(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Serene, i bought "wonderful life" or "Mei Hao Ren Sheng" (cant really recall the chinese title)... 1st episode filmed in spore. heard that one is a new release. I watched 2 episodes already. Quite entertaining. u wanted to get lulu gong zhu right? that one got no 50% discount but if i am not wrong, they r selling for $34+, cheaper than TS right? i watched a few episodes for this on cable TV in Korea (hee surprisingly they have chinese version!). not bad. same lead actress as Lovers in Paris.

saw kiddy palace having promo for pampers premium....newborn one is $15.90...if buy till $80, get free tiker toy...forget what toy liao...

NTUC now selling pampers premium at $15.40...

any idea what's the normal price for pampers premium nb?

tinklebell,
now u also seeing Dr Adrian in the morning? thought u used to see him in the evening?

toking abt bloody show....last nite, I dreamt I had a very bloody show in the toilet and I shouted for my mum to help me coz I'm gonna deliver....

lyn,
I see...coz your gynae worry abt the cord thingy, so ask u to monitor...my gynae say as long as got movements, no need to count....

my mil got stayed with us for a few times, each time for a night only...so far so good, but not accurate to judge how life will be in future when she's permanently here loh....bound to have more conflicts....

as for my own mum, she never stay at my house before...but I sure no problems with her coz we hav been staying together for so long together before I got married...beside, I inherit some of her habits too...

ya, agree that there's really many small little things that can get on our nerve and really got to close one eyes, else sure conflicts....

okasan, i wont be able to make in on thurs evening so will be going on thurs morning instead. i called the nurse yesterday re the admission letter. she says can get the letter but usually adrian will give but not so soon.

hi lyn,
yeah some CL very mean... confinement mums already so stressed, they still nag and nag! terrible... making people go into post-natal blues!

i also crave for sweet things now. very terrible... hope not to get too fat. now i find myself walking like a "penguin" hehehehe Baby is only 2.1 kg at 32 week. Still have a long way to go!!!! *sigh*

tinklebell,
I see...I also forget to ask him abt the admission letter...nevermind lah, think I'll ask him for it when I see him again 2 weeks later....

lyn,
if u thinking of freezing ebm, then better to use milk bag coz heard that the glass bottles may break when use for freezing....

also, when ebm is frozen, the milk will have a fishy taste....if the baby is not fussy eater, not a problem.....if baby is fussy eater, your frozen milk will be gone wasted....

okipoki,
ya, it's true that ebm when frozen, will have fishy smell..it's alright one...just that some fussy babies will reject the milk....

re: Confinement lady

toking abt CL...I just heard form my relative that they hired one CL last time, and this CL very dishonest...she will cook the tonic soup and drink it...then she add water to the soup and give to the mother to drink...so the mother actually drink the thinner soup while the CL drink the "jing hua"....

they managed to exposed her only when she got too heaty from drinking all the tonic soups and start to have nose bleeding....

okipoki,
think it's not a matter of training loh...imagine the baby is used to drinking fresh ebm, then suddenly u give him frozen ebm, he sure can tell the differences and may reject....also depending on the characteristic of the baby...some babies are more fussy, something out of the control of the parents

but of course, if u give baby frozen ebm often, he already used to the taste, dun think will give u any problem then

okasan and okipoki,
me too will keep my hair long. i think easier to manage as in to bun it up else June will be terribly HOT!

okasan,
i almost laugh out loud when i saw your post on your relative's CL! served her right for her nose bleeding!!! hahahahahaa

okipoki,
hmmm....not too sure....think by then when we actually go into bf, we will act accordingly to situation loh..hehe......

mspiggy,
ya, I also laughed when I heard abt it...think she deserved the nose bleeding loh...coz confinement food is really too heaty for normal person's consumption loh....

ya, long hair, at least can bun up...but my friends think otherwise...they say long hair very dirty coz cannot wash hair so will be very uncomfortable/oily/itchy....I'll wash hair loh whether long or short hair, coz it's hygenie mah...

okipoki & okasan

My fren actually recommended a book - The new contented little baby book by Gina Ford. The book is really not bad. The author guides us along and let us know when to express milk for storage (in order for us to have sufficient supply to meet baby's demand during growth spurt in the 3rd weeks) and when to give them direct breast feeding so that both mother and baby can have some uninterrupted sleep during the night.

Maybe you all wld like to take a look at the book as well.

okipoki,
even 2nd-time/3rd time mum also dun know what to expect coz every baby has his own charactertistics/behaviours/likes & dislikes....

one baby's likes may be another baby's dislikes...it's all abt trial and error

okasan,
my hubby also asked me to cut shorter. but then i will wash my hair... dont think can endure 1 mth without washing. the most wash every 1 week. i will go layer my hair make it thinner so that can dry easily.

mspiggy,
layering is good coz make your hair thinner too, so cooler...I sure wash my hair...at most I tahan for the first few days...but after that, I'll wash my hair daily....my mum also say I should wash my hair, just remeber to blow dry the hair after bathing....

okasan,
actually my colleague also suggested me to cut my hair cos she said we will drop alot of hair after birth...wait become botak

Okasan

My mil told me that i can wash hair during confinement, but can only use those special medicated powder shampoo.....sianz, cant imagine all the powder on my bed!!!

I've actually cut my hair slightly shorter already but this is the max I will go.

Used to have super long hair... *sigh*

okasan,
yeah will blow dry after washing

Lyn, my maid is a filipino maid, 23 yrs old, first time in Sing. she dun mind working two houses, and no off day. i have a very good impression of her during the phone interview. very excited and looking forward to her arrival, set up her room, bought her a new bed, mattress, plastic boxes for putting her stuff, bedside table, and even a bedside lamp. got all her toiletries and bought new cleaning equipment for her as well.

i really want to treat her well and love her as a part of our family.
hope things will work out well.

re my CL, hmm... all these 'dos and don'ts' are instructions from my colleague... just that my situation is diff from hers, i have a maid to help out, and i plan to latch on at night, hence my CL has practically not much to do. other than that, my colleague said the CL is very capable.

ms piggy, yes, for the massage, you can also use other sheets or towels instead of a shower curtain. but i heard it is very very oily, hence a big shower curtain will be better. use 7 days, can throw.

me also craving for sweet stuff, never did liked ice cream and chocs prior to pregnancy, now... eating ice cream like nobody's business... chocs as well. now drinking home made bandung... yum...

okasan, your bb indeed quite big... my bb's at week 35.5 days, weigh 2.5 - 2.6 kg. but then again, heard these scans are inaccurate. only measure bb's tummy to predict weight. maybe that's the reason why my bb weight flucatuates tremendously, sometimes he is 97th percentile, sometimes 55th percentile. if rely on this for induction... chiam...

hee hee... maybe next week, will go layer my hair too, will keep my below shoulder length hair... cut nice nice, can take pictures with bb when he comes out.

next Monday, gynae will be doing VE for me. Week 37. i think it's a bit too early leh... these few nights, starting my p massage... hubby do for me... every night, stretch a bit further....

tinklebell,

No leh, the sales girl of Poh Khim told me Lu Lu gong zhu selling @ $49.90 same as TS, no discount.....hmm, maybe i should go to jurong east entertainment centre outlet for a look. Yes u r rite, the female lead is the same as Lovers in Paris.

amy,
hehe I am still not comfortable with idea of p-massage, never got round to it last or this pregnancy.
my gynae suggested raspberry tea + exercise + nipple stimulation + sex, all in conjunction, from 34 or 36wks onwards (I forget which wk?)... for my case lah, but HB is certainly not keen. He thinks I'd go into convulsions/ instant labour, or something, wahahah!

Gosh I'm REALLY hungry. Just had a snack and still starving!

medusa... ha ha... my hubby initially asked me to do the massage myself, i insisted he does it, cos i am scared...

i have not been drinking raspberry tea religiously, will do so now. been doing some exercise - swimming 2 times a wk. not sure whether we should still have sex after bb engage. will it affect bb?

and yes... i am hungry too... thinking of french fries...

amy,

U did the P massage also huh, using vitamin E oil yah? I also bought the vitamin E 400mg, break the capsule and massage myself....quite hard to do my own lah...

serene... wah.. you so brave. yes, i use vit E oil too. maybe you can ask your hubby to do? if do yourself, there is a tendancy to restrict the stretching rite?

Toiletries/Towels:
Do i need to bring my own shampoo, body wash n my own towels? or TMC provides everything?

tinklebell:
As for cordlife, i wil be attending the seminar tis sat. Just want to ask you. To confirm, to date u hv only paid $1.4k (total upfront payment) rite? that's all? what mode of payment u used?

Baby Face n Bath towel:
i bot these from kiddy palace, all very soft materials.

Raspberry tea:
i just ordered 1 pack of it from MOM, costs $6.40 inclusive of $1 postage, cant wait to drink it. 2nd time mummy, this tea really can aid in faster delivery?
need to drink daily or once a wk? cos i scare too liang.

Kitchen Storage:
talking abt it, 1 of the shelf has been occupied by my dog's food alamak. Actually my kitchen very neat LOL, just that need to empty 1 of the cupboards for bb's stuffs. Wat do bb's stuffs do u store inside e kitchen? oh my milk bottle stil in those nicely plastic wrapped inside my bb's bedroom leh. hehe.
Come to think of it, even my drying rack n storage for glasses also built in n custom made during hse reno, so no need buy any drying rack

Carebear29:
wow u sound so excited, me excited for u too. do keep me update on ur tis thur appt
after delivery, must snap pics of ur boy for us to see and share Dr. YC's skills w me. Can trust her bah since she was recommended by my fren

wow very fast, next wk u gg 37wks, me 33wks next wk. My EDD is 1 July 06.

Confinement angbao:
u mean the $ u all give to ur mum/mil is inclusive of the food n marketing? dont think so bah. Cos me giving my mum (doing confinement for me) on confinement food $ separately from the angbao leh. how abt u all?

Kite, agree with you. Confinement angbao should not include food and marketing. i think we can use the market rate of what we would pay a CL, cos for CL, we need to pay the CL as well as pay for marketing. of cos, most importantly, don't make mum or MIL pay for marketing out of their own pocket.

hi amy,
what's p massage?

hi kite,
yeah... apparrently my friend said she's good. I'll see for myself after that

Heard u gals discussing about this massage lady, Rohaya...is she good? Recommended by mspiggy yah? How much is her charges? Does she goes to all locations? Any other good massage lady to recommend?

okipoki,
ic ic

hi serene,
massage lady is not recommended by me... it's recommended by my friend. I've not tried her massages before... will be engaging her during my confinement though. she charges $490 for 7 sessions.