(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,

ya lor...early hor... my co thinking of shifting. The places they thought of r actually quite favourable to me ...hee hee hope they move soon

actually BF'g at nite is ok cos i dont physically wake up to feed... just stuff my Bs into my girl's mouth to feed her while i lie down. I guess it's the stress at work plus getting used to waking up early that makes me so tired. sometimes my girl doesnt wake up but most of the time she only wakes up 1x.

Serene, wow! so good..reach home 530pm? i reach home at 6pm.
even if i drive i have to leave home at 7am. if take transport, will be 25 mins earlier.
Concussed liao

Michele: What is TW polo ?
heheee, yah me also like to dress my DD up, but now tt i am back at work, no chance ... cuz she is still sleeping when i leave for work !!!

serene, tinklebell,
both of you so good.
I reach home 7pm.
leave house early 7.40am

if need to pump in morning, must wake up by 6am latest, if not will be very rush.

k ong,

i took package at PD, paid about 500+, i think.

i know first 3 jabs can choose 2/4/6mth, or 3/5/6 mth. booster jabs can't recall.
must go back & check my booklet & post up later tonight.

re: 1000 pic flashcard BP

actually these cards are A5 size. Printed from the 10 volumes of GD dictionaries CD. I have those 10 CD too... very costly and can flash the 1000 pictures in many different language. Can buy from gdbaby too... The cards printed in A5 sizes are goood... I use them for image training

when u believe and practise the shichida methods, you need LOTS of image cards... real life (applicable to GD and shichida) or cartoon images (applicable to shichida) is ok.... just need LOTS of cards... cos the suggestion is flash as many image cards at high speed as possible for the image training.

If u r serious in GD and shichida method... then u will need to start collecting as many of such good quality image cards (or softcopy) and start a system of printing your own or making your own or somehow obtaining much more cards... cos the encyclopedic set from GDbaby is just 25-30 topics consisting of 10 facts each.... there is so much things to teach them.. soon u will run out of such cards. U definitely wont wanna stop there right... so buying the cards is one thing, at the same time a lot of effort needs to put into making/sourcing for more. I went to the shichida parents session and first thing they shared which I fully agreed is... shichida parents equal to hardworking parents... many many nites need to be spent on just the preparation work... I used to spent 2-3 hours a nite doing such preparation work... hehee

Things like san zi jing, zhong hua zi jing, etc mostly can be printed by yourself OR if they are slightly older, use powerpoint

re: ESP

the shichida teachers told me that ESP is like the senses of the right brain. Just like our normal 5 senses are of the left, the ESP belongs to the right brain.... and is strongest in the first 3 years of the child's life where they operate predominantly in right brain... At this age, u all do not need to deliberately conduct ESP program... just do pretend play. Like eg take a bear, say to the child, hey teddy is singing a song to u.... can u hear it... then put it at their ear and let them listen.. etc

re: 1 sec per card or less

fast speed flashing activates the right brain. The left brain do not do well with this type of speed... thus the right brain took over and each cards becomes an image ... invoking and enhancing photographic memory... If you flash cards too slow, it does not activates the right brain but the left. Supposed to be like dat lah... thus I flash it at 1 sec a card...

re: baby signing

my son learn most of the signing from my volumes of signing times which he love. For joelle, I am signing to her myself... cos I already know most of the basic signs liao... so can just sign to her..
My son can sign quite a lot of signs... at his age, it helps him communicate some of his needs to us and save some frustration..

sunflower,
wow u must wake up so early? i leave home at 635 but i wake up at 545, or latest 6am.

serene
hiaz... feeling v sian..everyday my mum will complain and complain abt the maid... she thinks we r hiring a supermaid. already so tired and v sian when i hear her complain. Keeps telling me i should not have let the maid learn from CL blah blah blah...cos CL has a lot of bad habits...***FAINT***!

Better tell my hub work harder lah..then i can stay at home, not wake up so early, no need hear my mother complain
Low morale

Tinklebell

Actually my situation also similar to yours. I wake up at 5am every morning to express. After washing up, sterilising and feedg my gal, it will be off to nanny's place at 7 am. Reached ofc around 8 am. In the evening, i will wait for hubby to fetch me, cos the expressing barang can be quite bulky if i have to take the crowded bus. Normally will reach home ard 730 to 8pm....smemore my gal wakes up 2 at nite, at 1 am and 4 am...............colleagues commented that my eye bags are getting worse.

tinklebell,
before BB arrives, i used to wake up half hour before leaving house.

now, must express and sterilise all my bottles before leaving house. so have to wake up earlier.

sunflower/stephanie
Like that i think i am luckier. In the morn, my maid will sterilise the bottles and take charge of the kids before my hubby drive them to school and my mother's place. But at nite i have to walk back for abt 10mins cos my hub usually doesnt come back til after 9 pm or later.
I usually pack all my stuff the day before. I also have 2 pumps. One for home use and one to bring to office so that i dont have to rush myself to clean and sterilise.
Even with a maid, my day wont end before 11pm after putting the 2 kids to sleep.

tinklebell,
Though i reach home early everyday, but the minus point is i need to work every sat 1/2 day!!!! Sianz! I can understand how you feel, after work still must hear mum nagging....why don't you tell her this is your maid, you taught her your way, as long as you are satisfied then everything is fine. This is yr mother, should be easy to talk to her yah? Ya lor, i also wish my hub will tell me one day that i no need to work, can stay home...

Stephanie,
I brought my boy to polyclinic. I paid upfront $285. My boy did not get fever after the jab
I even brought him swimming the next day. I fed him my organic supplement called Indinine... If you wanna know more, can email to [email protected].

serene,
Winter clothings for babies are very cute.. kekeke... I might have to buy too cos I am considering going to UK in November with baby. My sis wanna buy from London during the summer sale, but I stopped her cos I am not sure... and babies grow very fast...

michele,
My boy is outgrowing some clothes for 6-12 months already! The width is ok, but length is too short already...

tinklebell,
Wah.. you go to work so early...

Serene,
Hep B is free ah? I paid $25 for 2 Hep B jabs at polyclinic.

poohy,
I think 1000 image cards is not enough if following shichida... My friend have more than 1000 cards that he and his wife made... now their boy not interested and flash to them instead... lol...
I do agree shichida parents are hardworking parents... but not all though...

ESP:
For the singing teddy, got no real singing one rite? Is it just for them to imagine?

tinklebell,
Ya with 2 kids really not easy. For me, when i got home, i will accompany my baby till he sleeps around 10pm.

Btw, do you bathe yr baby twice, once in the morning and once at nite? Many says that a bath b4 sleep is good for relaxation but i worried he will catch a cold. I only wipe his whole body with wet towel. But now he's 3 mths old and the weather pretty hot, so was thinking to bathe him in the evening too...He sweat quite alot too esp after drinking milk.

Tinklebell

I think the sterilising, washing and packing takes up quite a bit of my time every morng. Also must make sure to pack along the ice packs and cleaning brush etc. Can be tiring to always remember all these.

I need also to boil a flask of water in case baby comes home in the evening and wants to feed on milk immediately...i ever kena once when she cried for milk and i have no hot water to thaw the expressed milk !!

lyn,
My boy is wearing 6-12mths clothings. He outgrown fast too! My bro also worried what size is right to buy for my boy. I told him to buy 12-18 mths old. I think HepB can claim from medisave, forgotten liao, my hub settled that time.

lyn

ya lor... definitely not enough... that's why whenever u have sources for good quality cards, can seriously consider..
I had 4000 real image cards... but have not got round to using them all cos too busy with 2 kids... actually there are just too many things to do if really follow shichida ... thus i take everything and improvise things that i find most useful... dun have to follow everything else gotta quit our job liao..
At the end of the day, all these GD and shichida methods stuff are just 1 part of the multi sensory home teaching we should do... bringing them out to experience the real thing is also part of the thing, just like swimming is also another thing, playing with good quality toys is another, learning instruments or music appreciation, teaching about values like humility is yet another... most important is whatever we do, we never shd ask for results... if we look for results, then we will be putting stress and expectations on the children for what we had done for them... at the end of the day, then its better u do nothing. having fun and joy is more important for knowledge acquisition...

I flashed daily to my boy various programs for 15 mth already and frankly, some of the times, I dun really know whether how much my boy know out of all those things... but i take it as pouring water into fertile soil... and just continue to plant and nurture with water and fertilizer daily... the only thing i believe is that my children are "fertile soil"..

btw, when the child become not interested, then maybe can try other means of presenting knowledge... if he is old enough, can also just read books together (even better). powerpoint... do experiments together at home.. etc we also get to activate our own imagination and innovations to teach our children.. passion is the key.

re:ESP,

ya imagination

serene,
hiaz... dont want to annoy my mother lah. She means well but she likes to stress herself over little things lor... lucky my bro and i r like my dad... take things easy kind.

My girl bathes only 1x. But we will clean her with a wet towel in the evening. We wont bathe her more than once cos she hates to bathe! Rememeber i told u all that she cries as if the whole house has collapsed each time she bathes...same thing lor.

my son is the one hard to handle. attention seeking kind lor. On sat, he got lost in the market. we thought my dad was with him but somehow he sneaked and hid somewhere...so my dad thought he was with us....only when we went to the car did we realise he was missing!!! went back to look for him and thank goodness we managed to find him crying out v loud with a lot of strangers giving us the puzzled look. They must be thinking wat a lousy mummy i am.

tinklebell,
Your maid dun listen to your mum, is it?
I think for maids, can only have one boss leh.. Either you instruct or let your mum instruct. If you take sides, your maid might not obey what your mum wants. But maids are also human.. got limited time and things they can do a day...

lyn,
not that she doesnt take instructions fr my mum but my mother assumes she will do this and do that... u see... u cannot always assume... i told her if u want the maid to do anything, u have to guide her and tell her your expectations lor. i think my maid is a simple and nice lady... just that my mother's expectations r quite high. Haha... we used to it liao lah... can u imagine last time in school when i have finished revising my work, she will nag at me and ask me why i never study....aiyo!! she likes to stress herself and pp around her lor.

Serene,
I dare not get winter clothings now.. cos I scared later cannot wear when time comes... I dunno how fast my boy is still growing. If buy too big clothes, wind will get in and not warm enough. If buy too small, cannot wear...
Oh yes, I remember... HepB can claim from medisave... I paid that in cash..

poohy,
yalor.. there are too many things to do for shichida program... I think GD program also got lots to do. I am also stocking up cards... lol... And also looking around for friends to exchange cards... I really got no time to DIY.
Last GD workshop I went, it's better to DIY storybooks for baby... I think I will do that.. My target is 100 books as a 1 year old birthday present... My hubby asked me why not 1000 books... ***faintz***
I stay at home most of the time to do my work, I already have no time... lol...
I do agree with you.. cannot ask for results... and I also believe in parents have to "yi shen zuo zhe". When I see kids beating their parents in the public and in my cousins' kids, then I look at their parents.. Their parents also beat the child... hence, the child will do that too... I am very conscious of my actions and my words too... :p
Really gotta believe that they are "fertile soil"
and cannot expect results back... Jia you oo!

I hope I can be like you too... Really takes a lot of patience, hard work and motivation.. You are the best mother to them...

lyn,

agree with you, we must "yi shen zuo zhe"
cos kids are learning from us, they'll look up to us.. so whatever we do right/wrong, they will think that it is right and follow suit.

tinklebell,

Ya same, my son also bathe 1x in the morning and in the evening, we clean him with wet cloth. I think he enjoys bathing but he don't like to wash his hair, sometimes he cried and many times, he's impatient, complain and make noise! But you brought your daughter for swim yah? She likes to swim?

Oh dear! Yr son nearly went missing ah...luckily he cried loudly and you found him! He must have got scared off...In most of the cases, after you had yr 2nd one, the 1st one will tends to feel very insecure, requires more attention than before, gets very jeolous easily.

serene,
ya, brought her to the pool to play water only but she hates it! hahaha!
bringing bb for winter holiday?
we r thinking maybe to go to australia in winter next yr... still a long long way to go.

poohy,

signing .. will it kind of slow down baby's speech learning.
meaning since they can sign and we understand, will they still want to learn speech at earlier age?

tinklebell,
good thing he's safe and not wander further away.
he must be scared by the incident.

sunflower,
haha! my boy seems to be scared only for that moment... the next day, we caught him wandering off fr Macdonalds to BK next door while we were in downtown east! children have short memories har!

tinklebell,

Actually i'm afraid that my baby will not be used to the cold weather, will catch a cold or fall sick......but it will be nice to go with my family esp my bro is coming back from melb this year for cny. Also, have not seen my grandma for 2 years...she's quite lonely there...

Hey u know, Australia always have this promo of 2A+2C (a family package of 2 adults + 2 children) at cheaper price... By the way, i think we also need to pay a certain percentage of airfare for baby rite though he's not taking up a seat? If going, also must consider bringing the maid or not. Has its pros and cons.

hey bfing mummies at work! wat kind of bags u all bringing to work to put all your barang barang like cooler bag, breast pumps n etc. me bringing my allerhand diaper bag to work leh, hope its not funny wor. cos e bag is very spacious.

serene,
U also going australia? a bit hot during y/e. I'll probably go middle next year.

I wont bring maid. Haha! actually my hub and i love the days when maid go on her off day. we have the whole day to ourselves without a stranger..... we will go and makan at expensive restaurants during her off days...dont like to bring her along cos we dont feel comfortable talking and eating with the maid tagging along. I will put her with the agency if i am going overseas.

Amy:
Thanks!! yep, larry is tw. my son not fair woh... very tan!! everyone says he looks like my hub.

K Ong:
it's called being lazy...abbreviations...heehee
tw= taiwan
polo= polo ralph lauren
so become tw polo... haha, u must ve thght got new brand..

Serene:
u finish work so early...wat particular brands do u buy for your bb? any pictures of bb??

5 in 1 jab will not cause fever anymore... less chances BUT still...

Brendan takes his daily bath in the evening or sometimes even at 10pm!! (his lazy mom) now weather in tw very bad, guess it's to punish those people who wanna depose the president!!

kite

i bring along a backpack everyday. The bottles and funnels will be in ziplock bags. I put the pump in a smaller sling bag before placing it in the backpack

kite,

i bring my Avent pump in a lock and lock container plus a small cooler bag and a pack of wet wipes all in a big working bag.

Hi Poohy

do you have the contact of hiap moh? Usually how many blank cards you order and what kind of sizes? Really pei fu you got so much energy manz!

Hi Mommies

for those who wanna the safety 1st exersaucer at Isetan Tampines, they have run out of stock so need to place order with them and they will deliver to you. I went down during lunch time and cannot find any liao..the lady told me that their 20 units in stock was all sold by Monday

Ms piggy, not really..only takes 10 mins cos i assemble everything and put them inside the lock and lock container...no need spend time to assemble.

hi tinklebell,
i see... i'm carrying the ameda to office. find it quite troublesome to assemble and wash. i only pump once in office... no facities very hard to pump in peace! hehe

ms piggy, i also pump 1x in the office inside the toilet that's why i use avent manual bec no sound...hee hee...bochap those pp outside.. how much milk can u get? i get ard 7 to 8oz.. not sure if it is ok cos i pump every 6hrly.

tinklebell,
i tried to do it in the pantry this week (just started work yesterday)... also been pumping 6 hourly. my ss lesser than yours... only can get abt 5-6 oz

tinklebell,
not too bad a supply for you since you're using manual. i havent use manual pump ever since i bought ameda. wonder if the ss will be the same or lesser?

soh1dful,
my mom bought at isetan scotts also no stock BUT will deliver to us this weekend. no need to run all over, just order and ask them to deliver!!!

mspiggy ah, apparently manual pumps are good woh... i also using avent manual...
see this post:
A good tip I was given wiht my first child when milk production was low was to also pump, I had an electric pump and found it discouraging, only like 15-20 ml at a time or less.

My cousin suggested I get a hand pump and bought me the avent one, she also suggested pumping at the same time as the baby ate (takes some skill!) but I definitely had higher yield for milk storage and the pumping led to more milk production.

Are you using a hand pump? the motion the suggest pump-pump-pump-hold resembles more the sucking motion than the electric one that goes on and on and for me it also spurs the let down reflex. Also do drink lots of liquids.

A number of my friends didn't realise the diff of electric and hand pump and the switch has helped.

http://www.parentpages.net/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=1907

to each its own i guess..