(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Poohy,

thanks for the info... how long does the sale last?? how much did u pay for ur leap pad?? and how many books did it come with? Thanks!! BTW, u check ur email?? u dun log on to msn anymore ah...

michele,

i dunno how long the robinson sale last leh... maybe u can check their website? Hmm the leappad I bought is during a bulk purchase special price. It comes with 1 book...
But I bought quite a few more cos we managed to have bulk purchase price with it too..

i do check my email but mainly on weekdays... cos weekend i am too busy... now i steal sometime to log in to the forum only hehee.. while my hb look after them. I cant msn... cos my company dun really allow msn.. and i started work liao so most of the time i am in office..
Sian rite...

lyn, poohy

think have those use-onece-throw underwater camera.
but not sure which brand and how much.

poohy: hehe where is metro tampines? not familiar with that area.

wow joelle seems to be enjoying her swim..

poohy,

haha what a suggestion to help me slim down hmmmmm.... using ur method, i guess i have to forget about slimming down at the moment liao LOL haha..

michele,

Do u bath ur son sitting up position? Mine still lying position during bathing.. so wonder how to make her splash water haha.. she only know how to kick water and she enjoy doing that. Today my hubby held her in sitting up position and i bathe her.. she seem a bit shocked haha.. but she never "complain" though :p

Hello all aunties,

Hope u all have had a great weekend
Tomorrow daddy and mummy got to work liao.. nobody play with me already.. sianzzzzzzzz

511302.jpg

kk,

Your gal starts growing some hair huh? She's so adorable!
Btw, did you actually used her hair to make scholar brush (taimaobi)?

kk, aww ur princess so cute!

lyn, ooo- I'm looking for cheap underwater cam too, if u find any, update me pls!

511640.jpg

Taken last mth- I topped up one of my boy's session to include my gal, and this print. Very rare studio pic of my gal smiling- she usually looks very serious! *1st* time she was so physically close to her brother too... only very recently that she was comfortable at such proximity.
My boy has a package spread over 1 yr with Kids Pictures (Forum).

kk,
My boy has very short neck (as if no neck haha!), so I need to let him on a lie down position so that i can reach to clean his neck....but yesterday, i gave him a new style, head and tummy facing down, i think he's quite shocked too cos he's new to this position.

Is it true that after the jab, the part where it was jabbed will be swollen. My son had his jab last wed but only yesterday when my mum carried him, he touched the right thigh and felt a lump, that was the place where it was jabbed....??? Have you gals experienced this on your babies? What shall i do? Use hot towel to rub/massage? Will it go off, i'm so worried!

I am in urgent need of a babysitter. Does any of you have any recommendation of one in Sengkang-preferably in rivervale area?

My babysitter just told me over the weekend that she needs to go for emergency op and will not be able to look after my gal!!! Sianz!

michele,
its ok...u can call me panda. I went to Scotts Isetan. Actually i wanted to get the Melody Maker too. Just when i was about to pay for my purchase, i saw the Sun Garden...I got it cos it got a pillow for tummy time...i need to train my son's neck

morning mummies... just came back from isetan. got the safety first exesaucer.

over the weekend - on Sat and Sun - bb jake had a swim in our bath tub. he kept kicking vigorously... seemed very excited, but no smile on his face, maybe he is abit tensed. next week, will hit the pool lo..

poohy, joelle seemed to be enjoying herself lei...

medusa - nice pic.

kk:
lying down lah... with a net under him... just move his legs to kick in the water and arms too!!

panda:
yep, like u, wanna get it cos of the pillow!! someone told me tropic isle availble somewhere... ARGH!!! help!! memory so bad!! BUt dunno if i should get another one cos i do already ve a combi hello kitty one...

amy:
i also wanna get that... i beg beg beg my mother to get it... hee hee!! thought u gonna get FP? they dun sell in spore rite? the safety 1st is a bargain rite!! heavy? wanna bring bac to tw!!

serenE:
my son had no swelling u talking bout the 5 in 1 jab rite? i dun think its wise to put hot water as it might aggravate it!! don't take bath for 2-3 days thats what i did. think its norm? some adults go for tetanus also selling after... just keep an eye on it, swelling gets back go to doc!!

michele, ha ha... yes... ks me... went there early to queue... not very heavy la... okay to bring back. the FP not available in Singapore due to some defects.

Hi Poohy

where do you get the blank flash cards? U print onto the flash cards directly or cut and paste onto it? What if you are unable to show the flash cards at least twice a day? I think i will have problems flashing the cards twice a day coz usually by the time i reach home its 8plus and Darrell is usually sleeping or tired =(

Wow..can tell Joelle is really enjoying her swim.
I tried "pouring" water onto Darrell's head by squeezing water from a towel (is this ok?) but my mil keep asking me not to do it coz she say he is scare =( I only bathe him during the weekends and i doubt she will pour water over his head even when i ask her to do so during the weekdays.

Hi Lyn
can email me the pages as well? My email [email protected]

Hi Amy
which Isetan did you get the safety 1st exersaucer? I went to Isetan scotts but cant find any. Any idea when does the sale ends?

re: safety 1st exersaucer

its available at robinson... AND i saw it at isetan tampines (tampines mall)

soh1dful,

I bought my blank cards from hiap moh... the supplier... Becos I always buy in bulk myself.. so i dun normally participate or do bulk purchase... cos I am able to meet the numbers myself... I have many different sizes of cards... use it for different purpose... I generally print direct onto the cards for words... for picture I may print on paper before pasting on the cards for best result

I do not flash twice a day. Sometime I flash 3 times, sometime once...
Its all about whether they have the mood, we have the time, and enjoyment. Last time for 1 year with my son, I used to flash twice a day.... but these days, I use a counter sheet... each time I flash, I note it down in my sheet to record... once I flash 15 times for words, I retire entire set.... 30 times for pictures. Actually no hard and fast rule as u go... cos it all depends on your child's mood, receptivitiy... sometimes when they seemed bored with a set.. i will retire it... cos they prob already know the stuff without reaching 15 times... plus, even if they dunno, I wanna show them new things to stimulate their brain.... learning to read or recognise words is just a bonus to me....

I do not just do GD... also shichida... phonics, story books, signing, etc... I believe children has the capacity and ability to learn like a sponge.... thus I believe in input in all areas including physical..
Generally I do not test for output... cos output should come in 3rd year onwards ... so before that are input years...

my mum was so amazed last week when i dunked joelle thrice in front of her
she is also very concerned abt bringing them swimming so young or even pouring water over their faces... but she is generally very supportive of me and respect my decision whenever I decided that it should be done...

i look forward to bringing them swimming again this weekend...
wish i can bring them daily but well... we all gotta work around our working mummy constraints

poohy,
I brought my boy for his first 5in1 jab last Friday
I was thinking maybe cannot swim on Sat and Sun. But he was fine
So off we went swimming...
I am thinking of borrowing an underwater camera from my friend who goes diving often... NOw, I am rather busy, so will take months for me to get that camera... lol... There are disposable ones... I think less than $20...

Does Samuel has a library of books at home? I went for a workshop at GDbaby. It seems like books ownership is very important for kids. I might make my own book for Aloysius for his first birthday
kekeke... Very exciting...

poohy, medusa,
Another way is to get those waterproof cover for the camera you have... Then can become underwater camera already

medusa,
Your boy is very chubby and very cute... Your gal smile is so pretty...

kk,
Your gal is very cute and adorable too...

Serene,
So far, I did not see any lump on my boy. I brought him for 5in1 last Friday.

Wah.. You gals have been shopping... I have no time for shopping over the weekend... kekeke... after bringing my boy for swim, forgot I need to go shopping liao...

soh,
My parents and in-laws also dun believe in my boy can swim... and dun pour water during bath.. hahaha.. I do it in their absence... lol... Even I do flashcards they also say I giving stress to my boy... Recently, my mum saw it on TV about flashcards, so she's receptive to it already
. Think I must ask my mum to read the books that I am reading... lol...

poohy,
You are very hardworking and full of energy... Really "peifu" you..
I stay at home, but also cannot flashcards 3 times a day according to GD's schedule. And I think I do not have the energy for daily swimming with Aloysius... Cos more work for me to cope with... kekeke...
And I gotta read up how to nurture kids too... I just digged out another book by Shichida which I haven't read... hahaha.. and I do revise what I have read, cos I forget... Now reading about ESP. I might start ESP "training" at home too... Now only one third through the book...

medusa,

wow your boy and girl looks so sweet.. heartwarming to see the siblings together

I dun really have much photo of the siblings together... this is one I managed to capture last week... samuel try to sayang joelle..

511957.jpg

lyn,

thanx... ok i try to see if got those underwater cover

soh, surprisingly, bb jake is not afraid of water. i poured water over his head during bath time, he was ok. only started on sat and sun. on sun, while in the tub, his head fell front down into the water. but he was a brave boy, din cry.

i went to isetan scotts to get safety first. what time did you arrive? i was there at ten.

poohy, wow... bb jake as got the same color bumbo and the same gap bb roomper as joelle...
i also placed jake on the bumbo and read him story books.

re flash cards - my mum has been flashing the same set of cards to bb jake. do you think he will get bored? he seemed excited at the start, but these days, he is no longer oohhing and ahhhing at the cards. time for a change?

poohy,
It's very heart warming to see Samuel sayang Joelle... Do you read to Joelle in the bumbo?

amy,
Time to change... Baby will get bored very fast and the speed of new materials gotta be fast.. I am "panting" already.. lol..

Poohy,
I started equations on Sunday
Have you started equations for Joelle?

amy,
haha...my hubby went to isetan to get the exersaucer too. Isetan got free delivery for purchase abv $100, so i ask him to buy some NUK teat to top up. Heehee..me bot many toys for Josh over the weekend liao..TinyLove gym, bumbo seat & now exersaucer

amy,

hehee... both the bumbo and the gap romper are inherited from samuel... her gorgor wore it before her... now her turn.. next time pass to another siblings... she is mostly in blue cos gotta reuse gorgor's things

lyn,

i too feel discouraged and tired sometimes... but i guess human go thru ups and downs in our emotions but ....becos its something I feel passionate about, I always manage to pick myself up again... i really love to teach my children... helps to have a suppportive hubby too.. he will do most of the housework.. so that i have time to do the flashcards and plan the material

ya i started joelle on addition already...

i sit joelle beside us when i read to samuel... and sometimes as i read and show her the book pages, she will laugh and smile..

ya this photo warms my heart too ... its on my desk

amy,

ya must change the flashcards regularly ... the common rule is 15 times for words, 30 times for picture... can be lesser time depending on the child

Michele, lyn

I brought my son to polyclinic for 5-in-1 too. The nurse just replied me saything that the lump thing happened to some babies and will go off in 2 wks' time.

poohy,

The photo of your son sayang your daughter is sweet. Btw, did you buy a playmat for your daughter, the one on the pic that your daughter sits in bumbo seat? Where did you buy the playmat, looks very colourful.

serene,

ya i bought 4 bumper playmats from smallsmallworld during some of the bulk purchase last year. The one in the picture is called the DINO PARK. My others are the DINO, pooh wonderland and pororo in train. I love the dino park so much .. its really very colourful hor...

poohy, where can i buy good flashcards? i am currently using bb einstein flashcards.

Yes.. bumper playmats very fun... was sleeping on jake's world map the other day, and realised i dun really know the location of some countries until i check out the map. ha ha...

LOVELY!! makes me wanna have more kids again!! wat are the chances of being pregnant now that i'm TBF and have not had my period??

poohy, 4 bumper mats!! ex? are they big? do they cover at least half a room??

MOTHERS!! looks like we'll all be getting the same exersaucer!! heehee... WAT A BARGAIN rite!!

anyone gettin leap pad??

serene/medusa/lyn,

Haha, ya, i couldn't resist her cheeks nowadays.. keep pinching her heehee..

serene, ya, she grow hair real fast! Nope, we didn't make the scholar brush. i told hubby if we make scholar brush, maybe can make a lot because she had lots of hair before her shave!

amy,
I follow Glen Doman method, so I bought flashcards from GDbaby. hee.. cos lazy to make :p It will take up quite a bit of time to make.. cos gotta print, cut, paste... I dun have much time for that too.

poohy,
It really takes time to plan the flashcards hor? Do you have any shortcuts? kekeke... How long will you do addition for Joelle?
Today Aloysius does not like flashcards
Everytime before I do flashcards with him, I will ask him if he wants.. Just now I asked and he cried...

lyn,

guess bb have their moods also hehee
So far joelle loves her flashcards session... she just love any attention we give her... cos she is the 2nd child.. and many times everyone's attention are split... plus Samuel is at an age where he can have a lots of separation anxiety and thus.. she may be a little neglected..
eg. Samuel's sick these few days and he got so cranky .. just now my mum told me he wails and cry to be carried when she attended to joelle... sigh

anyway joelle had always been a less demanding child... she smile and laugh so readily by us just calling her name once. I think she knows that we are busy with gorgor and she is also cooperative with us..

hm.. I plan to do addition for about 2-3 weeks. Each day will have 9 addition ... she is on english, chinese, maths program plus encyclopedic now. I added in san zi jing single words card too... if i have time in the morning, I will also flash at very fast speed about 100 picture cards for image training. In the evening when I am able to, I will do eye training with her...

the only shortcut which i have and used as last resort soon is powerpoint with Samuel... its harder to capture his attention and thus I am seriously thinking I should use powerpoint with his maths program... else I will be too busy trying to plan out the cards for his maths equations till I have no time for anything else... plus if the cards are used for his equations, then i cant plan it fast enough for joelle's equation though I have 2 set of the gd maths kit...

Hi Poohy,

Do you mind to share with me your info on how to introduce the flash cards, making them and also other learning materials that canbe introduced to kids? If convenient, can you PM me?

Also can I know where do u normally obtain these information?

Thanks alot.

poohy,
Hope Samuel will recover very soon
You must have been a happy mommy while pregnant with Joelle...
Wah... I only give Aloysius 3 addition a day... How do you do the encyclopedic? I have the encyclopedic set, but I was told to start it at 6 months... hahaha... I find it a waste to let the set collect dust in the storeroom. But I have no time to read the GD book on encyclopedic knowledge.
For the san ji zing single word cards, it's one word per card rite? Then many cards at one go? What is the size of the cards that you are using?

lyn,

i dun really follow the GD book in the encyclopedic knowledge presentation... i just flash the cards 30 times before retiring
I think many mummies did that with success... basically the GD method is just a recommendation.... we use our own flexibility so that it suit our lifestyle and constraints best
I flash more image cards to joelle becos of shichida influence... for samuel i did not start picture till abt 7-8 mth i think...

ya the san zi jing is 1 word per card for stage 1. I mainly flashed 1 word per cards to joelle... when she is slightly older, and gain enough words, I will start to flash couplets card like samuel's. 3 words per card for san zi jing. I uses my own improvised card size of 5x6". This is the size i like for chinese single word... each word is abt 3 inch tall.

amy,

go to www.gdbaby.com.sg to contact them

sunshine,

dun mind sharing at all... but for a start u may like to read the book How to teach your baby to read by glenn doman. This will make the foundation.

amy,
Go to www.gdbaby.com.sg to contact them. It depends on what you want to teach Jake.. I bought the English, Chinese, Maths and Encyclopedic. Jake should like Maths at this age. I am contemplating on getting a Malay set from them too... kekeke... GD program is a structured program to teach your baby how to read. I find the workshop and emails quite useful. I will email or phone the boss when I have problems
. Buying cards from them is expensive but I think we are paying for the support too..