(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Cookiemz,
Yea, some maids are good while some maids arent. It depends on our luck, really. I have heard too much horror stories about maids that Im totally against the idea of hiring one.

Maybe we should organize a shopping spree before we get back to work when our baby has settled down at the caregiver house. Haha.

Tinklebell,
The sateen range looked pretty but Im worried that it might be too hot for the baby if we bring her out to the park.

cookiemz, ya lor... still need to do closing
we have an accounts exec but she is newly promoted so she's not so sure how to do certain things and there any many transactions that went haywire in the system ...hiaz... v problematic this mth... Hopefully next mth is better.

Alamak, i just remembered i also need to finish the management report. No one else knows how to do this cos it's quite complicated
sian.

my maid so far so good .. quite motherly and polite. how old is yours? mine's 31, filipino.

paula,
true, all depends on luck.
i guess i was lucky. previous one was quite good. Hope this one is just as good if not better. Keeping my fingers crossed.

hi tinklebell, thanks for the table. btw for Ameda suction button, how high do you adjust it to?

hi gina, your bb drinks quite abit too.

hi paula,
seems like my boy is really a drinker. no choice gotta feed on demand else he will scream his lung out!

tinklebell,
i see. my supply seems to be stagant, cant meet to my boy's demand. wonder if higher suction power helps.

tinklebell/paula,

choosing maids are like buying lotteries coz the biodata the agents show us are not accurate at all. maybe i shd go to temple to pray before i confirm my 2nd maid .. haha..

my maid is 28 and indonesian with 2 kids of her own. she has working experience in indonesia, but she still can't cope with basic housework after 2 weeks here, lazy, always forget to change diaper regularly for baby, very picky with food and simply not interested in learning the ropes. the only good thing abt her is that she has patience to soothe the baby to sleep and feed her (feeding my gal is like fighting a battle with her sometimes).

Cookiemz,
Your maid does not eat pork right? Coz she is a muslim ... maybe that's the reason y she is choosy with food. Did you set up a schedule for her?

paula,

yup, she does not eat pork and does not like other meat.. she only likes to eat beef which my family does not eat. we give her the same food we eat, except for pork, but she picks out the food she likes and throws away the rest, including rice. i buy bread and biscuits for her to eat when she's hungry, she take half of the bread and throw away the rest. and she can tell my mum's maid that she don't like the bread.. wah piang.. that's very wasteful to me.

i didn't give her the schedule in black and white coz not much things for her to do, she only need to sweep/mop/tidy bedroom daily, laundry once in 2 days (machine wash and dryer somemore) and look after baby in the day. i bathe baby myself and take over baby in the night. anyway she's been asking to go back to agent since day 2 and she cries very easily so i agreed to let her go back. afraid that she might turn emotional one day and dunno what she will do with my baby..

actually very tempted to quit my job and be SAHM .. heehee
can play with baby everyday!

paula,

your gal looks very sweet and knows how to look at camera ah.. my gal looks more like a boy these days, like to kick and punch me somemore.

cookiemz
better to send her back since she asks for it. ya lor donno what she will do to your bb.
wah! she's really picky on food. my prev maid was also like that - doesnt eat doufu, peas but we bochap lor... whatever we eat she either eats it or go hungry. we pretend we dont even know she doesnt eat that. haha! v bad hor.

My Gal also cry every nite...don no y... keep wanted to latch on then vomit out all the BM.. Made me so sad to see her like this..

Re : MIM Sling

i would suggest mummies to get the Silk sling as it would be more cooler the cotton sling coz i bought cotton at first then sold it away. nw i am using silk sling .

Cookiemz,
Wah, your maid really wasteful with food lei. Even bread also don't eat. Really headache. One of my friends is having the same problem with her maid too. She is an extremely fussy eater and my friend worries that she might not eat enough to sustain energy. Yea, it's good to send them back if you feel that they are not stable ...

Cookiemz,
I like your baby gal's eyes. Really sparkling! My gal also like to kick and punch esp. when I played her musical mobile ... I will clap along and encourage her to 'dance' more. haha. Yea, the thought of resigning and staying to be a FT mum has been flashing on my mind.

cookiemz/ paula
u thinking or being sahms already?
haha! my hub asked me that few days ago... and i donno why i just replied him spontaneously "no thanks" ... i kind of feel that i may go crazy looking after my 2 kids full time....maybe after a few mths, my opinion may change again :p

been so long since i came in.

MOAP,
my ger is drinking bout 110-120ml of EBM nowadays! And she is only 3 weeks and 1 day old...*pengz*...my milk supply is not really enuff to meet her demand

Re : Sling
I bought the cotton sling cos was told for first-timer its easier to use....
I havent started using it yet so i donno...hehe :p

RE : Baby cranky?
ANyone of u have babies crying to be carried or pacified after feeding? My ger seems to be cranky these few days, sometimes she willing to ZzZz after feeding but sometimes she will scream and want attention

Paula...so the BCG injection swollen is normal ah..my gal's BCG site is more swollen today and the area seems to have whitish pus inside...so far she dun have fever...glad to know that its ok..

MIM Sling
I am also thinking of buying the sling...either the cotton sateen range or silk range...cos many say the basic cotton range quite hot...also try to get lighter colours as dark colours trap heat...

moap...is it easy to use? cos i heard some people cant seem to wear the sling correctly...

Tinklebell,
Yea, the idea of being a full time mum isn't that bad for me ... I know I will miss her like crazy when I'm back at work ... furthermore, my traveling schedule will be hectic in the second half of the year ... heart pain lei.

cookiemz..your gal cheeky cheeky...

Paula..you have a sweet looking gal..

celeste blur...according to the chart by tinklebell, your gal's feed is normal..

spicegal,
hehe...my ger's feed is normal...but she is feeding 3 hrs interval..meaning total of abt 8 feeds a day as compared to the chart...*lol*
u know when i brought her to PD when she was 2 weeks old, she is already 3.8kg...*pengz* haha

Paula...yesterday already bring her to doctor liao...she say its infection...given a cream to apply...

ya lor..if got MIM Sling bulk purchase, i wanna join..cos the sling is quite expensive leh..

celeste blur...wow your gal consider big hor...my gal is 3.5kg at 1 mth 4 days...

Btw, my gal is not feeding according to the chart...she only drinks 90mls (FM) per 3 hours..tried to up her intake but she always never finish her milk...

Baby grows very fast ... my gal weighs 4.47kg when she is one month ... she weighs 2.83kg when she was born ... double the weight within one month. scary.

spicegal,
ya...she is big...i tink she prob pass the 4kg mark now already...i checked and realise 1st week she put on 300grams, 2nd week she put on about 400grams...haha
As for feeding, as long as ur gal is putting on weight n feeds well, i tink dont have to make her keep according to the chart feeding intake? Mine is i am trying to cut down on her intake but she will scream n cry if she is not full

celeste blur...dun put her on diet ah..she needs all the nutrients ;p...anyway the rule is to feed on demand lor...sometimes my gal cranky after feeding and burping, then i thot she wanna drink some more...but after i come back with some more milk for her..she is already sleeping liao..haha

Celeste,
Yea, mine is big too ... worries that she will be big in size. Check with PD. PD said that she is in the normal range .... don't be scare off by the KGs cos' we have to take into consideration of their length of the body too mah.

spicegal,
haha...han-nor, my sil doing confinement for me say i bery "bad" mommy cos i wanna put her on diet....*lol*

yeah, i tink BF babies is to feed on demand...*sigh*...as long as they cry for milk we have to give them

hehe, mine if she demand for more milk and i come back with some more milk most of the times her eyes still big big and waiting...*lol*

Tinklebell,

Silk sling don need iron lah...
it is true that for first timer is better to get cotton sling.. but hor very hot leh... the sling is very useful when u go out alone with your bb..

Paula thanks...will try to measure her later...now she is sleeping..dun wanna wake her..keke

Celesteblur..talking about eyes big big...sometimes in the middle of the night..after feeding her i will pat her to sleep and then put her in her cot..then i will go to the kitchen to wash and sterilise the bottles...after tat i return to my room, my gal will stare at me eyes big big...then i gotta carry her and pat her 1 more time...sian siah...every night i only sleep 3 or 4 hours only...

spicegal,

my gal also always eyes big big in the middle of the night since week 3, even my CL also complain she has to play with her from 2 to 5am every night, else she scream the house down.

when i took over the night feeds, i tried latching her on until she falls asleep and she sleeps till her next feed 3 hrs later. last night i made my gal latch on both sides @ 15 mins each (usually only 1 side) and she slept for 5+ hours till i woke her up for her next feed. if you still latching on, maybe can try and see if it works?

tinklebell,

i'm thinking of being SAHM.. it's such a joy watching my gal everyday
but if #2 comes along soon, then i will stay put for the maternity benefits lor.. hehe.. how come your hubby ask you whether u wan to be SAHM? he don't mind? my hubby asked me whether he can be Stay At Home Dad, he say he dun mind taking care of baby and ask me to support him financially.. think he's very sian with his job already.