(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk,
The closest polyclinic to me is AMK. Everytime very crowded one. How did your colleague book appointment with polyclinic? Is it via phone? Or have to go down personally?

medusa,
You had C-section before rite? Did your gynae advice against natural?
I had a c-section cut before for fibroids, so it's too risky to go through natural for me.

okasan,
What is the birth date of your boy? What's his weight? and name?

Hello Baby Jake...

re: breastfeeding

today is Day 25, and i am only pumping 20 ml from both breasts after latching on. quite depressed... hope MS will go up...

when will our milk come in fully? after 6 weeks?

now, i have to supplement with 60 ml of formula after every feed, so that bb jake will gain weight. he can take 120 ml now... aiyo... must play catching up....

realised i should not be too streesed out, else MS will drop. yesterday, whole day from 8 am till 6 pm, bb din sleep. been latching on every halg hourly, sometimes up to one hour. maybe he is not getting enough milk from me.... poor bb... worked so hard just to feed himself...

today, i adopted a diff strategy. after every feed, top up with formula...
now bb can sleep better after drinking...

any advice on how i can improve my MS? is it true that if no milk after 6 weeks means no milk? how come some mummies have so much, some so little?

MOAP, wow... at least you have enough MS.

But i do agree, very tiring to always latch on... but definitely worth it... enjoyed the bonding session...

kk,
Prima deli has also the red eggs, ang ku kuah etc?
Re: Polyclinic
Think i will call up to check.

Okasan,
Adrian didn't recommend me any PD, i didn't ask him before delivery too. So, Dr Keoy Soh Sin (PD) was assigned to my baby @ TMC. What's the lady PD's name? Where is her clinic? I check with kidslink, 140-160 is for the total of 6-in-1 jab package, not per jab charge. My CL even tell me polyclinic cheaper, $70+ only....i've yet to check out the charges.

kk,
Your girl so cute, her face so round...my boy longish face leh, he likes to sleeps on both sides, so ended up the head longish, i'm waiting for his head to get rounded leh....

lyn,
You pump every 5 hourly. How much milk you can pump each day from day to nite? So far, i can only get about 350ml per day. I'm trying hard to express more! I expressed 100ml this morning. Am going to pump some more now. I didn't really had much engorgement feel, just pump every 3-4 hrs.

serene,
u sure the 5-in-1 jab at kidslink is only $140-160? one mummy at the thread on Dr Adrian, she said she paid abt $125+ per jab and the total cost is abt $400+ after finishing the 5-in-1 jab....dun think the price at tmc and PD clinic and polyclinic should differ so much loh....

thought when u deliver, the nurses will ask the gynae to recommend PD if the mother has no preference? anyway, Dr Adrian will normally recommend Dr Lilian...her clinic at SK, find her not bad but clinic too far for me.......

MOAP, yes... will not give up on BF, but now more open re BF... will BF, latch on... not enuf, supplement... will not take it too hard on myself... else too stress...

Amy,

i tell you ..my hubby even worst keep saying bb TBF will not gain weight..but i have proof him wrong..yesterday i bring my bb go see PD because her face got a lot of red dots.. and she has gain 1kg in 3weeks time.. kekek

sometime i stress then also can't express out milk leh.. you got drink the nursing tea??

Hi KK

how do u know when to increase your BB feed?

My son is like your daughter...will cry until the face red red if we take away his bottle..
U mean your daughter will just suck everythign in the bottle w/o the need of u pulling it out and letting her take a breather? Wont she get choke?

soh,

Haha for my bb, very obvious.. after we feed her the same amt, she start crying for another feed immediately soon after. So we know gotta increase her feed liao. And realise she can finish

Oh, she does get choke sometimes. But then she will just cough 1-2 times and continue on her feed. haha.. she greedy cat lah.. want to drink and drink dun wanna stop leh. If we pull her teat out, sure kena cry from her. So better not :p

Serene,

Ya, i think prima has. Because i saw on website they mention those full mth packages cannot have home delivery. But i never try their kuey before.. dunno nice or not.

lyn & celesteblur,
My EDD on 29th... got abit of contraction lor with some sharp pain @ the v area. My feet still the same, sudden swollen. Now try to time the contraction & I am feeling very sleepy. Probably later will sneak out early (go home to sleep) hahaha...

okipoki,
mi got some contraction but irregular type one
and i also have some sharp pain at v area....yesterday worst, i tink i felt it more than 10 times at v area

Amy,
Maybe you gotta keep on stimulating the breasts. massage, pump... massage, latch... My milk went down on day 5 till I cried cos baby latch for 2 hours still not full and I gotta supplement FM. Then the next day, I massage and pump every 2 hours... then next day, milk supply increase already.

Serene,
Now each session I can pump 150ml from both breasts. It's just to relieve the pain from engorgement and not empty the breasts... I am worried that I am loosing too much nutrients too and wasted since my baby dun drink so much now. I dun really like to give my boy frozen EBM. I still latch on every feeds...

lyn,
yes! My bb is pressing and boxing on the V area, sometimes the pain can be like lasting for 10 seconds or so....
...yesterday most jiatlat, i estimated at least more than 10 times

I guess i shld be dilating...cos sunday morning i had pink discharge, yesterday i asked gynae during my appt and he said the pink discharge shld be my cervix opening already.

kk,

BP means bulk purchase...
the website is

http://www.babe***.com/home.html

replace *** with joy...
coz i try to post just now but cant bcoz tink cant advertise for them...receive an email from them..wonder where they get my email from..

celeste,

how r u? me v bored at home leh...still got ard 1 week+ to go..u leh?ur bb full mth shd be this weekend?

celesteblur,
sama sama... my colleague instead of betting the "ball" (worldcup), they bet my "ball" (tummy) instead. they are saying I will deliver this weekend.. *LOL* Some of them commented my tummy already at the "down" position. Tomorrow will be seeing my gynae so see what he says.

lyn,
definitely.. i hv already took half day on tuesday. So today since most bosses are not ard I will just sneak out. kekeke...
Hv been yawning non stop since morning... during my team meeting, my colleague also said u better go home lah...

okipoki,
haha...they betting on which day ur bb wanna pop?

Today still got one colleague commented my tummy a bit high, but i find that it has "dropped" oledi....*sigh*....but i wait till jin sianz...

MOAP,
Adrian only left to deliver for me for this June mtb thread? Haha...i still remember that time we all tot wat if a few of us pop at the same time...he will be so busy...*lol*

I start counting down to D-Day liowz....Monday inducing

Re: Inducing
Btw, i am also wondering how inducing is like? Anybody can share? Thanx

celesteblur,
got one said on sat, sun, & next Tues... my hubby said my tummy high leh. duno lah !! anyway, are ur feet swollen (water retention) ?

okipoki,
haha.....me now come office everyone bombard me and ask "u havent go seh" ah...*lol*

My feet a bit swollen but okies....only my fingers are bad....especially in the morning when i wake up...can hardly bend my fingers

celesteblur,
hehe same lah all the same questions again & again. keke !!
For me, my feet sudden get swollen like a pig.. dun know why also. Fingers still ok lah

okipoki,
ur feet is swollen throughout the day or only for a while? My fingers are only "bad" when waking up in the morning, after leaving the hse normally oledi more or less okies

Celeste, okipoki,

I think left the 3 of us still waiting to pop? So sian rite?

I think my mucus plug dropped today. Could be due to the VE yesterday.. Or maybe due to the nipple stimulation. Been trying to dilate my cervix.

hidora,
only left 3 of us ah? i didnt realise that....

ur mucus plug droppped? Me till now mucus plug havent come out! When I saw pink discharge on sunday morning only got the pink stains...no mucus plug

Hmmzz, u tried nipple stimulation to trigger labour?

hello mummies
went shopping just now..compasspoint so crowded even on weekdays..saw lots of mummies at kiddy palace..hehehe...all prepare for the arrival of their precious ones..

MIM website got 1 type of tea called Nursing Mother's Tea..hmm...said to increase milk supply..anyone tried b4...? dunno if it's really true..

celeste,

I think 3 of us? Have K Ong popped? Very blur now.

I think it's mucus plug. Cos got tinge of brown coloured blood. But not a lot. I read from website that it may not drop all at once. So I dunno whether have everything drop.

My gynae did VE for me yesterday and said cervix not ripe yet. And if I induce, most prob will hv long labour and need epidural.

So trying to find way to dilate cervix more before I go for induce on monday... this is what I found over the web.

-Love-making
Sexual intercourse is thought to work in two ways. It may trigger the release of a hormone called oxytocin -- the 'contraction' hormone -- and this may increase the frequency of Braxton-Hicks, or practice, contractions. Semen also contains substances called prostaglandins. These can help to ripen, or soften, the neck of the womb (cervix) ready for it to dilate when labour contractions start.

If you think your waters may have broken, don't make love as this may increase the risk of infection, but do seek advice from your midwife or your local maternity unit.

-Nipple stimulation
This will release the hormone oxytocin and may help start labour. It's only likely to be successful if your cervix is 'ripe' and ready to dilate, otherwise it seems to help with the ripening process. There is no agreement on how much nipple stimulation you need, or how often, to stimulate contractions.

-Walking
This is also a common suggestion. The explanation appears to be that the pressure of your baby's head pressing down on the cervix from the inside stimulates the release of oxytocin, hopefully bringing on labour. If your baby has not 'dropped' or is still high in the pelvis, walking will also encourage your baby into a better position so that labour is more likely to start on its own.

I was using breast pump to stimulate my nipples. Was pumping last night before I sleep. Then this morning see the mucus plug liao.. So I was thinking it's either that or the VE lor..

You wanna try? ;p

celeste blur,
Wah.. You are very close to seeing and holding your baby already

hidora,
Wah.. mucus plug out already... kekeke.. you are also very close to seeing and hugging baby already...

lyn,

I read that even after mucus plug drop, can still wait for 1-2 wks before the cervix dilate. I think some mummies here also mucus plug dropped but still gotta wait for a few days. My gynae said I can wait until the 25th actually. So the hope not very high. ;p

hidora
i tired too...but dun walk stay at home oso a bit sian loh..
but hor..went shopping..my hubby sianz..cos spend $$ mah...walk slowly loh...then see wat can i buy...hmm..so today i bought nappy rash cream...changing mat...facial cotton...thats all i can find...haiz...not really shiok..hahaha

okasan,
It was told by the nurse at kidslink to me and my hubby leh. She showed us the package. I even ask, just pay this amt for the full 6-in-1 jab? She says yes. I was so shocked of the price diff between TMC and kidslink. I think i will call up and recheck again.

kk,
Ok, i will go to prima deli website to check out. thanks.

lyn,
Wow, so good, u can express 150ml each time from both breasts. Just now, i can only get 130ml from both breasts. That's my best result so far. Why not store up and let your baby drink? Very wasted leh.

hidora,
I think gillian_teo also havent popped yet? Haha, means left 4 of us?
ur gynae did VE for u liowz? My gynae havent do VE for me. Actually yesterday i was hoping he do VE so tat it might trigger labour...but he didnt so i never ask also...*sigh*

Now can use breast pump to try and stimulate ah? Hehe...i didnt know tat....:p
I actually BD woh...haha...but seems like it doesnt trigger labour also! *sigh*

lyn,
yuppies.....left a few more days
But i really hope dont need to induce

dsiitan,
i told hb mabbe shld do it everynite now!! *lol*
but really very difficult to do it...very uncomfortable

Yuppies, will be induced on monday nite prob if i still dont pop by then...*sigh*

hv u all decided on the immunisation pkg for yr bb? i'm thkg of gog for the 5 in 1 pkg at polyclinic which costs ard $200+, not gog for the free one. any advice?

blur
haha...then ur hubby must be real happy of the suggestion..hehehe...hmm...try and error loh....must find a real comfy position....so u 2 wont feel so awkward..hehehe...

celeste,

Ya, I think VE actually helps to stretch the cervix. Cos my gynae was telling me that she was stretching my cervix, only that it refused to open.

Maybe you try to used breast pump to stimulate. I was pumping 5mins on each side. For 2 times. So 10 mins each lah. I'm thinking of doing 3 times a day. Hopefully can release enough oxytocin.

Hehe, I also think maybe must BD everyday.. I was also telling my hb that.

I was just thinking how funny it is. Need to get pregnant must hv hb's help (duh), but now need to deliver, also must hv hb's help!

dsiitan,

That what I dun like about gng out.. I tend to spend money. On food, and food and food...

I tell you, my bb's weight is stagnant already. 3.4kg. Thought I can hv a jumbo.. Then all the weight goes to me! Aiyo, gain 15kg already.. really no eyes see..

serene,
How much does your baby drink now? Your breast milk supply also very good. Do you have engorgement?
I freeze the EBM. As baby grows, BM also change, so I dun wanna keep the EBM for long.

duffy,
Then wat about the 6th jab? Is that compusory?

hi lyn,
i'll gog for the 6th jab too.. it's known as HIB, better go for it lor.

hey ladies,
btw, u all hv any idea whr i can buy those egg chocolate/choco egg like those for easter day? i'm thinkg of customising/ doing my own bb's gift.