(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Stephanie,

I'll change my gal when she wakes up for her feed at 4.30am. Yes, she will be woken up by the movement and would sleepily smile at me. Usually, she will fell asleep within 5 minutes after I'm done.

kite/ lyn
eh...actually more than 2 yrs..come to think of it cos i took the blood test only last year, few mths before i got pregnant. but the leaking just disappeared once i was pregnant. strange hor.

Pauline,
You'r back!! how was your overseas trip?

poohy, so i see. given you have both sets, which set would you recommend i buy?

Pneumoccal jab (not sure spelling):
anyone bring ur baby for this jab? his jab got side effects?

stephanie:
issit? i dun think pump exclusively wil decrease leh it wil either maintain or increase unless u nv empty properly. how abt urs? some of them pump exclusively has very good supply leh. but at least now u stil can maintain good n enough for ur baby rite? how much ml u get per day?

sunflower:
For me, i m stil latching her n i dun intend to stop latching as i find its really a good tool to calm her down where nobody can. only me.
for my ger, she is addicted to latch on for the first 2mths, she rejects bottle n my mum has to train her really hard for a wk to accept bottle as i m gg bk to work. I usually latch at nite else she cant slp , middle of e nite n early morning. Wkends, i try to latch as well.

Serene:
my work environment is all male based n i wil be gg back this thur to pump, gg to use the lady changing room to pump n i m keep low profile fr e guys except my boss also guy. hmm actually my pumping skill not so good i find as i just started pumping last mth, hopefully can pump better at work as day goes by.

Sucking thumb:
my ger keeps sucking her thumb, anyway to prevent her from sucking, wait scare she sucks until got blisters? lol

amy,

I uses the GDbaby's enhanced version. It figured it has cards with bigger font thus I can be more sure my bb can see them... cos I started them young. Besides, to print big font like that is very ink consuming and takes a lot of time... plus my printer may not be able to do it. Smaller cards with smaller fonts are easier to DIY if required. If you find GDbaby's set too expensive ... actually may consider the set that is printed and sold previously in the marketplace.. I remember it was printed in taiwan... frankly, all these cards are just words of very big font size printed on artcards... nothing much copyrighted abt it (correct me if i am wrong) thus, maybe can just get a list of sight words and commonly used words and get local printer to print it.... same effect. The only "useful" thing out of buying from GDbaby is being able to use their post sale consultation (that is if u use it lah)... Given another choice now, I would prob either buy the GDbaby set (for post consultation) OR buy a 2nd hand GDbaby set at mostly 50-70% of the price if i dun need the consultation OR organise a local print for the card.

Once bb reach 1 year old, I think DIY is more than sufficient...

I always try to find ways to save as much as possible ... cos the world of home learning seems to requires quite a fair bit of finances and resources...

serene,

brayden looks so handsome

kite,

My ger like urs, suck fingers last time.. but now she put her whole fingers into mouth and dig and suck until she cough or regurgitate her milk or salivate.. dirty ger!

I am giving my ger rotavirus next mon when she goes for her 5th mth jab

Poohy, thanks for your tips. Me too, think GD bit ex. I bought the picture cards as well as the dot cards via BP. Now I will need a set of English cards, rite? Will keep a lookout then. For Chinese cards, I am thinking of just getting from mph or bookstores. You think this is adequate? Hmm... of cos, GD cards are good, but considering what I need, I will really need to get a second job to support bb jake's home school.

serene, Baby Brayden so cute....

poohy, btw - what is the set previously sold in marketplace? is that a English set? how many cards? maybe i can post a WTB thread?

amy,

I cant remember exactly how many cards was sold in the marketplace... I just remember I would have bought if not because I already have the 2nd hand GDbaby enhanced one.

If you really do not need the post sale consultation service from GDbaby, I suggest u can look through auctions.yahoo.com.sg to search on shichida or glenn doman.... there is always some people selling cos they dun have time to flash
The price can be very low and considerably very new. That's more value for money cos these original cards will have a resale value
Btw, look for the enhanced version from GDbaby hor... its not basic or deluxe version cos those are from USA and has lesser cards smaller fonts.

For chinese, I had not find any relevantly big enough chinese character cards found in local bookshops leh... u found any? I think the GDbaby one is at least 4" tall per character leh... If you use too small a font, I dunno whether bb can see it... plus smaller seemed more strenous to see for their young age.

My son at coming to 18mth has reached an age where its more probable to use a much smaller font... hehee...

Another quite a good source is the I-Can-Read series ... those cards/book fonts are very big

kite

not sure how pumping exclusively will increase supply leh, cos if each time we pump for only 20 mins, there is nothing to tell the brain that more milk is needed.

i pump abt 110 to 150 ml each time, for 7 times a day....

Stephanie/Celesteblur:
true loh, stress wil decrease milk ss. Past few days i under stress, ss decrease abit too. Ya got a few times i pump at shopping centre's nursing room n even in toilet n my hb has to wait outside for me to pump. Quite stressful, somemore i m sharing e nursing room with other bf mum. Feel more comfortable pumping at home.

Paula:
The chart in e healthbook indicate the percentile n its quite easy to read. Maybe ask e nurse or PD to show u. Btw ur PD is Dr. Winston at CCK kidslink? Same here leh. He is very nice n patient hor.

Stephanie:
Not bad liao leh. Somemore 7 times per day is alot of pumping session. Peifu u. Now i pump lesser, 4 times a day sometimes too lazy. U pump how many times at work? usually what is ur time interval? every 4hrs? usually after i pump finish, i wil let my ger latch on to empty further. hmm. nowadays my ss up n down due to my stress. if relax, can get more.

stephanie:
u r so lucky to pump 4 times at work. so envy. i think i wil pump 2 times instead of 3. u using PIS rite?

Hi Amy,
I went to the website and see see already... For the read program, there's only 120 cards in the basic kit. And 120 cards in the classic kit. Those two sets will cost USD69.90. kekeke... I think GDbaby is still cheaper ba... But the encyclodpedic set is cheaper from the website
I paid $500+ for 100 cards...
For the set that I bought from GDbaby, there are 880 cards in the English set. For the Chinese set, there are 800 cards. Maths set has 230. For Encyclopedic set, there are 100 cards.

Stephanie,
I think drinking black beans lotus root soup can increase milk supply. Yesterday, I boiled that soup and I got engorged...

K Ong,
My son also sleeps late at nite.. sometimes 10plus, sometimes midnite... There's a few days till 1am.. cos his daddy went for reservist... he missed his daddy..

poohy,
Oh I see... that's the difference... When I go to the workshop, the boss told us that whatever they sell here, gotta give 20% to the institute... And the cards that we get here are printed in USA. The boss said Janet Doman dun allow them to print here to lower cost... It seems like Janet Doman control their overseas sales... haha.. my hubby suggested to the boss to print here and ship to America.. lol...

Serene,
wah... Brayden swim with lots of bubbles... Brayden looks so cute..

Poohy,
I am also thinking what's next after I finish those cards that I have... Do you have any suggestions? The rate of changing the cards is really amazingly fast... gotta really prepare way ahead... **pant** **pant** I really "peifu" you leh...
hmm.. I wonder what is the smallest words that our babies can see now... Those chinese cards that I have, the fonts are really big and thick.. I havent found a marker that I can use to write on those blank cards that come with the set.. If they can see smaller fonts, that will be easier for us to prepare... But GD mentioned that babies will get tired if they gotta strain their eyes and will not be interested in the cards anymore... That's why headache...

wow... find tat jun mom really hardworking..
feel pressure liao! hahaha

dun noe if u gals noe this website:
http://www.sgparenting.com/

their forum section hv a "share resources" portion. alot of done ppt, sanzijin etc ready made. maybe useful for u gals.

kite,

Think it's really not convenient to express milk in a male environment....but given the will, am sure you can make it.

kk,

My boy same like yr gal...sucks fingers, then the whole hand, the wrist and tuck in both hands into his mouth, then after he will rub his hands on his face all over....saliva all over and end up with rashes on the face.....

mtdt:
y u feel pressure? u can do it also.

serene:
hmm not sure yet, wil see when i return back to work but abit ganzhong leh. cos pumping at work total diff feeling.

haha...

toys - i also never buy much.
dunno wat to buy leh.
currently my boy still enjoying his playgym.

hooray, i just won a bid for bumbo at $45. :p
hee hee

mtdt
dont worry..u also have a lazy mum here

my flash cards r all bought fr the bookshops...too lazy to make. havent been showing my girl since i started work. i dont think i make a good teacher leh cos i always read story book to my boy til i fall asleep instead of my boy falling asleep. But if u ask me to bring the kids to the zoo, bird park or nature reserve, i'll be v happy to do so! I'd like to show my children real things as far as i could. I personally find it more interesting and i hope it inspires their learning.
Wow! bumbo at $45! that's a good price!
Hiaz...i have decided not to get the bumbo cos it's quite expensive and i think in a matter of 1-2 mths, my girl may outgrow it. Moreover, i dont have any more space to put my barang barang in the storeroom...so no more new toys for my girl.

Poohy/ lyn
I also didnt manage to find any Chinese flash cards in the bookstore. The only stuff i have r the Gain IQ flash cards but quite boring cos the cards r quite small. U know of any websites with chinese teaching materials? maybe this lazy mummy should start making them. if not my girl will grow up into a potato like his brother!

Serene/ Kite
Same lor.. my girl also likes to "eat" her hand. or "lick" my shoulder when i carry her! aiyo! i'm wondering if we should we let them use teething bars. Is it too young to use?

BTW, can anyone tell this sotong wat is sanzijin? keep hearing abt it.

Anyone brought young kids to Bukit Timah nature reserves already? I am thinking whether to bring my girl there this weekend cos my relatives r going there on sat morning. Have brought my boy there before but that was when he was ard 8 mths old and i had to carry him all the way to the top so that's why i'm wondering whether i should bring my girl this time round. wonder if will encounter any problem or not.

Hi Stephanie,

i also drank black beans soup with ribs w/o lotus roots yesterday. No engorge leh. So i think maybe its the lotus roots else its up to individual.

Paula,

I also don't know how to read the percentile.
seems so confusing.

anyway, my PD never say my boy in which percentile. just say good, healthy growth!
guess that will be good enough

Mummies on total EBM

How do we know if our breasts are emptied? Sometimes, i pump and pump till nothing comes out, but when i squeeze the aerola, there is still milk oozing.......

tinkle,

Re: Teething bar

Do u mean those hand held teething aid for baby to bite? I've bought 1 b4 i deliver my baby...That day i took out to use, my maid steralize in the steralizer and the plastic part melt so i threw it away. Last weekend, i bought another one from pigeon, not sure if my maid has given to my baby......The thing is whether our babies know to hold it now....

Re: Bt Timah Nature Reserve

U sure it's suitable to bring baby there? I dun think is suitable, first of all, she dun get to enjoy it, you had to carry her up there and you need to consider if the road/steps are good condition? Also, will the mosquitos attack baby?

serene,
true lor, got a lot of mosquitos too hor. Prob will let my son go there with my relatives... bb maybe later on when she is bigger.
Oic, cannot sterilise the teething bar? Then how u ensure it is clean? i still havent taken it out to use yet cos i also think my bb still cannot hold it properly.

tinkle,
I thought it can be steralize but i guess the steamer is too hot for the plastic that's why melted. So i asked my maid to wash it clean and dip in a cup of hot water, then after keep inside the steamer.

oic...
hiaz...talking abt maid, i want to complain liao....i find that usually they r ok if u supervise them doing their work. But if u leave them on their own, they do things their way... headache! The other day, i saw my maid feeding my dd with milk bottle while my bb was lying on the bed! Also she tend to forget to wash hands before handling bottle if i never remind her. Always forget to take the keys fr the door. Sometimes forget to lock the windows after taking the clothes out to dry.
If u close one eye, everything looks ok but if u open both eyes, u get heart attack! Hiaz! Looks like i will not put my kids at home with the maid without someone to supervise.

poohy, i am thinking of enroling Jake in SM at Spring leaf tower. Do you think it's too young for him to start now? But fees quite ex hor? $780 per 12 weeks.
Must enrol for 4 terms hor?

tinklebell,
kekeke... I just buy the cards... no time to make and find :p I also bought a book "san zi jing". I read to Aloysius on and off during feeding time
Think gotta becareful of the leeches ba... I am thinking of bringing Aloysius to the zoo or bird park
waiting for my sis to get free entry pass.. kekeke...

stephanie,
Maybe you can try black bean lotus root soup... I ever read that lotus root can increase milk supply. I do know black bean is very nutritious...

Amy,
When will Jake be starting SM? My friend's boy started at 4 months...

amy,
I am not sure too... Before Aloysius was born, I was 90% sure gonna send him there. Now only 50% wanna enrol him after some reading up and search... :p
$780 havent include GST rite?

tinkle,
U mean your maid didn't lift up your gal to feed? Oh dear, that's bad. If my boy drink water in that way, he usually will choke! Sometimes even when my maid is carrying him to feed water, i also ask her to lift him at a higher angle cos my son always choke himself when drinking water! My maid is ok so far....except 1x when she's ironing, she burnt a small hole on the cloth of the ironing board. 1x she hang the bedsheet out, she didn't put more pegs, so the bedsheet dropped to 13th floor...another time is she washes the mop at my laundry basin and alot of scratches on my basin now!

tinkle,
My maid is quite careful. I reminded her to make sure everything is switch off (lights/fan/stove/water heater etc), windows closed, clothes bring in b4 we go out. So far, she rem always and did well.

Btw, do we have to sponsor the sanitory pads for the maid. I think for such personal things, she has to pay for herself yah? My mum kept saying is small thing, just buy for her, dun have to calculate with her....but it's not $. I think such personal thing, she can pay it herself. Other than this, we provide her everything includes those toiletries.