(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi KK

maybe i have yet to discover the methods to "tame" my son..coz i never handle newborn b4...i only started carrying him last week..maybe my carrying method he not comfy...
U got any tips to share?

I really hope after confinement things will be ok coz my in laws will still be staying with us...haiz...*keeping my fingers cross*

btw, i saw u put yr daughter on the bouncer...how many weeks is your daughter when u 1st put her on it? we bought a rocker for my son but not too sure when is the appropriate time to put him onto it...my son is 2weeks old now..do u think we can put him onto the rocker?

serene,

Haha, u sound like a "cow" which i used to describe myself that time when i had lots of milk :p

soh,

Hmm, carry the bb high almost to ur breast level. Babies are more comfortable that way
When i carry my bb this way, sometimes she just start searching for my nipples when i no longer latch her on liao heeee...

Hmmm, try to observe how ur mil deal with ur bb. That was what i did during confinement. My mil still suan me say i dunno how to bathe bb if i dun do it hands-on. heckcare, i just dun wanna bathe her during confinement because of my wound (need to bend low). I just watched and see.. and there, who say i dunno how to bathe bb now leh??

Today bb never sleep in the afternoon.. mil already complain say she buey tahan.. haha.. she thought bb still eat and sleep like first mth.. siao! Now my bb so active, like to play, listen to music, talk to pple..

My girl around 3 weeks old when placed in bouncer
It is actually ok to put the bb on rocker now.. try and see!! He may like it and u have found another new way to tame ur bb heee..

kk,
I'm like a cow now!
Btw, that time during yr baby full mth, did u order any cake for distribution? Can recommend me a few? I have brochure of Melrose and i think tinkle recommend me choz, forgotten the website address..., besides this two, u have other recommendations?

kk:
my bb has been discharged today fr jaundice n brought her back tis morning. really anxious to bring her back today, so heartpain seeing her heel being pickled for blood test
really! red dates can cure, if yes, i wil try also, so far how many times u feed e red dates drink? my MIL bot the herbs to bath her today. Also, wil try to sun baby, of coz not direct. but nowadays e weather not very gd, siao siao one. sigh
i hv engaged Zhuo Ju Shi as recommended by u, e name list is ready, probably tmr wil go n get from him. So how did u get rid of the name list? need to burn or just keep it?
when u said ur bb already started drinking 150ml is per feed or per day in total? usually for your bb during 1st wk, how many ml she drank?

Serene:
i also TBF my bb. There is once i felt engorged n when i latched my bb, my breast feels so soft again. But i always worried on how many ml she drinking when i latch her on cos i cant judge fr latching. But she wil drink abt 10mins and then until she fell aslp n i always hv to wake her up. how abt u?

Water:
how many ml of water did u all give to ur bb to drink? of cos not more than BM rite? water gd to flush out jaundice?

EBM:
when u all expressed milk out, u all use spoon feed, cup feed or bottle feed?

Peng:
In which wks, u started to introduce bottle feeding? try not to introduce bottle feeding during the 1st mth.
yes i latched my bb and my bb ger always looking for my nipple w the action of her mouth open big big n close in quick motion. sometimes she nearly want to latch on my hubby's nipple.

Kin:
My bb at 36wks was 2.6kg. I gave birth at 36wks 3 days n she was 2.52kg. Since ur bb is not growing, i tink ur placenta has matured (same case as me). Tats y my bb has to induce after 3 days. Better dun wait for so long til 10 days cos once placenta mature, ur water wil also go low. Oh ya, pls. monitor ur weight. At 36 wks, i lost 1kg+ cos water is losting n thus low. Its safer to take out ur bb fast.

i_panda77,
May i know which pump are u using? i just pump n pump n pump. Today is my Day 8. At Day 7, morning i pumped 125ml n evening i pumped 120ml, total 245ml. i m using avent uni isis electronic pump. Sometimes i tink its bcos due to e pump we using. Dun give up, as long u latch ur bb on, it wil help to stimulate e milk flow. Jia You!

Celeste:
Mine is epidural c-sect. Yes hubby can go in, need to put catherer as well, taken out on Day 2, very very painful! So far, rarely ppl go for epidural c-sect? b4 delivery, i hardly read abt c-sect cos oni prepare for natural

Gina:
yaloh mine considered preterm, 36wks, cos my placenta matured cos bb somehow cant wait, hv to come out. thanks
as long she is healthy n fine.

duffybuff

my ger is 10days old. she is drinkin 70ml. i found she wakes up shorter time than the previous day/ feeds. i increased bit by bit like 5ml to 10ml. now she wakes up abt 4hrs per feed. she is mostly on FM cos i do not hv much BM to express too.

emily
we also wanted to BF our bb.. but she juz refuse my nipples. really lost everytime i tried. I dun even hv engorement where most of u gals hv and comes in Day 3 or so.. I wonder if i m naturally no milk at all?? but when i express out.. i can only achieve abt 60ml. I think we really need to b paitent but most of the time, we are stressed.

BB Mandy,

Call me jiejie and not auntie ok? Heeee... jie jie kk still very young :p

And U are so SWEEEETTTT!!! *muaks*

serene,

Got to get the choz website from some other mummies liao, because i store as bookmark in another pc and it broke down last week
Now using my old computer to surf.

I didn't distribute any cakes
*hengzzz* save the trouble :p I only know my mil got some bengawan solo vouchers to distribute to older relatives.

Kite,

Wow so many questions! Heee let me see...

My bb is quite a big drinker. In her first week, she can drink around 60 ml liao if i did not remember wrongly. Not long after, 90 ml. Then 120 ml.. my BM not enough for her from 2nd week onwards. And she had many feeds per day.

Oh.. 150 ml now is PER FEED haha.. how can 150 ml per day rite? So little :p

Oh ya, i think zhuo ju shi will also give u a mini fortune telling for the bb ya? Did he mention that? he will calculate the bb "ji2 liang3 zhong4" - how good is the life of the bb. Heard that Lee Kuan Yew's one is very good.

And he will also tell u what the bb can and cannot do in her first 3 yrs.

We still keep the papers that he gave us. He write everything nicely leh, no need to burn or throw away
Can keep as memento mah :p

Kite,

Red date drink for bb.. think we feed her for 3-4 days.. and also sun her.. not under direct sunlight of course. We dun want sun tan haha..

kk
okok... still wan to call u jie jie...haha.
ask u hor.. when u feed bb, do u burp her half way thru?? i always burp her half way, scare she vomit all out. she is still hoverin at 70ml.. but at night she tends to drink more in shorter interval... which puzzled me. Does she needs more?

okipoki
the 1st pic is at home liao, the 2nd photo, think is her Day 2 in hospital..keke

I've delivered (naturally with vacuum assisted) my baby boy on 13/06/06. Now in hospital, will be discharged tomorrow.

Baby's weight : 3.91kg
Length : 53cm

Will update my birthstory soon.

Thanks okipoki!

I had a shock myself too. Last week Gynae checked and she said he's only 3.3kg. Didnt expect he will be so big

Mspiggy,
Oooh so unpredictable huh cos we are chatting on monday saying when is our turn. Now u hv popped liao so fast !! Anyway, glad that both of u are in pink of health. Do share with us ur birth story when u hv adjusted urself

Starfish, thanks for your advice...I have stopped expressing since 2 days ago..cos i am really afraid of the bleeding nipple...

Till now my breasts are still soft...does this mean i will not have engorgement or engorgement still has not come?...its been 1 week since my c-sect delivery...i tried latching on my gal to the other breast yesterday cos during bathing, i managed to squeeze out some milk...but she rejects after sucking for less than 2 mins..wondering if i can still express milk from 1 side of the breast? and let the other side with bleeding nipple rest?

Re:Mamy Poko New Born
I bought them from carrefour and a shop at TMC...it was sold at Giant and NTUC also...

13/06 2am : Woke up to pee and there's blood. I wasn't that panicky after that incident, hence called Mt E for advice. They asked me to go down immediately. Hence took a shower, dressed up and woke hubby up.

3.30am : While in delivery suite, water bag broke. Had a shock as I didn't expect to be such a big gush. No contraction yet, but slowly building up.

9am : Decided to go for epidural.

Waited quite a while for dilation, Gynae decided to add some "drug" (don't know what's the medical term) to speed up my dilation.

4pm+ : Fully dilated! Midwife asked me to try pushing then she realised that Baby is facing upwards instead which will make pushing harder. She called for Gynae. Gynae "scolded" Baby for being naughty... hahaha She said give him another hour or so to, hoping he will turn.

5.30pm+ : Gynae checked again, Baby still decided not to turn. No choice, Gynae said proceeded but need vacuum.

6pm : After 4 contractions, Baby arrives! Baby weighs 3.91kg and stretching at 53cm.

Hi Mspiggy,
Congratulations on the arrival of your boy! Youhave a big baby... Really "peifu" you still can deliver him naturally...

<font size="+2"><center><font color="aa00aa">June 2006 Babies' Club</font></center></font>
<center><table border=1><tr><td>Mommies</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Weight(kg)</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>15/05/06</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>carebear29</TD><TD>19/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.77</TD><TD>Mathius</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.24</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>Raffles(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>Yi En</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.69</TD><TD>Chelsia</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yve</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>ESH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>25/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.78</TD><TD>Javen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>AngelineGoh</TD><TD>26/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.695</TD><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>28/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Yi Kai</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.641</TD><TD>Darrel Tok</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.32</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD>31/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.705</TD><TD>Tan Hong Yu Leroy</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>1/06/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.15</TD><TD>Jeriel</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD>2/06/06</TD><TD>12/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.135</TD><TD>Brayden Leong</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.92</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD> 10/06/06</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD>3.55</TD><TD>Josh Ng</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.92</TD><TD>Aloysius</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.52</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD> 19/06/06</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD>2.725</TD><TD>Jerica Ong</TD><TD> TMC(C-Sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.91</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtE(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinklebell</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Fiona Lee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC</td></tr></table></center>

Dor,
wa.. your gal drinking 70ml already ah... Yesterday fed my boy EBM once and he's drinking 50-60ml only... He's only 8 days old...

Wow... BB Mandy is very cute and chubby...

Kite,
I am also TBF my boy
. My boy also drink about 10mins then sleep. I think he had enough already then will sleep. I do not feed water. I bottle feed EBM. I supplemented FM on day 1 &amp; 2 in hospital. Now stop supllementing already cos I got too much BM. I gotta freeze that I pumped to relieve engorgement. I can pump 100ml from just one side each pumping session. I am trying not to pump too often and wait till I cannot stand the pain then pump.

kk,
3 weeks only can put baby on bouncer already ah? Will they be still too soft?

Serene,
I am also thinking of bringing my baby to polyclinic. Do you know how's the procedure like?

Soh,
Try to carry your baby and soothe him. Persevere
My mum and my hubby can soothe the baby better. In the hospital, the nurse can soothe him... but not me... I am still trying hard to find a way to soothe him when he cries...
When I keep carrying my baby, my mum will go "dun carry too much"
come po po carry and carry him away from me
But I try to "ren" lor... dunno can "ren" how long wor...

been sometimes since my last post...busy as usual
can see my girl's photos at http://poohybaby.blogspot.com

lost my new nokia 3G phone on cab together with my atm card plus ezlink card on cab the day before when i came home from lunch... so sad... lucky my hb bought the same phone for me... this is the 3rd phone i lost on cab liao

tinklebell, finally seeing your gal soon?? hope to hear your birth story

dor,

mandy is so sweet looking... and i love her chubby cheeks ...feel like touching them haha

mspiggy,

congrats, do rest well hor and show us bb's pic

Lyn,

Should be ok because my nephew slept on the bouncer ever since day 1 after discharge from hospital heee.. we are considered "slow" already, only placed her in bouncer in week 3.

Dor,

For my bb, if i want to burp, i really got to wait till she spit out the teat. Else she SCREAM!! Nobody has any right to remove teat from her mouth haha! Sometimes she finish all at one go, then we burp her, because no way she is going to let go the teat. SOmetimes she will spit out teat after drinking 60 ml. So giving us a chance to burp, then she rest for a while, then demand for more by crying. Naughty ya?

For me, i dun care.. when bb want to drink, i just let her drink haha.. they seem to be more hungry, or rather more cranky at nite by demanding milk at closer intervals, u notice rite?

morning ladies

mspiggy,
woah...ur bb is big! U give me great confidence...
....cos gynae was saying my bb might be a bit big....try for natural see how....but urs is 3.9kg and u managed to go natural...
...really boost my confidence

and i also curious...how come u can go online? Mt E got wireless network and u brought ur notebook?

spicegal..
so carrefour has them? ntuc here at my place (pasir ris) dun hv leh...been seraching high and low for them...anyway..thks for the info..will go look out this weekend....

just got an email from b.....tink they having discounts on their playmat.i tinking of getting 1 leh but not sure if the prices is good or the same as the BP here..those who got purchased from BP here,can help take a look?

thanks!!!

dor,
Your bb Mandy has chubby cheeks, so cute!

kite,
Same here, whenever i let my bb letch on, he will doze off after awhile, many times i couldn't wake him up so he end up only suckle one side!

Oh, tinkle should have given birth to her girl by now.

Gals, besides choz and melrose, any other recommendations on cakes?

lyn,
Not too sure about the procedure in polyclinic but i heard babies diff from the rests, usually diff floor. I think that's better, dun mix with other patients esp old ppl....I've yet to check out myself.

its ok liao...manage to find the prices for the BP here..anybody bought those playmat b4? worth the $?

Dor, you have to perservere if you want to breastfeed. If you are able to express 60ml, then I don't think u are the 'no-milk' kind. One of my friends perservere and only managed to totally breastfeed her daughter at 6 weeks... so there's hope. Maybe you can go to a lactation consultant to see if she can figure out why bb is refusing your breast. Is it the latch? Give it a go at every feed. U can do it.

Teo, when is your EDD?

hi happysunflower

wow ... i am so amaazed. You have so much milk. When I first tried expressing, I only had 10ml from 2 breasts. AFter that, my nipples were so sore. I was in so much pain.

How often did you express your milk? What did you use? Were there any pain at all?

Serene,
I do know babies get priority in the polyclinic. No need to queue with the other patients.

hmm... dunno how's tinklebell already... hope to hear her birth story soon...

Spicegal &amp; all other mummies,
Call the TMC postnatal 24-hr helpline for any questions you may have concerning yourself or baby. The staff answering the hotline did not ask me for delivery or hospital stay details so I suppose for those who did not deliver in TMC can also try this hotline if really need help. I call a few times when I had problem breatfeeding problems.

Number: 9119 3502

lyn/serene,

My colleague booked appointment with polyclinic everytime she go so no need to queue

Do u all stay sengkang? My colleague also mentioned sengkang polyclinic no crowd at all.

lyn, thanks for the c-sect info. I suspect I may have had strong painkillers administered via drip, hence slower rate of recovery. For #2, I'd ask my gynae... HB disagrees with me abt scheduling an elective c-sect, he's hoping for a miraculous natural delivery for my overdue big-head baby.

mspiggy,
congrats! Can I ask what's ur darling's head circumference, and your own height, if it's not too personal?

kk,
ya, I also thought no need to see Pd so many times unless baby sick or for vaccination....coz my mum says baby still have jaundice, so she thought the PD will ask for follow-up visits till jaundice disappear...

I also cut down on ginger coz of breastfeeding...the PD told me it's ok to eat dishes cooked with ginger, just don't eat the ginger itself....

serene,
did u use the PD recommended by Dr Adrian? her 6-in-1 jab package is only $400+...

btw, for kidslink clinic, the $140-$160 is per jab if I not wrong...so after finishing all the jabs, will still total up to be abt $400++

Dor,
Jia you! You sure can have lots of milk!

missk,
When I first started expressing, I feel pain in the nipples. Even with the pain, I still let my boy latch on, which contribute to further pain. I keep telling myself that I will get over with the pain and gotta "ren". Now it's much better, but still pain when my boy sucks and bites.

Now I express my milk when I feel very engorged. Yesterday, I am trying to reduce the milk supply, cos too much for my boy. Now I gotta pump every 5 hours to relieve the engorgement pain. In between I do latch also.

I am using medela mini electric. The strength of suction can be adjusted. This function is very helpful for sore nipples. I adjust it to the weakest and start pumping and increase the suction strength slowly.

Lyn,

u got the Breast milk dust from me... kekekekek
how much you can express??? i can get 240ml from each side of breast during engorged.

i am down with high fever,flu and sore throat.... so can't let bb latch on till i recover.. hope my supply will not went down.. i still express it out and freeze it..