(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

going off....have a great weekend gals

Hi!!!

For mummies that have popped, how's confinement this far?

Making Calligraphy Pen from Baby's Hair
Btw, do any of you have contact of one that can make "mao bi" with the baby's hair after shaving it after full month?

steffi,

I dunno leh. My gynae said since my cervix is not ripe, most prob I will hv long labour and need epi. I read from most birth stories, it seems that after injecting epi, the cervix seems to dilate faster. Maybe cos more relaxed?

celeste,

Have a great weekend too! =)

carebear,

I think you are talking abt this one? http://www.taimaobi.com/

I think that's also the one that provides free shaving?

But not scary meh? I mean, bb's head so fragile in the initial months.

hidora

we are in the same situation....cervix still not ready....sigh......

last year, my sil was in labour for 19 hrs after induction.........

i dun think i will give my gal a clean shave. Maybe just cut a few strands 'yi4 si4 yi4 si4' to satisfy the older folks.

okasan,

got lah..can die man if dun wash hair..so itchy!!..i wash 2/3 days apart loh with herbs..i oso wish to go salon to let ppl do a proper wash for my hair on my bb full mth leh but dun tink my mum will alow.she will defintely say REN 1 more day..

btw ladies,

got 1 qns...everytime i burp my bb already,i will put her back to bbcot..aft a while when i go back when heard her cries,can find her spitting out abit of milk..is it normal?or i didn burp her properly/enuff?

Any ladies here dislike washing??my own clothes i usually used washing machine..how u all wash ur bb clothes har? soak overnight?hot water? any tips? esp on getting rid of those poo n pee stains...v yellowish leh..dun koe y everytime i bathe my bb,she will pee n poo onto me when beginning to bathe..arggggggggggggg

Steffi, thanks ... I think it's the same as the one Hidora sent ...

Hidora, thanks for the website ... I think this is the one ...

Ehh ... I'm a little concerned too, tat's why I plan to do it after 1.5mth - 2mths instead of imm after full-mth. His hair will be longer too ...

steffi,

Hehe, you got see my discussion yesterday with celeste over how to ripen your cervix? Can go try them ;p

Hmm, my family dun practise cutting of hair leh. So no issue here. But the mao bi really nice..

hidora

yep, saw it yesterday....

btw, my gynae asks me to do squatting exercises whenever the contractions/tightenings can be felt. She believe that the force of gravity will push the baby against the cervix and enables it to be ripen faster....so i am trying that today.

carebear,

If it's not becos of traditional beliefs, then dun cut lah. I think you also find it hard to cut after you see bb's hair long long, nice nice. ;p

My mom said she couldn't bear to cut me and my bro's hair when young cos very sayang (finally got a head full of hair), also partly becos of safety issue.

hidora, carebear

for me, my mum is against the complete shaving of hair cos the other time (many moons ago) after she shaved me, my hair took a very long time to grow..got to try out many remedies then, including applying brandy....so now she's skeptical abt the whole thing.

steffi,

Hmm, squatting exercise ah... But nowadays, I'm pretty numb to how contraction feels leh. Except for those pain pain ones. I can tell you I cant feel any contraction for the whole day. Last time do the CTG, can see contraction, but I also can't feel it..

steffi,

I dunno what's the reason for shaving, but some said after shaving, bb's hair grow out thicker.

Not true one. Me and bro nvr shave, hair still alot. So much so that my hairdresser always comment why my hair so thick, chop chop chop still got so much left.

hidora

huh? i thot the contractions shd be pretty obvious as the EDD approaches? For me, i am very conscious abt the contractions, but not baby movements. Hence whenever gynae asks if baby is moving fine, i cant answer her.

hidora

hehehe, for me and my bro, we inherited the oily scalp genes from my dad, so hair not that much. The full mth shaving also didnt help as well :p

steffi,

I dunno leh, I feel more baby movement than contraction. Feel him stretching here and there. Erm, whenever I use breast pump to stimulate, I feel bb moving a lot. I think maybe that's becos of contraction, then bb move?

hidora

sometimes i also dun know if the tightenings and stretchings that i felt are considered contractions or movements....very blur rite?

one thing for sure though, i have yet to experience those menstrual cramps like feeling...

steffi,

If you are talking abt menses cramp, then that's even worse for me cos I nv had mense cramp..

The last time I had false labour contraction, I feel cramp similiar to food poisoning where the whole tummy is churning.

Hi, my family has the tradition of shaving taimao, so never thot of not doing it, only postponing it for the safety of the bb. Btw, my friend who also uses this co service, says they also shaved off his brows!!!!

I've a friend who warns, not sure if the final taimaobi we received is it from our own bb's hair, as they may be mass-producing it in advance. ;P but, I doubt so lah ...

carebear,

Yup, some also shaved off the brows. Then bb will look very cute, like egg like that, "guang liu liu" de... ;p

Carebear

No wonder. I just went to the website just now, thot the baby being shaved looks weird but dun know why....i think its because he/she is without eyebrows as well.

Hi KK

understand you took care of your daughter from 2nd month onwards? Yr parents and in laws ok with that?

Was thinking of doing that prob when my son is 6-8 weeks old b4 i had to go back to work again but not too sure how both parents will react.

MIL is getting very "sticky" to my son much to my discomfort...and i feel i have been relegated to just a feeding machine...sigh...

Just came back from my gynae visit.. baby at 3kg liao
my contraction (from CTG) is still consider mild so gynae said can wait probably till EDD.. sianz
will talk to ger tonite ask her to come out by next week...

Hidora,
I hv heard abt it that lunar 6th mth is not good & those born in that mth cant celebrate full mth. how true is it ?? going to tell my ger if she wants celebration shld come out before that.

Steph,
quite true, i see most ppl go for induce only at last resort if not complication. anyway, my gynae also dun encourage induction anyhow. wow ur sil has a super long labor leh.. so chiam !! just keep our finger x

Hi Lilfeets, congrats! Gosh! I salute you, your twins have such healthy weight! It must have been such a weight off ... Enjoy ur confinment!

Hi mummies, need some advice ...

<u>RE: Face Rashes (Pimples)</u>
My boy started to have rashes on his face(cheeks, forehead), any similar occurences?

<u>RE: Baby's Injection</u>
My CL says to give baby a few mouthful of Bao Shen Drink the day before the injection, to prevent fever. Any of you heard of that?

Hi all esp the mummies-to-be,

Re: Induced
If induced, I would encouraged with epi. Coz you can relax to let the cervic open and have more energy to PUSH.
I went for induced coz bb not moving much and already near to full term. Gynae put in the pill to open cervic (The contraction will then kicks in in 3hrs time, so gotta admit by then). Had epi before gynae induced and I slept most of the time. 10hrs later, my cervic was fully opened, did 4 pushes and out came my bb boy.

Hi lilfeets,
Wow considering u are having twin, both of them are really of a very good weight. Imagine u are carrying close to 6kgs.. OMG !! Congrats to you &amp; do take care

carebear29,
my boy also have small pimples on his cheek. Today when for checkup at TMC, PD said its acne. Most likely when he grow up, will have acne-prone skin too...sigh

PD gave a cream asked me to apply on the pimples, will disappear in a week. But hubby said dun need to apply, will go off by itself. Cos last week, got more &amp; this week lesser.

So i think its quite common among babies. Just make sure to wipe his/her face/mouth after every feed to ensure cleaniness.
442841.gif

me back from haircut. cut till so short... like when in sec. school... but nvm feel quite light and in better mood haha. tdy dunno why pelvic area v painful on and off... dun think it's contractions... just sharp pains above the V region... anyone experienced that?
i panda, dun think bb has acne prone skin, just maybe some rashes... itz kinda funny to viusalise a bb growing up to have acne..hehe...
lilfeets, congrats! kk, whendid u start to wash hair? i will do that when i can stand on my feet after delivery.
okipoki, think u let bb decide when he wanna come out... natural better than induce... they say induce v painful leh...
me getting quite scared cos feel like bb may pop anytime and i am most of the time alone at home as i need to do a lot of washing up and preparation at home. wanna ask u gals who have delivered, if water break/contractions/show, can still walk anot? i may have to walk by myself downstairs to get a cab all by myself... hope bb stays put till at least end of next week cos my gynae on leave till then...

gina,
i think i will forgo the idea of induction... will "nag" at my ger to come out soon. heehee!! wow gotta do all the things by urself abit siong leh.. probably u shld tell bb to show sign when someone is at home with u. anyway, those symptons u still can walk lah else siao liao !!

gina,

Sure can stand after delivery. Maybe not as comfortable as before only. I started washing my hair 2 weeks after discharge from hospital, after removal of stitches
I bathe then as well.

carebear,

What injection ur bb having? Hep B 2nd jab? If that is the case, no need because the injection won't cause fever according to my PD

Can feed bb such herb like pao shen when they are so young meh?

I applied hazeline on my bb face everyday and her pimples and rashes all gone liao
Never appear.

soh,

My mum definitely ok with me taking care of bb because she only get to see bb once per week on saturdays. My mil ah.. i know she miss bb lah.. but she cannot stick until like tat mah.. my hubby talk to her then she ok liao lor.. anyway we always bring bb over to dinner every nite. Anyway, when i go back to work, she get to see bb everyday.. i am the one suffering loss, not her :p

Hidora,

I didn't get any clothes for bb today when shopping haha! I controlled myself :p

Sigh, now still up, hubby also not in bed yet. He catching world cup. And me just finish packing up the new wardrobe for bb which arrive today
I bought some winnie the pooh stickers to decorate the wardrobe as well

And bought VCDs for HK series "Lao Po Da Ren" which is shown on SCV55 at 9 pm, starting last nite. Anybody catching this serial?

soh,
I think all our mothers will exhibit their mothering instinct. My mum keep asking me not to carry my baby, cos scared later next time want people to carry. When I carry, she will come and carry my baby to put on the bed.
But when I dun carry, and put down on the bed, she will go and carry here and there...
My MIL also like that. In hospital, when my hubby carried baby when he cried, my MIL will 'snatch" baby from my hubby. She's scared we dunno how to pacify baby... But we gotta learn rite?
Gotta "ren"...

Carebear,
ARe you going to make the "tai mao bi"? What did you do with the umbilical cord? I dunno what to do with that. Some people told me to put inside red packet and keep...

Lyn,

Aiyah, the mums are always like tat, especially mil. I da boleh tahan also. I close two eyes to avoid trouble liao.

Hmmm, where did u deliver? I was with TMC and they gave me this vaccination schedule which i just follow..

The cost ah?? I dunno leh.. because my PD never state out the price. Kite's bb also under Dr Ong. I dunno whether she has the price or not.

Polyclinic definitely cheaper.

For e.g. my colleague brought her bb to the polyclinic for 2nd Hep B injection. She say only $20++ but i paid my PD $75!! I think around $60 always go to his consultation fees.

Lyn,

For newborns, 2 jabs are given in hospital already. Another 1 given when bb is 1 mth old. This is Hep B second jab if i did not remember wrongly. Subsequently will be 3rd mth and onwards liao.

Morning ladies !!

Strangely this morning the swell on the feet has gone.. back to my "original". Any of u encountered this before ??

okipoki
my mum ever told me if ur feet swell for the 3rd time and subsides...this means u are going to give birth soon....so u monitor loh...

hi morning all,
okipoki
my feet swelling also not as bad as last few days upon waking up, but i got cramps on the calf when i wokeup, so painful... dunno if contractions that painful. if same as leg cramp then i need epidural liao :p
yeah i tell my bb dun come out till gynae come back... hope he guai guai listen to me...
still thinking of a name for bb, haiz... so hard to think of one...
my place near MRT track, the noise is unbearable... so worried bb will not be able to sleep and cry cos of the noise... anyone heard of sound proof windows? i think i want to install that in my house for bb's sake.
kk, pd fees for injection so steep... actually polyclinic shud be fine...

dsiitan,
hah really? but thru out the last trimester my feet swell and become normal many times leh... if i take calcium tablets b4 i go to sleep, my feet will not swell the next day. if i sit at my high table without putting my feet up, they will swell like pig's trotters... it all depends....

dsiitan,
really ar.. my feet started to swell on tuesday &amp; it got better today... hmm 3 times ar, lets see !!

gina,
haha nowadays i seldom get cramp cos i wear socks to sleep &amp; i think it works. maybe u shld try it out

btw, i am also staying just beside the mrt track but i stay quite high floor. i think as time goes by the baby will get immune lah just like both hubby &amp; myself. initially we also cannot tahan now sometime we dun feel the train has passed by.

kk,
i have a fren she bought her gal to GP for the vaccination and its cheaper than polyclinic wor
I tink i will check with GP for vaccination pricing before deciding on which one. But for PD i believe definitely exp cos their consultation fees are oledi not cheap

gina,
I've been having sharp pains on and off at my V region for at least 1 week liowz....i guess its the pressure of the bb pressing on it.

msnanas,
u mean after inserting the pill to open the cervix it will take 3 hrs b4 contractions kicks in? I am thinking of going natural first...if really feel painful then i will ask for epidural.

Lilfeets,
congrats on the birth of ur twins and they are of very gd weight
take care n rest well

okipoki,
i am still here....still waiting...i guess its more or less fated for me to induce liowz...haha..Monday is juz 2 days away :p

okipoki,
i definitely hope so...i havent totally given up trying to "persuade" my ger to come out herself...*lol*

btw, never go out kaikai today?
I juz came back from "sima lu" there, bought the red dates and dried longans for the confinement tea

celesteblur,
same leh.. hv been trying to talk to my ger too

today no kaikai lah, will be resting at home but hubby will be going for a malay wedding later (will be a quick one). my mum has bought those stuffs for me liao so i only need to wait for "d" day nia.

okipoki,
hehe...weather so hot go out kaikai also sianz woh...me now on aircon and hiding in the bedroom...jin shiok...now must enjoy aircon cos during confinement dont tink my sil/mom will let me blow aircon...*sigh*