(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Serene,
i havent found a suitable one for my girl. my hub got one for our son cos his uncle approached him but i thought the policy returns so so only lor. my intention for my girl is to keep part cash/ liquid asset and part investment plan cos i feel that cash on hand is still necessary for emergency use, despite the low interest rate. i just read an article by a 92 yr old veteran investor that he believes that the markets r coming down and the best thing to do now is to hold cash... donno how correct is he. only time can tell.

I dont use pacifier cos it's hard for bbs to break the habit... my son had pacifier for 2.5 yrs... took us almost 2 weeks of sleepness nites for him to break the habit!

your neighbour came back already? my hub saw him not too long ago and he said he was going to US for 3 weeks...how time flies.

I like Genting too, more so for the weather... but i dont think my ger can tahan the long journey... even 30 mins in the car she will start making noise liao!

okasan,
hey u r right!!! my girl pooed yesterday... but not a lot.

morning ladies

kite,
me pump in the storeroom at my office here. Cos it stores computer equipment and is quite tidy and clean. And I am quite lucky cos they even give me a office chair to put inside to pump. And its also air-conditioned so not tat bad.

Now i dont wanna set target for myself cos i tink it will only stress us out. My target was only to BF till 3 mths. But now i have reached the target so i will juz BF as long as i still have milk

And I am trying to drink a bit of DOM now but i cant drink a lot cos i will feel groggy. So can only take a little b4 going to bed. *lol*

okasan,
my ger using cloth nappies most of the time. Except for nite time then we let her use disposable diapers. Cos my nanny is ok with using cloth nappies also
So i use bout 1-2 pieces of disposable diapers a day. But hor everytime when see diaper got discount very tempted to buy...haha...I have already stocked up L size diapers at home too even though my ger is using M size diapers...haha

Lok,
u going to Langkawi? So gd
So who will help u take care of ur bb? I cant go for holiday cos nobody can help me take care of bb at nite
So disappointing.

tinklebell,

I agreed with you too! Cash on hand is very important despite lower interests earned. That time, I needed some cash, decided to terminate 1 of my policy, I've lost alot, didn't even take back my principle sum! So fed up about insurance! Maybe I will open a bank a/c and start saving for my kid. If you have 2nd child, also need to open an a/c for the govt to top up also rite? Is it how much you save, govt will top up the same amt till max of 9k?

Yes they are back on sunday morning! Ya rite, time passes real fast, 3 weeks had passed. I really pei fu that they can leave behind their baby for 3 weeks. I must admit that both my hub and myself can't! We esp me will definitely miss my son like crazy though i really love travelling so much! I used to go holiday every year last time....

Frankly, i'm also not sure if my son can tahan the long driving journey to genting. Sure, he will make noise but usually when he does, also becos he wants to stand up and look around, hungry or sleepy. So i think it should be fine...with my maid around, should be ok.

Maybe today or tomorrow, your gal will poo alot... last sat nite, my son also poo a little, i wonder why so little since he hasn't poo for 3 days! He rested again on sunday (no poo), then yesterday, he poo alot, so much as my mum told me the backside and his 'birdie' also kena....haa!

Serene,
The returns for life insurance policy is very lousy now. Cos my hb's fren whom is an insurance agent compared for us the returns. Although the investment linked insurance is projected is 5% or 9% returns but even if its only 4-5% returns it will still be better than the life insurance policy. Thats y we got the investment linked policy for our gal

Btw although bank interest rates are lower but the time deposit is still not tat bad. But minimum is 40k for the time deposit of mostly 12 mths. The interest will be arnd 3%+

tinklebell,
yuppies...cash on hand is impt. The idea is to keep 12 mths of ur combined income as savings in liquid cash

Serene

I do use the pacifier, but only to put her to sleep. Normally she does not need one in the middle of the nite.

serene,
ya lor, got free $ from government
hee hee... nothing beats that! For second child, u top up $6k, govt will give $6k. can only be used for education... so i started using it for my son's school fees. But this account is a separate account from your normal POSB account... cannot withdraw for other purposes except for approved use.
On top of that, govt will give $3k - $750 to be credited to our account every 3 mths.

maybe u can try opening maybank account in your names instead of bb's name... interest not bad ... 2.38% for savings account. For bb's account, i think the interest is not as good. Got one branch at CCK.

If your baby is on total BF, how's the texture of the Poo like? Mine has been watery for abt 1 mth..at first we thot it's diarrhoea, but so far she only poo once a day, so cannot be it lor.

tinklebell,
You mean for 2nd child, govt will top up to 6k for education use, not 9k? And they will still give us 3k cash ($750 per every 3mths)? I thought the 3k cash only for 1st child, didn't know that 2nd child also entitles to 3k cash...hmm quite good huh?

U mean there's a diff for a/c open under my name and under bb's name? How about joint a/c, intend to open 1 with my name plus bb's name???

serene
Brayden looks good in his botak hairstyle
i like the 3rd pic where his eyes open so big! i think i have seen him downstairs before during my ML with a lady (could be ur mil)... do u own a red stroller?

Ya lor...$6k for education use only. And they will still give us 3k cash ($750 per every 3mths). Quick lah.. have your #2.

Even if u open account under bb's name, it will still be held in trust by mummy/ daddy... only thing is that some banks have special packages for children such as insurance tie to the savings accounts or free gifts etc. i know some banks offer benefits but interest not so good for the kids account compared to one opened only in adult's name.

tinklebell,
Hmm, no my stroller is not red in colour. Don't think my MIL brought him downstairs except 1x last week, she told me she brought him down for a short walk at void deck....

Why quick? Is it that govt going to stop this bonus scheme?

When i'm free later, i will chk out a few banks over the internet. thks for yr info.

tinklebell,

i can go on & on on financial planning but decided not to bore everyone. Agree that cash is impt (my policy is to keep 6 mths X fixed expenses). My advisor once showed me the computation and 1% return difference compounded over 20 yrs do hv an impact on how well u retire, so excessive cash is not advisable!

i can't bear to leave bb as well. On the other hand, i also think it's very impt to have time to ourselves (both of us enjoy travelling). I always tell my hubby --- the kids will grow up, "chi pang ying le" & fly away. By then, there will only be these 2 old birds, so cannot revolve our lives just around the kids. Go out & have fun!

Celeste,

my in-laws will take care of bb for us. there r quite a few pple in the family, so they can take turns to play with bb, not so tiring.

Steph,

my bb is on TBF. He poos a lot (like 3-4 times a day) --- color is like curry, texture is like watery "tau suan".

Tks lyn, been doing that coz I don't really like meat.
My boy doesn't seem to put on weight for the past 1 mth... is it bcoz I din eat alot of meat and fats?

Serene,
the 3rd pic, he must be not happy with someone (see his finger) hee...

Serene,
Brayden is so cute.. hahah like what msnanas said he must be angry with someone..hmm the photographer ??? kekekek !!!

msnanas,
u are sooo observant leh !! hahahaha....

lok, I share the same sentiments as you about travelling. Both hubby and I love travelling. We probably will start travelling on our own next year. This year, cos I am breastfeeding and I really want to do exclusive breastfeeding for 6 months. Any plans to travel soon?

Re: Weight Gain
msnanas, my son didnt put on much weight too. Haiz ...does our diet affect their weight gain? Anybody knows anything abt this?

Serene,
Brayen looks very cute! I like the pix whereby he has the bandana thingy on his head!

Lok,
Its really great when u have more ppl in the family...then they can play with the bb

msnanas,
I dun think your boy did not put on a lot of weight is due to you did not eat lots of meat and fats
. If you eat lots of vegetables and fruits, you gotta know how to eat a balanced meal. For me, I do not eat lots of meat too. I eat lots of vegetables and I make sure I eat 6 types and 5 colors per day. Either raw, boil or stir fry. No deep fried. I eat oatmeal and nuts too
I am following some of my friends who eat brown rice and "wu gu mi" for their babies. Their babies' weight are equally good and lean babies

Serene,
Wah... Brayden is so cute in his cap... He looks very cute botak with his big round eyes... He looks very well-fed too..

My boy was born on 23 June.
He started rolling over to his tummy on his own 2 weeks ago at 12 weeks. He is able to lift his head and turn it left or right.
He lately will roll over at night as well in the middle of sleeping, and sleep on his tummy.
Is it safe to leave him that way and carry on sleeping during the night?
Should I be concerned about SIDS?

sunflower,
It's five grains.

fondue,
My boy has been sleeping on his tummy since 2 weeks old
Babies are smart
As long as they can turn their head left and right, they will be able to adjust themselves for survival.

hello ladies!!!
a bit concussed today... bb woke up many times last nite to drink milk last nite.
thread quiet today.

hmmm.. my girl still cannot roll on her own though she had been trying hard for the past few weeks!

Thanks gals!

msnanas,
Haha! Gosh! I never spot him pointing his middle finger in the 3rd pic, u r really observant! In fact there are a few pics that i've got, he had his 3rd finger pointed also.....haa!

okipoki,
The photograher is me, his mummy lah!

MTDT,
U mean the bandana? It's a scraf, gift from my jap guest last time.

lyn,
I guess my son is on track, eat well, normally. Compared to his birth weight, 3.135kg, he considered having good weight gained. The PD told me he's big enough. Now he's about 8kg at 4 mths old i think. But i feel that he's less fleshy leh, wonder if it's becos of the jab. Heard from my mum that after taking the jabs, some babies will lose weight???

fondue,
my ger also can roll over to tummy and face down at 12 weeks. But she dont do that frequently although she likes to roll to the side a lot
I think as long as they are sleeping in the same room as u then shld be safe. cos if they cannot manage to flip back over they will normally lift up their head to make noise n breathe one. Then u will be able to hear them

Celeste....hmmm yr girl is younger than mine... how come my girl still cant roll? she tries but gives up after a few tries. think lazy.

tinklebell,
My boy also can't roll over yet. I think is becos our babies more fleshy, heavy to roll over haha! That's what my mum says. But if i help him to flip over, he knows to lift up his head already.

hihi ladies

so gek sim..my bb weight didnt gain any for the past 1 mth ever since the accident n her milk intake is decreasing..say abt 60ml max now?dun koe y all of a sudden she dun like bottle liao n prefer breasts..at 3rd mth shes 6.26kg n at 4mth 1week,shes 6.23kg..so worrying.furthermore she oso sick with cough n running noise..got to feed her 4 kinds of medicine...not really comfortable to give her so much medic so young..

furthermore,her skin v sensitive..got rashes all over her body n face..PD say its a v bad case..got to treat asap..now,i am so disheartened coz thot i am a saham cum bf,by right my bb shd be fatter n better..yet my bb end up like this..

RE: flipping...

my gal can flip over during her 15 week liao..she likes it so much tt everytime we put her down,she will flip..had a hard time aft her bath to dry her up n wear clothes/diaper..these few days,she oso like to flip n slp face down

Angeline:
Dont feel sad, as long ur bb is stil active, healthy n playing. Perhaps nowadays her motor skills started earlier n faster, thus tend to use up energy more faster, thus gain not much weight? wat did PD say?

regarding rashes, my bb ger also hv bad rashes esp around her neck. PD said its abit of eczema. Its due to milk n saliva plus hot weather which causes it to be so sensitive. hv to apply abit of e steriod cream but i dare not apply too much cos not good for e health. most of e time i apply baby california cream.

Angeline:
PD told me that after 4mth onwards, bb weight wil gain slower than in the 1st 3 mth. Dun worry too much if she is stil alert n active.

Serene,
haha... maybe lor LOL! when i see her trying to flip, i cant help laughing...very cute!

Angeline
i also dont like giving my girl medicine...if possible i let her recover on her own. My BM is her medicine lor (LOL). recently, she has runny nose again ..prob bec of the haze.

strangely, now she prefers to latch then drink fr bottle... when i am back fr work ...once she sees me, she wants to latch... if i dont let her, she will scream and cry. i'm on second shift when i am back home ...as a milk machine.

fondue,

i let my bb sleep on his tummy during the day after the 1st mth. So far ok. Like what lyn said, they are very clever, will turn to make themselves comfortable. I also read in babycenter that the other reason for SIDS is overheating when sleeping on tummy, so make sure your bb is comfortably cool. By the time, they can flip, there is less worry cos the risk of SIDS is reduced.

Actually i have the reverse problem. My bb loves to sleep on his tummy during the day. But today he just surprised us with a half flip and then landed on his back. Started crying cos he doesn't know how to flip himself back and hates to be on his back during the day! We flip him back and then he did the same thing again, aiyo silly boy!

missk,

we r gg on short hols in mid Oct. My bb will be 13 week old by then. Storing up EBM for him.

tinklebell,
Same here, whenever, i help him and when he flip, so funny...trying hard to flip haha...btw, my boy still can lie inside the rocking infant chair, for others who already know to flip, sure cannot sit in this type of rocker...

Lok:

Thanks for the advise. The ingredients of GAIA seems to be quite similar to the California baby cream i m hving. Its organic too. Perhaps i try california cream 1st, if not wil try GAIA. Some ppl said put powder wil it make better, but some said wil make it worse. not sure which is right.

kite,

me already order liao the CB cream,waiting for it to arrv..PD gave me a brown colour solution to wash n neoderm cream for body n fucidin for face.does it contain steroid? i koe elomet has.. PD say her weight is now average coz at 3mth 6.26kg is 95 percentile n now 4mth+ 6.23kg is 50 percentile.

btw,is the CB products effective?her rashes quite bad loh..got those yellow liquid oozing out 1. n some of them ard 20c coin size..

the good tink is shes still v active n alert loh..seems like not disturb by all those 'wounds'

tinklebell,

same loh..dun koe y all of a sudden she dun like bottle leh..coz normali i will bf her in the daytime n bottle feed her the ebm for her last feed n the 1st feed of the day..she will only drink max 60ml..jus change her avent teats to size 3 oso no use..

angeline,

sad to hear your bb is not feeling well... do take care and dun feel disheartened.. bb will feel u r sad and affect her mood too... joelle has eczema problem too... all along her skin is very very dry... kena rashes all over her body most of the time
I am trying to use CB cream for her... seems ok...

tinklebell,
i also donno why. Maybe she very kpo want to look here and there so she try to flip? Haha. She at arnd 2 mths oledi can flip to both sides but cannot face down yet. Then 3 mths then she can flip to face down. But her flipping face down still not very gd. Its not like can succeed everytime. Sometimes can sometimes cannot. *lol*

kite,
Your gal's PD prescribe steroid cream ah? Nowadays, seems like a lot of babies being prescribed with steroid cream hor?

Lok,
hahaha.. Your bb so cute...

Angeline,
Wah... the rashes sound bad leh... yellow liquid oozing out some more..

Do you all feed your babies water?? I am starting to feed my boy with water, but he dun like to drink water... Got any tips??

lyn,
I fed my ger water ever since she was born. But she also dont like water. So what we do is when she is hungry n crying for milk, we give her the bottle containing water first. She will take at least 1 or 2 sips b4 refusing. Then after tat we will give her milk. My mom also mentioned can put a bit of honey in the water to give babies
then they will be willing to drink more water.

Angeline:
Oh dear, seems like ur bb's skin very sensitive. Hmm if not getting better, perhaps u can to try to see skin centre? sorry no offend.
So far my ger's skin quite scaly n red like bad rashes on her neck. dunno y. On n off it wil be fine n next day it wil come back again even we faithfully apply e CB cream but at least it got better. Suspect e culprit is her saliva n milk. Sorry may i know r u TBF? try not to drink dairy products. I avoid all diary products cos once my ger got alot of rashes. Once i stop, it wil b gone.

celeste blur,
How much water can your gal drink a day?
my boy only drank 30ml of water today... I only started to feed water these few days. I want him to drink water in preparation for fever in the coming months... and also gotta drink water when bb eats semi solid...

Lyn:
yes PD prescribe steriod cream for her eczema on her neck. Though PD told us its safe to use but i stil got probia n always use very thin layer, after tat follow by CB.

my ger dun really like water too. but whenever she hiccups, we wil give her bottle of water n she wil drink abit but she wil always play n push e bottle n play w e teats. my mum wil also give her abit after milk session to cleanse her tongue.

angeline:
my PD also give her body wash for her skin. My mum uses it daily for her bath.

Since ur baby max 60ml milk, perhaps its time to introduce solid food? how many mths is she now? check w ur PD.

Solid food:
any idea when do we introduce solid food to our bb? my ger tis fri coming to 4mths n gg for her jab tis sat. Shld i check w PD when to start? but since i m TBF, no need start so early rite?

lyn,
my ger drink very little also. Range from 20-40ml a day. Prepare for fever? U going to let him take 2nd 6-in-1 jab ah? Mine taking on 20th Oct also. But that time GP told us to give her fever medicine for once juz in case then never develop any fever liowz.

kite,
I bought the Heinz First Rice cereal liowz. That one states for 4 mths babies and above
. Intending to start my ger on it when she turns 4 mths in another bout 2 weeks time. But they say best to check with PD. I will ask my GP when she goes for her 2nd 6-in-1 jab

kite,
hmm.. maybe can check with your PD
Let me know too ok? I will be bringing Aloysius for 5 in 1 next Friday... I read from books that can start from 4 months. If baby dun swallow, means baby cannot swallow, then rest for one week and try again...

Celeste Blur,
Not prepare for fever for jabs... Babies will sure get fever one to increase their own immunity. Water is needed to help to bring down the temperature when that happens.

Celesteblur:
is Heinz organic cereal? cos i heard most cereal contains some FM? not too sure abt it, hvnt find out much. wil ask PD.

Lyn:
sure no problem.

regarding organic cereal or cereal w infant formula, i might choose organic one cos my ger quite allergy to cow milk.

Just wondering which one is more nutritious, organic or w infant formula?

angeline, dun lose heart! Your bb is sick and that's probably why she didnt gain so much weight. Hey, dun blame yourself for her predicament ok.