(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font size="+2"><center><font color="aa00aa">June 2006 Babies' Club</font></center></font>
<center><table border=1><tr><td>Mommies</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Weight(kg)</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>15/05/06</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>carebear29</TD><TD>19/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.77</TD><TD>Mathius</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.8</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.24</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>Raffles(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>Yi En</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.69</TD><TD>Chelsia</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yve</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>ESH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>25/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.78</TD><TD>Javen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>AngelineGoh</TD><TD>26/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.695</TD><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>28/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Yi Kai</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.641</TD><TD>Darrel Tok</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.32</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD>31/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.705</TD><TD>Tan Hong Yu Leroy</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>1/06/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.15</TD><TD>Jeriel</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD>2/06/06</TD><TD>12/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.135</TD><TD>Brayden Leong</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.92</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD> 10/06/06</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD>3.55</TD><TD>Josh Ng</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.92</TD><TD>Aloysius</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.52</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>07/06/06</TD><TD>25-06-06</TD><TD>Girl n Boy</TD><TD>Sarah n Ian</TD><TD>2.65 n 3.3</TD><TD>MtA </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD> 19/06/06</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD>2.725</TD><TD>Jerica Ong</TD><TD> TMC(C-Sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.91</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtE(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD> 14/06/06</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.0</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinklebell</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.385</TD><TD>Fiona Lee</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mum2B</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD></TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>celesteBlur</TD><TD>20/06/06(?)</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(?) </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>20/06/06(?)</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>ESH(?) </TD></TR><TR><TD>JosephineTan</TD><TD>20/06/06(?)</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>steffi</TD><TD>20/06/06(?)</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH(?)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Mom2b/ luvflower
i also gave birth last Thursday. In the hospital, i had not much milk but i also cont to let my dd suck every 2-3 hrs plus some supplements when she still cries after more than 40 mins of sucking.

I heard that the trick is to let bb latch even though there is no milk. This is to stimulate the brains to produce milk. I feel that it is ok to supplement with formula (though the lactation consultants may not agree with that) but do it after they have latched for a while.

Today is my 5th day and back home since Sat. Breasts r still engorged (though slightly better). i am able to express around 60ml per 3 hrs... less than bb's demand but i'm happy that the situation is improving. H/e, i have stopped the latching for a while cos my nipples hurt.

Luvflower, my friend just taught me a mtd to relief b-engorgement. i just tried and it works. U place hot water into 2 bowls and emerge your Bs into the water for ard 10 mins. Then, when the Bs are softer, express the milk out. keep doing it until u feel better and repeat every 2 hrs.

Dont give up
I'm telling myself that too. Everytime u feed, think of your beautiful children, supposed to help u to produce more milk.

I just got to know what it means by not having 2 kitchen women in the kitchen. Haha! This morning my mother was complaining non stop on my CL's cooking method...blah blah blah.... aiyo...
I feel that my CL is ok but she doesnt seem to like her... say she too young and inexperienced and donno how to cook.
Hiaz... sometimes i wish my mother could just leave me alone... cannot tahan her complaints!

Missk,

Congratulations too!

Seems like left only the few of us.. Wondering where is celesteblur, didnt see her today leh.. She go pop liao?

hey kk

Do you mix the milk before or after warming up? I hear many different opinions. I read that we can only mix cold milk with cold milk. So I wait till my new milk is cold then I mix with the old milk. Is it correct? Will it hurt the bb in any way?

After pumping, I always wash with Pigeon detergent then sterilise. I called Medela to ask for the correct way for sterilising. She advised me to put the funnel on the top and the bottle at the bottom. I am using an Avent steriliser. She told me to wash the membrane and valve in hot water. No need to sterilise that. I hope that helps.

hidora,
well, later u discuss with her again lor... best of luck

mum2b &amp; luvflower,
congrats to u &amp; hv a good rest

okipoki,

good luck to you... can see ur gal soon...

Re: Breast feeding,

Do let bb latch on even when there is no milk.. milk only come in when there is demand...
if not goin to let bb latch on then got to pump every 3 hrs to get the flow goin on..

Paula ..yah ... I took down the no and I will call them to ask about it. I hope it will not be too expensive though.

Dear luvflower

I totally understand what you are going thru because I was experiencing the same thing last Sunday. When I came back after 4 days in the hospital, my breasts were engorged. It was so painful. On top of that, my son kept crying. My CL told me that my son was hungry. That didnt help me to feel better. The pain worsened during the night. I asked my hubby to buy cabbage immediately. My CL chilled the cabbage and applied on my engorged breasts. That helped to relieve some pain. On top of that, I also used a hot towel on my breasts before I breastfeed. After about 24 hours, the engorgement dissipated. Immediately, I felt better.

Alas, the milk supply was not adequate. Now, it's better.

Well, it can only get better. Dun give up!

I saw this at a website. Interesting!

Expressing by pump
If you are using a pump, it's a good idea to switch breasts several times. That way you'll be able to pump more milk. Here's one technique for pumping breast milk:
Pump one breast for 5-8 minutes. Then switch and do the same with your other breast. Go back to the first breast for 3-5 minutes. Then pump your other breast for 3-5 minutes. Go back again to the first breast and pump for 2-3 minutes. Then switch again and pump your other breast for 2-3 minutes.

Msnanas...congrats on your new born...wish that you have a speedy recovery...take care...

Congrats to Mum2B &amp; Luvflower too...

Missk....i also delivered on 8 Jun...which hospital you delivered at?

missk,

I think i am the super bochap type. U know pigeon steriliser has two layers? My hubby took out the top layer because it is pretty stupid to have that when we are sterilising big bottles at the bottom. The top layer gets in the way. So whatever bottles, pumps, we just dump in and pour water and start steaming haha!

For EBM, i put in the fridge. If i want to mix with FM, i will take the cold EBM out, directly add hot water to it and add milk powder. OR if i want to mix freshly pumped BM with the cold EBM, i will also do so, then top up with hot water with milk powder. I dun really care so much what's hot and what's cold, as long as final product is warm enough for bb to drink

tinklebell,

I agree!! As the chinese saying goes "yi shan bu neng cang er hu".. we cannot have two "tigers" in the kitchen haha! I was so mad with my mil for messing up my kitchen and am so happy that it is back in order last week. I managed to clear everything and bring whatever i dun need back to her place so that my house will not be a 5-room warehouse.

me back from gynae appt...tonite going in for induction at 11pm. Gynae scanned and said bb's weight might be arnd 3.5-3.7kg, bb is engaged, can try for natural first....but i am worried bb is too big end up still might need csect

tinklebell,
juz to check with u, the estimated weight at adrian's clinic and ur bb gal's weight when popped got a big difference boh? Now i hope his estimated weight is way ahead....cos i wonder how to pop a bb thru natural whom is 3.5-3.7kg big

hidora,
u also going to be induced tonite? Me too...haha..where u popping? Me popping at TMC

need some advise. My mil make some dang kwee tonic for me yesterday and i drank it quite late in the night. Was wondering if the milk that i express this morning can be use to feed my son?

soh,

I personally think dang gui is harmless to bb. And moreover u drink it the nite before and by this morning, the effects, if any, should be gone liao. Even if we take alcoholic stuff, just need at least 2 hrs can BF bb liao

ahblur,

I tot you go pop liao!

Dun worry abt bb's weight. I was 3.9kg and my mom delivered me naturally without any painkiller.

mspiggy's bb is also 3.9kg and she did it naturally too! So dun worry too much. Tell bb to cooperate! =)

I will be seeing gynae at 4plus. Then see what she says. Will come back and update here. =)

Me will be popping at Eastshore.

oic missk...hehe my gal same bday as your son...when are you celebrating full month? I intend to do so on 1st Jun...

Thanks kk..i will go and create the ticker now...

celeste,
Thought u pop liao ;)
wow! your bb estimated wt is so big! Mine was close to estimated wt of 3.3kg... but big bbs r quite cute... saw one in the nursery... 3.8kg and really very adorable!

Ms piggy's bb is 3.9kg... i'm sure u can do it naturally. My SIL also did it without epi. Her bb was 3.8kg.

So u checking in tonite? Go after 11pm right? I asked the nurse at TMC why 11pm, she said it's bec before that, it's considered another day. u got everything ready? bring more pads... mine ran out during first day n i gotta buy fr the pharmacy downstairs. Apparently, they use it to absorb the water fr the waterbag during delivery.

Ask your hubby to sleep more in the afternoon bec the chair in the delivery suite is quite uncomforable.

tinklebell,
checking in tonite
Yuppies...check in after 11pm considered next day...so they dont charge extra
....i am tinking of opting for epi direct but adrian said can wait n see also...no need to immediately ask for epi. Can see how my pain threshold is first.
Wow...so many ppl can do it with big babies, i must tell myself i can do it too

Hmmzz, i bringing 10 pads for delivery...donno enuff boh.

hey spicegal

I dun intend to celebrate 1st month. I also dunno who to invite. We don't have many relatives. Is it ok not to celebrate first month?

celeste,
10 more pads should be enuf
hee hee i asked for epi immediately... when he put his fingers in to check the dilation and break the waterbag, i alredy couldnt tahan the pain!!!!

missk...should be ok not to celebrate 1st month..i have to lor..cos got to invite close friends and colleagues...and some close relatives...

Celeste,
u take care and rest well. same for your hubby. tell him to take chicken essence before he goes there...will be a long long nite for him.

Hidora,
Yr induction tomorrow right? **Jia You** hope to hear your birth story soon

tinklebell,

Inducing tonite I think. Cos gynae said I'm gonna hv a long labour.. (choy).. so want me to go in early.. haha

Gonna see her later then see what she says. =)

hidora, yours also tonite? then better rest well since it's going to be a long nite. how come she says u'r going to have a long labor?

tinklebell,

Cos last wed she did VE for me and said that only 1 cm dilate. Said can wait until 25th befoer popping. But I dun want to wait. So she said, then I think you will hv a long labour and most prob need epi.. Not the slightest bit encouraging... lol

spicegal,

I think you are refering to me insteda of tinklebell rite? Hehe. Thanks for your well wishes.

kk,

Thanks for your well wishes too! =D

hidora,
i think it should be u ... hee hee ...

my B-engorgement is more or less settling down. The method i mentioned just now really works! Just managed to pump 70ml...v little but still an encouraging amount. Thanks for your listening ears