(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Any mummies experienced swollen feet? my right foot started to swell yesterday night. now seemed quite puffy. poor me... right back ache, right foot swelling... so ugly.

amy, ur feet swelling and backache just started? mine came like 2 weeks ago. so sian
now i cant walk much, cant lie down flat, cant sit for too long...

kk, actually, last time my gynae didnt mention that he would be doing PS on first post natal visit but my hubby warned me to be prepared for that cos it's SOP for many gynaes. During paps smear, the doc will insert one plastic thing into the V to extract some cells. The plastic thing is quite big! I did it once during the first post natal visit and i didnt find it painful. But a lot of pp tell me it's painful. But the trick is to be very relaxed. If u tense up, then i suppose it will be painful. But my only worry then was whether the wound had healed completely or not.

poohy, i suppose u can tell them that u dont want to put your legs on the stirrups.

u all still taking bird's nest? can still take right?

hi serene
My hubby told me that the gyn made a cut even though baby is so tiny. I did not feel anything when he cut or stitch
I did not have epidural too.

Amy,

I get terribly swollen legs after delivery. Luckily lasted for 3 days only, else really uncomfortable to walk.

Tinklebell,

The plastic thing bigger than the one for V-probe??

Now i slowly realised maybe in the last stage of pregnancy, should take more cooling stuff like bird nest etc. My bb girl when borned, have pimples on the face.. i think i didn't take enough cooling stuff that's why. But the pimples only for a while. Disappear liao

amy

my feet started to swell long time ago..got pretty bad these few days. Somemore i am too lazy to get new pair of shoes, thought can tahan since just left abt 1 mth. Who knows, kena blisters yesterday.

serene, tinklebell, celeste
im not working since i know im pregnant as morning sickness too jialat.. had been at home rotting for 8months liao heehee
i also dunno why he nv do any VE yet leh i also nv ask ... and my bb not yet engage leh .. maybe i walk too little liao .. i did experienced tummy tightning and think is BH as not pain lor just uncomfort and menstrual cramps lor .. ohh and backache esp above buttock area .. real sharp pain ar .. sometimes happen in the middle of the night .. cannot tahan sial need my hb to massage for me but he always massage less than 5 min he zzz liao haha ..

aiyoo waiting game very sian leh .. always see got show a not .. maybe my bb too comfortable inside dun want so early come out ..
i have not experience any swollen yet..

kk, what is v-probe? never seen it before.

hazel, ya lor, the waiting game is quite sian. yesterday, hubby still asking me if i want bb induced. at least he can be prepared wh exact date to take leave
but i dont feel like inducing leh. must ask adrian how he managed to be ard during his wife's delivery.

kk, is v-probe the thing gynaes use to do v-scan during the first few weeks of pregnancy? if it is, the plastic thing for paps smear is ard that width (or slightly bigger) ... just that it has a something like a "mouth" and is able to open and close.

MOAP, you can get manuka honey at cold storage. and yes, according to MIM website, can still drink raspberry tea after we deliver.

hi moap
I normally get Manuka honey from Nature Farm. You can get at Takashimaya basement too. Betta buy those with higher UMF though they are more exorbitantly priced.

amy,
My foots are swollen since during my 31 week! Not just swollen but painful also, esp the ankle and the puffy part. I had backache too esp when baby push his butts out, when my tummy got very hard.....! The heavy weight on my foots causes it so painful, can't walk alot or fast nowadays!

kk,
Oh, S26 still selling in market, prob they changed packaging, or perhaps i never notice. Pap smear is not painful, probably sometimes a slightly sensation pain is becos we too nervous, never relax or abit dry....dun worry. I done it a few times already. Usually pap smear is recommended to be done once a year once u started sex activity.

pebbles,
Did your gynae gave u other type of painkiller jab for the cut n stitch?

tinklebell,
Unless your hubby needs to go overseas alot or medical reasons, if not, we usually won't want to induce. One of my cousins, her hubby travels alot, so no choice, both her kids, she choose to induce so that can plan that her hubby around during delivery....

tinklebell & amy,

I bought my red raspberry tea bags from Nature's Farm, the brand is 'now', the box is orange in colour..you can call them to check for stock before going down.

tinklebell,

The plastic/metal thing to insert at our V during pap smear test, is like a funnel huh? Not sure how to describe it....i think have both sides opening, the purpose is to hold the opening of our V so that he could use something like a spoon to scrap some substance for lab test....

tinklebell,
tat means VE is not anything compulsory? But if they do VE they can give u a rough idea of when u will be popping? Like if dilate 1 or 2 inches means might pop within 1 or 2 days?

amy,
i heard some ppl say once u start swelling might be a sign of labour soon....that is provided u dont have water retention during the early 3rd trim or wat

Hazel,
I dont really have backache....but hor sometimes my V part might suddenly get a little pain suddenly and got pressure like tat for a while...donno why. Btw when will bb's head get engaged?

Re: Pap Smear
I've done it once before. Not really painful....the female GP still told me it shld not be painful as it shldnt be bigger than ur hb's "P"? Haha, she very funny still can crack this kind of joke. Its only the scraping part that is uncomfy lor.

serene,

Because i find the v probe ok, just that not comfortable only. if pap smear something like tat, then should be fine

By the way ladies, any idea whether kiddy palace sell pigeon teats?

Serene, its the raspberry tea...it comes in tea bags form so that its easier to brew...i just add hot water to drink...

I bought it at a discount..usual price is abt $9.90 after disc i pay only $6.95 per box of 30 bags.

serene,

Agree.. i also heard that less swelling = labour soon.

I remember during my 1 week MC at home, my swelling actually reduced. i dunno whether it is because labour soon or because less walking and standing so less swelling :p

kk,

Ya, i will see it for myself soon. For my case, not only foots swollen, my fingers slightly too and painful some more.....

Serene, ya, it's a bit funnel like... donno how to decribe it in detail though. haha!

yalor, i also dont want to induce if possible. but like hazel says, the waiting game is very sian. been thru once and i knows how it feels. u know, during my 39th week, everyday u wake up hoping bb will be out but if nothing happens, i was so disappointed. finally during my visit to my gynae that week, he said how come his relief gynae never induced me as i had HBP for quite a while already **faint**. then when he said i should stay behind in hospital and be induced the next day, i was quite happy
bec it means finally i can see bb .

ladies, thanks for the info on raspberry tea

kk,

Don't worry, pigeon brand very popular, many yrs in market, can get it almost everywhere. During my mother's days, she has been using pigeon and tollyjoy brand on us....

tinklebell,

That is why i didn't want to take leave too early to rest and wait at home....the waiting must be terrible feeling but yet, i also dun wish to pop during work..... so maybe take 1 week leave before or so....shall discuss with adrian and see how.

spicegal,

i think not necessary, maybe again individual. One of my cousins induced twice and my galfren induced also, they say nothing....just wait for the contraction to take effect.... but i also have heard some says, induction is very painful.

Serene...my EDD is 19th Jun...but my hb talk to my gal last week asking her to pop on 8th Jun cos World Cup starts on 9th Jun...then she can watch World Cup with him...crazy liao...

Re: Raspberry Tea

Erm, I'm confused. Are we supposed to drink raspberry tea or raspberry leaves tea? The one featured in MIM is actually leaves tea. Think there's a difference between the fruit and the leaves rite?

celeste,

I also encountered the V pain that you mentioned. Wondering is it becos bb's head is pressing down? But I feel him moving all over my tummy leh.

moap
I normally purchase those with more than UMF 15. UMF stands for Unique Manuka Factor. The higher e UMF, the more effective it is. It costs me about $50 per bottle. When I have sore throat or mouth ulcer, I will scoop one teaspoon and swallow it or apply a little bit on the ulcers. Betta than other tropical medication. Very effective for me so far. If you can afford to drink every day, then jus mix it with warm water, not hot water as it will destroy the nutrients. Can even apply directly on pimples or skin masks. One bottle is enough to last me abt 3 mths. I think cannot take manuka honey when you are pregnant or breastfeeding.

hi serene
I guess I went hysterical during pushing that I did not know if gyn administer painkiller. Maybe during stitching he did. Dunno leh.

how's lunch?

hi hidora,
you too have heartburn? what's the remedy? i already tried small meals but still no use.

spicegal, donno leh, i dont find it v painful just that it's very irritating when the midwives and docs come in to check how much the cervix has dilated and then tell u cervix is only 1 or 2 cm after so many hrs waiting. But i find the most frightening part is when the anesthetist adminsters the epidural. ***OUCH***

spicegal,
Wow yr hubby really football fan! Me too, whenever i feel so hot/warm, foots swollen and painful, backache, heartburn, so heavy.....i'd wish my baby come out soon.....Yet then, i dun wish he pop so early, at least wait till 39week, 1st week of june. My EDD is 12 June.

Hi Pebbles & Moap

Yap, heard that preggies shdnt take too much manuka honey. Also, after we have given birth, we shdnt take that if we are breastfeeding cos newborns can be sensitive to honey

how many of you already decided to go for epidural?

serene and spicegal,
my hubby also soccer fan! he said he can take over the "night shift" during my confinement! hahaha

spicegal,

I see! How much is it ah? Er, it's advised that we should drink 4-5 cups a day. Then it means that the teabags will run out very fast rite?

mspiggy,

My heartburn is really bad. I can wake up in the middle of the night with burning throating or acid already up my throat! Erm, some mummy was suggesting pappermint tea. Was it paula? It does help lah, but I'm lazy to drink after every meal.. Cos weather is so hot, cannot tahan hot drinks! I only drink it when I feel like dying liao.. Hehe.

Also, I find that sesame with ginger makes my heartburn really bad. Same goes with food that turns sour easily.. Such as milk, milo, soya milk, etc. Best is to drink plain water, and eat plain food with no heavy flavouring.

Tinklebell...yah i heard also that when the nurses check for your V dilation & during the insertion of the epidural needle..its painful...

Aiyoh...we women very pai mia leh..

Serene...yah i also always get heartburn & backache...difficulty in walking...at night got to get up so many times for toilet breaks..haiz

Hidora..i bought it at a disc..cost me $6.95 for a box of 30 bags...i normally make 2-3 cups a day..but MIM web site encourages to take 4-5 times a day..

hidora,

i also think that milk causes serious heartburn. But there was once when another gynae told me to drink milk to curb heartburn??!! But i didn't do tat lah, i drank warm water instead
and it does work but takes some time, not instant relief though.

U got ask gynae for medicine? The medicine also not instant relief for me. Sometimes dun even solve the problem

When i had heartburn, i felt like dying. Worse still, felt like choking, and can't talk. Had difficulty teaching. halfway will feel like losing my voice

serene,

Administering epidural is painful, but only at that short moment. So dun worry too much
I am glad i had a good midwife with me throughout the whole process. She actually held my hands and she and the aneathetist actually chit chatted with me to distract my attention which helped a lot
I am really grateful for that till today

spicegal,

Sry to make you repeat yourself for the pricing.. ;p saw it when I scrolled up the thread. Does it taste nice?

So worried that it will give me heartburn too.. :|

Serene, that's the part i feel is the worst part of the whole lab process. supposed to curl and bend like a ball and not supposed to move. But i spontaneously, somehow, will move leh. the anesthetist was unsuccessful for 5 times and gave up. later she called another anes and he did it in one shot. i supposed the first anes was quite lousy lor. but after that was a breeze

kk,

No leh, didnt ask gynae for medicine.. Maybe I will do so next week. Seems like the heartburn is getting worse as the week advance.

Huh, milk to curb heartburn... Aiyo, I take tea with a little bit of milk already heartburn until so jia lat. How to drink milk to curb? lol