(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,

i saw it once and told her not to do it...then later on, again i saw it another time! so angry!
Overall, she's ok if supervised. If not supervised, nobody knows lor. Actually my first impression of her is that she is careful and detailed.. but from those isolated incidents, i feel that i wont want to leave my kids alone with her.

Maybe i've become more "immmm-chimmm" these days.

Serene, my maid buys that for herself. They have their preferred brands so it's better they buy themselves. but i sponsor her the EZlink card top up once in a while, out of goodwill.

MTDT,
thanks for the diapers nos. i made my mother call to ask for free samples... she's like "U always make me do such things!!"

how were the swim diapers? i bought one swim diapers, eagerly waiting for my Brendan to make his debut!! show u the diapers i bought...
http://littlewonders.com.tw/store/agora.cgi?cartlink=IV_Swim_Diaper.html

i bought the Sea animal turquoise.

Serene, wash the mop at laundry basin? oh dear!
Oh ya, recently my son even commented how come the bb bottle so smelly! we realised that she didnt wash the cooler bag properly so still got rotten milk smell....HEART ATTACK! Anyway, isolated incidents lah...hope it wont happen again.

re: SM

amy,

share with u how i choose the classes for my boy... I exposed my son to classes which are academic (BJG, SM,etc), music and movement (KM, Seimpi), Gym (My gym), Speech and Drama (GUG, Julia Gabriel and soon Zoo phonics)

my boy is attending SM this term. I had originally wanted to send him there even before he was borned! See how kiasu this mummy is lah. But I subsequently do GD method with him as I was quite apprehensive about the ESP part of the SM (without knowing much about it though) since we are christians and I want him firmly rooted in christians values only...

Later I brought him to BJG when he was 4 mths old which mainly practised the GD method, plus photographic memory, and the thing I like best is their gym (brachiation ladder!!!). I just went 1 trial cos I wanna see if I am doing the right thing at home only hehee... thereafter he was taught by me at home which I believe to be the best. Subsequently at 9mth old, I sent him back there again but that is more for social interactions

He is attending SM now cos I want to find out more abt what they do exactly in SM classes. The fees is very exp and just for this term I spent more than $1.1k (cant remember exact).. cos still got registration fee and all those stuff. U can get back part of the cost ($170 i think) after attending for 4 terms... I feel he was not ready for the class since it is mostly lots of little activities that require the child to sit still and do... which is very daunting task for my VERY ACTIVE boy. hehee... he has improved much over this one term to be able to sit there to do part of the activities but i still feel the activities can be better done at home with lesser stress with me... so i am suspending him this term and continuing next year when i feel he is more ready. The fact is they teach almost the same thing for the same age group for the few terms.. and thus, u only need to attend 1 term per age group to learn the ropes and DIY at home
So next year when he is more ready and has crossed into 2 year old then i will bring him again to get new ideas haha

What I learnt this round is how to train him in LM, ESP. The others I already know how to teach before the class. Btw, u can read Tony Buzan's Brain child for more ideas too ... very good book though i still cannot finish reading so many books ..sigh

For babies as young as 4 mth.. frankly its the parents that will do the activities... the babies will just sit in your lap and watch since their motor skill is limited. Hmm.. prob more involvement in flashcards and listening to those foreign songs and maybe the sawako. but all these can be done at home which is more impt..

Most of people I know recommended sending the child at 2 year old for better results. Else u just imagine if they cant stay still to do those multiple small activities... hehee nitemare since the fees is so exp.

Frankly its more cost effective and rewarding/enjoyable to send young babies to music/movement class OR BJG (cos they have flashcards, gym and music+movement + motor skill dev, good mix).

Methods like SM and GD are better practised at home with mummy and thus it can be less stressful. Go to classes for social interaction and what we cannot achieve at home just with mummy alone

I may send joelle to BJG just to have some fun interacting with other babies (and use their brachiation ladder) this or next term. When she reaches 6 mths, I will send her to Marsden swim school that Samuel is attending now... I love their swim class. Samuel is going to julia gabriel, zoo phonics (maybe) next term.. and prob start mandeville or semipi music school also. I want him to learn suzuki violin first then join the piano class. I believe strongly in physical development and music immersion from young. I leart music from young too...

tinklebell,

for materials.. u can go to the site shared by MTDT www.sgparenting.com to download
I go to that site too ... they used to be a yahoo group but since they heard last year yahoo is going to charge (dunno true or not) then they set up the site liao...

or else, what else u think u will need, maybe u let me know and i see if i have.

another good chinese learning tool is the ZHONG HUA ZI JING. It consist of 4000 commonly used chinese words and the whole essay does not have a single word repeated. Teach San Zi Jing first to very young babies cos it has many repetitive words and babies thrive with repetition and cos its shorter...
Joelle and Samuel both loves the SZJ.

Subsequently after SZJ, teach ZHZJ.. its quite good for learning chinese words. go to www.zhzj.com.cn or www.yuquan.com.sg for more info ...

seem like some PD will give baby jab at 6 weeks , some will give at 2 months , so we should listen to which one ? so confuse ??

is 6 in 1 better or 5 in 1 ?

poohy,

when is a good age to let baby attend play/gym classes?
cos I'm afraid if attend so early, whether they may catch flu/virus easily from the classes.

sunflower,

BJG is baby jumper gym.. www.bjg.com.sg
When is a good time to join play/gym class depends on what u want to get out of that class ie. purpose of sending. For social interaction, I think 9-12mth onwards would be a good age. This is when they are more aware of the others.... for music immersion, music + movement can be anytime (of course subjected to the school's start age)... generally if u r concerned abt flu/virus.. then start after 6 mths when they complete most of their first year vaccination routine.... this is also why the swimming school only admit babies 6 mths onward after they complete vaccination.

Me too... getting concerned abt them catching virus etc from classes ! In fact I find that classes like playgroups (eg. GUG) easiest to catch virus cos the babies will have more chance to socialise and there are free time where toys are shared and scattered over the floor for them to play
My son fell sick both time he attended.. maybe its coincident hehee... But what to do ... cant very well keep them at home all the time... so I just make sure we practise better hygiene, bring them for preventive jabs if applicable.. etc

tinklebell,

www.geniusexplorer.com i think they have a san zi jing in word format .. u can download from there and teach
If you dunno how to read, can pop over to popular bookshop and look up any of the szj books they are selling ... prob will have hanyupinying in there to help
Some of the words are quite tough... i also need to consult my han yu pin ying

poohy,
wow.. you are so knowledgeable in educating young babies.. very impressive! So far I only start with dot and english flash cards, but even then still have problem following GD method. thinking I will use my own method (in term of no of cards and which one to retire) hehe.. still better than nothing :p
hmm.. infant gym classes are so expensive.. dun think i can afford it

tinklebell,
I have Pigeon cool teething ring, the package says cannot sterilize.. just need to wash clean n then put in the fridge

poohy,
can i ask you something? can I flash chinese flash card to my girl if no one speaks chinese at home? but then, even with hanyu pinyin I might pronounce wrongly.. better not hor?

serene,
Does your maid use sanitory pads? My parents ever have maids who do not know how to use.. **faintz** Maybe can ask her to buy it herself... It's different from if you buy and calculate...

tinklebell,
It's best not to leave your kids alone with maid... You never know what happened. My cousin regret big time now... Long story... His second son was looked after by an indo maid since birth till about 2 years old. He fell from the table to the floor once. And the elder boy saw and told his mum. Imagine the elder boy also dunno how to communicate, nobody will know it happened...
Never leave a chance for anything to happen.. You never know sometimes... Sometimes, by the time you know it, too late...

michele,
hahahaha... Your mum so cute...
The swim diapers look very cute.. which one did you buy? How much is it in SGD?

poohy,
How's the lesson in Seimpi like? I am quite interested in exposing my boy to music.
***high five*** kekeke... I also wanna send my boy to SM before he's born... I already heard about it and started to ask around even before I conceived.. lol...

Have you thought of home schooling?

Oh... SM do the same thing for the age group over a few terms ah...

LM = linking memory?

What is the title for Tony Buzan book? I also have lots of books to read. I just finished a book on ESP training by shichida, and "The Sleep Book" by William and Martha Sears. I am thinking I should open my ESP too.. hahaha... so that I can read faster...

Wow.. really "peifu" you... Got lots to learn from you...

Do you think playgroup is good? I am not sure if I will send Aloysius to playgroup, cos I am scared he will fall sick easily...

mum2b,

no lah most mummies who have older children knows abt those classes and stuff.. I learnt from the others too ... and read up a lot abt what other mummies (especially those practising shichida method or GD) are doing.

GD's suggestion in his book is only a recommendation. The most important thing is to adopt flexibility so that u can have the consistent, happy daily routine with your baby that promotes bonding and learning. No need to be stressed over how many times, how many cards, which to retire... I dun follow strictly also.. I just do it based on my observations of my children and my instinct/judgement. We mummies know our own children better than anyone else on this earth...

for the chinese flashcard... hmm i am not too sure leh... just think .. even with english, we may sometimes not make the most accurate pronounciation too

lyn,

seimpi is not bad ... u know the teacher even needs to use a tuning fork whenever she start singing!!! Wow... so much emphasis on perfect pitch hehee
It also consist of notes flashcards (eg. they flash one note, then play the sound of that note), listening and playing with/to different instruments and identifying them, motor skill development, teaching music theory and idenitifying different music signatures etc... that is what they do for the infant class. I have yet to attend trial at mandeville... cos i dunno whether they got classes for younger babies or not leh... i only know they admit 2.5 years and above for suzuki violin (i hope i din remember wrongly ... too many classes liao hehee)

LM = linking memory.. hehee.. Tony Buzan's mind maps and peg/link memory methods are very well known and good for memory and brain development... I attended his course in my company ...now waiting for my son to be old enough to teach him mind mapping.

Tony Buzan's Brain Child is recommended reading by many shichida parents
They said that it basically explain alot of theory and reasons why we do those practises in shichida methods. Good for mummies who cant really read chinese.

playgroup is good because there are things like social exposure, sharing values which is best developed in a group environment. My son is more introvert like me and hb. We do not want him to be fearful of social interaction thus we expose him to as much classes for the sake of social exposure.

i learnt alot from u too... i dun read those books as detail as u ... too busy and lazy to read liao... i fall asleep very fast ...
I just quickly pick out what I need to read and thus may miss out a lot ....
I learnt better by reading up what other mummies are doing...

mum2b..

ya lor all those classes so exp!!!!!
That's why we must research and choose them very carefully....

poohy,
true.. but at least I can converse in english at ease. for chinese, i can't even read n don't speak also! was thinking to buy the flash card to give my bb a headstart, but not sure how effective it is if she is not exposed to chinese speaking environment. ask GDbaby boss before, n he doesn't think it works, to my dismay

lyn, i agree with u. Our children r so precious to us.... luckily my mum stays near me and my kids and maid r able to go over while i am working. dont think there will ever come a day when i can fan-xing put my kids in maid's care.

lyn,

Yes of cos she knows to use sanitory pads. If yr parents' maid dunno, then what she use during her menses? oh dear!

tinkle,

Sometimes, if the maid is very careless or silly, we can really get annoyed. I'm also a very imm chim person. I'm very particular with hse work and food! U gave her EZlink card? For taking public tpt? She needs to travel?

mum2b,

hmm i cant advise much cos i dun really teach my children foreign language seriously yet. There has been debates over this... the thing is in SM, they teach foreign language using exposure to foreign language songs, use of stories like their sawako... where the same story is translated and told in many different language.... whether it truly work.. hmm i am not too sure... but i do agree environment is v important...

poohy,
o ic.. think i will wait n see for now then. thanks

lyn,
i read u r thinking to buy malay flash card too? is anybody at home speak malay?
what's ESP? can recommend books to read on this? u r also very knowledgeable, must lear a lot from you and poohy

lyn,
may i know what's the title of the baby sleep book that u r reading? my bb doesn't have schedule for naping, thus affecting the night time sleep too .. is the infon in the book useful and practical? i read Gina Ford book, but not very useful

tinkle,

But i think so far, my maid is quite smart, alot of initiative and quite careful too. Her memory is good too. I taught her cooking and she rem and also take down notes.

poohy,
Wow... The teacher gotta use tuning fork before singing... I looked for notes flashcards on the internet before... But haven't figure out how to print and teach. kekeke... I am looking for "shortcuts". Have you seen anywhere selling notes flashcards? If have, let me know please...

Oh ok... then I must go and find Tony Buzan's Brain Child and have a read
My hubby sure complain again.. kekeke... cos I have been buying so many books. I have many health books too, which I have stopped reading since now the focus is on baby

Reading really takes time... I read when in the toilet... hahaha... and before sleep sometimes. If Aloysius sleeps in the MRT, I will read too. I go everywhere with a book.. hahaha.. people must think I am a bookworm which I am not.. it's just that no time to read, so gotta read whenever there's a chance... Sometimes I read till so tired and my hubby keep asking me to sleep and take my book away...

mum2B,
I am thinking of teaching Aloysius German and Japanese though I only know how to pronounce. Then maybe go and learn Spanish and teach... hahaha... I believe in right brain training and the power of our subconscious mind
and believe in if I expose the language to him now, if he choose to pick it up later on in life, he will be able to do it fast, cos it's already in the subconscious mind
hahaha... I do not agree 100% what Lawrence says sometimes... :p

Serene,
I have no idea really...

lyn,

u can buy musical notes flashcard from seimpi. They sell it. I saw it the other day when i was there with my boy for a trial. I had wanna buy it too.. but afterwards i find it bo liao to buy... cos... basically its just 5 lines with a note on it... or if u wanna flash a tune, then a few note.... very easy to draw myself since I learnt music from young and used to be in military band. Actually even if u dunno music also no prob drawing those yourself on flashcards.

Poohy, thanks heaps for your advice in choosing classes for bbs. Hee hee... will do some research on this.

Re ESP - i agree with you. We din like the idea of ESP, we want jake to grow up Christ centered.

ya .. I have to pay for my maid's personal items which include toothpaste, toothbrush and sanitory pads.

Teether
I just bought one from Munchkin. The instructios say to wash before first use by cleaning thoroughly with warm soapy water and rinsing thoroughly. After that, we can store in the refrigerator.

me too, pay for my maid's personal items, including pads. the other day, she was shopping at Shop N Save, and she bought a perfumed panty liner, and charge to our account. i think that was not very cool... should at least ask us first... furthermore, the panty liner she got was the most expensive.

my maid is quite spendthrift, she won't save $$ for us. when she went shopping for toilet rolls, she got the most ex ones Klennex i think - $7.95 for only 9 rolls. I nearlt fainted.

she is also very choosy with food, won't eat overnight food, and she eats the same food as us. once, my MIL bought me cod fish ($10 for one long pc), she cooked two - one for me and one for her.. aiyo... high maintenance.

just yesterday, she took out an ad from carefour, asked us to specifically buy her a set of singlet and shorts....

Amy

u allow your maid to wear singlet and shorts? I've colleagues who insisted that their maids wear T-shirts and bermudas

amy,
wow u r so good to pay for her personal items. u dont choose your brand of toilet rolls? we always pick ourselves. even for marketing, i will do it myself.
i think a lot of maids r v choosy with food. But my policy is if they dont eat, i wont specially ask them to cook special meals for themselves. i think bringing my maid out to expensive places to eat is a waste of money.... she always eats only half the portion
even we try not to waste food ...donno why they cannot do that. Sometimes when we eat in food court, she will buy rice and so many items and not finish them. I get angry when i see pp waste food like that!
Wow your maid eats 1 pc of cod fish for herself? when i cook cod fish, it's usually for me and my son. i will give her another fish to cook for herself or maybe just keep a small portion for her. I think if u pamper them too much, they will climb over your head.
My hubby is super happy during maid's offday cos we will go to those nice restuarants and eat our hearts out!

yes... cod fish is not for her la... dunno why she cooked my cod fish. she has her own fish, maybe she is bored with her food and cooked mine for herself.

i din go shopping with her, so i dun blame her for not buying the correct brand of toilet rolls, even though i told her the one with the dog... she bought the correct one, just that she picked the deluxe version. ha ha...

Step, the singlet and shorts, she said she wants to wear to sleep. since she arrived, i have never seen her in shorts, not even berms. She is always in long pants, even when she washes car or washes our pond. once i told her my hubby would like to buy her uniform, she said no no... cos her legs not nice.

amy,
oic... u didnt specifically tell her wat to cook? usually i will tell her what to cook. hee hee... no wonder she eats ur cod fish... nice mah

haha! but my maid is the opp - tell her go supermarket buy something, she will buy the cheapest. the other time she bought shop and save rice...tastes terrible! my hubby was complaining during every meal
ask her to buy condensed milk she went to buy sweetener. cheaper but not nice lor.
now i just buy these things myself.

mum2b,
I speak little Malay. I think I will be bringing Aloysius to Malaysia often to travel around next year...
I read the translated books by Shichida. The one on ESP is titled "ling2 shui4 kai1 fa1 ji1 chu3".
The sleep book is called "The Sleep Book"... lol... I find the tips very useful for me
I read through Gina Ford book on sleep too... The tips do not suit me...

poohy,
Do you have "shortcuts" to diy the notes flashcards? kekeke... Will there be a clef beside the note? I thought the clef will be important with the note...

amy, poohy,
Does the idea of ESP clashes with Christian teachings? Or is there something that's not in line with Christianity? Sorry ah... I quite blur about this... :p If too sensitive, can no need to reply me...

amy,
Not her "meat" not pain ma... so buy the most expensive one lor... My parents' maids also like that. Eat the most expensive instant noodles... Buy the most expensive stuffs when go shopping togather. Gotta stop it else next time maid maintenance will be higher than wife maintenance lor...
Your maid is new rite? Next time you dun buy for her food she likes, might kena accuse that you dun let her eat... lol... My aunt separate her food from her maid's food, and tell her maid that she can only cook and eat what's in her fridge. Save quite a bit of headache. Cos most maids will certainly go for the freshest food and most expensive food in your fridge...

hmm.. maids in singlets and shorts... not very good... might get misunderstandings as time goes by...

tinklebell, ha ha... your maid so funny. i dun normally tell her what to cook - she manages our household. somedays i find dinner a surprise.
after that cod fish incident, i did tell her cod fish is for madam, and i will specify special food for me, like tonic soups... but we are quite fair, when it's for madam only, sir don't get it, hence she knows.

even for her household chores, we dun tell her what to do on what day. let her run the show. if we see anything that is not done correctly, we will give feedback. hence, over time, things should improve.

even though privacy is an issue with a maid, i still appreciate her help. and we try our best to treat her well.

lyn,

definitely shd have clef beside the note.. else can mean different things.. base and treble cleft have notes on the same line but means different thing mah...

ESP and christian values... i am not so sure too leh... but the idea of ESP in the sense of extrasensory perception dun feel comfortable... But I was told in a briefing by the shichida teachers that the ESP is actually just the senses of the right brain just like the 5 senses are of the left... so i also dunno leh.. whatever it is ... i will do things that seemed right spiritually and does not feel uncomfortable inside.

amy,

Wow! yr maid is very daring! She dares to cook 1 cod fish for herself and ask u to buy her singlet and shorts......I will never allow my maid to behave this way! Just yesterday, i told her sanitory pad is personal thing, she has to pay for it herself. As for food, whatever we eat she eat the same as us also but she cannot choose. She wont dare to separate the food portion too. I'm the one who take every portion for her every day. As for doing marketing, i tell her what to buy or most of the times, we go together. I take, she carry.

Serene, no off days? so u compensate her more is it? what is the sal u paying her? hee hee we opposite... we r so happy during her off days ... cos we feel less restricted and we will usually go to some nice restaurants to eat
Feels more comfortable to eat and talk without the maid leh.

tinkle,

I pay her $20 more, this is guideline from the agency, so her salary is $350. Looking at those maids out there, i drop my idea giving her off day. Anyway, we always go out on weekends and she follows us, in a way, she has off day too, no need to do hsework and we usually go eat good food, she enjoys too, very lucky!

We love travelling too, i also bring her to bintan. she lucky.

Next time, when i find her better, i will ask her stay at home on some days, then hub, me and baby can go out w/o her...

serene,
wow her sal $350... mine only $320... donno if i give her 4 off days, can deduct another $60? haha!
u also bring her to bintan? she must have enjoyed it.
my maid also follows us out during weekends. I dont really want to leave her at home yet cos she's only been with us for a while and we dont really know her character v well.
She also eats the stuff we order fr the resturants but i dont think she enjoys it leh. always never finish her food.

tinkle,

I dun think yr maid want to take so many off days haha...by then so little salary left! Then what's her purpose of coming here???
Ya lor, can't leave her behind, just bring her along, also she can help to carry things and look after baby.

Same for my maid, she dun eat much....and eat slowly, maybe she still not very used with sitting with us eat together. At home, she eats alone in the kitchen.

Ya rite, same here, she also with us for 1 mth+ only, so i dun dare to leave her alone at home for 1 whole day except a few times at nite, we go nearby, we leave her with baby twice and there was once, she stay alone at home.

Thanks kk...recently very busy with my work tat i have no time to visit Jun thread...moreover our thread move so fast tat i can't really catch up...hehe...

Haiz..actually already booked air tickets and hotel to go bangkok on 30 Sep with my girlfriends...now over there like that..dun know whether still can go or not...

spicegal,
ur bb so cute, face so round

lyn,
wow.. so many foreign language!
I intend to borrow the sleep book from NLB, but they are 2 titles. which one is better? The baby sleep book : the complete guide to a good night's rest for the whole family OR The baby sleep book : how to help your baby to sleep and have a restful night

poohy,
Yes, ESP is the senses of the right brain. Something like sixth sense, feelings, etc... Have you noticed that babies, even though do not know the language, they will know if we scold or praise them?? That's ESP. Kids less than 3 years old is functioning 100% on their right brain

Spicegal,
Jerica is very cute... She has deep double eyelids...

mum2B,
Now is English, Chinese, Maths first... other languages perhaps later on.. Need time to source for suitable materials and also prepare :p
Oops... There are two "The sleep book".. I got the latter...

Have been MIA for so long... Too busy with all sort of things on my hands... :p

Anyway, bb just went for his 2nd 6-in-1 jab and rotavirus today.. At 13 wks, he weights 9.15kg.. thought he's gonna be overweight, but my pd said he's in a good size..