(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

okasana nd mispiggy, dun worry lah. I dun show flashcards either. I know of a few more mummies so who dun either.

Okasan, u are right. There's absolutely no need to feel guilty.

Good morning Ladies!!
Missk, u are early too!

missk/ Fi, aiyo... nothing seems to help ar?
I really donno how i can help u girls. I guess everyone's body react differntly to different food.
If there r lumps, u just gotta use strength to disperse them (ie squeeze and push them in the direction of milk flow)...that's what i do but the lumps do come back after 3 or 4 days. maybe gotta massage the Bs more often.

These few days i am quite tired so i become lazy to pump...i just pump 2x a day...once at 6am, n once at 12pm (each time can pump ard 210ml-250ml)...when i reach home, when my girl sees me, she will want to drink milk... so i'll nurse her at 630pm, then 830pm and she'll be off to sleep. Last nite i think she drank a lot... she slept fr 830pm to 530am ..oh boy, my Bs were so engorged and my t-shirt was all wet desipte having the pads on! she drank for almost 20 mins this morning and went back to dreamland.... after that i pumped still got ard 8.5oz. I drank lotus soup (nian-ou tang)ate a lot of lotus during dinner last nite... heard it helps boost MS... donno isit bec of that i suddenly have so much MS. Hee...

Celeste,
Like u, i also lax lah... i am glad i managed to BF for 3.5 mths, better than my previous of 1.5mths.... i suppose if can cont would be best...i'll just continue with it til i got no milk.

Lok,
Still havent found...havent worked on it yet...hiaz..both my hubby and i have been pretty busy these few mths.... we will cont to search probably early next year if we manage to sell off our place.

re: bowel habit
My girl has been drinking less these few weeks and hasnt been passing motion everyday. She will pass motion only once in 2-3 days. She looks ok. Shouldnt be a problem i suppose?

missk,

i dont have msn but have skype. u have? which mummy have skype, that's the only one i can use in office.

okasan, missk and mspiggy,
i also don't show flash cards. i just play 'tickle tickle' and silly games with my boy. ha ha.....

tinklebell,
whoah..u read to fast ah, i'm not into the lump conversation. but its good that u all talk about it. didn't know it can happen till now.

I am a super lazy mummy.. i dun show flashcards too.. i printed out some black and white pictures from the web and flashed to my ger in her 2nd-3rd mth.. once i started work, no time for that liao.

And i bought chinese storybooks, but kept in the wardrobe, never show her too haha..

My ger now only playing with her toys (sometimes we dun play with her too because too tired) and some silly games like peekaboo with diaper cloth haha..

She loves pple to play with her hands.. like beating drums in percussion.

She enjoyed watching tv before but i banned her and stopped her from watching after i shifted her mattress away from tv. And she now no longer attracted to tv anymore.

Sounds bored to be my bb hor? :p

tinklebell,

Wow envy you, you have got alot milk for your baby. Recalled that time when bfeed, everyday also not sufficient for my boy, really disheartened, I think becos i never work hard enough....after latching on, still can pump 8.5oz, that's alot....enough for you to store up i think.

kk,

I'm also quite lazy, never make any flashcards for my baby. Just ask my maid to read story books to him, showed him books on those colours, ABC...and numbers etc. Same here, when i'm back, i will try talk to him in baby's language (quite silly) and play peekaboo using hanky....haha, my boy loves it. Also, i like to continuously smell his mouth and he will goes with opening his mouth for me, his expression looks very shiok, so cute!
I guess when we had started work, time is really not enough....i also wish that i'd have more time for him...

okasan,

No worries, frankly, I'm still thinking whether i want to go tmr...my hubby says my boy still too young to absorb, he says not at this stage where he can't flip, sit or crawl yet...

Serene,
At first i got not enuf milk cos my girl drinks a lot but recently she doesnt drink much in the day time...she prefers to latch... day time she only drinks ard 400ml at most... when she latches, i really donno how much she takes. As long as she is growing well, should be ok.

kk, serene
Heee... my girl loves to play peek a boo too. She also loves to "talk" ...loves it when we talk to her
... she will "errr err ..orrr" back...very cute.

tinklebell,

Rem not to eat SHAN ZA, cos that will reduce milk. I believed that I've eaten shan za that time that's why milk reduced! That time, my confinement lady told me that if i want to stop bfeeding, go to chinese medical hall and buy shan za with dunno what tang mix to boil water and drink, the milk will soon goes off.... She told me too late, when i heard, i realised that i've been eating quite alot of the tibits shan za......too late! Then on, my milk reduced day by day...Maybe also becos i didn't let my son latch on more often esp the nite, that's why i dun feel any engorgement at all thus milk is very little!

Ya, our babies at this age now begins to be talkative...yesterday when i got home, at the corridor, already heard my boy screaming...he talk very loudly....very cute!

serene,

what is shan za? what does it look like? confinement i ate everything that was prepared, don't even know what they are.

really envy those who pump less often and still get more! like that more time to sleep....

lucky weekend coming, get to sleep.

tinklebell, yah, Iwoke up to express cos I am really scared of engorgement now. I had fever due to engorgement once and it has affected my milk supply until now. Thank you very much for your suggestions to increase MS. I havent tried the lotus soup though. Lol, dunno where to get lotus here. MAny mummies must be very envious of you. 8.5 oz! That's amazing!!!

Fi, Ha, I play really silly games too. I end up laughing, not him! Skype, I have always wanted to get that but dunno how.

Vivi, haha .. most pple who like Zoe hate Fann Wong. hahha

missk, dont be envious of me lah ...it's 8.5oz cos it's after 9 hrs leh....
no lotus in JAK? I heard fr my mum that the lotus is cooked with pork or chicken and black beans.

Fi,

I think in english is known as hawl flakes....not too sure also. Is a kind of tibits here in singapore, sweet and sour taste. Origin from china. But in china, they eat fresh known as bing tang hu lu, red colour round fruit. U seen and heard b4?

amy,

I'm not going for the BJG trial session tmr as my hubby mentioned my baby too young to absorb anything, like what poohy says, maybe more for interaction with other babies and had fun now so i called u annie and tell her i'm not going. She told me there'll be a class of trial next sunday, also 3-4mths old babies, i'm sure is your group yah?

serene,

Haha, my ger reacts exactly like urs.. she loves screaming loud, and guess wat? into our ears!! This always happens when we trying to ignore her when she wants our attention. Now she doesn't want to lie down, just wants to be carried in sitting position. Tiring manzzz...

kk,

When my boy lies in his cot, whenever he calls us, want milk or pacifier, he will raise both is legs high up and bang down on the bed to make noise....his legs really strong!
My boy dun like to lie down too unless he's sleepy. Nowadays inside the car, he dun like to sit down too, we must carry him standing on our laps...so that he can look around, look out....buay tahan...

tinklebell,

Me too, missed those days when we on ML...at least you dun have to work on sat, your wkend is longer than mine. So i took leave tmr, and feel very happy today...
I'm bring my baby for shopping tomorrow...

tinklebell, kk,

Do you notice that after taking the DPT jab, our babies will shrink down? I realised my son's face not so pong like before......

serene,
shrink? no leh... my girl still the same after the jab... not sure if the jab has any impact on bb face. you went for the 2nd jab already?
ya...good thing we dont work on weekends. we use to work on alt sats but they implemented 5 day week sometime back...so it's longer workday every day.
my girl also likes to "stand" she doesnt want to sit down even if inside the car... likes to stand so that she can look out of the window.

vivi,
wah...u wake up so many times at nite. If i were u i tink i will faint in the morning liowz. Is it becos ur bb didnt drink enuff thats y he keep waking up for u to nurse him also?
For his last feed always try to make sure he is full and rejects ur breast/bottle. then i tink he will sleep longer

tinklebell,
wah....means u never pump/latch from 8.30pm to 5.30am? If it were me my breast will burst liowz! Haha, if i am too engorged hor i will wake up from the "pain" one...*lol*....my max only can tahanz arnd 8 hrs. *lol*
I now become very lazy with pumping. I pump 4x a day already jin sianz....cos its like spending a lot of time pumping. 20mins per session x 4 = 80mins woh...everyday spend almost 1.5hrs pumping! *lol*
But do u realise that if u pump a lot of milk out hor, will feel a bit tired for a while? I donno y i am like tat. Mabbe becos i didnt eat any "pu" food

missk,
i almost wanted to give up breastfeeding too tat time! when i was so engorged i saw the LC once. She massage my breast and it was so painful and u know what? She managed to clear one duct only. Haha...imagine one duct u must pump how long to clear the milk? Those few days were really btiter....*sigh*

serene,

Haha my silly ger still enjoy sitting in car seat, no complain from her :p

DPT jab? which jab is that? No effect on my ger.. she just took her 5th mth jab on monday.

celeste,
ya lor... almost burst liao! v painful but i just cant get out of the bed leh. was v happy when my girl started stamping her feet cos i know she is hungry
quickly stuff my Bs into her mouth :p
sometimes i feel tired and v thirsty after pumping. ever felt giddy too.

Celeste blur,

Initially super tired! Now getting used to it.. My boy will automatically used his hands to push me away.. I tried to feed him again after he pushes me away but he always resist.Think he has a bad habit... cos I think he likes to drink till he think just full. Then when slight hunger, he will want me to nurse him.

tinklebell,

My boy had taken his 1st DPT dosage at 3 mths old, going for the 2nd dosage next sat. Wow my son and yr daughter the same, curious type, likes to look out of window. Next time, we let them meet and shake hands!
Good for 5 days work hor. My hubby encourage me to talk to my boss to change to 5 days work....I haven't approach him yet... :p

kk,

Is good to let our babies sit in car seat early. At least train them to be more discipline. I think i'm going to start installing the car seat too next week. In fact i installed it few wks ago but find it real big and take up space so asked my hubby to take out. Esp troublesome when we want to put him in and carry him out. Mine is not those infant car seat up to 13kg type but of those bigger one which can continue to sit till 3 yrs old....

tinklebell,
but if u r engorged hor, u let ur ger drink wont the sudden flow be too fast cos the breast very full then the milk flow very fast. My ger last time will choke if i am too engorged so i will have to pump out some milk b4 latching her on. But now i no longer latch liowz...so no difference...haha
Aiyo..same here! I ever felt giddy too. And I feel like i am weaker ever since giving birth n BF

vivi,
last time my ger is like she drink and sleep drink n sleep then she wont be really full. So she will cry for milk like every 1 hr or so. Then I finally gave up. I give her bout 20-30mins to latch and if she's not full later i give her bottle instead...otherwise really tired.

celeste,
last time she will choke but now a little cleverer...she will use her gums to bite me if the flow is too fast! then i will quickly pull my B out! v painful leh.

poohy, there is one slot in my trial class. please PM me. The proposed date is 8th Oct Sunday 1.15 pm. Let me know if you can make it. Managed to negotatiate $15 for the trial.

tinklebell,
wow...tats gd
Mine refused to latch liowz. Cos I've not been latching her for arnd 1mth oledi. During this 1 mth i got try twice to latch her but she refused. cos she keep choking. Think she is used to the bottle flow liowz *sigh*

Celeste blur,

my boy was like your gal when he is from 0-2mths.
Typically asked for milk every hrly. My mil n mother c liao shake their heads. I dun care though v. tired. I juz cont to do it for 2 months. Then my boy started to change his pattern when he is >2mths old.. So he will drink 150ml ard 5+ and i will latch him ard 6+. he will drained my breast totally n not enuf, hence will bottlefeed him for another 60mls before he goes to sleep by 8. So he will wake up 2-3 times for feed. Sometimes he can tahan till 2hrs b4 requesting for another feed. Well it all depends on his stomach n mood.Funny thing is i latch him for >30 mins . he dun seem to have enuf unless he latch for an hour or 2. sigh!! My hubby says he actually wants to be on my breast rather than for milk. But hor, i really scared that he will overfeed leh. cos he dun seem to have enough.

vivi,
Its like tat one. that time my ger was also like tat. If i wanna latch till she is full it will take almost 1 hr. Tats y i gave up and gave her bottle after latching her for a while. Cos I dont want her to get used to having the comfort of the breast. If u wanna know if u r overfeeding ur boy, u try one day u dont latch him, juz give him the bottle. Then u have a rough estimation of how much is he is drinking everyday.

Celeste blur,

i estimated b4. That time when i was sick, he drank all of my EBM stocks for a week.

So per day its like 150ml * 7x= 1050ml.

AT times, i could c his stomach already bloated, he juz hack care. Cont to drink like nobody biz. So i think, he is vvv hungry at nite. can drink >300ml within an hr or 2

vivi,
my ger drinks arnd 900-1000ml a day. Her record is i tink 220ml within an hr. *lol*. Sometimes i also donno why they can suddenly get very hungry.
Btw thanks for the toy-s-rus link! I was thinking of getting some toys for my ger

Celeste,

ya i also agree. DUn know y they can get super hungry.

No problem. Was very sad cos i jus bought 2 toys for my boy. SO angry cos no sale n also he didnt seem to like it...

Was thinking of whether wanna to go there to buy the drums for him to play

vivi,

my hb went to the toysrus warehouse sale just now... nothing much leh mostly for older kids. And some Fisherprice toys only... so dun feel too bad
we din buy anything there.

tinklebell, got lotus lah but dunno where to buy wor.

celeste blur, I am definitely not looking forward to seeing an LC.

Re: Latching
My son latches for a short while only and only on one breast. Any mummies have the same experience?

vivi, I am so envious. My son hardly gets hungry. He only drinks abt 100 ml from bottle. No wonder he's not putting on weight!

stephanie,

isn't this a small world and such a special way to "meet up" again. anyway, we haven't had a class gathering for the longest time. the last one i went was when our dearest Science B captain got married last year (he held the solemnization in TJ itself) --- feels so old to be back after 10 yrs!

tinklebell,
take ur time, this is a major decision. actually, u r the other person whom i may alr know. R u only from MGPS or MGS all the way?

missk,
i hv no basis of comparison with other brands or models cos that's the only one I happen to hv at home that nobody wants to use. The good thing is it has a heat therapy function too (so no need to use hot towel)but it's rather bulky and heavy.

Any mother bought Nepia diapers recently, can advise on the price now? Any promotion? Pls reply to me in Apr06 thread. TIA

Lok, i was fr MGS (sec onwards).
But i decided not to put her in MGS cos a bit far away... maybe CHIJ, Marymount convent or St Nics... anyway see how it goes. yesterday did u see the fireworks ard 8pm? was at my in laws place... v surprised to see that!

chenoa,
i bought fr ntuc last week. 2 for $29 or something like that... used to order fr dignus at 14.70 per pack.

morning tinklebell,
you're very early! yeah i saw the firework from my place... am surprised too. wonder what's the occasion?

you moving to bishan / amk ard soon?

tinklebell,
i'm in AMK

icic... just heard over the radio that bishan going to have a new 'build-to-order' project. you might wanna check out from hdb website.

mspiggy,

i hv the impression that this "build-to-order" is for the retirees ... not sure, though

tinklebell,

me too, only from MGS sec onwards. Not the diehard (MGPS, MGSS, ACJC) type. didn't catch the fireworks -- I spend a lot of time at my in-laws place this week cos they helping me to look after bb while i rest my hands (tendons are inflammed).