(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,
Won't the water gets into the eyes and ears of the baby or he will drink the water when you pour water on his head? I thought too young to do this...I still dun dare to try it... :p

Hi vivi,
When did you give birth to your boy? My boy is also 3 mths 1 week old now....
He can't sit on the chair by his own too, unless i have to stuff a few cushions by the 2 sides to support him. So most of his sitting pics were taken when we hold him.

Lyn, i really love your blog.... wow... yes, pls scan some pages for me while waiting for my book to arrive. i really hope to bring jake swimming soon. aloysius can sit unaided by the pool? this is cool... my bb jake still needs head support even in his bumbo. maybe will try sitting him in his bumbo again tn.

I really can't wait to bring bb jake swimming, with or without his thermal wear. and poohy, yea yea... congrats on getting a pc of swim wear for joelle. is that a two pc suit? poohy, did you "prepare" her for her swim? as bb jake's pool is not ready yet (we are in the process of converting our koi pond to a pool for him - while scrubbing the pool, my helper broke 3 small mosiac tiles, hence need to buy the tiles to replace them), i will sit with bb jake in our jacuzzi this weekend. maybe next weekend will hit the swimming pool.
can't wait...

serene - for abt $50 - $80, you can get a good pc of swim wear for your bb. the one pc suit on display is very cute, less than $50. for infant bb boi...

Hi Serene,

my boy borned on May 30, EDD is actually 14 June.

SIgh... My boy dun even like/dare to sit on his own. Bought a seat for him on Tues and he cries immediately.

Sigh.

HOw about u?

amy,

right from joelle was borned, my mum or me will use our hands to scoop water and pour over her head onto her face during bath time. Nowadays, we will use a cup or scoop lots of water pour onto her head/face. when we do that we will say, joelle 1 2 3 go. We took extra care to make sure she is ready for the pool becos my son was really scared of the water when we brought him to the pool when he was 4 mths... and til now, still ocassionally cry when go to the pool... especially so after being dunked in his swim class
u can read abt his dunk experience with photos in the "Dunked for the first time" posting in my blog http://poohybaby.blogspot.com/2006_08_01_poohybaby_archive.html

I got the feeling that my girl is not scared of the pool and cold from my observations so far... hopefully i am not wrong..
will post the photos of our big event this weekend

re: swim diaper

the only brand for disposable swim diaper is huggies. I am inclined to buying reusable swim diaper like those from iplay.... cos more economical if u intend to bring them swimming regularly... we swim 1-2 times a week now ...so definitely must get reusable

poohy, can i ask you, from birth, i have never poured water over jake's face. if only i've gotten hold of this water babies book way in advance.
anyway, for now, can i do the following:

1. pour water over his head tonight and tomorrow when i bathe him withh jake 1 2 3 go
2. introduce him to our long bath tomorrow evening
3. bring him swimming on Sunday - floating front and back, no dunking.

do you think it's too soon for him? and good news - my wetsuit arrived!

sunflower... ha ha.. no longer on offer lo. i got this while i was 5 mths preggy...
it's size 3-6 months.

amy,

u can certainly start to pour water on his face... but pls do it in slow phases... like start to take scoop a little water in your face and brush it across his face, slowly when u see that he is receptive, the next time the scoop of water increase day by day in volume
Whether u can proceed to the next stage depends a lot on how your boy response to each stage... the key is make sure he is receptive and happy abt it...

i din read the waterbabies untill these 2 days... before that... we started pouring water on joelle's face only becos ... our boy is sooo scared of water on his face.... so we thought we must start training joelle to be used to it so that she wont be so fearful ...
If only we did that with our boy... as they grow older, its more difficult to help them overcome the fear of the water..

wow your bubbaduck arrived! So wat size is it that you ordered ? any allowance?

sunflower,

u can still get the swim diaper from mothercare... for S size, especially the older designs, they sell it at $15 (original is $25).

the S size is for 3-6 mths... below 8kg... I din buy that size just now cos my girl is already 7kg and i dun want her to outgrow so fast

i saw a zoggs swim diaper just now with a top selling for $39 i think... i am considering buying that...hmmm that one is 3-12mth... dunnno how they can accomodate such huge age gap in the one size..

poohy, arg... that means i can't bring bb jake swimming until he is receptive, cos i have never poured water on his face before?

i am thinking 'training' him tomorrow, and get him into the pool the day after. is this too rush for him?

will pick up my bubbaduck tmr. will keep you posted re the size. do you think i should still wear the mothercare swim diaper under my bubbaduck?

Oh gals, i cannot imagine how the reusable swim diaper work???? hmm... I think i'm lousy with all these information...

vivi,
My son born on 2 June. He's willing to sit inside his rocking chair and also in the car seat. He likes his stroller too. So far, he's quick flexible. Lucky for that, or else i'd feel so heart pain if he doesn't like lying esp in the stroller which i bought at v expensive price.

oh. How i wish he could come out in June cos Its Holiday! Although 30 May also starts of Sch holidays.

Didnt have a rocking chair so have no idea to how he will react. So far, he is ok when we placed him on the bouncer, car seat n pram. :0

will try to put him in the seat.

Didnt managed to have the time to interact with him. cos he will be zzz by the time i reached home.

amy,

hmm depends on jake lor.. for all u know he is super receptive to all the water
have faith!

hmm its recommended to wear swim nappy because in case they poo in the pool... last time my son's first year, we never let him wear swim nappy... only when he enrolled in the marsden swim school then the school make it compulsory to wear swim nappy

the good thing abt swim nappy is... when the weather is too hot, u can just let them wear the swim nappy without a top .. to swim hehee.. that's wat my son did last week at sentosa... cos its too hot at the beach... if wear thermal suit like TOO hot... scared he overheat.

vivi,
B4 that I was very worried that my boy will come out so early in May cos my EDD on 12 June and my boss kept saying it will be early, may fall in May......So, i kept talking to my boy not to come out early, come out only in june so that next time i can bring him holiday every year during his BD.

poohy.... great. will monitor jake... must pray and have faith! hee hee...

agree, with swim nappy, more versatile. but his pat pat will be bulky... not nice.

hello poohy

I am so ignorant about teaching bb to swim but I am thinking of starting soon. I would love to read the books that you have been recommending but I'm afraid that wil have to wait till I am back in Sgp.

Can I start by splashing water on my son's face? Can u teach me? At least, this is something I can do at home. lol

eh sorry..another ignorant mommy here..
when pouring water..its those bath water? Or we need a fresh tub/container of water?

missk, soh1dful,

me also not very knowledgeable in this swim thingy... just read the book yesterday and not finished yet... hmm basically what we do is at bath time, we just use one hand and try to scoop water and after saying the cue word, we just pour/splash etc over the bb's head onto the face.. bath water
no special preparation.. just do it during normal bath time... basically to make the baby know that when she hear us say the cue word, be prepared that water is coming to her face

Hi Duffybuff / kite,
Most sites & books said 4mths onwards to start brown rice/cereal, but it's referring to thick paste form.

My boy is 3.5mths, I gave him EYS Brown Rice in very diluted form, as it's one of those that are very finely-grained. Hence, instead of 2-3tsps suggested on the tin, I appro the portion to just 1 tsp into 60ml of water and cooked it into watery paste that can still be sucked out from normal milk teat, and mix with 60ml FM.

Hi kite,
Pah say, no msn, u can email me at [email protected]. Went to Polyclinic for all jabs. Dr YC is too ex. Not against tongue cleaning, but think it scares the bb & if done on daily basis, it may damage the tender sensory buds on it.

Hi vivi,
I can understand how you feel. My boy is also ZZZ many a times when I'm home after work. I feel so bad. Hence, I try to wake up as earlier as 6am to feed & play with him cos I'm the kinda that get suck into work. Else bring work home and work when he sleeps between meals. Sigh. It really difficult to be a working mum.

Hi Poohy

understand that you also flash cards to your children...i would like to intro flash cards to darrell but wondering:

1) do you involve your mom as well coz if i am not wrong she helps you take care of samuel and joelle when you are working?
2) do you show them the cards everyday and how many times per day?

I am wondering if i should "enlist" my mil help to showing the flash card to Darrell coz by the time i reach home from work..he is usually cranky/sleepy/asleep...

soh1dful,

ya i flashed cards to joelle and samuel all these while.. for samuel its been 14.5 months already..

1. i cant involve my mum cos she is not really very literate. she helps me take care of them during my working hours... so i can only buy lots of good quality toys for them to play when i am away so that they can also learn thru play over there... and when samuel was slightly older, i let him watch very selected dvd i bought for stimulation... one of them is brainybb, signing times etc... i had not let joelle watch tv yet.. if given a choice i wont at all.. but my mum needs time to do her housework too.. so instead of letting her give them junk tv ... i choose the things they can watch.

2. I used to show samuel flashcards 2 times a day... even though GD recommend 3 times ... oops i gota go.. hb picking me up... i continue later at home

soh1dful,

continue...

2. anyway i show joelle 1-2 times a day and samuel once a day.. cos once he become mobile its hard to capture his attention especially when i am at home with him only for 1-2 hours morning plus night. (after that he will be sleeping)... I used a record sheet to record how many times I show them a particular card and retire accordingly
Samuel is on english, chinese, maths, san zi jing, speed reading and encyclopedic BITS. Joelle is on english, maths and encyclopedic BITS now... will intro to her addition and chinese card next week onwards.

basically, I dun just do flashcards only... I emphasizes alot on physical development, learning thru play (thus lots of toys), even phonics.. all these reinforce what they learn each day... learning must be fun

my aim is for brain stimulation and not so much on learning the words etc

sunshine,

i bought my flashcards english/chinese/maths/encyclopedic 2nd hand... they are original from gdbaby. Other cards like san zi jing and other picture cards I printed myself... as and when there are good quality picture cards available I will also buy them..

Hi Carebear,

Ya lor. Feels bad n guilty. My boy will be still zzz at 6. Normally he wakes up while im abt to set off for work. Then sometimes he will want attention.If time permits, i will try to play/talk with him. Otherwise, just KISS him good morning & say goodbye. Whenever this happens, i will get very emotional. Hopefully, i can quit by next year n try to be with him always or frequently.

Sigh!!! My hubby always says i dun know how to interact with him. So my bb will be happier if my hubby n MIL talk n play with him.

Already no time for my boy n my MIL always says my boy is actually looking for his daddy esp when he is cranky. SUPER SIANZ ..

carebear, vivi,

me too feel very guilty... last time when i only had my son...i will try to wake up 5-6am, give him or his nite feed, spend all my weekends and after office hours talking and playing with him and even then, I feel so guilty of not being able to spend more time with him cos working... he is only 16.5mth old and Joelle is 3.5 mth old... now i feel even more guilty... cos i got very little time to spend with Joelle... In the limited time in the morning and evening, I tend to spend more time with my boy cos he is older and I wont want him to feel that because of his meimei... he is neglected.... and when he go off to sleep at 9-10am, I will quickly go and carry and talk to my girl if she is still not sleeping by then... I wake up early in the morning before my boy wakes to get some time to talk to my girl... each morning I feel emotional that I have to leave them at my mum's place.. my girl got very little attention as she is generally less demanding ... but at times I see her talking loudly to herself.. I feel so sad... cos I cant split myself into 2...

Hi Poohy,

can understand esp when u have 2 kids n get to torn between them. Esp have to consider the emotion of the elder child. Tats y i dun think i wanna a 2nd bb. Cos im afraid i will practise Favouritism. Also, not enuf time to spend with each of them equally.

vivi

same here, hubby also says that my gal i dun know how to interact with gal and that she doesnt recognise my voice but recognise his.....made me feel so demoralise as a mum..

vivi,

ya the dillemma of having more children is the lack of time we can spend with each of them. When I was pregnant with Joelle, I know that soon I will have to split my own limited time and attention between them... thus I spend even more effort to play and bond with my son... Even till the 1 hour before I give birth to Joelle, I was still carrying my son around and feeding his milk feed while I goes thru each contraction. Carried him with me into the labour ward in fact. In order not to neglect him, he stayed with us and the bb even the day I gave birth... and I stand up to change his soiled diaper as I always do few hours after giving birth to Joelle. The children's feeling are so tender and sensitive that we gotta be very vigilent else they will feel neglected without us knowing it...

I longed to have more children... but ever since I had Joelle and feel so torned.. I know I gotta wait a little longer for them to have more time with me before more siblings come...

Hi Stephanie,

TRUE. Me worse cos the MIL also says such things. SOmemore infront of my hubby n bb. Imagine Mummies are the 1 who wakes up at night to feed him, change his diaper etc.

Sometimes, i do feel that my boy prefers my hubby n MIL more than me. Although my hubby kept assuring me its not n encourage me to change my pattern when interact with him n things will get better. However, still couldn helping feeling this way.

Vivi

For me, my hubby is often the one feeding her and me, changing of diapers. This is becos i am on total EBM and my pumping time always coincides with her feeding. My hubby says that's one of the reason why my gal recognises him more. Cos the moment she opens her eyes for milk, my hubby is there.....but i sense some improvement these few days though, thru playing and talking more to her

Poohy,

ya. I think so too. But i think you can hold for your next kid. Since your boy has a companion to play with him.I agree tt their feelings are very sensitive and we might end up neglecting them w/o we realising it.

Stephanie,
OIC. then i think its reasonable for her to react that way. BUt its diff for me, as im the one who wakes up late @ nite when he makes noise, feed n change diapers.

His daddy will play with him n rock him to bed. Guess its becos my hubby c him more than i do. As he is still studying n time is v. flexible.

vivi, steph,

i am the one who do all the nite feeds, changes my boy's diaper etc too... i give him flashcards, go to enrichment classes with him, sing to him, play with him... but at some point in his life, he will prefer my hb... I guess this is normal... my MIL also makes remark like he prefer daddy or closer to daddy... but i dun mind cos I know that its not true... he just prefers each of us at different time or period or mood...
As long as we had made an effort ... they will sense how much we love them.. and we do not need to fear too much that they will not want us

poohy,

i guess so too. i also shows him flashcards n sing to him. Think my singing is damn bad or he has no interest in my singing. Anyway, i always sings the same old songs to him. Think he listen till he sianz n wanna vomit liao.

Well lets all strive to cater the best for them and them to love us more than any1.

BTW, i always brainwashed my boy by saying, no1 loves you more than mummy do. hahahha

vivi,

I used to only sing the only song i know "twinkle twinkle little star" to my boy for 1 year... each nite i sing the same thing.. and each time i sing, he will stop anything he is doing and listen to me intently... slowly as he grow and gain more motor skill, he will even signal the star with his fingers together with me... dun worry abt sounding bad or same song... they will still love it...

poohy

haha, me also sing 'twinkle twinkle' to her only, even while she was in my womb...wonder if she will get sian to it.

but my fren was telling me that if we keep singing a particular song, on days when they are cranky, they will calm down on hearing that song. Not sure true or not though

OH I dun sing twinkle twinkle little star cos i dun really remember the lyrics. wahhaha. only my hubby n MIL sings that.

I always sings 10 little indian boys and ABCs. hahah. Think my boy will only associate numbers with indians wahahaha.

Steph,

hope he calm down when i sings both songs.

vivi,
don't worry about repeating. kids love it.
its only us the adults who feel sian that we are always doing/singing the same old thing.

Hi Sunflower,
ic. Ya i believe so too. cos im ok with it. But my hubby will say NOT AGAIn. Anyway, will ignore him.

Thanks Steph!

poohy, vivi, stephanie:

i also feel same way. so once i reached home,
will carry my boy and play with him. at night when he sleeps, i will look at him. can't help feelig he's grow so fast every day.

console myself, work can get more things for him.
but deep down, feel that monetary rewards cannot buy the time you spend with your child. and once they pass this period, we can never buy it back.

Amy,
I have sent you 2 emails with the attachments...

Aloysius can sit unaided now
But still need something at the back to support him. I do flashcards to him daily in sitting position with support on my bed

I went to Ocean Paradise yesterday and got a set of swim wear for Aloysius
kekeke... I took a picture of him this morning in the swim wear. I uploaded to my blog already...

poohy,
The book mentioned that babies at our babies' age will not be scared of water...

Re: swim diaper
I saw swim diaper selling at $15.90 at Ocean Paradise yesterday... It's not on sale, so I did not grab that... kekeke... I am still pondering between disposable ones or reusable ones.

Serene,
Which stroller have you got?

Poohy,
I just remembered I forgot to answer your question yesterday. I am at number 50 already. I haven't start addition. kekeke... Lazy mommy here :p I went for the GD workshop, for newborn, can drag till 50 then start equations then we will have more equations and not so troubled
I might be going for the next workshop tomolo

Ok, I got no time to catch with the rest of the posts already.. Gotta do my work before my boy wakes up to be entertained... :p