(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,
My boy record for passing motion was 9 days! But it was still soft and sticky like hot fudge.. so it's not constipation. Every babies seem to have to go through this stage. It's only earlier or later on...

Serene,
My boy also pass out a lot of gas. And smelly gas... When he starts to pass gas very frequently and very smelly, I know he's going to poo anytime... lol...

My boy also loves to suck his thumb. haha... drink milk halfway, he will switch to his thumb too.

tinklebell, my boy has a few short sleep during the daytime...nowadays, it not easy for him to sleep 1/2-1hr per sleep during daytime...

lyn, wow 9 days ah!!!! But perhaps for bfeed babies, can explain becos bmilk is more digestive but my boy on total FM, so worried is it too heaty that's why he don't poo everyday.....But I called Abbott company, they says Similac consists alot fibre, vegetables in it .....hmm. I let my son drink barley water yesterday hoping it will cool down abit of body heat if there is.

Actually! Like yrs, my boy also tuck in his fingers when feeding him with bottle. Mostly, he will tuck in 2 fingers, sometimes 3 and 4 fingers....I think his gums is getting more itchy, cos when sucking his pacifier halfway, his hand will take out the pacifier and suck his fingers instead...

Oh yesterday, finally he was shaved botak! Though I still prefer him with hair but he looks real cute too now.

serene,
hmmm... i am not sure wh bank has SAYE. I opened my girl's with UOB cos it is the nearest to home and interest is slightly better than POSB and provides insurance if abv $3k. However, i find Maybank also not bad.

lyn,
thanks! good to hear that! so i suppose she is "absorbing" all the BM she takes.

serene, got picture or not? u went to make mao bi isit? i am thinking of making mao bi but dont want to shave her hair..donno can or not.

serene,

Haha, no regret for my ger shaving botak. She looks so much better. I told hubby why not keep her botak all the way and he said NO.. haha.. he said yesterday must let ger keep long hair liao, if not pple keep asking whether my ger is a boy or a ger.

Yesterday we brought her to my hubby's godmother's place. And the neighbour saw her and asked us whether boy or ger.. goodness! My ger was wearing her hairband!!

morning ladies

okasan,
same here. I sometimes really feel like giving up BF. But my GP is really encouraging. She keep telling me to BF if i have the milk. Last time when i had serious engorgement i went to her for medicine once. She encouraged me to at least BF till bb is 3 mths old. She is a mother of 3 and she also breastfeed her 3 kids till 3 mths.
Ur bb poo once every week? So envious! My ger still poo a few times a day. Average bout 3 times a day now!

kite,
looks like i am not the only one feeling tired n giddy. Ever since after giving birth n BF i feel gong-gong most of the time. Like the brain is clogged up like tat. *sigh*. Sometimes even when taking MRT if have to stand for long also feel a bit like "fainting". Haha *pengz* Maybe cos i never eat "bu" food. Only occasionally take some multi-vits tats all.

serene,
wa.. first time i hear milk got fibre...
Aloysius also shaved botak yesterday... lol.. so "qiao"...
Imagine the sight of a baby half of his mouth sucking thumb, and another half the nipple... lol... I dun let him bite my nipple which he used to do...

tinklebell,
Got once Aloysius cried till very cham cos he got a tummyache... but next day he pooed and still soft and sticky poo...

celeste blur,
are you anaemic? My red blood count went down due to breastfeeding, according to my gynae... but not yet the level which I will feel faint. So, during breastfeeding also must "bu" well...

Tiredness and giddiness are signs of anaemia...

ha ha... jake got a haircut yesterday too. i trimmed the hair just above his ear, and daddy cut the hair on top of his head. my mum and maid likes his new haircut, though i preferred his old hairstyle... like long and fluffy feathers on top of his head...

re: SAYE - I know std chartered has an account for kids... interest is at 2%, and you will need to put in at least $50 per month. I have yet to open a bank acct for Jake. ha ha.. place his savings on FD with citibank. quite good rate.

jake went for his 5-in-1 on Friday. he now weighs 8.1 kg... v heavy liao. poor baby had bad rashes on his face. PD gave him some steriods. applied for 3 days liao.. will stop today. some improvement though... no swimming for one week...

lyn, law suggested baby jake reverts to visuals. so we stopped flashing the cards. these few days, will put him back on visuals, to make sure his vision is sharp before we start the cards. after that, will go math first. then math, eng, chi. that's why we made the checkerbox last nite - for crawling and for placing near his play area.
a late start, but the right start.

lyn,
I'm not sure also. When I was preggie my gynae did test if i am anaemic before. But after tat never did any test liowz. But my blood pressure is occasionally on the lower side. Maybe i shld ask my GP to do a blood count test for me to see if i'm anaemic. Sometimes I also donno how to "bu". cos I only get to eat home-cooked food once a week and tats the only time when i drink those chicken soup etc. Normal weekdays is like mixed vege rice, outside food kind of thing which is not really nutritious...*sigh*

tinklebell, you know, when we were young, POSB always has the campaign, promotion about savings for young kids etc so matority of us has an a/c with POSB since young....not sure about now. hmm...

tinklebell, we had a small celebration for my boy's 4 mths old and hair shaved yesterday at home and had taken many pics. I will show you when i upload the pics.

Sure if your gal has more than enough hair, perhaps you can ask the person whether can take some hair (trim instead of shave all)??? But i think they need the length to make the mao bi. Yes i'm making the mao bi with my son's hair. I confirm the design that costs $168, they says that design is zhuang yuan bi(top scholar brush), told me zoe tay also choose that design. But we choose that becos we like the design not becos zoe chose that. It's very expensive but we thought is a memory for my son to keep for life so spend the $ lor.....

lyn, so coincidence, yr baby also shaved his hair yesterday ah. Did you make taimaobi for him? Today's my son's 4th mths old. Time passes so fast! Do share a pic of your son with new hairstyle.

kk, true enough, i agreed that you gal looks really cute, nice with hair shaved but again like what yr hub says, must let her grow her hair lah...she's gal afterall mah.
I'm sure she will be very pretty when she grows up.

serene, but i think posb only requires a min bal of $1 to maintain the account.
wow $168 for the maobi... quite ex ar?
scb's interest is good but i feel that there r not many branches around loh. can open if you like e-banking. my hub doesnt trust ebanking so he prefers a traditional account to be opened.

tinklebell,

OMG! isn't this a tiny world!! Your BIL/SIL are really nice pple and your nieces very adorable. Daphne especially like to run to the gate and talk to this auntie when i come back from work. Lynn even works in the same office building as me
Maybe next time, u can come knock on my door (my unit is right next to theirs) and we can meet up. We usually close the door, so that's why u hvn't seen me b4. Me from 4Science1 class in MGS.

Given the long investment horizon, my financial advisor was telling me to consider buying investment-linked insurance for my bb instead of putting in a savings accounts cos the interest rate is quite miserable. BB won't need to use the $ anyway. So by the time they turn 21, the investment value will be substantial and he can take over the premium payment. Something like a gift from parents to the kid. We are gg to have a more detailed session with him in the near future, so will let u all know if there's any interesting advice given.

Maybe when he's in primary school, then I will open savings account to help him learn concepts like budgetings, savings etc.

tinklebell: thanks, i think my ger will wear m too, but cant find it at NTUC, will probably buy from dingus.
BTW, do you know how much do they charge if I just order the diapers ??

tinklebell, actually the price of the brushes range from $38 onwards but the nicer and better ones are all $80 and above. The cheap ones don't look good at all! There's SCB near our place, near hillview, s'pore arm force HQ, the road drive towards bt timah...

lok, agree with you. we should invest the money for bb, rather than put in a miserable bank account with low interest. do keep us posted on what your financial adviser propose.

celeste blur,

if u r anaemic, must take more red meat (esp beef), egg yolk. It helped when i was pregnant. I know most of us are eager to keep up with bf, so tend to take mostly fish. Dun forget your meat protein too.

serene/amy,

don't mention it. but bear in mind that every family has different goals in the short/medium/long term & risk appetite, so u will hv to consider whether the advice is appropriate in your circumstances.

missk,

my advisor is independent, so he is not tied to any insurance company. This is better cos he will scout around and offer the best deal. He also helps to recommend unit trust to buy. The best part is that his remuneration is a % of our investment value, so it motivates him to continue monitoring our portfolio.

been so bz..thats y never login so often...
bb ginelle is growing so fast.. aready 8.2kg at 4mths old.. i think she got very serious sinus problem becoz of the hazy wheather...
and same as kite...me too carry 2 big bags to work... so tired everyday after pumping milk..

tinklebell,
i no longer freezing the EBM liao.. i will oni keep 640ml of EBM for her ..then 400ml will go to my elder gal..coz i find it no point freezing coz i won't use them also..

poohy,
bb joelle ok aready??

will login again if i have the time..

Lok,
i also bought an investment linked insurance for my ger becos life insurance policy now generates very miserable returns.
As for eating, I seldom take fish as i prefer meat. Hehe....but mostly taking chicken and pork. Think I should take more beef also

Lok, what a coincidence, i was fr 4Sc1 too
were we classmates???
havent found anything suitable for my ger yet. actually we have to bear in mind that the projected rate of returns is afterall "projected". But still, it could be much better than normal savings account. make sure it is capital protected too.

moap, long time no see... u donated those frozen milk to the hospital? i got ard 20 packs now... think i will donate them away soon ... no space in freezer liao

kk,
wow! i thot only me got this strange problem. it's damn painful if accidently knocking into something, feel like swearing.. haha.. now even when i feel tired n want to go for massage i refrain coz scared the masseuse keeps touching my toes..

I pump inside a changing room in lady's toilet at level 2, different lvl fr my department. i think at lvl 2, ppl see me runing like mad woman w PIS haversack find it amuse. N always at same timing.

sunflower:
alamak call u cow milk. 1 of my close colleagues called me "Milk Maid" faint. Ya everytime my throat n lip feel very dry. Wil replenish by water but feel stil not enuff.

tinklebell:
same here. My fren also advised me to give FM so that they wil get used to e taste after wean but i dun want to give FM to my ger now. Me too i hope to BF min. 6 mths til dec (hopefully i can endure). then after tat wil decide then whether to continue.

kk/Lok:
Thanks for your support n encouragment.

Okasan:
yes very wei da. Next time must let our babies know how we suffer all tat while. Not easy to cope work n BF at e same time.

Lok:
wow! where u gg for holiday? so shiok rite, i want to join hb to aus last wk but since i m TBF n i cant bear to leave my ger behind too. I think as for holi, i hv to put aside 1st. Maybe tis dec, thinking gg to beach resort for a short break. But wondering how to BF n pump during holidays? as for u, u better bring along ur pump to maintain ur ss.

Angeline:
yes my ger is allergy to cow milk. When i drank milk n stuffs like vitagen, australian milo tat contains milk solids, soya milk, my ger wil get terrible rashes. But once i stop completely, e rashes all gone. So Bfing also hv to be careful, cannot anyhow eat, will pass thr to our babies.

Celesteblur/okasan:
yes we hv to keep one another going. Hv to encourage each other. 1 of my male colleagues always keep encourage me that i shld BF as long as possible if i can. W his encouragement daily, it really motivate me alot. jia you!

celestblur:
at 1st when i start work, i oso gong gong cos hvnt adapt. Not neccessary eat more Bu food. Must eat vits daily. I rarely eat outside food, always eat home cooked prepared by my mum. I eat fish daily n lean meat. Try to eat these if possible, not forgetting vegetables too.

Thermometer:
I have e infrared thermometer, Very good n accurate, just scan 1 to 2 secs n temp wil show out. I got it when i bought my PIS pump fr parentcraft.

Drop Hair:
Gosh, i dropped alot of hair just started recently. My ger too dropped until can see empty patch on her head. When will this stop? Seems scary esp i always got 1 big lump of hair after washing. E floor also, my hair everywhere.

Lok:
luckily my hb is a financial consultant. we dun like to put baby savings in e bank, very low interest. My hb has planned for our bb, for eg, like educational plan cum investments. at 21, she wil hv a lump sum of $ liao.

hi MOAP:
so long never c u ard. Yaloh carry heavy bags already very tired hor. Wow ur baby really big n heavy leh! Hows ur zoo outing? fun? huh? u donated ur frozen EBM away?

tinklebell:
huh, u gg to donate all ur 20 bags away?? not gg to use your frozen EBM? i hv abt 20 bags too, using 1 bag daily since i started work. i find 20 bags very little to me. its very precious to me.

kite,

So u not going to have any savings account for baby? i thought having one would make it more convenient for her next time.

i still have some of her money haven't opened savings account yet. Had already signed up a package with prudential earlier on.

kk:
my hb is financial consultant, he plans everything for me n my baby. we hv put e bb savings into investment (can be saving plan as well) for her educational. when she reaches 21, she wil all the $ liao. Investment plans interest rate is higher than bank.

Serene,
my son also like that leh...use tongue to push out the bottle teat....but he will finish the ebm except that it took longer to feed him now coz he will play with the teat and refuse to drink on and off....he dun poo for a few days, then poo a bit for the next few days then finally poo a lot....but so far, his poo is soft so no cause of worry...PD told me before that it's ok if baby don't poo daily, as long as the poo is not hard

tinklebell,
my son also drooling saliva too! and a lot of saliva...when he sleep sideway, he will wet the mattress with his saliva loh....then he likes to put his fingers inside, as if his gum is itchy...

your girl pass out smelly gas coz there's poo inside, so she's likely to poo soon....

serene,
my son also will frown or smile in his sleep...esp when there's too much simulation during the day (eg. going out shopping), he will be like that....just yesterday, he was frowning and abt to cry, then I wishper into his ears that he is dreaming and that mummy is beside him...then he actually smile in his sleep...so cute...

Celeste,
ya, I intend to bf my son till 6mth...well, I must say I really save a lot of money on diapers coz my son don't poo everyday...one pack of drypers can last me many weeks...I don't remember when was the last time I bought diapers, seem quite long ago liao....

do we need to restrict our diet when BF? like not allow to eat t-bits, chocolates?

i have been bf for 4 mths but after my confinement, i begin to continue my t-bits session.. haha.. having t-bits after my regular meal. Not sure if there will be adverse effect on my bb.

re: frozen ebm
if i stored abt 8oz of ebm then defrost them but bb only uses 4oz... wat do u do with the remaining 4oz ?? do u still place under room temp to further defrost for bb next feed say 3hrs later ?

I've been sick with fever, flu and cough for the past 3 wks. Everytime its subside in the mid of the week, when come to weekend it'll get worst again. Last week I passed to my hb, then he passed back to me... and now I passed to my son.. He's having flu and cough.. aiyo.. any good remedy for me to prevent such symtoms? I've been taking Vit C also no use.

Okipoki,
I usually defrost them in the fridge, so it'll remain the same temp. I'll just pour out what i need, then the remainder will put back in the fridge to use within the day I defrost.

Re: Poo,
Mummies with bb who dun poo everyday, I envy you!! My son almost every feed (every 3hrs) will poo once. We've been spending alot on diapers...

Re: Restrict on diet
I also want to know.. Can we eat chili/spicy stuff when BF? My mum said maybe its the chili I eat thats y my son having rashes on his hands, neck and joints. Just now went to see PD, forgot to ask. sigh..!

tinklebell,

i believe u r my senior cos u mention u graduated from NTU in '97 (me in '98). Yup, it's projected but for me, so far it is quite close to projected 9% for ILP. Capital protection --- not a big cause for concern cos we are talking abt 21 yrs!

kite,

we r gg to Langkawi. Wanted to go further away (like Mauritius or Australia) but all fully booked. I will definitely bring the pump. I have decided not to be so strict abt bf. Try my best (at least i did it for 3 mths). If need to supplement with FM, let it be lor. I really hope to have a break with just hubby (cos we broke the usual once a yr holiday rule after i became pregnant) so a bit silly to forgo just so that bb is not given FM.

msnanas,
Drink more water...
Eat more vegetables and fruits... eat less meat.

lindy,
I tried to restrict my diet for non MSG food.. Cos MSG can affect baby's brain development. Occasionally, no choice... I even look out for MSG for titbits and biscuits... :p

okipoki,
i read somewhere that u can use them for the next feed so long as it is within the 24 hrs.

kite,
the frozen BM is v precious but it seems like never moving. it's either i give some away or move the stock around. H/e, my girl doesnt really like frozen EBM... even those i express into milk bags, she also doesnt really like. If i have "fresh" milk, i also rather give her that cos it has better qualities.

Lok,
oh yes, now i remember u mentioned u graduated one year after me in NTU... i probably have seen u before since we were both fr MGS n NTU.
haha... u also have 1 yr 1 hol rule... same as me... just love to go for holiday so much that even when i was 7 mths pregnant, i went for my vacation .... heee

so nice to go on holiday right?... i wish to go for another vacation too but everytime i think of being away fr my kids, i feel sad and want to cry... so decided no more overseas trip for the year unless i can find a kid-friendly place to go... thinking of going on a short cruise though.

9% is good. i saw a few packages that projected bet 5%-7% but the guaranteed interest is is only 1-2%+ p.a. i feel that 1-2% will not cover inflation in 20 yrs and is too easy a target for the insurance company... by just buying long term bonds of 10 yrs, u can already achieve 4-5% so for 20 yr investment is not too good. That is only my view lah... i may be wrong. But that aside, it's still good to tie the investment with insurance just in case one day something happen to us. Can share with me details of your package? sounds quite good.

Any of your babies experience growth spurts in their third mth? My baby seems to be having growth spurts now, she wakes up every 2 hours for feed instead of the usual 3 hours...also, doesnt seem to sleep well at nite

okasan, tinklebell,

My mum told me that my boy POO alot yesterday! I guess that is the accumulation for the last 3 days!

okasan,

Did you post your son's pic here to show us b4? Have i miss it? Do share your son's latest pic with us.

stephanie,

You don't use pacifier for your baby? Alot of ppl says pacifier is no good, bad habit and diff to stop it next time but i think it really calm baby alot. Sometimes when my baby toss around in middle of nite, make some noise, i will tuck in the pacifier and he will be satisfied and continue sleeping. So he dun wake up for feeds in middle of nite already. I usually feed him at 12-12.30am, he sleep through, and i will feed him again around 7.30am the next morning.

tinklebell,

Re: Insurance
Are you referring to the the insurance saving policy of 21 yrs? I have this policy for myself and am thinking to buy also for my son but i heard the agent says now the premium has increased for this policy and the return is not as good as last time already??? True, agreed with you that, the interests they offered to us may not cover the inflated after 21 yrs! So i've no clue yet what saving plan to buy for my son??? You have any good recommendation?

tinklebell,

Re: vacation
I also wish to go travelling but can't bear to leave my son! My hubby also cannot bear to leave him behind. My neighbours had just came back from their 21days holiday in USA! Envy hor? But again, if given a chance to be away for 21 days, i may not want to also, can't imagine not seeing my son for 3 weeks! Perhaps yes, they told me this is a good time to go away for holidays w/o the kid cos he won't know anything but still, can't bear leaving him behind. I think i will miss him alot!

I may plan to bring my son for a short holiday to Genting and Bintan in Nov or Dec. There seems no place which is cheap, not too far, kids friendly place......hmm unless have more budget, Australia will be nice place but my son will be too young to appreciate it....