(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MOAP, since 5 months onwards, for most of my checkups, my bb considered big, so gynae decided to induce week 38, which is 22 May. by inducing, there is a higher chance of a natural delivery, given bb is big.

but recently, his weight dropped back to slightly above average, so will need to monitor. so seeing gynae week 37 and week 38, final decision to induce will be 22 May, cos gynae going on holiday after that.

Lyn, ha ha... my bb also big head... very cute... Ah, my mum said final weeks should drink more bird nest with pao sum. then will have strength to push bb. yesterday collected one bottle of lo hong ka bird nest. MIL also made me bird nest.
yum... wonder whether will still have such treatment after bb is borned... ha ha...

Vit E oil for p massage, actually, there is no smell, and sometimes, i also rub some vit E oil on my tummy, feels good.

For my confinement, i intend to give MIL $200 a week for marketing, cos she will be buying food for me, CL, and maid.
for confinement stuff, gave my mum $400 to buy stuff. i think that should be adequate.

poohy, wow... you did your VE already ah? not very painful hor? heard it really depends on how gentle the gynae is. heard my gynae is very gentle, so shouldn't be a problem. furthermore, i have been practising p massage, should be ok. but i tot week 37 do VE, bit early rite?

Hidora, i bought my Vit E oil from Raffles Medical, 60 cap, half price - $10.
They are having discount at Raffles Hosp.

Celeste, ya... WMF is good. I can only use WMF as i use induction at home. got few sets... but need to maintain and polish them regularly hor?

re movies, want to watch X Men, hope I will be able to catch this movie before i deliver. opening 25 May...

Raspberry tea, i've been to few Nature Farms, and they said they do not carry this in tea bag form. Any idea where i can get red raspberry tea in tea bag form? what i have now from Planet Earth does not taste nice... maybe it's organic... hence, not very motivated to drink. in fact, it taste like slimming tea... yucks..

Serene, how do you feel after your p massage sessions? everything ok the next day? you think the area has stretched? hubby asked me to check for feedback from the forum, as he is not sure whether his technique is correct, but it seemed so, as every day, he can stretch a bit more...
and i feel less pain too....

Serene, yup - VE is to check how much we have dilated. that's why i tot week 37 do VE, seems like bit early leh. if the gynae not gentle, will bleed...

amy,

ya my gynae started doing VE since my last checkup wk35. My first bb was delivered in wk37 so she worried it will be earlier ... bb was engaged and low but cervix not dilated yet....

ya depends on how gentle the gynae is lor... surprisingly my female gynae is very very gentle ... I like her!
When I delivered my boy that day, the nurses and my gynae did quite a number of VE throughout the labour... wah... real pain man...
None was as good as my current gynae
I wish i can state i dun want any midwife or nurse to do VE for me... cos i find them normally not as gentle

re: birth plan

i wonder whether we can state that we wanna labour lying side way or something like dat... cos i remember hor last time in TMC, they make me lie on my back strapped with ctg throughout the labour... then when i was almost fully dilated, they make me sit up a little and put my 2 legs on stirrups
Very uncomfortable and leg gotta open so big
I read that this is a very bad position for birthing and will not aid in preventing tears to the perinium.... anyone have experience whether we can change our birth position huh without needing a doula?

serene,

VE is just the gynae or midwives using their fingers to place into the cervix to check whether it is opened. Must relaxed and dun get too tensed up else will be more painful lor

Re: VE

I also havent had any VE done. When is it usually done? In my first preg, i didnt do it until the day my labor was suppposed to be induced. Instead, the hospital arranged for a CTG scan or something like that. Supposed to seat in the chair and the machine will monitor the for contractions.

sounds like the VE is more painful than the labour itself... my friend also told her the midwife did the VE during her delivery, she felt like screaming coz it's so painful!

wonder if p-massage will help to ease such pain??

serene, it seems like non of Adrian's patients has done the VE yet. maybe not that necessary if no signs of labour? or maybe still early.

amy,

I only massage but didn't check whether it can stretch further...u mean really works, u really can feel more stretchy? Frankly, i'm abit lazy, never do it everyday! But i tell myself must do it tonite... :p

Oh, VE check will cause bleeding? What procedure the gynae do, how come can cause bleeding?

tinklebell,

Ya, didn't hear adrian talk about it. But i know when close to labour, they will check whether it's dilated or not, i think it's common. Yesterday, my hubby's colleague feels her tummy weird and went to TMC, doc checked and said her cervic not dilated yet, whether she wants to go for induction, she refused and return home to wait. So, i think her gynae must have done a CV check to conclude that her cervic not dilated yet lor.

poohy,

Oic, if they do it carefully and slowly, shouldn't be painful yah? Unless they push it very deep inside? Like pap smear test?

serene, dont do so soon also good... yucks... cos i dont like the feeling of pp looking into my V!! During labour, every few hrs, the midwife or doc will come in to check. so embarrassing

serene,

ya i think so
something like pap smear but use their fingers only.

tinklebell,

ya quite embarassing hor.. but bo bian must learn to be immune liao. Did they placed your legs on stirrups for birthing in your previous delivery? I dun want that leh... cos it will promote purple pushing which more likely will cause tear to perineum.

wish i can hire a doula for this... but too exp

tinklebell,

Ya lor, very embarassing hor! Even yrs 2nd time also have such feeling, dun mention about me, 1st time! Eeeeeee......i think by then, just have to be very thicked skin!

serene,

when i was delivering first time also a bit embarassed but keep telling myself they all also immuned liao. I did many years of fertility treatment to conceive my son.. so each time they scan is not on the tummy.. everytime gotta do vaginal scan... so i got immuned earlier...

poohy,

During the antenatal class, we had a round of visiting the birth room and the nurse also explained when it's fully dilated, they will tilt our bed slightly higher, that's to help in better pushing, and the lower 1/2 of the bed will be separated, stirrups will be set for our legs to be placed....i think exactly like your experience lor. I thought every hospital is the same.

poohy,

I guess we women has to learn to be immuned to such situations lah...bo bian, even next time, every year, we still must do pap smear. Btw, do we need to be shaved, the mid-wife will shave us?

serene,

Thought pap smear is a very simple procedure?

Btw, the midwife will shave us. Dun worry
I got shaved once in the morning. Then before pushed into OT for caesarian, shaved one more time. The shaving is nothing at all.

kk,
haha...so we r sama sama "auntie" pattern :p
btw i also like qantas/ba cos i tink their seats are slightly more spacious than SIA ones?

Serene,
I tink $6.50 is for Cathay Organisation one, I tink GV ones are $7 if i'm not wrong? But yesterday we went Cathay one paid using OCBC card got 10% discount...so its only bout $6 per tix!

amy,
hehe, i neber go n polish them...lazy lah...

tinklebell,
I also havent had VE done yet, I tot its done like around 36 or 37 weeks?

poohy,

I really envy you, can avoid episiotomy during yr 1st time. I think most prob this 2nd time, you can escape too since 1st time usually the most difficult, the birth canal has been widen, so 2nd time should be smoother.

celeste blur,

haha, i have bad experience with british airways. Have u flied with them before? The seats very cramp! That was in year 2000.

Then another bad experience with qantas. That was trip to perth with my hubby in dec two years back. Aiyoh, morning flight leh, then they never served breakfast. We hungry until i want to vomit!

kk,

Ya, but still, the doctor has to see the V, insert something in our V and scrape using something. Different from VE cos VE using bare fingers huh?

kk,

I was on Qantas flying to Melbourne and back on BA but never experience no food serving...... Then, i must say the steward/stewardess are all quite old and not very friendly!

kk

hmm, S26 ...my mum used to feed me with this when i was borned. Think nowadays seldom hear of mothers using this brand anymore, more of Enfalac, Similac,...

Celeste blur,

Oh only Cathay is cheaper huh, some more can use OCBC card yah? But i guess not on wed onwards yah. Thought of watching tomorrow but i think thurs's price will be higher, same as weekends?

kk,

My mum fed my 2nd sis on S26 last time, she told me my 2nd sis grow very fast, very chubby! Then, is this FM still exist in market? Never heard of it for long time.

poohy, what r stirrups? i didnt put my legs on anything unusual leh. only on the bed.

BTW, who is going on holiday????

Aiyo...I just rem got to do paps smear during the first post-natal visit right>? that one also quite bad esp if u were wondering if the V has healed after delivery
even though my hub had wanted to do that for me before i conceived, i kept postponing cos i dont like that big plastic thing inside my V! yucks! Nowadays cancer is so common so i think dont like also better do lah.

tinklebell,

U sure, right after delivery, 1st postnatal visit must do pap smear liao? Maybe they want to make sure no infection or something huh after the delivery???

serene,

i escaped episiotomy in my first birth... but i did have a minor tear
the midwives and my gynae was there pushing me to keep pushing bb out! My legs were stretched on stirrups... and each contraction, they will ask me to push with all my might. I read that this is purple pushing .. no good for perineum. Then, I remember during my final push, 2 midwives were actually pushing my tummy downwards... while my hb was helping me at the back to lift myself upwards and then next moment my son just shoot out! My hb told me my gynae got a shock... cos my son just literally whole body shoot out.... normally the bb would come out first his head, then slowly ease out the shoulder etc... this is the best cos least damage to perineum... but for me hor... my son whole body came out and my gynae almost miss him i think hehee... well i think this is not the right way and if done correctly.... eg. not pushing anymore and letting the contractions push the bb out and lying side way to birth, i may have avoided a minor tear even
The stitch was the killer part of the entire pregnancy and post partum... so painful cos i got inflammation...

poohy,

So in the end, u still need to be stitched for the minor tear? Oh gosh! Women really 'ku ming'.....very poor thing!

serene,

ya lor still need to stitch... and my gynae din give me any local anesthestic for the stitching... every stitch also can feel the pain of the needle... anyway the most scary pain is the after math pain of the stitch lah.... passing motion is a nightmare... this time i really must remember to get stool softener from my doc liao...

celeste, tinklebell,serene
me too havent done any VE yet.. im already 38weeks + 4days .. will be seeing Dr Adrian tomorrow night.. hmm left 10 days to my edd liao .. so gan cheong now

poohy,

Maybe prune juice helps? One of my colleagues' gynae gave her prune juice everyday during her stay at hospital, she told me will soften the stool.... I can imagine sure scare to go toilet after the stitches.

Hazel,

Wow so close already ah, really count down liao....am sure u must be very excited now.... Do u feel any contraction so far? I will be seeing adrian next week, at week 36, then after will be week 38 i guess....hopefully my baby can wait till week 39 at least....

Hazel, have you start on leave? Did u ask adrian for MC before yr labour? I intend to ask him for MC or hospital leave to cover me before my EDD leh.....i dun want to take my own annual leave or maternity leave....

kk,
I flied with both BA and Qantas before. But that was during year 2004. haha. I think their service quite okies...i was served meals promptly and seat was quite spacious also
I tink it depends on which aircraft type u had? I was on the one to Brisbane and back was from Sydney quite okies

They neber serve u breakfast?!? I only encountered once almost never get brekkie on SilkAir cos me and hb was on the flight to phuket...then we reached the airport only 30mins before departure time..haha..gates going to close liowz and when we checked in, the lady told us we wont have brekkie cos we checked in too late they have sent the food up...*sigh*
But we were lucky, they got extras and we managed to have brekkie...*lol*

But I have a very gd experience with Silkair..the stewardess were very nice

Serene,
I tink CAthay is cheaper? Not sure though. Cos I remember GV's pricing even on mon, tues cheapest is $7 if my memory didnt fail me..

As for the 10% discount not sure if its applicable during weekends but i tink shld be applicable also lehz

Hazel,
38wks+ and Adrian havent done VE yet? How come? I tot latest they do is 37 weeks?

I did not put my legs on the stirrups? I jus put my legs on the bed and body leaning forward with both hands pulling my tighs while the nurses pushed my tummy very hard and hubby supporting my back. They did not shave for me too.

If I have stitches, does it mean I have episiotomy?

hi missk
Ya baby is pretty small eh? Did ya gyn say anything?

Morning Mummies,

Serene,

Thanks for the info!

Amy,

Wa, $10. That's cheap leh!

Mspiggy,

Me also hving heartburn now. So xin ku.

pebbles,

U mean u can't even feel the tear or episiotomy? I have heard my cousin told me that contraction is so painful that u can't even feel any pain at V liao....my sister also told me she dun feel anything when gynae perform episiotomy.....or perhaps after having epidural, u won't feel anything.

celeste blur,

We wondered what happened to that qantas flight we flied with. On return journey, everything was ok
But dunno why, the trip to destination was horrible. So hungry!!! My hubby said he is not going to fly with qantas again haha!

serene,

I think S26 still being sold at ntuc leh. My niece still drinking that now
I think it is very much cheaper than enfalac. Wonder whether i should gradually make the switch...

Dun scare me.. is pap smear the same or more painful than VE?? I dun like VE!! Or pap smear something like V-probe??

1st post natal visit must do pap smear?? My gynae never say anything leh. I am going for my first post natal visit on 30 may. Anyway my gynae never ever tell me anything heee...