(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

poohy
u working at tampines?? which bank??? now still working there?? i used to work at OCBC Bldg..hmm...where the sanctuary spa is..hehehe....

dsiitan,

me in uob

tinklebell,

ya u r rite... less visitors means more rest and privacy hehee

poohy,
just realised you know "Tigger" - Keane's mum...we were talking about this brave mum who was at 5cm without epi..realised same person..wat a coincidence..haha

wow tinklebell, i didnt pack so much things. am thinking hubby can go home and get for me if i really need it.

so far, i have packed 2 PJ, baby clothings, 3 breastpads, 2 pack of disposable panties, pre-admission letter, toiletries and camera.

do we need to bring marriage cert if we dont intend to register baby in hospital?

i brought breast pad but nv used as no milk yet for the 2 days .. den for disposable undies i also din use as well, as they got their undies (short type) for u (1st one they will wear it for u, 2nd one is spare)... u can bring if u want ..

for me i feel so warm ar .. i turn the aircon to the coolest liao like 15 degree .. still warm leh ... haha maybe kept on drinking soup?

they did provide face towel and bath towel

tinklebell,
haha...u so cute...say wat short of an air-ticket...machiam like going for tour like tat *lol*

me only pack 2 sets of pyjamas :p

okipoki,
hmmzz..popiah also...yummy! U know i feel like stuffing myself with food these few days, cos when i think of confinement so chamz cannot eat this or tat then i very sianz...haha

kk,
haha, sounds like me last time after school during pri sch days, i will play at the playground with my frens for like 15-20mins b4 i go home, then my mom will ask how come i so late so i juz "lied" to her and say teacher dismiss us late....hehe..those were the fun days
I miss childhood days...*sigh*

dsiitan,
now i staying at blk 13
My direction facing the big empty field, so its quite windy and unblocked although i stay on the lower floors

ms piggy,
aiyo ...paiseh ...seems like i have packed a bit too many things
but i was afraid that if my stay end up longer than the usual 2 days, then, the things i brought may not be enuf. was still thinking of bringing magazines and books ...kekeke .... but tmc has a shop downstairs so i think i wont bring that.

Celeste,
On second thoughts, i am not sure if my hubby is staying over. It all depends on whether he can take leave or not.
Sadly, i am not sure if my hubby can even take leave for my delivery... it's kind of hard for him to cancel some of the appointments bec some of his customers have specially taken leave to see him. (though he had tried to postpone quite a bit of that already) And it's not easy for him to find a last min replacement. Worse come to worse, i'll deliver without him ard

hi angeline/kk,
my bb only 7days old and he's already drinking 60ml of milk.. is that normal? that's why must supplement with formula milk cos the 1st few days dun hv breast milk yet.. even now.. my breast milk only just sufficient for him, may still hv to supplement formula.

I have packed 2 PJs, a dress for my discharge, baby clothings (although TMC do provide), 2 breastpads, a pack of disposable panties, a pack of sanitary pads, pre-admission letter, IC, toiletries and camera.

Celeste,

I had a good meal for dinner last nite, char kway teow, satay beehoon, chicken satay..all the sinful stuffs.. coz wanna pop soon, and then got to do confinement, cannot eat all thses hawker food. Later I will go and have prata..lol

tinklebell,
i tink mabbe u pack one set of ur hb's clothes bah
but leave it in his car instead. I tink due to his job nature boh pianz one.....but he is GP izzit? GP can try to arrange? Cos I thought GP got those working part-time can ask them to help out if need be?

gillian,
u ate so much juz for dinner alone!! I am impressed...hehe....make me crave for satay beehoon now....tink tonite i ask hb drive me to whampoa hawker centre to eat...haha :p

Celeste,
the thing is that he does mainly health screenings. so pp specially make apptm to come for that. last min v hard to find part time help since we also cannot predict when i will pop.

tinklebell,
Oic...health screenings really bo pianz
If normal GP work still can....*sigh*....but i believe he can still stay overnite with u cos he work during daytime?
As for actual delivery i think bo pianz....mabbe u try telling ur gerger to be guai guai pop at nite? Then ur hb can be with u

tinklebell,

my bb discharge without booties and shorts.
lucky i kia su and bought my own set.
i think don need to bring breast pump lah.. coz milk only cum in 3rd day mah.
TMC do provide towel but got 1 kind of smell wan,.

hmm..all give birth at TMC rite? how come some hv botties and mittens...clothes..etc..but some dun...hmm..issit depending how many bedded we chose?

afternoon gals

kk n angeline, yeah..my boy drinks alot.. he can drink 70-90ml for every 2 hr.. stressed.. not enough BM for him.. KK.. wow. ur gal drinks 150-220ml gosh.. i dun noe i can hit that target leh..

kk, how u mgr ur bb now? it's now 2nd mth right? u handle alone? nite feed how? can cope? me still thinking what to do..

mummies..
read all ur posts regarding bb drinking lots of milk..hmm...

my sister a experienced babysitter...told me when i had my #1 few yrs back..cos he oso drank alot...that time i was giving him formula milk cos my mum against the idea of BM..sighz...my sis told me if bb really drinks lots of milk in a very short period...like 2-3 hrs..then dun put too much powder..cos this will expand his 'wei' and therefore the bb will keep asking for more milk in future..and then will become overweight..can try to dilute his milk by putting less milk powder..just wanna to share..dunno if its true..hehe...but think think oso quite logic hor...

good afternoon ladies

finally managed to come in. I hv delivered on last Sunday, 4 Jun 06 in the noon.

Here is my birth story...(abit long winded)

5.30am - Went toilet and saw bloody show, then followed by my waterbag burst. Took a quick show and then called my gynae. Told to head to the hospital now.
(Actually quite happy that the day is finally here as my due date has passed)

6.30am - Reach Mt A and was leaded to the delivery suite. No contraction at all, juz the water keeps leaking. Had all the neccessary procedure done and asked for edpidual straight

7.00am - Strip on ctg. There is regular contraction, jux that i cant feel it. Nurse was surprised n checked VE. 2cm dilated.

7.15am - Dr came to administer happy epdi. The whole process is surprisingly painless to me.

7.45am - Felt some contraction already but still bearable. Nurse hven switched on the drip, so ask her to turn on the dosage.

till 9.30am - Waitin for gynae and slept thru, no feelin at all cos on epdi lor..keke. Gynae came and checked. 4cm dilated.

12.30pm - Hve been shiverin. Gynae came again to chk. 8cm dilated.said will deliver ard 3plus. my legs had numb already but the feet still hv sensation.

3.00 pm - Full dilation. Gynae is here to start the delivery. Told gynae no feelin from contracton from legs down. how to push??...keke. He said dun worry ' ask u to push like go pooing, will guide u along'

I had about 10-15 pushes.. bb head still not out. Found her head is facing up. Need to use forcep to assist her out. Later, one push for her body to come out.

3.30pm - My ger is finally out. follwed by the placenta.

That's abt it. It's has been a painless and smooth delivery for me.

Hv discharge on Tues. So far , my milk hv yet to come in.. but feelin the breast is fuller now.. been massaging.

Been takin care of bb at nite.. she dun sleep till in the wee hrs... wahahaha. and during day time, she sleeps like log

moap,
i also thought it was u who mentioned that. ok, since most of u say dont need to bring BP, then i'll exclude that.

shorts? hee hee .... no shorts to wear??? i think i may bring long pants for bb... those types wh can wrap up the feet...then dont need to bring booties liao.

re: ang pow for confinement nanny
what is the mkt rate? i heard must give CL 2 - one when she comes and one before she leave?

Dor,
Congrats!!!
So finally your bb decided to come out! Few days later than expected right? But at least dont need to induce.

Seems like all the mummies who have given birth r quite busy with their new borns and dont have much time to chat online.... left with the few of us waiting anxiously here :p

re: epidural
Just wondering if anyone kenna any side effects from epidural?
For me, my 2 big toes r numb and have no feelings even until today.
But i think die die i will also opt for it this time :p dont think i can live without it.

lastt iem i bring and wear breast pad..dunno when the milk will come mah..the nurses even told me can do without it..cos milk dun come be4 3rd day..she said dun waste them...me so paiseh...

Dor.. congrats!

Mummies who have given birth, how's your milk flow? my milk flow bit slow... now day 18, only pumping 20 ml after feeds. funny, in the first week, I can pump 50 ml. wonder why....

went to see mrs wong, and she massaged my breast, asked me to cup feed bb jake with formula, as he has not gained weight since birth.

now working hard to get my milk in...

MOAP, how did you manage to get your milk flowing so abundantly?
Can teach me?

Dor,
Once again congrats to you...
Haha u made me hesitate whether to tell Henry I opt for epi 1st.

Tinklebell,
I do agreed with u as most mummies has popped & are pretty busy with their babies. Think as times goes will hv lesser & imagine I will be the last to pop in the list.

Will be seeing my gynae tomorrow, so see whether he will say anything or not lor.

okipoki,
ya hor, u r the last one in the list.
but who knows, maybe ur bb wants to come out earlier to see u ;)

hmmmm .... i hope to pop tomorrow ...hub's bday ... then can have double celebration next time
but no signs leh
seeing gynae tonite... but i dont think there will be anythings unusual that he's going to say.

celesteblur,
wow u still can eat anything, for me i hv to restrict myself cos gynae said my blood got some sugar... GD lor. Sianz

tinklebell,
well, we shall see lor if got good news sure share share liao & u know u wont be seeing me online ;p

No sign nevermind but if tonite your waterbag burst good lor right

Baby Kelly was born on 5 June 2006 at 1645 hours. My birth story

5 June 2006 @ 1am
Admitted to hospital as scheduled for the insertion of induction pill.

5 June 2006 from 1.30am to 2.00am
Was placed in a temporary room where the insertion will take place. I was strapped to the CTG machine first.

5 June 2006 @ 2.00am
Nurse came in and asked if I felt any pain as the machine shows that Im having contractions. I told her that the only pain that I felt came from my back (which is a symptom of labor pain too). They decide to monitor me for another 30 minutes.

5 June 2006 @ 3.00am
Nurse came in and asked if started to felt contractions. I said no they decided to check my cervix and realized that it was 3cm dilated. They informed my gynae and felt that there isnt any need to insert the pill anymore.

5 June 2006 from 3.00 to 4.00am
I was wheeled to the delivery suite.

5 June 2006 from 4.00am to 7.00am
Contractions came at every 4 minutes interval. I dont felt any pain on my stomach still however, back aches real badly.

5 June 2006 at 7.30am
Gynae came and broke my water bag. Was put on Oxy drip.

5 June 2006 from 7.30am to 9.30am
Backaches damn bad contractions came at every 2 minutes interval.

5 June 2006 at 9.30am
Administered epidural. Instant relief

5 June 2006 at 12.00pm
Cervix has already dilated 6 cm. Second epidural administered. Mummy down with fever.

5 June 2006 at 3.00pm
Third epidural administered.

5 June 2006 at 3.30pm
Cervix is now dilated at 9cm. Midwife told me that she can touched babys head. Gynae informed.

5 June 2006 from 4.00 to 4.20pm
Gynae came and saw babys head. However, babys heartbeat was going at 200 beats per minute. Critical moment and gynae has to get the baby out first.

5 June 2006 at 4.25pm
Baby Kelly was born with the help of forceps.

Tinklebell, if you are having a normal delivery, you might want to make a trip down to Mum Essentials (they have a branch in KKH and Suntec) to get a bottle of New Mama Bottom Spray ... it actually provides relief at where the stitches are...

Hi Paula!
Congrats!!! Another one promoted to a happy mummy

u have back ache? oh dear! i didnt have that previously ... better lie down more...

i notice your labour is quite long hor... must be v stressful. somemore, it's thru the entire nite! i bet u u must have been v tired after that.

Paula,
Congrats on the arrival of baby kelly

Wah seriously u hv a long labour hor... btw, how come u need to administer so many epi ??

congrats paula and dor for yr smooth delivery!

just had my 1st post natal massage at 830am today. now hvg this tight cloth binder round my tummy and waist. but really feel good cos of the shoulder and back massage.

but the only thing is can't breastfeed bb today until 630pm cos i hv the ginger herbs on me and the massage oil all over me. so hv to pump milk out for bb.

hi amy,
try massaging yr breast and stimulate with pump 1st. and you must take more fluid. i was also quite stressed up initially but now day 7 i can pump ard 60ml for 2 sides (approx. 15mins each time).. it's actually getting more and more.. it was miserably little the inital few days.

how long did yr stitches take to heal for those who went for natural birth? it's already day 7 and my stitches are still painful... so cham! think i hv moved ard too much..

congrats Dor and Paula!!!

tinklebell,
i didnt pack any bottom for Baby... thought he will be swaddle with receiving blanket hence dont need. shd i pack 1 bottom for him???

Dor/Paula,
congrats on promotion to mommy
I'm still here waiting...*lol*

tinklebell,
hehe, mabbe u ask adrian to do VE? Maybe after VE will go into labour tomolos

me also seeing him this evening....gotta go early else donno must wait how long...*sigh*

okipoki,
dont worry bout the GD cos u also going to pop soon. After confinement can eat all u want again

Afternoon Mummies,

tinklebell,

Hehe, your list doesnt seem like a lot leh. But you very vain hor, still bring contact lens solutions. ;p I'm just gonna wear my glasses.

Anyway, I haven't start packing yet leh. Scarly I packed already also very heavy.. Stress!

hidora,
it's not that i dont want to wear specs but i dont have a pair of glasses wh i can wear. i'm wearing those CRT contact lenses. wear at nite to sleep, then take out in the day and will have perfect eyesight. So if i dont wear them in the nite, i will not be able see perfectly the next day. And the degree of shortsightedness can vary
hee hee ... so bo pian i must bring the lenses with me everywhere i go these day.

Hi moms/MTBs! I'm new here and like this forum a lot.

Just curious since most of you are near EDD already, whether anyone has done research on what to do about Vitamin K injections that they give once baby is born. It's slightly controversial because:

If you inject, there's greater risk of developing childhood leukemia later (excessive levels of vitamin K can allow cell division to get out of hand, thus causing cancer).

But if you don't inject, there's the risk of bleeding into the brain, causing damage or death.

Here's a site on the issue:
http://www.babyreference.com/VitaminKinjectORnot.htm

They suggest alternatives like:
a) supplementing breastfed babies with low and gradual oral doses of vitamin K or
b) nursing mothers to take vitamin K supplements

Any advice greatly appreciated.

okipoki..i went checkup last 2 days at 31 weeks...but gyane said 2 weeks later will see me again...issit normal?