(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy,

Oh didn't read that you mentioned trial class closed...hmm is ok.

serene, no worries. if other mummies are interested, you can organise another trial class with Annie.
4 months should be ok. Annie mentioned as long as baby can lift his/her head on tummy time, bb can join the class.

tinklebell,

So far, I've just attended 2 yoga lessons, too early to see result! But yoga is really good, at least we stretch our body! I know once a week, 1 hr each time is definitely not enough to loose weight! I joined another night yoga class at Zhenghua CC (Segar rd), starting on 12 Oct, 9-10pm. So by then i will have 2 yoga lessons each week. I know it's still not enough, I need to push myself for daily or alternate jogging at least, it will be good if i go gym 3-4 times a week..sigh, very lazy! When i got home, i just want to spend time with my baby.....

Amy, yap i know it's for the bb... i suppose i cant bring my elder boy in... maid cant handle him.

Lyn, ya lor, no nursing facilities (wh i am surprised cos it's supposed to be a family friendly place!) but there are aircon huts around... if no one there, can hide there to nurse.

Missk, most of the time Fiona was quitely gazing at all the things around her .... i think she enjoyed herself. However, at first she was quite excited to see the swans but as the swans come nearer, she cried... maybe she was scared. i suggest u go early in the morning or on days when it is cloudly. Cooler for bb.

serene,
better than me ... never exercise much...but these days i dont drive anymore so i walk more...15 mins to mainroad; 15 mins back home and 10 mins fr mom's place back home... if u consider it exercise :p Aiya i dont like to exercise.
my hubby's treadmill finally spoilt...kekeke... finally ...hahaha.... cant nag at me to run on the treadmill liao :p

tinklebell,

I should think maybe not very suitable to bring infants to zoo yet. In case, those animals and their poo got germs? hmm......moreover, babies dun understand yet??? My hubby keep telling me to bring baby to chinese garden for the lantern/mooncake festival, i refuse. I feel it's a hassel! Singapore's weather so hot, my son perspires alot lately! Then I dun appreciate seeing those lighted lanterns, went there twice, regretted badly!

tinklebell,

Same here, who like to exercise, i never like it too esp jogging...haiz! sigh! But too bad i'm not blessed with good figure, so i dun have a choice! There are many clothes that i can fit in yet. I used to be a shopping lover, but i've lost the chance of shopping for myself since pregnant! I've lost the confidence in myself with this current figure! Felt so lousy!

Your mum stay nearby? That's why yr hub has to fetch yr maid n baby to yr mum's hse every morning?

serene,
aiyo... i went to chinese garden on sunday...boring leh. thought last year was better.
Think they can understand a little bit cos i used to bring my son to the zoo and recite the names of the animals to him... after a few mths, when he could talk a little bit, he could recite the names of the animals when i show him pictures.
But germs... ya u got a point there ...i suppose if we dont let bb touch the animals should be ok.

tinkle, walking is good exercise too but perhaps not targetted at certain area when we wanted to tone up certain area...but u have only 2-3kgs, so not much of a worry, i think u can loose these few kgs off in a few mths' time. I will have BIG problem becos I've 8-10kgs to loose!!!

serene, trial lesson is $20.00 for crawler.

tinklebell, oopss... sorry, forgot you have no. 2 at home...

tinkle, maybe when i see my baby perspire so much and making noises, the rashes appeared, he scratching his head, I feel very uncomfortable! I'd prefer to bring him when he's bigger, at least when he can see recognize those animals from the book 1st...

Oh really hah? Chinese garden this year very borning ah? Haha, thks for telling me, i will tell my hub tonite so that he dun bother me to go! yipee! I knew it though i didn't go last year. But i went few yrs back.

serene,
i find the exhibits boring lor. no fireworks also leh.... finished walking within half an hr. the tickets r so expensive.... think it is not worth the money.
Maybe i went a bit too early since the lantern festival is next fri...no "qi-fen".

MTDT - my bb's head also unstable. annie said we should give bb more tummy time. anyway, i can schedule the trial class sometime mid Oct, so that will give us more time to practise tummy time in between.

Vivi, MTDT - received your PM. Vivi - please also provide me with Yvonne's details.

amy - thanks.

i also hope to give him more tummy time.
but once start working, weekdays i only hv 2hrs with him. these 2hrs hv to bathe him, feed him then he preparing to sleep liao. sigh...

tinklebell,

It's good that yr mum stays nearby, convenient. My neighbour's mum also stays nearby, her baby goes to her mum's hse everyday. My mum stays at Jurong West. My hub will send maid n baby to mum's hse twice a week as my MIL declare 2 days off a week.

I'm not belongs to the 'cultural/traditional' person so won't appreciate going to the lantern festival...whereas my hub likes it very much. Every year cny, he will persuade me to go chinatown which i dun like it. :p

MTDT - you not working yet? so good...
i only get half an hour in the morning prior to work, and half an hour in the evening after work with jake. he wakes up at 7.30 am, sleeps at 6.00 pm.

Hazel... yes... website states $20 for crawlers. I will ring to confirm with annie after i send her the email.

i working liao... tat's why only hv 2hrs in the evening. he usu sleeps at ard 8-9pm.

morning is always rush rush... practically no time at all.

wow, ur bb sleeps at 6pm! so early.

thanx for all your concern!! Joelle is finally discharged this afternoon.. relieved. I feel so happy to have her back .... and our mpv is done already and be able to collect tomorrow...
Its a terrible ordeal for her... anyway she will be on antibiotic for at least a month and there will be a series of follow up scans to rule out urine tract reflux which may damage the kidneys.

re: BJG class

my boy attended the bjg at CDANS bukit batok previously too... i like it... just that its more social interactions since most of the flashcards and programs are done at home ourselves already.

I had been considering bringing joelle for a trial and have some fun there... hmm

since amy's trial is close, anyone else interested in the cdans bukit batok class let me knw... I want to try to see if we can fix a trial with the teacher I want. Samuel's former teacher is very sought after over there i think... and i like her best.

poohy, welcome back. glad to know joelle is feeling much better and back home. can stare at her checkerboard again...

btw, which teacher should i ask for when i ring annie?

poohy,
glad to know joelle is better now. I had 2 friends who also went thru simliar ordeal when their baby girls were suspected of UTI...very heartaching experience..

wow, you gals really fast leh...now already talking abt playgroup...me lag behind liao, somemore my son much older than most of the babies here since he's May baby...

my son now starts taking milk mix with cereal liao...he quite like his milk with cereal coz he can finish all quickly...for thick-textured cereal, think will only start when he's 5+ mth...

Mel..sorry for the late posting...haven't had time to read the thread nowadays...my girl is born on 8th Jun 2006 so she is into her 16th week now..she has been drinking 120mls every 3/4 hourly..for nite feed sometimes can stretch to 5/6 hourly...on the average she is drinking 500mls to 600mls a day...not sure how much she weigh now cos her next jab is in 2 weeks time..I used to worry that she is not taking in enough milk but so far she seems happy and fine with the milk intake so I dun really bother liao...btw she weighs 2.725kg at birth and 4.2kg at 2nd month.

poohy,
Glad that Joelle has recovered

Amy,
My hubby said ok for the trial. Let me know when
Thank you...

I am going to JB tonite, then to KL tomolo... Back on Sunday... So I might not reply sms till Sunday..

Good morning ladies!
Good morning Okasan and ladies!

Amy,
The BJG is at Cdans? oic...that's v near my place. The course sounds interesting. how much is is per mth?

Lyn,
U bringing Aloy to Msia?

Actually, it is true that bbs could spell and read even before they can start talking. my son could spell before he was 1 even before he could talk.... but we were too lazy to bring him to any courses then...also no forum then so no idea wh one is good.... too lazy to racky around too. Good thing we have a forum now to share our findings.

It's a good idea to start them early.

Good morning everyone.

Okasan, Tinklebell,
I've called BJG at Cdans yesterday and the lady Annie gave me a slot for trial on coming Sat. I've to pay $20. I asked her about the fees. She says depends on which level my baby is in..is moving on lessons. They go by term. Each term maybe about 10 sessions (1hr per session), each session is $30 so means have to pay $300 if total of 10 sessions. Frankly I'm not too sure if it's necessary or rather it does benefits the baby to attend BJG??? So I will pay for the trial and experience it myself...Annie says after the trial, if I decided to sign up, the trial fee will be waived.

Hi Okasan, Tinklebell,

Perhaps 3 of us can form a group and sign up together, then we will get 10% discount off the term fees. Both of you want to join me for the trial this sat, 2.45-3.45pm?

Serene, ah.... if you can wait for another 2 more mummies - Poohy and Okasan or Tinklebell? - you can get 10% off your fees for the term leh... why don't you organise one trial class?

Lyn, no worries, I will email Annie today and will copy you and the rest of the mummies.

Hazel, Snail - I have yet to hear from you, so will forward you the email when you PM me.

morning... i got lots of work to catch up in office so prob wont be able to come in too often
anyway bjg bukit batok is at cdans

serene,

hmm frankly speaking, throughout the course when my boy attended, I always feel its not necessary.... if u go because u wanna give your bb social interaction (depending on their age) while at the same time do some flashcards/brachiation etc, then should be satisfying for u... but if u go cos just for the academic flashcards part.. then not much. GD flashcards method needs to be flashed daily... one week once is totally insufficient... but it will help give u idea on how to flash cards, etc.

serene,
hmmmm...haha...until now i am still too lazy to scout for extra classes for my son.
See u ladies so on, i feel bad. Too many things to do during weekends lah. He didnt attend any extra classes fr birth... we only teach him at home showing him flashcards and posters and he watches a lot of Barney VCDs. His teacher says he could read and write faster than his classmates but only prob is he cant understand mandarin although he can sing mandarin liu xin ge qu and write in chinese. Chinese flashcards dont work for him... i think i exposed him a bit too late. think first priority now is to find him a chinese class to attend.

poohy,

Thanks for your advice. Re. flashcard, I do agree with what you say. It has to be a daily thing, and not just once a week. We dun expect miracle from once a week stuff. Like for eg. my exercise programme too. I've yoga now once a week, i know i can't depend on that alone, if i really want to see result, it must be everyday! Well, this is also the reason why I thought of just to go for the trial and take a look 1st...... I was thinking if I can understand what it's all about, perhaps i can get some ideas and do it myself at home. Though i'm working, not free, i can ask my maid to do it. I was thinking to go down to galleries on sat too, i think there should be some educational stuffs for babies there...

I'm so glad that yr gal had discharged from the hospital. I hope she's recovering well. Take good care of her and yourself too.

amy,

It just so happen that annie offer me a slot for trial this sat and also, i happens to be on leave, not working and i'm free so i says ok to her.

morning ladies

Re : BJG
Babies can attend these classes at this stage liowz ah? I always thought these classes are more for babies at least 6 mths and older?

tinklebell, mspiggy,

I'm lazy too, didn't read much to my baby also i dun collect or make those flashcards. I only have a few at home which was given to me during a talk that i've attended beginning this year... I ask my maid to show to my baby lor but not sure if she shows to him everyday. The pictures all in black, just a few (fish, boat, tree etc...), are these belonged to the flashcards range, i'm also not informative enough! quite hopeless!

Hi Celeste,

Ya, like you, i also thought, these classes are usually for babies who at least can start crawling then more fun mah hor? Hmm.....anyway, since i'm free this sat, moreover so nearby my hse, i dun mind to go take alook.... Hey, you, Okasan, Tinklebell and me stay nearby hor, if can go together will be fun...