(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,

Haha, the bak chang made by my mum this year also very "solid" ah!! Just now i finished 3 vegetarian chang heeee.. this morning ate one bak chang too! Like tat i can forget about slimming down liao

Amy,

U feel hurt because u are still badly engorged rite? Last time i felt that way too. I think initial stage is always like tat.

Paula,

I also sterilised my bottles before i went induce heee.. in fact, for whole day, i will just leave my bottles, pacifier, medela pump inside steriliser. Kind of keeping clean tat way.

Amy,

I also heard that no ginger in food during first 2 weeks of confinement as during this period, the bb's liver not fully functioning yet. But i still consumed that time but i tried to "secretly" control by not eating too much. U know lah, old pple sometimes dun believe through diet, we can affect bb. So i have to eat a bit no matter wat, else dunno what mil will think.

sesame oil.. i heard.. but i have been taking sesame oil throughout pregnancy and i think i got consume during confinement too.

hidora,
we could go into labour anytime now. so you just monitor your contractions... if the interval is getting closer and closer, you better give your gynae a call again.

now i also on "standby" mode already.

hi amy,
your baby jake looks so cute!

kk, i did not have any confinement during my stay with Jake in the hosp for the first week. somedays, i only eat bread, as i did not leave my room, as bb is pushed into my room for TBF every 3-4 hourly. i felt really depressed then...

The one week was terrible... everyday, I woke up with the hope of discharging and bringing bb home...

felt terrible that i have to leave him in the hosp today. the dr asked... so, do you want to stay in hosp with him so you can TBF?

i was stuck with the decision to stay in or to express and deliver my milk. if i stay in, i will be taking up his time from his photo therapy, cos TBF 8 - 10 times a day, each time 45 mins... so much time is taken off his therapy...

eventually, decided to allow them to syringe feed him with formula milk now, and bring him my EBM later today...

hidora,
I rem u told us yr baby's weight, quite big yah? over 3kg now? So perhaps u can consider about induction or ready for delivery if yr labour pain had began. If u want normal delivery, baby weight less than 3.5kg will be easier for u i think esp 1st time mum.

amy, your baby Jake is so adorable! I'm looking fw to seeing my son too!

amy,
That time, my cousin's baby also stayed in hospital for 2 weeks due to jaundice level is high! She also very sad but no choice, she bring her expressed milk to hospital everyday...

hidora,
We are all close to term, 37-39th week, so labour pain can occur to any of us from now on, is part of our expectation so be calm, dun worry, be strong, when it's time for us to go deliver, we have to go. The rests of mummies also go through....I'm waiting for my day also lah......I told my hubby, waiting for my day to go to battle/war...haha!

kk,
same for me, so greedy, can't control not eating the bak chang, so i cannot blame for putting on kgs now!!!! :p

Amy,

Yah, i can understand how u feel. Although caesarian, my gynae allowed me to be discharged on the 3rd day. But PD came in and told us that BB had slight jaundice on Day 3 so got to stay one more day to monitor. Despite how tired we were, we decided to stay for 1 more day to be together with bb. My hubby always popped by the nursery to see bb
I can't because i have difficulty walking and getting out of bed properly
So i was very sad
Luckily Day 4 BB jaundice level dropped and can be discharged
We were all so happy then and hubby happily packing up heee..

Under treatment for jaundice cannot bottle feed must syringe feed??

amy,
my mum say must feed bb moRE water... my CL just feed few drops whenever bb got hiccup. Just feed few drops if u worried?

I think my false alarm ended... 3 hrs plus of cramp, no joke.. I can't imagine the actual day itself.. Just asked my hb, can I bite his hand?

amy,

My gynae will decide if I shld be induce cos she said that bb is big. She was thinking of inducing me by mid june so that I can deliver naturally.

Jake is so cute!

Paula,

I'm delivering in Eastshore.

serene,

I'm worried cos I got group presentation for my last module. If I defer my lesson, will be doing it with strangers.. So sian.. So have being telling bb everyday that he can come out anytime after the 12th.

Hi mummies! sorry to interrupt. Just to check if anyone keen in Dom. Pls sms me at 96831176 if interested.

2 bottles of Dom 1l and 1 bottle of Dom 375ml for sale at $30 each and $12 respectively
unquote

Meeting point at Hougang or Sengkang. thks

kk, i asked for syringe feed, cos i dun want bb to have nipple confusion at such early stage. will interfere with my TBF plans.

hopefully tmr the level will go down by at least 4 pts, else bb will have to stay another day. if so, i might stay in with him.

Serene, Hiaz... talking abt bak chang.... i'm so disappointed with the bak chang i have eaten this year
sad
donno why mil didnt make any this year
my dad was v nice... he knew i wanted to eat chang and went all the way to joo chiat to buy yesterday... ngio hia chang ... they sold out all the giam chang already ... and i dont really like ngio hia chang
but was really touched by what he had done.

amy,
bb jake is so adorable!!! poor boy... but dont worry, i'm sure he will recover fr his jaundice soon
hee hee ... i like the cap he is wearing ... did u buy that for him or provided by hospital?

hidora,
could be a stomachache...actually u wont know if it is real contractions until it becomes v v v painful. last week, there was one day when i had v bad cramps the whole day.... but turned out to be false lab

amy,

poor jake... hope he will be discharged soon! I think I sure will camp and cry if bb gotta be warded.

hmm syringe feed is to avoid nipple confusion right since u r TBF...

tinklebell,
Yr dad is indeed sweet to go all the way to joo chiat to buy the dumplings for u. I agreed with u, ngia hia chang not nice, can't compared to hokkien kiam chang. Paiseh, actually we stayed so nearby, I dun mind to offer my mum's bak chang for u to try but my mum says i can't give dumplings to anyone this year cos my FIL passed away in March...moreover, u r pregnant, so better be pan tang about it. I nearly forget and wanted to offer some to my neighbour then later i rem i can't give away due to same reason, she's pregnant too!

Amy,

My gal also has jaundice since day 3 and day 6 it hit 15..day 8 we did a blood test again and it when down to 13 aready and she is on total EBM..and some time latch on... My Gal PD told me that BF will cause the jaundice to stay for quite a long time so don worry..advice gaven by PD was gave some water and do sun taning in early morning sun and cut down on ginger..

RE: pumping milk

i pump every 3hrs even at nite .. i knw it hurts your nipple..but u got to bear with it...each side i will pump till it is empty.then switch to other side and my left side even bleed this morning. you must have determination... i can pump out 1000ml per day..so can you..

Serene, haha! no worries...
thanks for even remebering to offer me some.
i also heard fr my mil that if a close relative passes away in your family, cannot give chang.
Chinese got a big list of "can do" or "cannot do" list.
BTW, can give cakes during bb first mth or not? last time my mil said to give only to my relatives cos my hub's grandma passed away and we cant give to his relatives. I really donno abt such practices cos my side relatives inc my grandparents r christians n we dont really follow these traditions.
normally my mil is the one who will decide if can or cannot... i just listen to her instructions lor :p

tinklebell,
Ya, my mum says cannot bao bak chang and give away bak chang for 3 yrs.
Same for me, MIL says dun give cakes to her relatives, but i can give to my mum's relatives, that means only my side lor.

tinklebell, mspiggy

I'm also hoping to be stomach ache.. The cramp seems to come back, not as painful yet, but seems to concentrate at the lower ab.
And I just had diarrhea.. aiyo, read that diarrhea is one sign of labour..

Pray pray pray!

hidora,

hmmmm.... may be a sign of labour... hee hee i also got diarrhoea with the cramp last week ... u monitor... if it doesnt subside and gets worse, then must be lab pain liao!

Hello ladies..
So tired, went to PC fair just now & my legs are sooo tired.

Amy,
Baby Jake is so adorable... dont worry too much he will get better soon ;)

kk,
i love those chocolate cakes from awfully chocolate & lana cake
recently my friend bought lana cake for my bd... yummy

hidora, for me 37 w plus already... actually have given up hope of popping early but if can pop early all the better lor ;P
aiya, i think mine should be false alarm lah... not so "zhun" one. given up hope liao!

Aiyo! just remembered i just ordered one hp online fr singtel.. will be delivering on monday... opps ... better give birth after mon.

I have checked with my HR that i can claim my hospitalisation leave up til max. of 60 days. Since i will be on bed rest til delivery (not sure when though EDD end of june), i will be covered by hospitalisation leave. Then once i deliver, i wil then consider that day to start my Maternity Leave of 12wks.

Actually before take maternity leave, i hv to submit a declaration form to my boss. But right now, i cant go back to office to submit cos it was caught by surprise. But luckily i hv already told boss i wil be taking 12wks maternity leave in 1 shot.

Carebear29/Pebbles:
Both of u mention that Dr. YC given u the most painful jabs for ur bb? wat was e reason she gave it to u? Wil the jabs cause any side effect?

431997.jpg

tinklebell,

I wonder what's the duration for false alarm.. My mom said she nvr got false alarm one.

kite,

I believe the jab is steroid jab. Meant to help bb's lungs matured if bb's gonna come out before wk 37.

Kite,
thats good at least u dont hv to use ur own annual leave. anyway, must take good care & hv plenty of rest
keke probably u will pop 1st than me...

serene,

My dad passed away last year march but my mum started making her chang again this year and also got gave to pple.

okipoki,

What is awfully chocolate and lana cakes?

hidora:
ya i was given the jab too, so painful, imagine burning like fire that kind of feeling. Think gynac scare i delivering past few days, so quickly gave me the jab. but i m afraid e jab wil cause side effect on my bb or me? but i know its meant gd for bb to mature her lungs.

okipoki:
hehe ya i might pop earlier than u. Hopefully, i wish to tong until 36 to 37 wks. Until now, i still puzzle what causes the painful contractions n may deliver early. I dunno issit i drank too liang, start too early on coconuts?

anyway luckily, i hv my parents to come over to my house daily n cook for me til delivery. If not, i jiat liat liao.

hidora,
you were given the jab? i wasnt given any... praying hard that baby will endure another week till full term.

kite,
luckily you can clear your leave under hospitalization leaves. rest well

hello gals,

i'm back with my girl!
popped at 11:11pm on 30/5/06

paula,

didn't see u around for a few days, thought u popped already! all the best for your delivery on 5/6

cookiemz, Congrats!!! u'r back so fast? thought u just went in yesterday afternoon. how was your delivery? when u have time, do share with us your story.

Just came back fr my gynae. he was suggesting to induce me on this weekend since i keep getting contractions and back cramps. But i prefer to pop naturally. Somehow, i have this strong urge to know how the natural lab process feels. We'll see how it goes ;p

kite,

Wa, I didnt know it's that painful! I think shouldnt hv any side effect? Or the effect will go away? Even if there's any side effect, it's definite not as important as compared to the maturing of bb's lungs. So dun worry too much ye?

mspiggy,

No, not given the jab. But if bb decided to come out like tmr, I may need it. That's why I want bb to come out after wk 38...

cookiemz,

Congrats! Have a well deserved rest!

hidora:
I got 2 jabs n during 1st jab, i didnt hv any idea n not prepared that it was so burning painful til i cried. 2nd jab, i really REN. As for side effects, not so sure. i m more concern of side effect for my bb rather than myself

Oh ya, any mummy's weight decrease abit or not increasing? mine decrease of 0.8kg n thats y gynac told me its a sign of labour soon.