(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Fi,
I also feel tired one. Now I juz continue pumping as long as i have milk. If dont have then i will stop liowz. Because I juz tell myself as long as i can BF for 3 mths i am happy enuff liowz.
Dont wish to stress myself over it.

mspiggy,
ya lor...sometimes if busy i also will forget to drink water....haizz...boh pianz one.
and i brought my ger to the neighbourhood hair salon to shave her hair.

vivi,
oic...no wonder i get my menses faster. But funny thing is during ML i still bf/express more than around 6 times a day at least. Donno why my menses still return

Serene,
No lah...not pte. this is my parents flat
They have a condo in serangoon. So my parents n bros staying there. They were planning to sell this flat but i intending to buy over from them once i can sell my current YT flat

Fi, thanks for sharing. I hope nothing goes wrong during the trip. *pray hard*. Siem REap ..wow. .how exciting. My gf just came back from there. Where r u staying?

RE: supply. I used to be able to get abt 250 ml from two breasts. But after falling sick, my SS has decreased tremendously. Now, at most I can only get 150 ml. That's after 6 -7 hours. Sob!! Anyone has lumps in their breasts?

Yah ..the taimaobi is not too bad. Quite meaninful. I had mine done when my son was one month old. Not much struggling. I made sure I fed him before the cut so that he wouldn't make so much noise. I have already recieved teh taimaobi. The salesman quite funny ..tried to tell me which one Zoe has. lol. Probably he says that to everyone.

Celeste,

OIC, Becos i thought if you bought another HDB, u need to sell yr current...

Stephanie,

I told told that if i buy a brush of $100 and above, the tpt will be waive, if not, i will have to pay $20 for tpt. haircut is free.

serene,
realli? combine with mummies' hair! interesting...

how much are you paying? which one do you engage? do you have the contact no? i saw 1 at KKH last time.

Celeste Blur,

think spotting ah?? I also experience that.. It stained the whole panty liner. but the next day no more liao. I also BF/express > 6x.

Missk,

the salesperson told the same thing to me too..
I also get the same as Zoe Tay cos im her BIG FAN!

hi.. i also shave my boy's hair with taimaobi.
then when i went to collect the brush at KKH, i ask them to shave again. FOC. haha :p

i also got the Zoe Tay's version... not becos i like her, but I find tat brush meaning v good.

serene - huh... I din pay any transport cost leh. they din mention tat to me thru out the whole session. I ended up with a 100+ brush. but before tat, I actually wanted a cheaper version

mspiggy,

Yes is real. My gf's son also quite bald, so the person cut abit of my gf's hair to add in.

I have not chosen the brush yet, the person will bring samples to show me on sunday. I've heard that those brushes below $80 looks lousy... I called the shop at kkh...

MTDT,

How much did u pay in total? They told me that i have to pay $20 for tpt if i buy a brush below $100...

missk,

is it big hard lump? may be a case of plugged ducts. I had that and went to Parentcraft in tmc for treatment. it will decrease your ss substantially cos the residual milk is caking and new milk can't flow out. can be painful as well. Basically, they fed me hot protein drink, massage (really deep & hard) and then express. Repeat many times over 1.5 hrs. Then I have to go home and do the same.

One trick I learnt is that can use those electric massager (like those Osim ones) if u lazy or dunno how to do it manually. TMC has those handheld ones. I happen to have the i-pamper at home which i put to good use.

anybody ordered the scholar's brush from babezone? they also have the umbilical cord seal. sounds like an elegant way of keeping bb's 1st hair and umbilical cord.

lok

not sure if mine is the case of plugged ducts cos the lump only appear when i did not pump for quite a few hours, esp at nite. However once i express, it will soften, though can still feel a lump

stephanie,

i don't think that's plugged duct, probably just not sufficient emptying of the breast. Try massaging and taking a hot drink before expressing. When i was at the clinic, there was a mummy who came in and mrs wong assessed her, told her that the breast is very lumpy, just have to keep doing deep massage to break up the lump.

Lok

Can explain what exactly u do for the 'massage'? Have been hearing pple say must massage, but not sure if i am doing it correctly. BTW, is it still possible to increase milk supply now that my gal is in the 3rd mth and she is no longer latching on?

serene - i ended up choosing a $160 brush :p

lok - n i did the umbilical cord seal too.
i like the seal n it comes with those ancient chinese character seal.

all at Taimaobi at KKH.

stephanie,

i'm probably not the best person to advise cos i find it difficult to do it myself too. That's why was so relieved to have the i-pamper at home.
- use a hot towel to cover your chest
- with your palm, massage (press really hard) at 3, 6, 9 & 12 o'clock positions. Finally on the nipple itself. massage 3-5 mins b4 feeding.

I guess it's still possible to increase, not too sure on that.

Lok

Think u mentioned the other time (before my gal was borned) that you were from TJ too, just occurred to me that u might be my classmate :p

Stephanie,
keep massaging ur breast. If its very bad hor use warm towel (those that ur hand can still squeeze out the water but hot enuff) to massage ur breast. Tat time when my ger was around 1mth i kenna blocked ducts till jin jiatlat, cant even express out the milk and was down with fever twice! Then GP advised me to keep massaging n massaging and let bb latch on cos bb is the best pump! I managed to clear all these within a few days and things improved

And then u try to press and press on those lumps and pump n pump then it shld clear by itself very soon

vivi,
twice mine was spotting. Another 2 times it came similar to menses but a lighter flow arnd 2 days. *sigh*

celeste blur

when you pump, do you have to massage and squeeze the breast at the same time or do we just let the pump do the work?

Celeste Blur,

me too..

But hor, i tried to express even at night now. 2x per nite. Now no more spotting.

Think becos of the frequency, hence your menses here. U can try to increase the Xs of pumping. And i think, it wont cum

Stephanie,
I juz let the pump do the work. But if after around 15mins i feel like the no. of ducts shooting out the milk decreases and my breast isnt soft yet (means got a bit more milk), i will try to squeeze the breast n express out the remaining milk
Always try to empty ur breast totally when pumping.

vivi,
I think i rather have the spotting then having to wake up in the middle of the nite to pump...like tat how to stay awake at work....*pengz*

Celeste,

Opp for me cos i would rather wake up..
Cos i dun like to put panty liner also to build up my stocks.
Cos waste $ if no spotting. Hehee.

I dun empty totally when pumping cos like very difficult to express out the remaining via hand expression...

Hi Lok, long time never hear fr u
How r u?

vivi, wow u v on, still can wake up in the middle of the night to pump. i did that during my confinement...after that nua liao... just let it be engorged and only pump the next morning.

missk, maybe can try drinking more warm water or milo...seems to help increase MS.

Tinklebell,

no choice. Cos after i recovered from my sickness, my supply dropped dramatically cos the antihistamine that i took cause a drop in MS.
N during the days when im on medication, my boy has used all all my stocks. He drinks abt 1200ml per day.

So in order to boost my supply, i tried to pump every 3hrly once im home.

vivi

Did u manage to increase your supply by pumping every 3 hours? Me also doing 3 hourly pump, but supply doesnt seemed to increase much........was just thinking this morning whether i shd continue to wake up during the nite to pump.

Stephanie,

I think sooo. Cos now i can get 150 onwards regularly for each pump. USed to pump abt 120-180 before im sick.

I normally latch on.. My boy refused bottle when im home n he can hog me for 2hrs sucking there even though he just drank milk an hour ago.

Hey Amy,

The person in charge of BJG @ pasir ris called me. She said that for "little crawlers" class, bb have to be at least 5mths old to enjoy it.

in this case, think i will not join ur class first. maybe will organise one in nov instead.

sorry hor.

vivi/ stephanie, try eating lots of fish... i take fish for lunch and dinner if i can ... i notice that MS will increase a lot if i take Salmon...donno why.

tinklebell,

i have tried everything, Fish, Fishsoup, milo, hotdrinks,herbal soups n tea. But no positive results.

So sianz. But juz to keep on going...

Now, ensure my boy has got at least 5 feeds a day when im working. and i would be very happy liao..

I realise that after latching on, the supply for next pump would be quite little. Think it has been drained up totally hence need more time to manufacture.

missk,

i'm going to stay at The Villa Siem Reap. heard of that? hope they can help me put BM in their freezer. my hubby joke that if i can't bring home can donate it away in Siem Reap.

vivi,
you wake up 2 times per night during what time? you're not working? think i will pengsan too if do that. by 9 plus i like zombie liao

mummies with taimaopi,
what's taimaopi? how come the brush so expensive $100 over? is it cut baby hair and make into brush?

steffi,
after the 'gushing flow' pass,i massage breast with my manual pump to get the remaining milk out, but usually this ending flow won't be a lot, pump till pua si only get 5 ml. but i do that to hit my quota (baby's intake) of 140ml X 3 bottle a day at work. got quota very stress one, yesterday couldnt meet quota so was quite upset. lucky today can. have you gone back to work yet, when?

vivi,

wah!! then wake up what time to work, you are working right... your boy wake up an hour later to drink, you still have milk? there was once i pumped an hour before reaching home from work, come home to hungry baby he suck not enough. wah he cry and cry...so i learn my lesson i cannot anyhow pump anytime.

see you girls tomorrow. i'm going home liao. this thread very addictive. hee hee...

vivi

u can pump earliest like 12am .. cos i heard that midnite the milk tends to flow in slow

i pump 5 times daily (24/7) getting at least 950 - 1000 ml .

stephanie,

let me give u a clue: Ng Lye Choon always like to compare his results with mine. Does this help?

tinklebell,

how r u? have u found a unit u like in Bishan yet? I hvn't logged on for a few weeks cos home alone with bb. bz entertaining him as he's quite a handful at times.

amy,

your trial class still on ? Is it at CDANS? i know the one in bukit batok is at cdans... my boy used to attend there when it first started. Anymore vacancy? I wanna bring joelle to a trial leh... If u still have vacancy can include joelle? Btw, our favourite teacher is Teacher April. She is really good and most importantly... my boy likes her so much.

Lok

yes yes, got it. Was half guessing it was you when you mentioned that you are a shanghainese.

btw, guess what, Henry Lai (Hong Zhi) is currently my hubby's colleague. I only learnt abt it when he was invited to our wedding dinner....

isabelle,

thats alot!! I have tried to pump at 12 too... But results the same! Sigh~Read that the peak period is 12am n 4am.

Fi,

i wake up at 7am. Gotta leave house by 7.40am.nowadays my boy wakes up at 6+ and he will wake me up. Sigh~ Start work at 9. Can leh.. He nevr make noise. before i wake up to pump 3 hrly, i also never pump. My last pump would be at 4pm. Then i will start to nurse my boy from 6.30 to 8. then i dun pump cos like u , im afraid not enuf for him if timing no rite. Now i dun care. I juz pump when i want. Hee hee.

Re: lumps
My lumps are rather huge actaully. And it's affecting the ms. Maybe can see the LC abt it. My fren advised me to take 2 panadols b4 i go. It will be painful.

vivi, no way! U must hate FAnn Wong then! hahah. I dun remember if I bought the same brush as Zoe. I think Zoe made two brushes rite? 1 for herself and the other for her stepmother.

Hey lok, thanks for the advice. I think I am going to see an LC next month when I am back in sgp. Gosh, my ms has really decreased substantially. Is the Osim Ipamper good?

tinklebell, thanks. I tried that. A hot cup of milo. But the SS still low and the lumps still remain. And I am terrified to see LC actually. It's been there for abt 2 weeks.
Celeste, I had fever too!! Before that, I ahd no lump. Then I had engorgement one day which came with fever. AFter that, the lump just remained. I am very sad about it. That breast can only yield 50 ml max. So I almost feel like giving up breastfeeding.

Fi, wow. It sounds good. I havent heard of it. Havent had the chance to go there yet. Would love to go there soon before it becomes too commercialised. U enjoy travelling? Do u have msn?

serene,
can't join u for the trial this sat coz have to help out friend's wedding....it's a good idea to go together coz we stay near each other and got discount...

mspiggy,
I also one lazy mummy who din show flashcards...anyway, there's different schools of thoughts, so not showing flashcard is not wrong so dun feel gulity...