(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Kite,

Yes, confinement marketing money should be separated from ang pow. That's what my mum suggested to give to mil. But until now i still haven't give the marketing money to mil heeeee... my mum got to give mil $300 for marketing. But then hor, from what i see, my mil never do any marketing leh. Everything bought by my mum. So still need to give or not?

None of my bb stuff in kitchen haha.. imagine the oil and grease in the kitchen now.. i dun think i wanna put any bb stuff there :p

i have a small corner in the bb room that has a small coffee table. On it i place the steriliser, bottles, milk powder, etc

TMC provides all toiletries
Buttt i dun know about toothbrush. Although TMC give, i still brought my own toiletries on my own and my hubby use them. We prefer to use our own favourite brands

Okipoki,

Dun worry, up till now i haven't dropped any hair heeeee... *keeping fingers crossed*

My hair still long.. i never go and cut it before delivery. Now tie up everyday due to hot weather. I wash as per normal, use my shampoo, use herbal water to rinse. But i only started washing my hair 12 days after delivery.

mspiggy

Oh, the price is quite ex. $70/session! I have a recommendation by my galfren who has used it, price is $60/session. Another one recommened by my neighbour charges $50-55 per session i think.

okasan,

U getting pampers premium for NB? I dun think u need to buy NB liao leh, because ur bb not small. By the time bb born, must be over 3 kg liao. My bb has been using S sized all the way. First week she using NB leftovers from TMC.

I used mamypoko once few days ago. Found that it leaks.. dunno why. Dun have such problem with pampers premium. Both are small sized. Find mamy poko thicker too.

mspiggy, okipoki,

Is massaging the part call p........forgotten the name, the part below our vagina where episiotomy is performed. Sometime last week, i've posted a long read up on this massage here......i can trace back the posting......

Hi mspiggy, okipoki,

I managed to retrieve my last posting, see below :-

Hi mums prepared for normal delivery,

Re : To avoid Episiotomy

I've read the following article from babycenter.com. I think no harm trying.....

Question: I really don't want to have an episiotomy when I deliver my baby. Is there anything I can do in preparation for labor that will help me avoid one?

Answer: Starting around 34 weeks, you could try massaging your perineum (the area around your vagina). Daily perineal massage may increase the area's stretching ability, leading to less need for an episiotomy and fewer natural tears.

Try this technique yourself, with clean hands and trimmed nails, or have your partner do it for you. If you're going solo, have a large mirror handy so you can see what you're doing and to help familiarize yourself with your perineal area.

* Sit in a semi-reclined position in a warm, comfortable area, spreading your legs apart. Lubricate your fingers, thumbs, and perineal area with vitamin E oil (from punctured vitamin E capsules), pure vegetable oil, or personal lubricant. Don't use baby oil, mineral oil, or petroleum jelly.
?Place your thumbs about 1 to 1 1/2 inches (to or just past your first knuckle) inside your vagina and spread your legs. Press down toward the rectum and toward the sides at the same time. Gently and firmly continue stretching until you feel a slight burn or tingling.

?Hold this stretch for about two minutes ?until the tingling starts to subside.

?Now slowly and gently massage the lower part of the vagina back and forth, hooking your thumbs onto the sides of your vagina and gently pulling the tissue forward, as your baby's head will do during delivery. Keep this up for three to four minutes.

?Finally, massage the tissue between the thumb and forefinger back and forth for about a minute.

?Be gentle because a vigorous touch could cause bruising or swelling. During the massage, avoid pressure on the urethra (urinary opening) as this can lead to irritation or infection.

Of course, perineal massage isn't for everyone and it may not help in every case. The most important thing you can do is to choose a midwife or doctor who's experienced and comfortable delivering babies without doing episiotomies. In general, midwives tend to perform this surgery less often than physicians. Regardless of the type of practitioner you choose, discuss your wishes and expectations with that person before the birth.

Haha! the colleague i was talking abt just tendered her resignation. Donno to be happy or be sad. Happy she is leaving cos she is pain in the neck but sad bec seems like no one is covering my work during maternity.
my boss says he will get a replacement but looks like got not much time left to do that leh.

Anyone got lobang for Accounts executive? can do full set of accounts? And willing to work in Tuas. Transport provided.

Thanks Stef for clarifying

Thanks Serene.. can you pls post the massage again if you can find it.

Didnt catch up with last week posting.

kk:
my hubby also want to watch MI3 n ask me pei him watch. But i dun feel like watching, scare e loud noise/sound wil disturb my bb. E last show i watched during CNY n the bombing sound sort of made my bb kicked alot.

since ur mum got give $300 for marketing, then u dont hv to give. I intend to give $350 - $400 marketing to my mum mthly including her meals, not sure enuff anot.

me too, i think like not so good to put bb's stuffs inside kitchen cupboard, thats y til now stil lying inside her bedroom's wardrobe. in tis case, i wil place it in the bedroom, cleaner hor.
u trigger me, her bedroom already got built in study table, maybe i shall place all her milk bottles n steriliser there, easier hor.
but hope ants wld come in wor.

in tis case, shall bring my own fav. shampoo/body wash + face wash n etc, all wil be storing in small travel bottles. Told hubby, as if gg travelling.

So far, how many packs of pamper premium NB u hv used up including TMC pack?
Me thinking order Nepia, heard very good too.

amy:
ya agree. Confinement angbao shld be separate. the food (non & confinement) wil be forked out by hubby n me n wil include my mum's daily meals too.

mspiggy:
alrite do keep me update

Stephanie:
do not use powder shampoo, it wil make ur head n scalp itchy, instead making more worse!

kk,
thanks for the assurance... cos my colleague is scaring me leh i thot really drop alot leh. does eating habbit count ?

tinklebell,
is it full time ?? i got a friend is working as temp acct but she is looking for perm.
if possible can send me some infor ?

Times flies ...after this week i can deliver anytime...hopping to deliver at week 38...

Tinklebell,

can i check with you...can i use kodomo liquid detergent to wash the bumwear as my gal keep getting rashes leh...very headche ah..

okipoki/stephanie:
hehe same here. e most i wil drink raspberry tea or hv intimacy w my hubby to improve it? LOL

did u stil hv intimacy w ur hubby at tis stage esp near delivery? some said its good for ur V while some said not gd. which is true?

Kite,

Hmmm, i tell u something.. most likely i will sleep in the cinema hahahaa.. i dun like that kind of show.. but my hubby like. His favourite is actually X MEN and he is waiting to see X MEN 3 too! Aiyoh, X MEN part 1 and 2 i sleep in cinema leh :p

No no, it is my mum who asked me to give $300 to my mil. But until now i still haven't give this money to my mil because i think she never do any marketing at all. All the marketing my mum do leh. I also haven't given any marketing money to my own mum. I think if i were to give, $300 not even enough! She bought so much herbs!! How to cover with $300??

Ants?? I dun think will have ants lor.. heee.. nothing sweet mah... And at nite easier wor.. feeding etc can be done in the room. Things can be retrieved easily

Yes! Before delivery, i actually go watsons buy small bottles of toiletries
Then put in small bag like travelling pack

So far coming to 3 weeks liao... we have used up 1 pack of pampers premium NB from TMC, 1 pack of S sized from NTUC, another pack in use now. My hubby stocked up another 2 packs yesterday because my mistake.. i thought that pack used up liao because i dun get to see it anywhere hahaa.. so he bought 2 packs last evening. When my mil take care of bb totally, she will sometimes use cloth nappy.. but if i take care in the day now, i dun use cloth nappy.. i dun like the feeling of holding bb up but her bottom all wet! So i would use pampers premium for sure

Will try nepia one day if on offer at ntuc

Okipoki,

But it is true for hair drop. I heard my mum say my second SIL dropped a lot of hair during confinement!!! So she boiled something for me to drink before delivery. It is using Jing Zhen (those chinese yellow thing when we cook we tie a knot, got it?) to boil using water and we drink that. Her friend say it helps to prevent hair drop.

Eating habit During pregnancy or during confinement? heee.. i eat rubbish leh during pregnancy leh.. and during confinement, everybody eat the same food.. so i dun think it is the eating habit that counts :p

Kite,

Gd question you ask huh???? we still do it twice a week...kekekekek good or not i don no lah..but we did it the day before my eldest gal was born.. heard that the sperm is good to smilutate something lah..

kk,
thanks... hmmm tell me more abt the jing zhen, how to go abt cooking ??

haha me going off too, i will track the thread again

okipoki,

Just put the jing zhen in water and boil. The whole water will turn yellow. Can drink after tat. It is like boiling tonics

MOAP, my bb now week 36. just drank some raspberry tea. at wk 35.5 days, bb abt 2.6 kg.
Nx Monday wk 37, will do VE. Been doing p massage... hubby said can stretch more, and i can take the pain more... will continue till delivery lo.

okipoki, kk, me also long time no BD. only did twice since preggy. but maybe will give this a try after wk 37... just hope it's ok as bb might be engaged then.

kk:
for me, okie i quite like action-pact movie, so ok but at tis stage, i wldnt want to go to a cinema, scare of the loud thump!

In this case, since MIL never do marketing at all, no need to give. instead u shld give ur mum. As for herbs n etc, i hv already paid my mum cos i know she is not working, not so nice ask her to pay everything. Then when confinement starts, wil give her $100 wkly ($400 mthly for food) for me and her daily meals. hopefully enuff. not sure too. wil see how.

i was wondering FM is abit sweet rite, how abt BM? me siao, thinking of trying BM myself on how does it taste like LOL. guess its non-sweet n tasteless?

oh so far, u oni use 1 pack of NB ah? cos me standby 1 pack of pampers NB, not sure wil use tat anot.

MOAP:
wow 1 day b4, u stil did it ah. actually nowadays hubby dun wish to do cos he said near delivery liao, he very scare n worry wil hurt bb. now its my turn to initiate always, very pek chey sometimes. beginning of e pregnancy, it was him who initiate alot n now he scare tis n that.

re: hair dropping

normally the hair start dropping abt end of 3rd or the 4th month after giving birth. At that time, most likely your bb will also be dropping hair. I remember my boy's pillow is always full of tiny bunches of hair at that time.. it last for a few months. My hair drop came 4 months after delivery and the whole floor is full of my hair...
My brother thought i was balding... but i think the process may be stopped by my pregnancy which happen in the 7th mth after birth of my boy....

re: perineal massage

me had been very keen to try but dun dare also cos scared pain and infection. Din get down to doing it last round.... maybe will get my hb to help me with it this time... he also scared i think ...

my gynae told me she wont do episiotomy unless bo bian... she will try to stretch the perineum first... i definitely dun look forward to that cos its very painful i remember. Anyway how i wish i can do without epi and dun have tears too ..wah how nice... then wont have stitches liao... my skin arent those good type thus i normally will suffer swelling and inflammation from the stitch i think.

Amy,

i tot you say ur bb quite big thats y need to induce, so are we having the same edd 5 jun??? i think my bb then big leh..at week 35 she weight 2.9kg.. so fast your gyna doin VE check for you ah...wonder will my gyna do it for me a nt?? Last year when i delivered my elder gal at kkh hor the gyna only do a VE check at week 38.

MOAP:
lol monk? guess guys got other methods to settle their own or get the help from us. get wat i mean LOL.

wow seems like alot of babies here very big wor! issit bcos urs is a bb boy? girl tend to be smaller

moap,

my gynae started doing VE last checkup on friday liao on my wk35. Think she prob will do it every week now.... not sure... my girl weighs 2.3kg approx during wk35. Hope she wont be too big sized else sure will have tears or episiotomy..

my boy came in wk37 last year so my gynae think most likely i will delivered in abt 1-2 weeks. I sure hope i can get everything ready... and my waterbag wont break in the car or bed... i very scared of the mess!

MOAP:
lol aiya since he attended Mrs Wong's antenatal lesson, he bcame like this. Then when i initiate, he wil say sure can ah. LOL. jiat liat leh. But just that nowadays me pek chey is bcos he dont initiate liao. urgghh.

wow! cos i m petite, small size leh, thats y. hmm even gynac asked me to control my diet, think she scare also if my bb too big so i guai guai listen to her advice

msgiggy,

It's abit hard doing it your own cos u need to massage it downwards towards the anus, so given our own hands and our big tummy, quite hard to do it ourself.

Kite,

It's not gross at all, it's just using the vit E oil to massage your own skin. Though not proven 100% true or workable, but given a slight chance, i dun mind trying, as it can avoid episiotomy....

poohy:
i m gg to work til i deliver. I cant imagine if my waterbag burst at work in the office? cos most of my colleagues are males leh. jiat liat.

poohy,

U r also in week 35 now, me too. Dun scare me, i hope my boy won't report in week 37 cos i'm still working till end 38 week.

Poohy,

kan cheong a not...maybe we just gave birth last year thats y we aready know what will happen... my elder gal came out at week 39..but don no will this bb gal cone out early a not leh..hope week 38 then she cum out.. don no weather want to brin pump to hospital a not leh???

has your son start to walk...

kite,

Why not take rest 1 wk b4 EDD? Can get MC from gynae. I intend to ask gynae for it, then start the ML only from the day i delivered my baby.

serene:
but think difficult to predict when bb coming out unless gynac can advise. if gynac could advise, i wil take 3 to 5 days MC n get MC from gynac.

me too wil start ML fr e day i delivered my baby. btw ML includes wkends, or just wkdays? or both?