(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

celeste blur,
If your hubby has $ also can be SAHM... and take up courses that you like and be with your kids. Attending courses not cheap also leh... I have spent quite a lot on that though...
Or set up a small biz with lots of control over your own time
and some income.

poohy,
according to my hubby, my son was also v brave and he didnt cry for his subsequent jabs. but the trauma fr the visit still haunt me til today. so i told hubby that if possible, i dont want to be present during my daughter's injections. let the nurse handle it.
Yap, my son had his MMR jab. No prob. I read reports on autism linked to MMR as well but in Spore, we rarely hear abt it. I suppose we have to look at the risks of not having MMR viv the chances of getting autism (which i think i pretty remote in Spore).
I'll also take the 6-in-1 jab for my dd. Less injections right?

I usually wont comment too much on my mil in front of my hubby. dont want to sour the relationship and make him difficult too. anyway, same as u lor, mil also only appear in my house once after i deliver my son.

pebbles,
if the rabbits r clean, i dont see any prob with that. ur mil's rabbits hop ard the house? i hope not.

celeste,
SAHM? have to support my parents leh. Hubby gotta support his too. Cannot loh
**sob sob** Hope to win toto one day.

lyn,
my hb also know his mother is what kind of pattern.. sensitive type .. small gas type (i say one for this) so everytime i got to think twice b4 say anything .. see if she will get offend a not (frm courting till now as kena few times already to finally see thru her)

so now just one ear in one ear out lor .. everything she say i just orrr... okie .. hmm okie ..

actually is my CL look after my confinement just that my mum will do marketing or my CL want anything, my mum will buy then my hb go take and pay my mum lor.. wah confinement food n herb very ex hor ..

lyn
i chosen 2-bedder ward cos the 4-bedder at MT A is miserably tight.
hv been askin her wan to come out nxt week not..hahaha.

tinklebell,

ya the 6-in-1 has lesser shot
hm in that case I will let my son take the mmr shot... before i get back to work from ML so that I can take care of him... with him and his sister being so young and close in age, if kena measles and spread i sure will die.

tinklebell,
so coincidental hor! Probably yes our companies will have business dealing, cos our oil trading arm is very huge in SG. Me ended up in accountancy cos my JC teacher influenced us quite a bit. 90% of the gals in my class ended up in the accountancy faculty.

stephanie,
I wldn't object to my kids being a beancounter. Beancounters of the future will be quite different (more value-adding activities). In fact, my hubby always say accountancy better than engineering (shorter lectures, take only 3 years to finish and the best part is earn more $). I think the tricky part is to make sure we get into a good company.

lyn,
yah very true. When I was working in Germany, it's even better. The labour law requires the employer to hold their position for 5 years! My colleague who worked in UK b4 returning to SG started it first. So, I thought abt it and decided to ask my boss for it too. My company is also on this campaign to promote diversity, so more focus on woman & nationality issue. Recently, they added 3 nursing rooms in our buildings, trying to see if they can implement more flexible working arrangments and what is stopping capable woman from climbing up the ladder. Actually, not a bad time to be an Asian woman in the company now.

i_panda77,
thanks for the link. I heard abt this company as well. Too bad, they only do dinner and don't have 1 person serving. I am less worried abt dinner than lunch. At least can ask my hubby to buy dinner or order 2 person-portion tingkat.

Okasan,

Ya rite, same here. Adrian also asked me which hospital i want to deliver, i told him TMC, then he asked his nurse to arrange for me. When i collect my usual vits at the counter b4 i left, the nurse already told me she will book 4 bedder for me and high chance to get upgrade to 2 bedder but we only pay price for 4 bedder. So same like u, i just take the offer, hoping for the free upgrade but if don't, i will ask for upgrade on the day if i wanted.

Hazel,

Your MIL very modern hor? Can offer you KFC and fries too! Hehe, i'd wish to eat fries if can also...i even ask my mum whether during confinement can eat curry chicken or not cos i think the plain/blend confinement food sure will be sick after a week! But mum says cannot! She even told me 1-2 weeks, can't eat chicken first due to our stitches and esp for C-sect's wound.

Hazel...
To avoid problems, best is to "orr orr orr" hor? kekeke... I always "orr orr orr" with my MIL. But I still do my way when she not around... But I dunno whether still can cope with that or not after giving birth, cos our hormones play a part in our mood as well...
Really gotta one ear in, one ear out hor?

MOAP,
$20+ for one set? Or how many sets?
I read from my book, it states 3 days later for natural birth. I read from a website yesterday, also stated 3 days later.
It's to help in the clearing of lochia, clearing of blood clots left inside, prevent infection of womb, contraction and healing of the womb, prevent formation of blood clot... I translate from my book :p

MOAP:
oic. so is MMR compulsory? abit scary that it can cause autism leh. eh i m not so sure how to prepare, my mum wil help me. maybe i wil ask my mum n let u know

Hazel,

Ya, try to take things easy. U know, this morning my MIL told me my BM is diluted because i dun eat enough meat!!?? Now she is doubting the nutritional value of my milk liao. I told my hubby i heckcare hahaa.. i can always supplement with FM. No need to stress myself over that :p

My mum also does all the marketing. My hubby go pick up from her. Ya, confinement herbs and marketing very expensive!! I still have no idea how much my mum spend altogether! If my mum dun do the marketing, my mil basically has no time and energy to do it, and most likely i will starve :p

hazel, aiyo sounds like empress dowager...scary leh

all these mil saga scare me... who knows maybe one day gotta stay with mil leh.

serene, i told Adr many times that i will be delivering in TMC but no arrangement made leh. hmmmm.... anyway, i suppose last min if u check into hospital, they also have to take u right? At most u stay in the delivery ward until they can find a room for u.

Lok, haha! same here! almost 90% of my JC class gals ended up in accountancy! u'r fr NTU?

Kite,

My school trend is this.. as a whole school, the welfare committee will send a hamper to home. Then for department, the welfare rep will collect $5 from each department colleague and then buy voucher and give to whoever who gave birth.

Guess wat.. just now two colleagues (including the welfare rep) sms me, ask i free this afternoon or not, they wanna visit heeeee.. and i say NO.. i tell them not convenient during confinement, but i invited them to full mth celebration this sat instead. Yooo, u know why? Because during confinement, i look very chiam lah, machiam old auntie, hair messy, in pyjamas, sweat like crazy, etc etc.. i dun wanna them to see me like this :p At least this sat, i will look prettier heeee...

Bring bb to school to show them?? No lah.. difficult to handle bb outside at this stage. Wait till she gets bigger and perhaps start to walk liao.. then i bring her to school :p

Watermelon... i dun dare to eat much during prengnancy. Throughout pregnancy, only ate 2-3 slices in last trimester :p

Hazel,

Actually on the opposite, i hate ppl telling me what to do esp telling me this cannot eat, that cannot do etc etc! I hate ppl directing my movement and life...

Lok,
Wow.. your company is very good... Can you bring your baby to office since they have nursing room?

MOAP,
Just throw in the herbs and boil lor...

kk,
But your baby is growing very well rite? So should be ok la...
I am also very scared I get all the unwanted comments on breastfeeding from my mum and MIL... A few of my friends also get comments that their breast milk no good, etc. Very stressful one leh... My mum already asked me to buy FM to feed
cos her friend's daughter also supplement with FM, which I dun really want...

tinklebell,

Strange leh, maybe Adrian don't get what you mean....??? Hmm, last appt, i asked him how shall i book the hospital, admission? Then he asked me which hospital i want to deliver, i told him TMC, so he says ok will ask the nurse to book for me. Then 2 wks later, i got the letter from TMC.

Lyn,

My bb growing well.. because we rely quite a lot on FM heeee.. i only BF her around twice a day, and at nite, she drink around 1-2 times EBM, then the rest all FM.

Hmmm, although i can pump out minimum 60-80 ml of milk now, i can feel that my flow gradually runs low. I can go without pumping for 4-5 hours compared to 2 hrs before. Bad hor?

talking abt confinement food...
just went to buy 'tong chong chao' and 'pao sheng' both 1/2 liang..asnd it costs total $400+

lyn,

no lah, who is gg to look after the bb while i work? My company hasn't progress to the stage of having an inhouse infant care center.

Stephanie,
is this your real name? R u from TJC? I used to have a classmate by this name...

kk, haha! i know what u mean.... look like auntie :p But during my confinement, esp towards the last 2 weeks, i do welcome pp to my home cos i was very very bored.

stephanie, oic... u also fr ntu... what a coincidence for u and lok to be fr the same batch.

serene, ok i think this time i will tell him specifically that i want the TMC preadmission letter.

lyn, your "orr orr orr" sounds v familiar... haha! i do that to my mum even though i dont agree with her views :p
sheng-hua tang? what is it made of?

lyn,
jin difficult to be SAHM cos with one income unless hb really earns loads of $, otherwise cannot. Cos I wanna save up and plan for 2 kid's tertiary education, retirement for both of us cos i dont wanna hope that kids will give us $, cos it will be a burden on them. And I hope i can retire by the time i am 50 or so. And then mabbe do those part-time work to while off my time and also go on tours or take up courses...

All these not easy....i checked up even if local uni education will cost bout $100+k for a kid in 18 yrs time. So meaning 2 kids minimum at least 250k liowz...haha...jin "xiong" also lehz :p

tinklebell,
if i strike 1 million in TOTO then i will semi-retire...haha
*dreaming* :p

Lok,
I think accountancy line is quite gd...only thing is its quite boring? Cos chances are u normally work in ur office rite? Dont get much chance to meet outside ppl? But accounting line only beginning not so worth it, cos if u r going to an auditing firm, the first 2 yrs pay packet is quite bad, but after tat it jumps very fast, but auditing firm not much life i heard.....most ppl try to get their CPA and move on to other companies' finance dept? Correct me if i'm wrong

Tinklebell,

Haha.. my colleagues remind me of school work. I will get "stressed" if i see them :p

Today has been in front of pc rushing some school work.. sigh.. no time for bb just now. Want to rock, also no time lah.

stephanie,
Hmmm, r u from 08/93?

celeste,
accountancy job may not be boring. Depends on the work u do. Of cos, I do not go out to meet customers like my sales executives. But some of us do get a chance to meet pple outside like EDB, IRAS, JV partners, bankers or even finance counterparts in other parts of the world. Yes, u r right abt the Big 4. Usually most pple will "tong" for 3 yrs and then jump ship, maybe to get exposure and for CPA. I was with PwC for 2.5 yrs.

lyn / tinklebell,
me too. I usually "orh orh" to my MIL but may not follow advice. Trying not to be confrontational and make things difficult for hubby. But she's not bad lah, usually won't insist. She treats me like her daughter. But if it's my mum, i will just tell her I don't want to do it.

Hazel, bear with it. I also have confinement done by confinement nanny. Hope won't be too problematic. Think my MIL & mum won't be dropping by often. Cos they usually depend on my hubby to fetch them to our place. They have never been here on their own

Lok,

Haha, me also "orh orh" but difference is that i do that to both mummies :p

My mum is the one who is more naggy and i dun want to talk back to her just because of some small temporary issues. So i only "orh orh" to her. If make sense, i do. If dun make sense and i cannot accept it, i won't do and won't let her know i never do :p

My mil mah... ok lah, except that she talk the way she want at times. Need to filter, else cannot tahan.

My mil.. stay nearby.. so she can come on her own... my mum, need my hubby to fetch her :p

kk,
yah yah agree. Easier for me to filter cos they usually converse in cantonese, which i don't really understand or can pretend not to understand!

We have actually given them access cards into our compound but they usually don't come (and I suspect they dunno how to come!) Only during school hols, then my MIL may come with my nephew/nieces to stay over and use the swimming pool etc. My nephew/nieces like this auntie very much

Lok,

Haha, too bad, my mum, mil, hubby etc all fluent in hokkien and although i dun speak the dialect, i understand it well. So bobian, sometimes the filter does fail

kk:
so hv u receive the hamper n cash gift from welfare rep? issit those who contribute $, then u wil give them full mth gifts?

hmm for my scenario, abit diff. my department here got 30 ppl n mostly i know they wil give $10 each. But then does it mean those never contribute i wont hv to give them full mth gift? also meaning my admin rep wil pass the $ n name list to me b4 full mth so that i know who contribute.

btw since u lose alot of wght, does ur breasts lose also? hehe hopefully if i lose weight, my breasts wont go down or lose
hehe

hehe ya loh agree that we tend to look like ah soh during confinement. most of us definitely want to look pleasant in front of frens n colleagues hor.

ur 2 colleagues gg to visit u, are they e rep? wat is their reponse when u say No? me too, not intend to bring bb to work when despatching 1st mth gift.

Lok:
me only Orh orh orh to my MIL. for my own mum, hehe can argue w her cos too close n my own mum, can talk abt anything

kite, u very cute...concerned abt whether the b will be lose or not? haha! actually the loosening comes after u stop BF'g.
and quite drastic.

tinklebell:

hehe b is 1 of our assets mah. it wi be a bonus if stil remain tat size hehe but i doubt so rite. really tat bad after BF? but during BF, wil look full rite

kite,

My fren complained that her breasts went from a D cup to a DD cup during bfing, and then when she stopped, it dropped to a C cup. So her breasts appeared sagging.. Very ugly, she said.

lok,

hey i was from Big 4 too. arther andersen for 2 years previously... then we merge with ernst and young and i was there for 1 year. I was offered a job at pwc and almost joined them... but change my mind and now with local bank liao.... not in auditing... i was in security consulting. very very very tough life but very very good money. Now slow down liao... in good times of the economy like now, joining consulting/auditing firm gets us lots of $$... but little life... think i wont be back to consulting for a long time... wanna concentrate on the children...

u in petrol company ? I think its the best place to be in.... never will get retrenched unless they move their operation out of singapore...

Hidora, D to C still not bad leh. Mine was fr C to A
sad case.
**sob sob**

Lok, i was with kpmg for 4.5 yrs. economy bad so couldnt move out. not too bad cos pp there r around the same age as u...except for the long peak hrs.

Kite,

I received the hamper long time ago, around 1 week after discharge. As for cash gift from department, heeee.. not yet :p because i "dun allow" them to come today mah :p

Oh, i give full mth gift - chocolate to everybody in the school because i received the hamper. So it is considered everybody give me something. Make sense ya?

For my hubby, what happened is that only 15 of his colleagues pooled money together in an ang pow so he will only give chocolate to these 15
It would be weird to give others who did not contribute, rite? By the way, each colleague gave $20, so we got $300 ang pow

No wor, i think the breast area circumference go fatter, not breasts bigger. Old bras cannot wear liao. Last time i wear size 34. Now size 38 still feel tight. Chiam liao. As for cup size, i think got up by one size. Anyway i hope my breasts will go back to normal but not sagging lah haha.. see how they change subsequently. I dun wanna spend so much money on bras. Already going to spend a lot on clothes liao.

kk:
so e hamper was delivered to ur home by deliveryman? oh e cash gift was suspose to send by ur 2 colleagues ah, so u wil oni get to receive during celebration ah. hehe.

for ur case, make sense, cos hamper represent the sch, staff n etc. so giving them choco as full mth gift are fine.

but for me abit headache leh. since department got 30 ppl + maybe a few fr other department n wat if some ppl like pantang or got xi and xi occasion, n didnt contribute, i cant give them full mth gifts wat. i guess i need to see e name list first who contribute then i wil give. which mean i wil get to see my colleague/boss (rep) b4 full mth (which is during confinement) either at home or hospital. or issit better to give everyone? hope u get wat i mean.

hehe u keep me update on ur b when u stop BF. LOL

kite,

But C cup is sagging.. Not perky anymore.

tinklebell,

Wah! Dun scare me, I'm also C now.. I will cry if I shrink to A..

eh and one thing .. my MIL say i always sleep late lah .. and she saw my bb open eyes big big around late afternoon den she give comment in front of bb say that sure he wont easily zz during night sure diff to take care .. ask my CL to 'bao zhong'.. blah blah.

wah laozz even my CL also told mi how can she say like that in front of bb .. not good .. even my mum always remind mi what shldn't say infront of bb as not good. not like my MIL. always say thing without thinking and tok v loud also ... CANNOT STAND !!

but lucky my bb v good boi ... drink milk liao zzzzz straight .. at night also wont cranky .. hungry awake, full sleep ... heng he got no jaundice .. will b seeing PD tomorrow for check up.

as for the chicken
according to my CL as we only can eat kampong chicken .. cannot eat male chicken .. so kfc is dunno make of what chicken as we cant see so better dun eat lor ..

for those naturally give birth, ask u hor.. how u take care of ur wound ar .. as my 'xiao du' lotion is finished.. so i just wash with vagisil (feminine wash) and dap dry wif toilet paper. isit the way ar ..

Hazel,

After reading your post about your MIL, I'm really glad that my mom is doing confinement for me.. I nearly get pre natal blues from staying with MIL, that's why I moved back home. Can't imagine if I'm doing confinement at her house.

I think I read somewhere that for episitomy, you can sit in a pail of warm salt water to cleanse the wound.

poohy,
hee, found another commonality. Yup, hard life in Big 4 means we have to sacrific family, so jump ship earlier. Yes, I am working in an oil & gas company. Not true that there is no retrenchment, especially with the trend towards offshoring and outsourcing. But those at the junior levels are more at risk. I think most pple stay in Oil & Gas companies not becos it's iron ricebowl but more of the overall package(in general the industry gets 3 mths fixed AWS), so tend to lugi when we move out..

tinklebell, wow u very gd, can still tong 4.5 yrs in KPMG. We joined Big 4 during time of the Asian currency crisis, so times were really bad. Tink I even had a pay increment cut.