big lumps.. Now I wear Bonds bra that is without any padding but with underwire. When I wear bra with padding, I get big lumps... hee... I am scared of sagging breasts... :p

Fi,
I think babies dun have a sense of time yet. But I read that we gotta tell baby before we go out. I think babies can tell it's day or nite time, and who's suppose to be with him... When my hubby went for reservist, I had a hard time putting him to bed without my hubby.. cos he's used to daddy's presence, warmth, voice...
I do believe that babies have sixth sense.

sunflower,
What about carrot juice? Will baby like carrot if the mother drinks carrot juice often?

okasan,
My baby is barefoot at home all the time... I read that it's better especially when they are going to learn crawling...

kite,
Tapioca leaves can help to prevent blocked ducts? I eat a lot of tapioca leaves since confinement...

amy,
Yalor.. maybe I will miss Aloysius very much when out... Secarly, miss him too much and cannot concentrate also... lol.. Up till now, I always bring him out to wherever I go... Only twice, I left him at home with my mum for a few hours..

kite,
Lecithin got capsule form... I got them from Robinsons
. Lecitin is good for baby's brain development, according to Shichida's book...

Fi,
It's not easy to capture those cute "performance" by babies... Everytime I wanna capture, my boy will be very curious of my camera and stare at my camera...

okasan,
How come baby need MC?? Is it for child care leave??

serene,
I usually bring my boy jalan jalan after jab

Huh? PD can give MC for baby so that i can apply Child leave leh? anyone can confirm?
In that case, i no need to apply for Statutory child leave or apply Annual leave, can save my leave for rainy days.

Lyn:
Yes my mum read fr e chinese newspaper that Tapioca leaves helps unblocked milk ducts
Really? Lecithin good for baby's brain ah, me just started to take as recommended by K ong. U eating it as well?

So which FM u intend to give Aloysius?

For me, usually i wil bring my ger home after jab cos i can see she quite slpy after jab n want to let her rest.

formula milk : so 2nd phase Friso not so good?
but heard that similac very sweet so not so good for babies? but alot of parents I know feeding bb similac le.
how about Enfalac or Wyeth S26 or Nan?
must do homework now.

Lyn : I drink carrot juice 1-2x a week. Guess got the taste will do. Don't overload more than 3x a week if not skin will be yellowish. Usually I mix with fruits and juice it. I also have tomato with fruit juice once a week.
I'll try to eat it when possible also.

The more variety you add to your diet, the more expose your bb will be to different taste. according to book, then they will be less choosy when come to introducing solids.

Lyn : which exersaucer you bought?

poohy: you have a baby einstein exersaucer rite?
is this by Graco? is it good?

kite:

MCs for baby - think useful only if your company recognises MC for baby as your Medical leave.
Must check with your company's HR. Unless the MC issued is to your name

serene: hehee, yah, cuz my PD is at Forum, so i like to walk ard after her jab ... since i've already taken the day off !! also, better to shop on weekday when no one is out !!

sunflower

keke, cos me working for govt....5 days of childcare leave, out of which 3 days must be supported with child mc....

stephanie,

thanks. which FM are you going to use?
do you know how much it cost?

wow...maybe govt should make it mandatory for all companies
kekekeke

Lyn,
ya those cute performance difficult to catch.last time my after my boy drink his fill of milk, he'll have this drunken look which is very funny and cute.

re:MC
please check with your HR.my office allows a number of days of childcare leave, with MC (to child's name) a certain days and without MC a certain days.these are in additional to annual leaves and must be taken by yr end, no bringing forward. so now nearly nov, if don't take wasted.

stephanie,
i must try for the $4 see doc get MC at polyclinic then. didnt know they have that..

mummies that go to private PD, do they give MC (on babies name)? is it better to keep seeing and follow up by the same PD? don't know le but i always go polyclinic, everytime see different doc and these are general doc i realise, not PD.

has anyone gone for pap smear? at postnatal checkup at polyclinic, doc ask me to go back for that when my menses come back.

last month i was still outside having Yakun kaya toast then my boy got fever from jab.quickly finish then go home.now i know for my boy if morning jab, evening then fever will come.

re:FM
my mil and mom had different opinion on FM during my ML,make me hin. so in the end i decide on my own - Similac. Guess most important is baby accept, try it and poo is normal.