(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Serene, agree. since you on leave, might as well try out first.
time is more precious for us working mummies... keep us posted on how you find the class.

Poohy, BJG also uses GD?
Ah... which teacher should we ask for? What's the name of your son's fav teacher?

Serene, those cards that you got from mrs wong talk - they are GD step 0 cards. just found out last sat when i was there.

Serene,

I have a trial class from Babies Inc i think. Thinking of bringing my ger there soon. But I think i will only let her try after she has reached 6 mths bah
Btw, I have moved hse also liowz...no longer staying at YewTee.

serene/ ms piggy,
I dont make flashcards (too lazy to do)... just happen to have many boxes wh i bought for my son but havent opened til my girl was born. I like to buy things but after buying i have the tendency to chuck it aside until i forget that i bought them... it's a bad habit

Actually although pp say watching too much tv is bad, i personally find Barney VCDs educational. Cheap also ..sometimes can get at $2 per copy.
Yes...going to classes more for social interaction.

hi tinklebell,
yeah me simply too lazy :p

i read that watching tv too young not too good. i think someone here posted some article abt it... saying tv moves too fast compared to real life and bbs might be hyperactive hence cant pay attention in class.

currently dont intend to start my boy on tv, maybe when he's older say 10mth+. but my SIL said that i shd expose him to eductional CDs so that he can pick up things from there. *confused*

mspiggy,
yap hyperactivity is the concern...but i suppose watch a bit is ok. previously my boy only started watching at 10 mths+...but he picked up a lot of things fr there such as spelling, numbers and songs.

tinklebell,
ya....my mom told me to let my ger start watching vcds after she turned 1 yr old. Now we dont let her watching any tv programmes also. Only let her listen to sounds but she jin notti always try to turn her head to search for the tv...*lol*

Celeste

My gal too, always wants to watch tv..my hubby tried to cover her eyes a few times. Guess what? she actually shows her temper and cries as well.......

tinklebell,
Yes... He will get his second stamp in his passport tonite
I wish I can bring him to Penang too, but I have no time for that yet...

Is your baby close to your hubby?
Aloysius seems to be very close to my hubby. He will start to fuss and cry from 8pm if he don't see his daddy... I think he has very strong "xin ling gan ying" with his daddy...

amy,

sorry i will be giving this trial a miss first as hb say bb too young to understand .. haiz .. maybe older a bit then start ..

stephanie,

Same here. My son loves watching tv...if i on the tv, he will stare at the tv, eyes never blink, buay tahan! My hubby also tried cover his eyes and he showed anger immediately! I really wonder and felt amazed that a 3mths old can react this way!

tinklebell,

I'm like you, has this bad habit. I love to buy things! Frankly I've been buying since i'm pregnant till now. Mainly clothes, toys, bumper mat etc for my boy....My hub is the stingy one, he always think this is not necessary, that is not necessary.... I secretly told my son not to follow like the daddy and also must love mummy more cos i sayang him most haha!

Stephanie,
sometimes bo pianz let her peek a few mins at the tv lor...but make sure u sit further away in case it hurts her eyes. Cos at such a young age i dont think their eyes are developed well enuff to handle the tv's lighting projection (or izzit radiation? Hehe).

i_panda77,
I got my menses after my confinement and it came for a total of 4 times! Twice it was only slightly lesser flow than normal menses and the other 2 times is very light spotting. I am also BF my ger althought i dont latch her on. I asked my GP and she said this is possible...*sigh*

Tell you hor, my boy likes to stare at ppl w/o blinking his eyes, as if he knows very well what we are talking ....Yes, he loves to stare at ppl with his eyes real big esp when they're talking to each other. He looks very serious and very cute.
Does yr baby also react this way?

lyn, wow! Did anybody advise u not to bring your son overseas? I am going to bring Krist to Phuket next month. Many people told me not to. Anyway, I have already booked the tickets. It shouldn't be a problem rite? Can u share the barang that u bring?

serene,
haha! i guess buying things is woman's favourite passtime. men cant understand that? my hub is the same too...everything also not necessary but when it comes to his car, he can spend a bomb just to beautify it
So i nvr like to go shopping with him.

heee heee... my girl loves to look at the tv too :p we turn her away fr the tv screen, she can cry, struggle and make noise.

i guess all babies are attracted to the colorful imagines on TV screen... my boy also loves to peep whenever the TV is on. hehehee

like you gals, we always turn her away :D

i_panda, celesteblur,
I envy you got your menses... cos I am hoping for mine to come... :p

serene,
My boy also will stare at people... lol... He stared at people on the MRT, even on escalator.. lol... So paiseh..

missk,
I think it's ok la...
Diapers, hankerchiefs, clothes... and of course, must bring myself.. cos I am the "milking machine"... lol... My parents dare not bring him out without bringing me... hahaha.. cos later he cries, they cannot settle...

serene, tinklebell,
My hubby loves to buy.. lol..

celeste blur

u also breastfeeding via expressing? me too, but so far my menses has yet to return :p

btw, do you express during the nite?

Serene,

my boy also like yours, stare at pple talking amongst themselves, esp if its animated conversation, he'll also baby talk want to join in like keh po...

missk,

my boy has been to jb many times after his 1st month cause my mil stays there, hubby from jb.i'm from penang so will bring baby back to penang for cny next year.

i think travelling for holiday is ok as long as keep up the hygiene around him when preparing his milk.but i find that baby may fuss a bit before sleep or sleep less if surrounding not familiar. my boy took many trips to jb to get familiar before he can settle down, was quite heart ache the first few trips there cause i knew he was overwhelm but still so many relatives keep playing with him and he couldnt sleep.

i'm going siem reap next weekend (without baby) and need to pump out milk but planning to bring back those milk if can. sayang to throw away...have to be careful of hygiene when pumping milk there.

Babies are so cute, as day goes by, we can expect more and more cute reactions from them.

Now when my baby stared at us when we were talking, I will turn to him and ask him why, you want to join in the conversation ah, then my boy will answer, er, ah...as if answering me yes i want to join in...then he smiles. so cute.

Last sat when i brought him out for dinner, at the restaurants, 2 little gals crowd round his pram and play with him, then he talk to them happily also...

i like to make fun of my boy when he want to peep at the TV...Usually he's sitting on my lap, and i will turn him away slowly and he will twist his head/body more and more to watch the tv...haha so cute!

tinklebell,

Same here, I also dun like to go shopping with my hubby...with him, i will end up empty handed back! If ask his opinion, he will tends to say no need to buy! So sianz! So far, I'm the one who bought all my son's clothings. He didn't even buy a shirt or short for him yet! Very stingy hor???

Spicegal,

How come your 3rd month injection is later than my gal? she's born 27 Jun and went for her 3rd mth jab 25th Sep.

I also thought as long as she drinks milk, clear her bowels, laugh & play everyday will be fine...but that pedia say until like she's very very small..so sickening..
My bb also drinking 120ml aver 4 hrs interval, one day aver 500 to 600, but pedia say one day should drink 700. My friend bb gal week 14 weighs 7kg. ...OMG...

Does bb length affect their weight too ?

Thanks for all mummies concern.

Serene,
I have moved to Boon Keng MRT station tat area

lyn,
how i wish my menses dont come yet....very ma-fan one lehz, then still must spend $ on pads! *lol*

Stephanie,
u r luck that ur menses havent return...cos i tink its very stupid and the menses not regular one....the cycle jin messy *pengz*
Yeah, ever since 1 mth ago i oledi express for feeding liowz. Never latch my ger on. Cos that time i was worried that she might reject the bottle if i keep latching her. So I stoppped latching bout 1+ week b4 i returned to work. Now even if i wanna latch her she also refuse liowz...cos she will choke as the flow is too fast for her...so i juz continue ebm lor.
And I dont express at nite. My last expression for the day is arnd 10-10.30pm. Then next round is morning 6am or 7am

celeste blur

huh? if you dun express at nite, are u able to produce enuf for the whole day? or you already haf a lot stock up in the freezer?

Stephanie,
yuppies....i express average arnd 6 hr interval i can get arnd 250-300ml. Then the overnite one i normally get 400ml from the 7 hrs interval. So its enuff for my ger
Everyday I can pump arnd 1200ml. Sometimes can manage to stock them in the freezer too
I oledi managed to stock bout 2 weeks of supply liowz

celeste,

Wow, u move so far away! U sold away yr hse at yew tee? Did you fetch a gd price... Don't know whether the resale mkt is good now?

hi celeste,
i also pump abt 6 hrly now... your ss is much better than mine. i can only have abt 150ml+ each time

Serene,
Cos I move nearer to my parents so that my mom can help me out occasionally. Then if me and hb wanna go paktor i can leave bb with my mom at nite...hehe :p
My YewTee flat havent sell yet cos 5 yrs is not up yet. Still left bout 1yr+ before i can sell

mspiggy,
u try drinking more fluids? For me is i drink more fluids i will get more ss

mspiggy

me too, i pump every 3 hrly, each time can only haf 100-150ml. but if i were to increase the duration, the volume is still the same

celeste,

i express every 3 hour at work and only get 140ml, sometimes less if stress.last latch on is 10 plus at night, the next morning can express 200-220ml. u express less and still get more! wah! i feed BM super tired all the time, if just sit still will doze off that kind. but have to persevere...

heard that BM mummies more tired, is that true?

celeste blur,
everytime in office i forget to drink water

stef,
i read that we shd produce 1 oz per 1 hr for avg pple.

Hi Celeste Blur,

Jus to share.

According to my gynae, we need to bf/express at least for 6 feeds otherwise, menses will return.

Mel..i bring my gal for 6-in-1 jabs so her jab is 2nd mth, 4th mth & 6th mth...different from the 5-in-1 jabs...today brought my mum to see GP, 'shun bian' ask the GP weigh my gal...she is 5.4kg at 16 weeks..btw her next jab is next Sat...

Serene, my gal also like your boy loves watching the tv and looking at people...i think at this stage, they are facsinated by sounds, movements and voices..last time she will sleep in her pram when i wheel her downstairs to take breakfast every weekend, nowadays she will stay awake and open her eyes big big to look at the surrounding and people around her...very kaypoh...

celeste,

So you bought yr new hse b4 selling yr old, so must service 2 houses now? quite taxing huh? U bought a pte?

spicegal,

I think it's normal that our babies are curious now at this stage. Nowadays, my boy sleeps lesser too. My MIL has been telling me that my boy wants ppl to talk and play with him more during the daytime...sigh, too bad, i can't be there to accompany him...

spicegal,

I'm also bringing my boy for jab next sat, i took up the 5-in-1 from polyclinic. He's taking the 2nd doze DPT. Now even if i want to switch to pte also cannot liao becos i already paid $285 for all.

Hi duffybuff,

well, not bad. Alot of ppl. I brought my boy to shave on last monday. Quite Xi Xin. They have increased their price to $16. After the cut, they will take a photo then print out for us to keep.

My boy cried the minute the hairstylist touch his head, Sigh~~ Cry during the whole hair cut..

very noisy n ke lian....

serene,
thought of making mao pi for my boy also but then he dropped so much hair... now more or less botak not sure enough to make a mao pi or not! hahahaha

if i knew, i will have shave him during 1st mth... so much black thick hair then!

mspiggy,

If not enough, they will take abit of mummy's hair to add in to make 1.
That's what happen to my gf. My boy also drop hair but i think his enough to make, maybe 2 oso can...