(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene:
so its wise to drink e raspberry tea at later stage, cos me now 34wks, better dun drink first, so far i drink coconut.

lyn:
if drink coconut daily, not liang meh, scare too liang leh. ya last wk stock up 4 coconuts fr carrefour. tis wkend wil go there again.

kk/lyn:
me too i got alot of soft toys, a few r new n mostly r mine when my hubby gave me during courtship, like hello kitty n pooh bears (stil very brand new n clean cos i maintain it). how abt urs? thinking of how to clean n wash those soft toys? i just use clean cloth to wipe.

kk:
my playpen hor, got 3 hanging items, but then i dunno whether to remove it anot. i very gian decorating my bb playpen.

soh,

Hmmm, after c-sec, i was bedridden for the whole nite + next day till 9 pm when cateherer removed. When i first got out of bed, i couldn't walk properly at all! And my lochia flow so heavy that it gushes out and all over the floor. Went toilet to wash up. And after that getting in and out of bed was difficult. Have to cope with wound pain as well as uterus contraction pain
Not easy.

I stayed 4 days there and even on the 4th day before discharge, i couldn't walk properly too. Have problem getting in and out of the car as well.

I only started to get more active in the 3rd week at home. The uterus contraction pain only lasted for the first week. Stitches were removed ten days after discharge. After that still suffer from the muscles pain around wound area.

kk,

Yesterday, I was moody and sad over my super swollen and painful foots and also my superb weight gained! When hubby massaged my foot for me last nite, i cried, it's painful and also i'm felt very miserable for sacrificing so much! Dunno why i break out at this last moment, already coming to final, so close to labour liao... I've never break out n cry so far on the sacrifies and pain i've gone thro this pregnancy! I just suddenly feel very sad, that my body shape has changed so much, turned so fat n ugly, so big and swollen legs, worried all these will not go off after the delivery!!!! Sob sob.....and then i have to worry and think of the labour pain, breaking the water bag, admin. the epi, how long it's going to take, etc etc....

Kite...i should think so bah...but i think once our bb start to walk, this mat is only for them to sit down and play on...hehe...

Lyn...me too have lots of stuff toys...now kept in toyogo containers in my storeroom...most of them still in their wrapper...so my gal has lots to play with next time..but i will be getting more educational toys from fisher price and sesame street for her development though...

lyn,

U going for C-sect, so coincidence, fall on my hubby's BD.

Actually even if my baby comes out earlier on 39th week, falls on 06.06.06 also nice date lah...or maybe he wants to choose to fall on world cup day 09.06.06... ;)

serene,
my hub's bday is on 9 june...one day b4 your EDD. it's also nice timing cos its friday and weekend after that... then he can claim his paternity leave mon to wed
haha... like this will be most ideal

So, u drinking raspberry tea? maybe your bb can come out faster? kekeke
Yap, i also prefer the soft toys type for musical mobile... come to think of it, my son never had one cos i couldnt stand seeing the things go round and round...haha...donno why this time i just feel like buying one. i've got lots of those macdonald S. Street beanies... hmmm.... maybe i'll make something out of them after i have washed them.

kite,

I think if you want try raspberry tea, maybe can try on week 37, at least u r at term then if the tea proofs to trigger labour....I only start drinking coconut drink, so far 1 time only this week as i'm at week 37 now.

tinklebell,

My EDD on 12 June. But i also dun mind to deliver earlier on 6 or 9 June, a week earlier than my EDD...sort of going to lose patient waiting for the day to come......and if it's late, i think i will turn very impatient!

Hey, you gonna make yr own soft toy mobile huh?

tinklebell:
me too most of my soft toys are from Mac, 1 whole collection ones, the sesame st ones, poohbear n hellokitty, all stil brand new. that time hubby's gave me during courtship.

gd idea on using e sesame st beanie. but then how to hang on e mobile?

kite,

I saw 1 very nice pooh bear playmat @ Baby Hypermart the other time and it's selling at 99.90 i think. I've asked one of my friends, she told me it's cheap cos she got it fr a friend as gift, heard original selling 150.... I regret not buying that but that time, hubby says not very realistic, not really necessary....and also, though price is cheaper, but still costs about $100 so think of it, save up the $.

tinklebell,

I just saw my marking on calendar here that i've indicated my ML to start on 9 June, so total of 12 weeks ML (84 days), it ended on 31 Aug, just nice, start work on 1st Sep....that's what i told my boss. My temp gal also worked till 31 Aug.

kk/kite,
Two boxes of my stuff toys are individually wrapped in plastic bags and then stored in boxes.... kekeke... must thank my MIL for that... hahaha... But another two boxes in my parents' place, not wrapped... kekeke... so those gotta wash if I gonna give to baby.
hmm... I think I will give my baby those stuff toys... cos they play for a while only, and no need to waste more $$$ buying so many... Can spend on other types of toys.

Kite,
I think I will drink the coconut as and when I need it.

Serene,
Hugs hugs... Try not to worry too much

I think it's the hormones playing tricks on us... lol... I was pretty moody this morning cos I find myself very clumsy, and keep dropping things on the floor, and also keep hurting tummy. I was so tired squating and standing till I was very breathless... And I lost my book for the confinement recipes... And I broke one of the drawers in my fridge this morning... Cham hor? But I am trying to listen to some relaxing music
Dun even wanna get up from my sofa to get the phone when it rang... lol...

spicegal,
I am also thinking of buying some educational toys. I have already got 3 from fisher price... What types of toys will be educational? My mum suggested wood blocks or lego types...

Serene,
06.06.06 is a good day to give birth, very early in the morning, according to the "tung shu"...

tinklebell,
I also has a set of S.Street beanies... those beanies are still in their original plastic bags... lol... only that holder gotta wash... Some I dun even know how to pronounce the names... lol...

lyn,

Same like u, i always drop things and i hate bending down to pick up things! i hate myself being so clumpsy! sometimes i hurt my tummy too esp, knock on the edge of table, get into shower enclosure etc...so fed up! i also hate to stand up to answer the call esp i've just sitted down!

Really? 06.06.06 morning is good time huh...well, it's natural really depend on my baby liao. but it's is induce, i will see the good date/time....

kite..you can put the stuff toys in the laundry bag and throw them into the washing machine...i did that to some of my display ones..after that just leave them to dry in the sun...

Serene..sayang sayang...we are all going through the same thing...yesterday there was this slimming program on how they helped a mum slim down after her pregnancy...i was so upset cos i also am very fat now...put on 15kg liao..dun know how am i gonna shed the extra weight...

lyn,
maybe u can arrange your c-section to be on 06.06.06. Hee hee.

serene/ kite,
i havent thought of how i can hang the beanies. Any suggestions? maybe can buy those big soft beanie flowers and sew the SS beanies to the petals?

Kite...not sure where has the most toys for bb...so far i only browse around kiddy palace outlets..

Lyn..i think those shape sorter toys and those mini hard cover books are quite good..some toys will make an animal noise or tell you the animal when you press a button...i think lego blocks are still early for our bb...maybe when they are 2 yrs old..

Serene,
So you and me are not alone... lol... This morning I have to squat so much to peel my carrots, then drop on floor, bend some more to pick up the mess. Then drop this and that.. hahaha... Then squat and stand to look for things. Then hit my bellybutton on the edge of the drawers... I cannot bend, cos tummy in the way. This morning I just let my phone rang away... kekeke... dun care who called.
I do find my baby less active this morning.. Maybe I am in a bad mood.. kekeke... So must try to cheer up

Good time for that date is between 3am-7am... Very early wor...

Spicegal,
I also put on 15kg already... I think I have put on more weight this week. Later seeing my gynae.. dunno what he gonna say this time... lol... cos the last visit I went for CTG and he's not around and I put on 2.4kg in 2 weeks!
kekeke.. all my durian indulgence gotta stop already... I am not too worried about losing weight after giving birth
kekeke... cos I slimmed down before so I know how to... fingers and toes crossed...

Tinklebell,

Actually no good for the bb to see the musical mobile go round and round.. the eyes won't focus.. so normally my mobile just stationary there, not moving :p

Serene,

Haha, dun worry so much! Enjoy your pregnancy.. confinement is going to be worse! My friends and i shared our experiences and we all agreed what's the worst part is confinement! Whatever pain we have during labour are short ones, over very soon

tinklebell,
15.06 is the "best". 06.06 is also good, and I think very early for my gynae too... lol... Dunno he can wake up or not...

spicegal,
Oh ya hor.. still got shape sorter toys... hmm... Maybe will get that... I bought something from fisher price for musical instrument and transport... When the arrow points to that particular instrument or transport, will make a sound and start talking one... kekeke...

oo... I gotta log off soon.. gonna meet my hubby for lunch at Orchard later... Where is good to shop today? Anyone knows?

Stephanie...yah she is little bit on the plump side...but its still not too bad already based on the dimensions she has lost around her tummy and hip..haiz...so lucky these people can get free slimming program...

Lyn & Serene...yah me too...the other day i was stir frying some vegetables...then my kitchen cloth fell to the floor...suddenly i just bend down from the waist and then got this sharp pain in my tummy...for a moment i thot i had hurt my bb..my hb somemore chided me for bending down like that..

kk,
I just had an agreement with my mum that I will shower weekly... lol... and the types of vegetables I want her to cook for me... hahaha.. I think she knows I not going to eat all the meat she puts into my vege. Cos that day she was saying she and my hubby will be very "bu" cos they will have to finish up the meat... hahaha... I think she will still nag... I told my hubby to be my "shield". hahaha... dunno how it gonna be... fingers crossed...

spicegal,
Now even I go toilet also cannot bend to wipe below properly.. hahaha.. I still gotta "tong" for 3 more weeks
I keep telling myself nevermind, it's worth it for baby's sake... and he can grow more when inside me. kekeke... try not to bend down from the waist. Sometimes I do that, but I cannot bend fully... hahaha... so I gotta squat... and I think I am not physically very fit, so very tired and strain on my legs...

I dun even like to climb stairs now...

Lyn,

Errr, but i somehow feel that eating meat can boost the thickness of our BM leh. So should eat meat if u want to heee.. but of course if u eat it everyday, i can understand u will get sick of it, because i got sick of it!

Vegetables is good.. i never get sick of it no matter how much i eat heee...

Hi Lyn

my inital edd is 16th June but had scheduled for c section on 2nd June. BB is a boy. Will be delivering at Glen E and my gynae is Dr Chan KH.
Yup..he will be with me op theatre..hehe..more like he die die have to be with me...he told the nurse he is "being forced"..so bad hor..*grrr*..hahaha
U stay at home mom or also like me genna confined to home? Understand u also having C section as well?

Hi Tinklebell

i'll be having a checkup 2molo, will see what the gynae says..hopefully can deliver earlier..else 1 more week of pain..boohoo..

soh,

I read one book that says if hubby get too scared in the ops theatre, he may develop phobia and reject having #2 heeeeee...

My hubby not with me in the ops theatre because i chose GA instead of epi.

kk,
I will be having my shower one week after I discharge from hospital. So weekly shower during confinement month... If too hot, I think will be every few days, but with those herbs. My mum did my previous two mini-confinement, so she knows what to expect... :p Last time, towards the end, I get very moody when she started nagging...

Stephanie,
Oh... Robinsons got sale ah... Maybe I go there see see...
I got my stroller already
Also from Robinsons...

Soh,
I stay at home... hee... so far, not confined to home
Still can go out shopping and walk around, but sometimes lazy to go out...
Ooh, KH Chan, likes people to go through epi c-section... I gonna discuss epi or GA c-section with my gynae later today...
I might not be able to go for epi cos I got surgery on my back before... I also hope my hubby can be inside

I think my hubby wanna be inside the operating theatre... hahaha... that day he was asking me if can or not. He wanna cut the umbilical cord, I think. My hubby "brainwashed" by the daddy around him and the books I read... :p
I am hoping very much to touch and massage my baby immediately he comes out leh... Good for baby's brain development...

Lyn,

Oops, no no nagging plsss.. it will lead to post natal blues..

Wow, u must tahan leh.. i cannot, so i start bathing 2 weeks after i was discharged and stitches removed. After that, i bathe everyday with herb water. Still felt very hot!

I heard epi c-sec recover faster... so better choice
For my case, i chose GA because i was bleeding then and gynae say can save me immediately if there are going to be complications if i take GA.

spicegal/serene/kk:
does the playmat comes with any hanging small soft toys?

lyn/kk:
i got 2 big bags of soft toys too inside my storeroom. the rest i gave away cos too much liao. Btw how u all wash the soft toys? cos some soft toys not meant to be wash, wait e fur bcome like very funny, dunno how to describe. or vacumm better?

spicegal:
put inside washing machine ah, can work, the fur of the soft toys wont change hor? i went kiddypalace at Jurong pt, to me not much. maybe i shall go robinsons centrepoint tmr, seems big there.

kk:
yaloh i also heard musical mobile not neccessary. some said wil cause crossed eyes, scare me, not sure how true. but my playpen already hv 3 hanging toys liao. maybe wont buy. c how, wil buy more development toys.

tinklebell:
can buy waco (not sure spelling, n sew onto the toy n e other side to ur hanging pole.

lyn:
u gg robinsons later ah, which outlet? centrepoint one? tmr i want to go, can help me see got alot of nice toys? tks.

serene,
What about tying those sesame street toys to the sides of the cot? But so many leh... dunno will be messy or not...

kk,
Yalor... I scared my mum nags ah... Last time, when I in bad temper, she will go out meet her friends. Hopefully, she will also go out this time when I am in bad mood... kekeke... This time got my MIL during the weekends... hmm... I told my hubby he better "shield" me, else later i go into post natal blues...

ok.. i going to get changed and out lor... hmm.. still thinking where to eat in Orchard... Maybe one of crystal jade outlets... go there see what I feel like eating

Kite,
I going centerpoint one

hmm... let me go get those toys from my MIL's place then I see what to do with them.. I also dunno how to wash.. I will prefer to dump them in the machine... lol.. no energy to wash one by one already leh...

lyn:
gd idea too. tying those sesame st beanies onto the sides but mine is a playpen, abit difficult to tie onto it.

Soh1dful,
u got the same EDD as me
hope your pain will go off soon.

kk, i agree....i guess if i ever buy the musical mobile is more for those cute hanging figurines. i also cannot tahan seeing it spin round and round. Maybe i'll make my own using the Sesame St beanies.

lyn, haha... i know what u mean when u say u cant wipe properly in the toilet... been having same prob too.

Anyone eaten any nice BAK CHANG lately? Hope my mil is making this year... i love to eat those that she makes. i dont think i can eat much but somehow the thought of it makes me hungry.
I'm not a BAK person but i love those chang with lots of KAOLAK and dried shrimps.

Kite and other ladies,

Do let me know what development toys there are. I want those which really helps the bb. I dun like toys that kids just play and forget about it. Waste money heee...

Tinklebell,

WOW, u good in handicraft ya? I cannot.. i am art and craft nerd as well heeee.. i can't even stick things properly :p

My mum making dumplings so won't be buying any from outside. In fact we dun buy dumplings. Last year my dad passed away and my mum did not make any, and we also didn't get any from outside. Dun like what they sell and especially festivals like this, they make it worse. And not fresh. So if we were to get from outside, we normally buy them when it is not festival time

I love bak chang too!!! My hubby love nonya chang. And i dun mind gi chang too

Lyn,

Haha, no matter how hubby shield, i can't help it but fell into post natal blues. But i am very happy my hubby understands and he is very tolerant towards my temper :p

Ever since last week, i am ok liao
Guess the confinement food plays a big part too. Now back to normal food (except seafood, but i dun eat seafood so ok) and really glad about it

kk, no lah... not good at handicrafts. Thinking of how to make full use of things wh have been sitting in the storeroom for ages. Those beanies belonged to my hubby... he got them before we got married if we recall correctly. Used to display them at the back of his car but he said they look too "sissy" for him
ever since then the toys have been chucked aside. it's a good time to make use of them again.

re: developmental toys
At < 1mth, i think red/white/black flashcards r best. can make yourself or get from your PD/GP. Normally milk companies will give them a few sets for giveaway. TMC FBI pack included one set from Dumex.

At 1-3 mth plus, i think those colored flash cards and "excercise gyms" are good.

Hi KK

aiyeee..sounds so painful! I hope i can endure the pain..does the abominal binder helps? Does your hubby took leave to look after you after you discharge? My hubby colleague advise him to take a week leave to look after me after i discharge coz i will have trouble moving about...

Hehe..he no choice la..he def have to go in with me..else i will be v scared...

Hi Lyn
wow..u still have energy to go shopping? So envious...GSS starting...i see all the sale coming up..wah..drool manz..
Heard that if via GA hubby c/n be in the operating theatre..as for cutting of umbicial cord..i did ask Dr Chan he says usually they dont let the dad do so (not sure if its becoz its a c section) coz of fear of contamination. No video and digi cam in the theatre also..

Hi Tinklebell

thanks thanks...am hoping BB just give me 1 kungfu kick to break the water bag..then i no need to wait 1 more week for delivery..counting down is soooo frustrating!!!
Sometimes i feel like i am counting down with World Cup...hahaha

Hehehe..me also the clumsy kind esp with the big tummy..got prob bending down taking things...tried to use my foot to "giap" the things that fall on the floor but unsuccessful..

tinklebell,

Heee,i can understand.. i love to stuff toys in my hubby's car too.. somemore it is new car, so i decorate here decorate there.. everywhere winnie the pooh haha.. luckily he never complain and he likes them heee..

< 1 mth... bb respond to flash cards? Mine hor, everytime show her something, she dunno look where.. look here look there never look at what i hold in my hand

Hmmm, i got one simple gym from my student. Yet to setup heeee.. dunno bb will play or not.. tomorrow then i set it up :p

soh,

Oh yes, my hubby was on 1 week leave. He took leave as well as paternal leave. Glad he is around at home
It is always good to have him around as my mil staying with us during confinement and u know lah... never stay with mil before.. awkward sometimes :p

Abdominal binder.. does help.. but i wore it for around 2 weeks. After my stitches removed, i remove binder as well because i find that it obstructs my movement. And hor, the binder causes pimples on my buttocks. Everywhere itchy and RED! Recently then redness subsides.. i think no air circulation that's why.

But if u can bear with it, wear the binder as long as possible. It helps to slim ur tummy

soh,

Ya, good to have hubby with u in the Ops theatre. U on epi.. so can hear what is going on.. will feel nervous.. heee...

For me, i am on GA.. total coma.. hubby by side also no use.. anyway he can't be around too if i am on GA.

kk,
wow so good, mine will freak out if i put winnie the pooh in his car
think his car is like his 2nd wife...everyday, he spends so much time maintaining it and talking in the forum abt it or meeting his friends to talk abt how to modify the car etc etc
All these focus on the car makes me frus!! Maybe he should change job and sell car spare parts!

Did someone mention bakchang? LOL, I usually lurk but mention of food draws me out. I saw newspaper reviewed those fancy hotel-type with abalone/ exotic ingredients... wah, mouth-watering. I want to eat!