(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,

wat kind of support do u get from gdbaby? I had contemplated on getting a set from them too... though i already had all their programs but i bought them 2nd hand. But not sure wat service they provide.. cos heard last time i heard some negative things abt their post sale support... maybe u can share more and if its useful i will get a english set from them. (then sell my 2nd hand one) hehee

lyn,

samuel is attending shichida... ESP is just one of the thing practised in each session. Generally, they will be given 2 cards, let say one contains a train picture and the other is blank. We will ask them to "hear" from the 2 cards which one contains the train...etc. I dun really practise ESP a lot though shichida emphasizes it...

poohy,
Is the playmat expensive? How much you pay for it? Things from smallsmall world not cheap yah?

kk,
True, i think my son also can make many scholar brushes if we want since he has more hair than other babies. So did you keep your gal's hair. I can't bear to cut his hair actually, think i will keep whatever the balance for memory.

Lyn, poohy, just rang GD. Hmm... the lady v friendly. Will be dropping by on Sat to buy the cards. One question - what would you recommend I get? One set is $560... aiyo... heart pain. Should i get reading cards or Baby Encyclopedic cards? I am lost.... please advise so that I will not overspend unnecessarily on Sat.

Lyn, you bought 4 sets ah? English, Chinese, Maths and Encyclopedic - how much did you spend?
aiyo.... must take on another part time job to support jake's ECA... ha ha...

gals, looking at how u teach ur bb, i feel so gulity.. have not been very diligent in flashing cards to my bb.. sob sob.. play with him already no time not to mention teaching him stuff.

Btw, any plan to sign up bb for classes? seem that there are many classes for bb but lost as dun noe what to sign up for.. Any1 plan to go for trial class? If yes, pls tell me cos i am interested.. tks alot

peng, dun feel bad. i also dun have time to teach bb cos working.
luckily mum does flash cards with bb jake twice a day. but jake is getting bored of the same stack of bb einstein flash cards... so now looking at GD.

GD offers free classes - beginners and advance for parents. maybe you can attend one class as a start. ha ha... will send my mum to these classes after i purchase the GD set.

same as me.. i dun do any "educational" stuff for my baby...

no flashcards, nothing.
on weekdays, i hardly got time to even play with him. morning set off at 730am (he either just wake up or still sleeping)... nite, back home at 7pm, n he sleeps at 8pm! sigh...

MTDT, maybe as a start, you can get him one set of flash cards - see if he likes it?
can do on Sat or Sun ma. Only take ten mins.

I am not sure whether my 'flashin' technique is correct, but as long as bb jake enjoys it (oohs and aahs), I am satisfied.

peng,
Me too, never work hard, training or teaching my boy. Frankly, I'm not very sure what flash cards are! :p Are those cards having pics in black?

Sure? Send bb for classes? So young?

poohy,

We can attend the workshops as many times as we want. There's the basic and advance workshop. I just went for the advance workshop last Saturday. I will be attending again cos a bit too advance for my stage now... kekeke.. I think attend many times better cos everytime will catch different tips...

I also can email to the boss, Lawrence or call him to tell him the progress or with any problems, and whether anything need to be adjusted

Yes, Shichida emphasizes a lot on ESP. I am now reading a book on ESP by Dr. Shichida. It seems like it's the basic to a lot of learning skills... hahaha.. I dreams that Aloysius can just flip a book when reading...

Amy,

If you just wanna try, I will recommend the Maths dots or English.
I spent about 1.6k on those sets. I went to the baby fair at expo when preggie, and just get everything cos I was already reading Glen Doman's book, and felt quite lazy and no time to DIY the cards...

Yes, you can send your mum to the workshop at GDbaby after you get the set from them.. kekeke... I think very soon, I might send my mum there too if I cannot cope...

MTDT,
I think we working mothers face the same problem! Me too, hardly has any educational toys for my son...Worse for me, i have to work on sat 1/2 day too! sigh! Everyday, i look fw to going home to hold him...Frankly, i envy my maid and mother in law, they can spend so much time with him which i can't!

amy,
Anywhere to buy the flash cards?

Amy,
I have a friend who's going to buy GD sets (Maths, English, Chinese). You wanna join her? Then see if can get any freebies... She enquired that if buy in bulk, they will give free vocab cards and some books...

lyn... okies. i will zoom in on the Maths and English cards, even though i think i will enjoy the Baby Encyclopedic cards more. Should flash for bb not mummy.... Ha ha...
Anyway, my bb einstein flash cards are similar to the Baby Encyclopedic cards.

Huh? $1.6 K for both sets ah? Faint... any mummies need a part time maid?
i gotta start moonlightin...

Maybe we can send your mum and my mum for classes together, so they can exchange tips. ha ha...

Serene - you can try GD baby, but given it is so ex... and you are not sure whether your bb will enjoy, maybe get him the normal flash cards first. i saw some at mph last week.

Lyn... yes yes... I wanna join your fren. But i need to go down to GD baby first... to see the products. Is your fren confirmed on Maths, English, and Chinese? Maybe you ask her to wait for me? Maybe she can meet me this Sat at GD Baby?

Huh? 1 card 1 sec or less? I have not yet read up to that part in the GD book I have. oops... everytime I flash to bb jake... i still go on and make sounds of the picture.. and even sing song.. ha ha.. no wonder he bored (yawn)...

Michele,
my boy is 3mths & 1wk old.

Serene,
yes, its a Tummy Time pillow for encouraging baby to lie on her tummy strengthening her neck, shoulder and arm muscles (gross motor skills). The tummy-time pillow supports baby as she lies on her tummy.
512759.jpg
The pillow is removable

amy,
hahaha... not both sets lah... 1.6k for the 4 sets. The more expensive one is the encyclopedic. I calculate by how much per card... lol... Encyclopedic ones, I was surprised that I dun even know the facts! lol...
Good idea ah... Send both our mums for the class togather... kekeke... At the classes, so far, I only see young couples with babies... but I haven't seen anyone at our parents' age...

Yes, she's confirm Maths, English, and Chinese.

hahaha... yes.. 1 card one second or less. Gotta practice in front of the mirror first before "show time" for baby... Sometimes I practice on my hubby...

Lyn... 1.6 k for 4 sets... still cheaper than the $560 per set the lady quoted me. So you got Maths, English, Chinese and Encyc?

How can I combine my purchase with your fren? So, should I get on Sat? Or maybe I can buy for her if she confirmed? Maybe you provide me with her email address over PM?

Aiyo... practise on my hubby? i think he will go cock eye... cos flashing so fast...

mtdt, peng, serene,
If got time then do flashcards. If not, better dun do it cos stress will have "fan3 xiao4 guo3". Very importantly is to play with your baby and spend at least half an hour a day to talk and play with baby and bond... That's what I read from Shichida books...
Mother's role is very important for baby's emotional and overall growth. For father's role, I dunno cos I never read... that's my hubby's job... :p

ESP - wow.. really "listen" for a card? does it work?

GD - ya, think i rather spend time "playing" with my boy. scare spend all the $ n end up collecting dust only. i rather bring him out n experience the "real" thing then see cards leh.

but why 1 sec 1 card - like tat they can learn wat?

amy - tot marketplace hv BP for cards. few hundred for 1000 cards or something like tat.

i_panda,
My boy is also 3mths 1 wk old. He's born on 2 Jun. What about yours? Can your son flip already? Mine can't flip by his own yet but when we turn him around to be on his tummy, he's learning hard to lift his head, quite well.

lyn,

for english - is this show alphabets or words?
maths - this is dots? or just numbers?

I also got no time to flash cards to my boy as he sleeps by 8pm.

huh 1second per card! can ar?

MTDT,
Like you, i like to bring my baby out. Last sat is my ROM anniversary, i bring my baby with us to east coast seafood at nite.
I also bring him to orchard for shopping and toy r us too! I'm a vain mother so does my son, i spend $ on clothings and dress him up! :p

sunflower,
English - show the words. When you flash at one card per second, baby see the words as image.
Maths - are just dots. Numerals will be introduced at a later stage. Maths program gotta be consistent. Better not have rest days on Sat and Sun.
With determination, flashing cards is easy
it only takes 15 seconds per session. The most is do 2 sessions per day... I would suggest you to read up on it cos it will be in more details and more explanations as to all the "whys"
You can borrow Glen Doman's books from NLB. www.nlb.gov.sg. I heard there's a queue for reservations... Well, Glen Doman is a very dedicated researcher, and has produced amazing results in kids following his way. That's why the interests ba...

mtdt,serene,
Yes, it's very good to bring baby out to experience the real thing

mtdt,
I dunno if ESP will work. I can only believe that it will work now.. Gotta wait for a few years to see results in my boy. I am seeing results in my friends' kids now... Maybe it's the environment I am exposed to...

sunflower/okasan/i_panda/cookie/stephanie:
i dun intend to use sterilising tablet, planning to use a thermal flask to store hot water n then use it to rinse to sterilise my pump? this method works? as for hot water, i guess wil go to my another department to get since my office got nothing.

cookie:
yes mine also PIS advanced, same as urs. oic u go straight into let down mode instead of stimulating mode ah. helps in let down faster? wow no wonder u can pump for 10mins. fast manz. sorry i forget how do u sterilise your funnels? i intend to pump twice at work meaning i wil bring 4 PIS bottles. Wil just wash n sterilise e funnel, valve n membrane. i intend to use hot water rinse, good enuff?

hi all mummies !!
wow, time flies, we are now back at work !!
Serene/Lyn: How much did you pay for your 5-in-1?
Did anyone opt for 6-in-1 ??

SErene,
same... i too like to dress my son up!! but half the time he's in the carrier and cant see what he's wearing!! since i dont buy any clothes for myself now (hardly) i spend all on my son!!

we even dress up @ home!! especially now tw is having summer sale so i buy for CNY... or rather use that as an excuse to buy even more clothes!! haha!! polo and jacadi all 40% off!! so a real bargain!! wonder if spore ahs this brand? Why & 1/2.. their stuff are soooooooo CUTE but kinda ex!!

my hub jealous he s like "wah... my son wears a new outfit everyday!!"

K Ong,
I paid $285 for the 5in1 till 18 months.

michele,
Wah... So nice got sale... hmm... I did not notice much selection for kids for polo... Haven't seen "Why and 1/2" brand in singapore though..

So far, I only bought a romper for 6-12 mths for my boy, an,d a top and bottom set... that's all.. only two sets... lol... very little hor?

Thanks Lyn... when babyshow? sign me up... haha (joking!)

everyone says he looks like my hubby...hubby very proud!

tw polo, smallest 9 mths, i buy & keep... what bout s'pore? are the prices ex? ur son now wearing 6-12mths ah? mine wearing 6 mths, length ok but width still kinda big!

well, u the wise one, me the vain one, spend money on education!! hehe...

kong,
I just paid $285 for 5-in-1 last wed when i brought my son for 1st doze of DPT.

Michele,
I never dress up my son now at home since the weather is so hot but he does have new outfit everytime and sometimes i dunno which to pick for him.
Right, same here, i hardly buy clothes for myself now....i haven't lose all my weight back yet! sigh!

Michele,
There is not much polo infant wear in sing, a section of them in taka i think, very expensive! Hardly got sales i think. You stocking up summer clothings for cny, i'm thinking of stocking up winter clothing, intend to bring my baby to china to visit my grandma in cny. My bro in melb now, he told me winter clothings on sales now, im asking him to buy for my baby!

Hi Serene

u mean we have to pay $285 upfront at polyclinic? $285 is for 4 dosage?

BTW, did you give your child any ling yang / pao sheng before the jab? Heard that the jab usually cause fever?

MTDT - dunno marketplace flash cards the same anot...
nevermind, will check out GD and see how. See if I can follow through the syllabus anot... ha ha...

Michele, your bb nice features. Your hubby taiwanese? looks v fair w rosy cheeks...

Me also, like to dress up bb jake, but most of the time, i will tell my mum which outfit to wear during the day... ha ha... but dun get to see him in action, by the time i go home, already in PJ lor...

serene,
I feel so tired everyday with the nite feeds and having to wake up at 545am every morning. Gotta wake up earlier to pump and also nowadays i dont drive to work anymore. Gotta catch the transport at 650am outside BPP

yr maid look after at nite?

Stephanie,
Yes paid upfront. I think this price covers up till 18 mths old. Hep B is free.
I gave my baby barley water b4 the jab. Didn't give him ling yang/pao sheng. Lucky he did not have fever.

amy,
Same here, i will tell my maid what to let my baby wear.

tinklebell,
Wow u go to work so early, no wonder u r tired. Yr gal reaching 3 mths old yah? Perhaps if really buay tahan, you can consider to slowly stop bfeeding...?
No, my baby sleeps with me at nite. After my last feed at about 12MN, I only wake up to feed him again at 5-6am.

tinklebell,
I leave house at 8.10am everyday for work. So usually after feeding my baby around 5-7am, i still can go back to sleep awhile...
I knock off early at 5pm, usually reach home around 5.30pm.