(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mummies:

just to check w u all. during delivery, do u use any entonox (lauging gas if not wrong) or pethidine (painkiller)? got side effects on tis 2 items?

kite

baby matured during 33-34 wks and above...but still they considered early..hahaha...weight??? at birth was 3.6kg....jumbo baby..i delivered natually with epidural...thats y i had this feeling that i will be delivering this bb early too...and my gynae said this bb going to be another jumbo...so worried...haiz

dsiitan:
wat is e reason of ur bb matured liao? my gynac also said that since placenta mature liao my bb sort of also mature. but then wow ur bb is real jumbo. how manys wk are u now?

all the best to all the mummies delivering the next few days! feeling very excited for you all!

hope to hear your birth stories soon

im going 32 weeks..but the last time i went to visit my gynae ..he said bb above avg..bb avg at birth is 3.1kg..so hor...i expected much more above that..but gynae wants me to control diet so that bb will not be as big as my 1st boy...haiz..but how to control diet??? very difficult..everything wanna eat....so cham...u leh?? previous post u mentioned that u will induce on 6/6?? excited?? nervous? who's taking care of u during confinement??? im doing on my own..

dsiitan:
wow wat is ur weight now? my weight now is 55kg, max liao, cant go any further liao plus me small n petite size.

during ur 1st pregnancy, at e ultrasound scan n actual weight, does it difference alot? or usually wil be lesser than e scan weight?

ya wil induce on 6/6. ya i m feeling very nervous, dunno y, cant concentrate on doing stuffs, very ganzhong, heart like beating very fast. hehe cos 1st time. my mum wil be doing confinement for me

kite
my weight now ard 80kg..haha..very heavy hor..cos im different from u...not small and petite..me big and heavy before pregnant..hahaha..

dunno was it that i heard wrongly the last pregnancy..during scan gynae told the bb slightly above 2.5kg..when at the labour ward...midwife asked if i know how heavy was my bb..i told her gynae told me ard 2.5kg..she said impossible...must be much heavier..so when my boy came out.. she said 'see..i told u...big bb'...then she told me 3.6kg..i was like shocked...hahaha...

dun worry lah..last tiem i oso worried and nervous..but once u in labour ward and the pain starts to come...u will want the bb faster come out...and once out..mother instinct all come together...u somehow knows wat u suppose to do...

dsiitan:
wow ur weight now 80kg! ya maybe u bigger size tats y bb wil big size. Think i small size so thats y my bb small size. I dunno y i got diarrhoea these few days. i read the "wat to expect during pregnancy" book, saying that usually b4 labour, wil get diarrhoea. I feeling ganzhong til i feel little bb's movement today. need to relax bit.

mspiggy:
ya feeling excited n nervous, dunno y.

Kite,

Opposite.. my gynae clinic told me to eat full full before going to hospital haha.. imagine u dun eat, got energy to push meh? I also ate at around 12 noon for lunch after my gynae came and checked on me. i still remembered i had fish porridge and fish payaya soup heee...

My gynae gave me those two options too.. but they dun relieve as much pain as epidural. Depends on pain threshold. My hubby's colleague survived 4 labours using laughing gas alone. But she did say VERY painful but she die die bear through.

dsiitan,
me feeling ok but cant walk too much so have to stay home whole day.

kite,
yeah i bet you sure feeling excited.

kite
hehe..so paiseh...ya loh..thats y now i even feel more heavier...always backache..then at nite cant sleep..or shld say dun sleep well..toss and turn..till 5-6am then fell asleep..so cham..last nite i oso diarrhoea..sometimes stomachache..and got so worried..wahlau..dun tell me contractions ah..hahaha..my hubby said i worried too much..still early..but this kind of things cannot tell one mah..this time i can feel the bb movement quite alot..last one...i got so worried cos like feel nothing at all..trying hard to feel ah..

kk
yes..epidural is the best...nut last time my gynae only gave me very little dosage..cos he wants me to feel slight pain if not he said i dunno y mothers can be so great...must experience mah..this time most of my frens asked me to go w/o epidural..save cost too..but after much serious consideration...i think i still want epidural..i scare i die too..hahaha..

kite/kk
which hospital u gals going to deliver?

wow seems like next tues, 6 june will be hot date for lots of bb to come out.. so good. i wan my bb to be that day but too bad he wans to come out earlier..

paula and kite, u two using induce?? mine is tablet.. dr juz put in a tablet, u dun feel much..juz like normal inducing tablet.. for my case, she juz put 1 tablet, but she said if wan to be faster, take 2 tablets.

after tablet is placed, no feeling.. so can go home 2-4 hrs to bath etc then wait for all the show to happen like any delivery.. me actually quite glad that i finally got induced cos haha.. all my show seems so mild that i wouldnt know thatthis is signs of delivery but rather thot tummy ache.. by then time i 2-3cm dilation, i still dun feel much pain..

kk:
wow u stil hv lunch ah. maybe later i can eat, cos gynac oni say between 12am to 6am i cant eat.
So in e end did u choose either of the 2 options?

dsiitan:
yaloh i think sometimes worry n ganzhong til cant feel bb's movement. just now i try relax n let hubby talk to bb n bb kicks n moves. i wil be delivering at TMC.

So how old is ur 1st bb, boy or girl? 2nd one leh, b or G?

peng:
yup gg for induce cos my placenta mature liao (aging). oic so u went home after inserting the tablets. u mean u choose to use tablets urself or gynac suggests? drip is more faster or tablets? n drip is more painful? so after put e tablet, how long after did u deliver?

btw i m now 1cm dilated since monday.

kite
ya loh...must relax...dun worry...bb just want mama to rest well b4 having him/her out to this world..hehe...

my 1st bb is boy...hahaha...2nd one...still boy...u leh??? boy or girl? i will be delivering at TMC too....

kite,

i chose epidural mah haha! if i did not remember wrongly, the gynae told me the p-thing can only reduce 25% of the pain and laughing gas 60%. Epidural is 90% or more

dsiitan,

i have already delivered my bb girl at TMC
She is now in her 7th week

Yah lor, come to think abt it.. i dun encounter real contraction pain. I did feel contractions after administering of epidural but my feeling is that they are not strong ones. I dun feel my bb going lower and lower too. maybe that's why in the end require caesarian lor

Wow, how big ur #1 now?

peng:
may i know wat is e reason for inducing?

dsiitan:
wow u hving 2 boys. mine is a ger ger

kk:
oic so u didnt choose any of the 2 cos u choose epidural ah. so estimate after e inducing drip, what was ur last cm dilated?

kk
my 1st boy is going 5 yrs old end of this yr..hehehe..big gap hor..but i think he can take care of himself quite well now so i can concentrate more on this coming bb..how much u paid for the hospital bill? issit ex? actually was thinkning between MT A and TMC...but think think TMC better loh...so how was ur experience with TMC..?

not much contraction pain after epidural..but when bb wanna came out that moment...felt like stomach pain wanna go 'lao sai'.haha..told gynae i want to go poo poo..but gynae said i had clear all my bowels liao..nothing to poo...just that the bb wanna out liao...hahaha..wat a joke...

kite,

haha, paiseh to say.. in the end i was only 5 cm dilated so had to go for caesarian as complications may arise due to bleeding.

dssitan,

Ya, slight big gap but in terms of management, i believe should be so much easier ya?

And boys.. i believe they dun get jealous of their siblings? Sometimes problem with having a girl followed by another bb is that the elder girl get jealous easily and want full attention from parents :p

OHH, i spent a bomb on my bill!! I paid in addition $3000++ in cash after medisave deduction. If u go for natural delivery, definitely so much cheaper! Maybe only $1K+ in cash.

I loved TMC!! Their service i find very good
And the meals are very very tasty too heee.. my hubby enjoyed the meals too :p

kk
so hows the recovering process? issit slow?? issit very painful??

all kept telling me gap too big..but all along i want it to be4-5yrs gap..dun want the elder one to cling on to me ..wanna carry...when i hv another small one to take care loh..boys...maybe not so jealousy bah...my boy now cant wait for his little bro's arrival..haha...kept asking me when he can see him and play wif him...

really? so think i made a rite choice choosing TMC...hahaha...actually wanna choose Raffles..but my gynae more familiar with TMC..so ended up TMC loh..

im going off to MIL's place...will chat with u gals later for more info..hehee....great to find someone to chat as im a SAHM...boring at times...
anyway to keep in touch more often..hmm...like MSN??

kk:
eh sorry to ask. wat time did u go for e induction drip? exactly at 7am or later? then wait for how long then u were oni 5cm dilated?

if my hubby gg to overnite w me in e 1 single ward but never eat e meals there, do we have to pay e companion charges?

dsiitan,

Haha, i couldn't get out of bed on the 2nd day until they removed my drip etc. That nite i climbed out of bed and couldn't walk at all! Uterus contraction pain + wound pain. Even on the day of discharge, still had problem of walking straight. Got to walk very very slowly. Had difficulty getting in and out of our car too.

After confinement, i went shopping for 1 full day and felt pain already.

It is only until week 6 that i felt fully recovered. No more pain when i brought my niece out for one whole day and 2 days ago found that i can walk as per usual. As fast as before
Really happy!!

So that was the recovery process for caesarian.. slow ya? Took around 6 weeks for me to feel fully recovered.

My colleague delivered in Raffles. She did not say anything bad about it, so i believe it is ok hee...

Wow, envy u.. SAHM heee.. how i wish i can be one too!! Ya, do come in and chat often. Me bored at home too, looking after bb everyday and alone at home.

i do have MSN.. can exchange

Kite,

Errr, we reached TMC early and when i went into delivery ward, it was only 645 am. Took BP, CTG, bowel removal etc... when put on drip, i think it was around 9+ or 10 am?? Can't remember liao. But i was told to "report" at 7 am.

Haha, i was only 5 cm dilated in the evening, around 5 pm. Then was having bleeding already. So when gynae came around 530 pm, i was asked to go for caesarian.

Yup,will still have companion charges. They charge u for the bed ur hubby sleeps on. Meals will be charged separately. Why ur hubby dun take meals there?? Pretty delicious! My hubby say the food there not cheap and other than that, only delifrance.

kk:
glad that u hv recovered, its really not easy esp after giving birth. mum are always wei da hor.

ur gynae suggest drip for inducing, he didnt mention abt using tablet?

oh e companion charges is for e bed my hubby slps on? really a bed or sofa? comfortable?
how much extra do we hv to pay for e meals for hubby?

kite,

No leh, i didn't even know got such thing as using tablet haha until my colleague told me. She was on tablet, then on drip somemore, but still ended up caesarian. So she told me bad experience for her too
She also got induced due to her blood pressure and also high sugar. And her bb suspected too big.

Hmmm, kind of sofa bed. They will also make the bed for ur hubby everyday. But anyway, if u really have natural delivery, then won't be staying there for long too

My hubby complained pretty cold at nite.. so dun forget windbreaker!!! Other than tat, can't really sleep lah because very noisy leh.. the nurses walking around.. they pushing bb carts around.. they come in take blood pressure... etc etc.. can't really sleep soundly.

Errrr, i can't remember the meal cost liao.. if u go back to read my msg on bills, it is there :p

kite,

Eat less ginger
And i also heard sesame oil. i took food cooked with ginger, but i dun take the ginger itself. Hated ginger in the first place :p

If u go TBF, the risk of jaundice is higher so u have to take care what u eat during confinement. But if ur bb is totally free from jaundice, there is no worry actually

i supplemented with a lot of FM, so less worry. BB still look a bit yellow with bilirubin level 8.9 on her first check up at PD clinic. It dropped by itself after tat
Now bb looks fair

Kite,
My pre-preg weight is also 40kg, then while preg.. i gained 11kg in total to become 51kg.. after my gal is out, i weigh myself on day 3 in hospital and is 46kg.. after discharge from hospital, with sleepless nites, now i am only 43kg... I hope to maintain at 45kg lah.. if not too skinny liao... and also have a smooth delivery....

Pebbles,
PD gave me sodium chloride to soften her phlegm in the nose, then was told to buy a "nose cleaner" to suck out her phlegm frm the nose.. then drop aother nose drop into her nose.. she seems to enjoy it leh.. dun know why.. she never struggle or make noise.. lucky.. yah think we have to be careful as NB get sick easily.. now i ban those who are sick to come to my hse for visiting.. hahahaha

Lyn..
all the best for tuesaday.. do come in as soon as you discharge tpmupdate us and show us some pics..

looks like all of us was online even in the middle of the nites hor... hahaha... i got no choice havw to do nite feeds everyday.. hahaha....

Following items to be given away. Both bottles opened in April. Expires in 2008.
Interested parties may pm me.

1. Cord Spirit for Baby (half bottle)
2. Procanol Lotion for Mother (half bottle)
433342.jpg

Self-collect @ Woodlands.

kk,
your baby also got jaundice...same here....was on total bf, so very stress coz mil and mum keep telling me to switch to formula....

luckily, the PD is very supportive of bf...she told me to continue bf baby and dun switch to fm if possible....PD say just dun eat the ginger, but can eat the food cook with giner, no prob....

dsiitan,
TMC is good....the nurses there are very friendly and helpful....if u wanna bf your baby, u can even seek help from the lacation consultant there...so by the time u discharge, bf should be quite ok for u liao....

me too...thumb up for tmc...

hi okasan,
didnt hear from u for along while, hope that u are coping well
anyway, when did u give birth to ur baby ??

okasan,

Both mums never insist i switch to FM because they didn't know that jaundice may be linked to BM heeee... my bb was diagnosed with jaundice on 3rd day in hospital. So we stayed one more day and then discharged on 4th day

okasan,

TMC is really pro in BF ya? Feel very pressurised though becaue they kept pushing me to BF bb in hospital when i was still trying to overcome my pains. I even started to hate one midwife there who was sooooo pushy. So ladies, watch out for one senior midwife who is short-haired. Sometimes the way she talk can be quite arrogant too. But i know she mean no harm.

ya my delivery was quite short.. thank god! but i'm not as 'super' as some of u.. can go without epidural. keke

hi cookiemz,
ya lor.. shld hv know u also at kkh then can see u.
anyway i was discharged the next day on 2 june.. cos dun want to stay in hospital for another nite.. can't sleep well.

oh ya.. i hv not bring my bb for jaudice check yet.. but so far today's the 4th day.. no sign of yellow... he looks ok..but will bring him to doctor tomorrow.

i went on both formula and breastmilk cos the last 3 days no milk at all.. so nurse suggested i feed formula. now my milk started coming last nite and luckily bb latched on quite ok.. but only 1 side each feed.. when changed to the other side, he tends to cry and struggle. so no choice, think i hv to take it easy.. so supplement with formula to make sure he's full.

kk,
maybe coz I already decide my baby to be on total bf, so I din find the nurses pushy...the baby was with me all day, until night time then they push him back to nursery....

okipoki,
ya, busy so no time to come in here...I din have CL so I have to take care of baby myself, including feeding day & night, changing diapers, bathing, etc...all I do it myself...so quite busy...now baby sleeping, can sneak in here for a short while...

but still very tiring and sleepy coz din have enough sleep...so whenever baby is sleeping, I'll try to steal some sleep too

since now i hv milk liao.. will stop formula milk. lucky thing my bb still willingly to latch and suckle.. he was so eager to suckle. i think it's partially bcos i dun bottle feed the formula.. the nurse taught me how to cup feed.. so that bb will not be used to bottle teats

duffybuff,
ya, bf can be quite stressful at the beginning...but once u get the hang, things go more smoothly....supplement with formula will at least give u more time to rest coz baby fuller, will sleep longer....

ya, during my hospital stay, if u choose total bf, the nurse there will cup feed baby with water so that bay will not get use to teat...coz it's easier for baby to suck from teat than direct latch on....

hi okasan,
wow u really gang-ho.. can do everything on yr own. as for me.. luckily i'm staying with my mil.. so she's helping me quite alot. my hb tries to keep me in my room and minimise my movements cos i hv backache and stitches still hv not recovered. so he and my mil will carry bb to me for feeding and carrying. the rest like bathing and changing.. they will try to do.

duffybuff,
no choice...but luckily I got experience in taking care of baby, so it's not too diffcult for me....but only prob is the fatigue and the pain from the stitches...but now stitches more or less ok liao...

my mum also told me not to move too much, coz heard not good for the womb coz womb still recovering....but no choice loh....

okasan,
glad that u are doing well w/o a CL, really peifu
But u definitely gotta take good care of ur own health too. anyway, probably u can update ur bb's wt, name, DOB so that lyn can update to our june mummies chart. heehee !!

okasan:
so long never hear from u. glad u n ur bb r doing well. when u r less bz, do share w us ur birth experience n bb photos.
take care.

hi desittan

I read about your entry on the size of your bb. I think it's really amazing that the actual size of your bb is so much bigger!! cool .. I hope mine will be a lot bigger than expected.

Did the gynae actually prepare you for a small bb?

Kite,

Yea loh, have been telling myself to be brave and look forward to the arrival of the little one hubby has been pampering me with good food lately. Will be going to KKH at 12am on 5 June both of us have to jia you! My little princess warrior is small too

Have you wondered how we are going to survive the confinement month with the weather being so hot?

Duffy,

Congrats on the birth of your little one!

After the epidural has been administered on you, do you felt pain when you push?

Peng,

Yea, my gynae said Ill be inserted with a pill hope the insertion will be as painless as the VE I was told to admit to hospital at 12am on 5 June hence, I doubt Ill be allowed to come back home.