(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,
she says she will arrange and call me back. maybe i'll remind her again. super hot today! so sleepy. wow so fast yr boy going to be 1 mth already har? did u eventually use Choz for the cakes? Am thinking of using them for distribution to our relatives.

Thx Serene

Anyone prone to keloids & went for c-sect? Share a tip from my gynae (my #1 c-sect got bad keloid, now cut away... trying to avoid for my #2 c-sect).
- Put "steristrips" (avail. fr. pharmacy) to hold the wound line together. Keloid scar tissue formed cos the wound is being stretched apart- the body responds by making more skin tissue to hold it together. Cover the steristrips with waterproof dressing (exactly the same as used by gynae, avail. fr. pharmacy too)- can last 1 or 2wks depending on whether water leaked in/ itchiness. Normally gynae will let u wear this for 1st wk, change it to new one for 2nd wk... but those keloid prone shld replace their own for subsequent wks (he never say how many wks- I think see how the wound heals?).

Re: Bottle Feed

when bb is bottle feed FM, do u let the CL feed your baby or do u personally feed baby? Just curious, cos i let my CL do the feeding. Wonder if its ok.

medusa,
Will "steristrips" really help?? HOw much is one steristrip? Did you have to remove stitches this time??
I had keloids in my c-section cut last time. In the middle of the cut, it's only a line, with no keloids... Last time, the stitches melt on its own. This time, my gynae removed my stitches. He said so that wun have keloids... So far so good... last time the keloids started growing after the first month... So gotta see how...

Hi lyn..

I thought I should find u here..

SO u have a handsome baby boy now! Its an encouragement to the rest of us..to have faith n we'll have smooth pregnancies like u.

Hi Josephine...congrats..James looks so contented in the 1st picture...like very xingfu...hehe..

I put on the abdominal binder everyday for 3 weeks liao...after my daily bathe, i will apply baby powder on my body before strapping on the binder...i find that it helps to reduce the itch...

Avent nipple soothing cream is very good for sore nipples..

I also underwent elective spinal c-sect by Dr Ang...i also find that Dr Ang & Dr Chong are very good cos they kept talking and thus diverted my attention and fear...hehe...but hor i paid $600 plus after medisave deduction...how come you pay only $300? Did you add in the $600 deposit?

how hv u been? din hv time to check out the postings these 2 wks. well, now i'm over the postnatal blues liao and getting ready for my bb's full mth this sat.

Re: Massage
i had completed my 7 sessions of massage. it was really good as i was wrapped for 6 days with herbs.. can really see the tummy smaller by day 3.

re: my weight
i didn't weigh myself so dunno how much i hv shed but only notice that ugly, flabby & wobbly tummy.. eeks. Now without massage, i must do something.. So i sneaked out (during my confinement) to shop for a slimming binder last wkend. keke.. hv been wearing for 3 days and it seems to help to tighten the 'wobbly' fats.

haha not only tat, i went out to buy eye cream, face masks.. etc.. determine to look good again.. dun want to be called anutie! haha

Hi serene
okie she called me back ...will be starting my massage tomorrow... u still continuing yours?

Duffy
Long time never see u on line... so fast one mth already har?
i also use the slimming binder but i find it uncomfortable... perspire a lot. But i think it did help to shape the tummy area
i hope the massage can help me lose more wt

i-panda,
i will my CL feed the baby.. at times if hubby is around he will help me to feed. so far, i only managed to feed bb in the hospital & once or twice at home. aiya, i perspire alot & very smelly ... dun want my ger to know she has a smelly mum *LOL*

okipoki,
u got bathe rite? how come smelly. Put powder lah...that's what i do. I also bottle feed my boy 1 or 2 times only. Middle of the nite, will latch bb on for abt 15/20 min each side, then pass to CL for supplement wif FM or EBM. I find burping bb very hard leh....he took v long to burp.

tinkle,
Yes my baby will be 1mth old coming sunday. I've ordered the cakes from choz. My CL is leaving on friday, so i will take over full duty looking after my son after. Ya today's so hot weather, was thinking to go orchard just now but lazy. Though hot but it's windy today, i didn't turn on my aircon, only use fan.
I'm not sure if i want to book additional sessions from Maya. I will have to ask my MIL or mother to come over to look after my son if i do massage, if not, no one around after friday.

tinkle,
Enjoy yr massage session tomorrow and tell me your experience.
Btw, now my baby knows to cry, complain, call for carry already. Sometimes when i carry him, he's not comfortable, he makes noise too. He's sensitive to noise now too, he got frightened, trembled his hands in the air easily during sleep and cried out loudly! Very jialut!

i-panda,
today mark my day 8 i havent bathe yet but wipe only. i think during confinement easily perspire alot right ?? i got put powder but the sweat just drip.... cant tahan mann !!

same my ger also took very long to burp.. however, i dun latch cos she doesnt like... but i will try to latch her these few days.

Serene...my gal same as your boy...she will shout and yell for milk and change of diaper...sometimes she will mumble as if to complain about something...so funny...she also easily startled by noise...sometimes she will cover both ears with her hands if its too noisy...at times will also trembled her hands and legs in the air during sleeping...haha

lyn,
my previous gynae had to remove my stitches. I cant recall when keloid developed- she claimed she put some kind of spray to prevent.
my current gynae only snipped ends of stitches- it's dissolvable. I dunno how well his recommended steristrips work- only time will tell, but I'd try it as a preventive.

spicegal,
bo bian leh.. else when we grow old damn jialat.. my MIL warns me cos she has a very backache.

i asked my PD, she said bb has a very shallow stomach... so bo bian lor

okipoki...yah lor...i think i grow old sure jialat one cos i break many rules liao...hehe..

aiyoh...sometimes burp my gal until so pek chek..moreover she getting smarter day by day...sometimes she will jerk her body or turn her head to the other side while burping so that its harder for me to burp her lor...

hi tinkle,
ya lor.. so fast.. but glad confinement is over.

okipoki,
so when can u bathe? or u r not supposed to bath at all? so poor thing esp. when the weather is so hot these days.

okipoki,
ya i sweat a lot for the 1st 2 weeks...eat dinner also sweat...can really feel the sweat dripping. Me now into Day 24...still feel hot but better. Sometimes i buay tahan, i 'tou tou' bathe cos my room got toilet, so my CL & MIL doesn't know.

duffybuff,
so good, ur confinement over...me counting down. Today only day 24. Celebrating full-mth this sunday. Aiyo..so sick of the confinement food...everyday CL will ask me what i want to eat..Sianz
450536.gif

Serene,
if u want, u can put your Boy Boy at my place while u go for massage....can baby sit for u

okipoki,
u can tahan not bathing? this time round i didnt bathe in the hospital cos i dont like the toilet showering facilities there. once back at home, i start to feel itchy here after half a day and the milk smell is quite strong so i just have to bathe at least once a day.

hi everyone...

super busy as bb v cranky these 2 days...
dunno why.

dunno wan to sleep after feed, keep wan to be carry only.

i cant wait for confinement to be over!!!!!

serene / tinklebell,
I am starting my massage tomorrow with maya too... I start abit late cos c-sect mah... today is day 36 for me.. heheh

Serene,
do we need to prepare any towel or what?? she got portable bed hor... anything we nee to prepare not?

how do we let baby sleep longer hours at night? Cos now BF, bb will wake up every 2/3 hours to feed. Next time go back to work, how? Is it when they grow bigger, drink more, then will sleep longer?
450544.gif

i panda,

my gal now drink 120ml of FM.. am on total FM... have stop BF totally... i found that if she drink enough,she can sleep very long... last nite I gave her 150ml at 9pm... she drink liao very satisfied look... and sleep till 4am... 7hrs leh.... but dunno whether did i over feed her..

Tinklebell..

mine is 4pm.... no i dun stay west... near central... farrer park... near little india...

do we need to prepare anything like towels.. etc??

celeste,
how old is your baby now? Dun worry about overfeeding, i read from a book...bb very clever one, they will reject when they have enough

i like the part whereby she got her portable bed... cos... hubby was soooooo worry that my massage will make the bed oily and smelly... aiya...

Does your baby has jaudice? Is it high and what's the jaudice level?

My baby is now 7 days old and just bought him to the PD. The blood test shows that the jaudice is at 14.3 high. A jump from 9.7 when he discharge at day 3.

So is 14.3 very high? Any of your baby has jaudice at this level? And is it necessary to admit him to hospital?

Celeste,
i dont think we need to prepare anything.
sometimes my bb drinks 150ml and she is only 13 days old. It depends on when her last feed was.

serene, tinklebell,
So good.. you gals can go out shopping already. I am stuck at home
I only went out to see gynae and PD, that's all. This Thursday, my hubby asked if I can go and watch "superman" with him... Dunno my mum will let me go or not..

okipoki,
You express the breastmilk to bottle feed everytime ah? Do you latch on? I think latching on will improve the milk flow...
I like to latch on the bed... At nite, very convenient, when he feeds, I can fall asleep... kekeke.. then he will drink till he sleep...
I am also smelly.. hahaha.. I am thinking when I start bathing again, dunno my boy will still know it's mummy feeding or not.. lol...

medusa,
Last time my gynae only sniped the ends of stitches... But this time, remove all the stitches...
Do you drink "sheng yu" soup? Or "sheng yu jing"? Or eat the fish? Last time I did, this time I dare not already.

i_panda,
My boy sometimes can sleep for 4 hours straight.. and my breasts will get very engorge then... sometimes i gotta feed hourly... i think babies are very clever, they know when they wanna feed...

sunshine,
what did your PD say? Need to admit? My boy was also down with jaudice when he went back for checkup at Day 5...jaudice level 13.8

I let him stay at hospital for 2 days cos it was raining those few days. I made the decision to let him stay hospital cos if bring home sunbath him, doesn't get better, still have to bring him back to hospital. But hor, the 2days stay quite costly...but can claim from medisave.

tinklebell,
Wah.. your gal can drink so much... so good.. when my hubby bottle feed last nite, he can only drink 90ml...

sunshine,
I have heard of babies with jaundice above 20... I read somewhere that jaundice for breastfed babies peak from day 7 to day 10.
If I were you, I will just monitor alternate days.

lyn,
do ur boy empty both your breasts when he feed? Cos my boy sometimes suck one side then fall asleep....i also dun know whether he got enough milk or not. When i offer him the other side, he still sleeping, refuses to open his mouth...hee hee

tinkle ,

wah.. 150ml for day 13... alot leh... but breast milk is it? breast milk still ok cos 70% is water..

Hi Sunshine

my son was re-admitted to hospital when i brought him back to PD for checkup on day 6. His blood test shows 14. The PD says up till 15 is normal level. I think he ask me to admit my son is becoz he is quite a small baby and he wants to monitor him.

i_panda,
My boy dun empty both breasts at one feed. He drinks one side, enough already. My boy also will fall asleep after sucking. Sometimes if he sucks less than 10 minutes, I will expect him to wake up again in an hour to feed again. Sometimes he will suck 20-30 minutes, then he will sleep many hours. Nowadays, his feeds are getting 4 hours apart.
I think babies are very smart. You know, my boy if he's full, he will refuse to open his mouth even bottle feed. He will tightly seal his lips... lol.. very cute...

i-panda/tinkle,
actually i cant tahan lah.. eating with sweat dripping.. even my shirt is soak with sweat. well, my MIL is a good eg for not listening to all those rules when she is young. now at early 50s she is suffering from alot of pain so i die die must endure lor. she has been warning me mann !!

lyn,
yeah currently i am expressing out the milk to bottle feed her... no choice leh she seem to reject me & my milk flow is pretty slow.. cant catch up with her suckle. i know by latching, the flow will be much better... will try when she is "not so hungry". i hv tried many ways to latch her but still quite tough leh.