(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

okasan,

i agree too that its not too much for our mum or mil to want to have a maid to help out. Its not easy taking care of a baby alone ...especially from 7 months old onwards when they start crawling and cruising and all... they wanna move all the time... some dun even wanna take nap. My boy dun take his nap these days...except for at most 1-2 hours... thus my mum gotta cook for the family, do housework and yet still have her eyes/hands on him all day long... dun think i myself can cope like dat day in day out. Over weekend, without my hb and mum's help, i alos dun think i can cope with my super active boy. really very tiring chasing all day after him. and at their age, sometimes I also feel bad to make my mum work so hard....at times she dun even have time to go buy lunch to eat... plus she going to look after my newborn herself also... i wanna get a maid for her but she dun want... so we suggested that if really cannot cope, we will order those tingkat meals and she can dun cook.

poohy,
so no need to bring receiving blanket. ok, at least i can take away one thing to make the load smaller

Looks like next week will be an exciting week for some mummies. So far. i think carebear is the next popping right? anyone earlier? cant wait to see pics of your bb too. feels so excited for all of u!

Okipoki, last nite, i tried cleaning my old steriliser with lemon juice...wow! was so amazed with the result. Now it looks as good as new. Thanks for the tip

Tinklebell,

Yes, TMC does provide mittens, booties, receiving blanket and clothes with their own hospital name on them
The bring home bag that TMC gives us is really nice too
Big enough to hold whatever the bb needs when we bring her out

tinklebell,
haha..same here...even if got free holiday dont tink i will go...unless its those local 1N stay at hotels then its different lah...*lol*
bring a breast pump along? Then do we have to wash n sterilise the breast pump? But we won't know when we popping also rite? I havent even go and readup on how to use the breast pump yet...hehe :p

poohy,
so they provide everything for babies including receiving blankets? Actually until now i still donno what is a receiving blanket...haha

wow, kk, one mth already??? so fast!
For us now, the waiting time is so boring
too big to go around but no news of bb popping. every weekend i've spent time making the house spic and span to welcome bb's arrival. hee hee getting paranoid already.
ur wound ok already? painful or not by now?
BTW, did u go for malay massage?

Good morning gals!

Hi kk,
Hope you are feeling better today

duffy,
Are you having yeast infection? I do not have discharge, but I am having urine infection...

poohy,
I think not having to cook can save a lot of time and energy.

tinklebell,

Wahh, talking about making house spick and span. I think i gotta have a big cleanup after confinement. Especially the kitchen!!!!!! I see pots and pans everywhere.. fridge in chaotic manner.. storeroom full of stuff, and even got pumpkin inside!! BB Room in a huge mess too!!

celeste,

i think receiving blanket is just a blanket (normally with a hood) to wrap baby.. hehe
nothing special...

lyn,

ya .. cooking is always headache... cos need to think of wat to cook, then go market buy and then prepare, etc

how's your infant crawling track coming along? I wanna get one but i fear its a bit late now and worried too exp... thinking of diy leh... go ikea buy wood planks

duffy,
i do hv discharge but is not itchy at all... erhm dun scare me leh cos i had an infection during my week 28 & was cleared.

tinklebell,

My wound ok liao. I think it is the surrounding muscles that still hurt sometimes. Not really hurt, just that they are still pretty weak. i am not that agile anymore, especially getting down from bed haha.. My hubby say need time to recover lor.

kk,

so fast your bb going 1 month liao... my SIL twins who are almost the same gestation as my bb also turning one month... they celebrating this friday..... one of the baby just discharged middle of last week and the other going to be discharged these 2 days..

tinklebell,
dont mentioned... didnt get to buy lemons over the weekend to further clean my steriliser. probably will do so this long weekend

kk,
pumpkin in storeroom? How come?
Haha...my bb room now in a mess also...throw everything inside all in plastic/paper bags....havent unpack things yet...*faint*

poohy,
oic...
...hehe, i never buy any receiving blanket...cos i tot can juz use cloth nappy to wrap bb...*lol*

tinklebell,

Didn't go for any massage yet. I see my tummy now i really gek sim. The brown line running down from chest to tummy has darkened. It was not that dark during pregnancy. The stretch marks darkened. Worse than the time during pregnancy. I tell my hubby i can't really differentiate wound scar from stretch marks because stretch marks are so prominent! SIGH!

lyn,
btw did u manage to get any coconut over the weekend at coldstorage ? went to both outlets at great world & holland V dont hv leh...

okipoki,
I also have discharge....but never go and bother cos doesnt itch and not painful

Btw, air-pot also can use lemon to clean one lehz
I squeeze the lemon juice in and add in water full to boil...then pour away the water then the yellow stains inside will be gone

celeste blur,

Yoo, my mum bought so much veg.. pumpkin no need to put in fridge, so put in storeroom lor haha.. whole pumpkin leh!!! Haven't cut up yet, can imagine!

Ohh, now my bb room still many plastic bags haha... sometimes we look for things until fed up.. dunno where we put in the first place :p

poohy,
The cutting and washing also takes up a lot of time...

It's a good idea to go to Ikea and get some materials to DIY the track... hmm... What material so you use for the checker board? I forgot to buy the materials when I went to Popular yesterday...
I still got lots of things to settle before baby comes out... My baby will most probably comes out on 5 June by c-section... kekeke... gotta stop reading my book on hypnobirthing already... :p

celeste blur,

U may only use the receiving blanket once only, when u bring bb back home from hospital. After that, at home dun have to use anymore. I just use normal towel as blanket to keep bb warm when she sleeps now. SOmetimes she just kick the towel aside. I think she scared warm haha.. anyway we shouldn't wrap the bb up in such hot weather, will grow rashes.

kk,
The lines really that bad after birth ah? I tot the vertical brown line will go away after birth?

okipoki,
I did not get coconut last weekend. Usually I go to the Cold Storage at Northpoint, they will have it unless sold out. I bought from the Cold Storage at Takashimaya and Bugis Junction before also...

lyn,

I dunno! Now the whole tummy dunno look like wat.. super ugly! Perhaps will really fade away, but see take how much time.. i think not so fast?

celeste, i heard u can pass the pumps to the nurses to ask them to sterilise. i just put them in a zip lock bag.
I also tried the lemon thing on my kettle... am simply amazed with the result! looks so new now

kk, har? pumpkin in storeroom? haha! first time i hear pp doing that. My kitchen is really small. I think i will have the same prob as u later on. And my kitchen floor tiles are horrible. They get dirty v easily. I regretted not replacing earlier on when we got the place.

i think those stretch marks will go off in time to come. dont worry too much.

lyn, so it's confirmed u will be doing a c-section?

tinklebell,

Haha, if now declare war, we will have nowhere to hide because the bomb shelter full of junk inside heeee..

Hey, same here.. the kitchen floor tiles get dirty easily.. after we mop, 2-3 days later can see our soles very dirty as we walk in the kitchen. We get tiles with rougher texture. End up trap dirt easier.

lyn,
thanks... probably will try taka this thursday before meeting my friend for dinner

kk,
1st timer heard ppl put pumkin in the store room.. so weird ! kekeke....

kk, maybe it's a good idea to have food inside the bomb shelter so that in case there is war, u wont die of hunger if u stay in the bomb shelter. :p

my tiles came fr hdb. really ugly, bad quality and workmanship
i just did glazing of the lines before CNY. now, it's starting to turn black again

poohy and kk,
ya lor...i also tink receiving blanket might be a bit hot? Maybe cloth nappies or towels will do a better job

tinklebell,
Oic...okies...i shall also add in the pump to my hospital bag too
Tink i will pack my hospital bag this weekend

okipoki,
I told my gynae before liowz...he told me as long as no itch and pain its okies...can safely ignore it. But u may wanna ask u gynae, cos ur gynae's opinions might differ from mine

Re: Baby bathing towel
Do we need to buy special towels for babies bathing needs...as in those super soft type or anything? Or can juz get any normal towel from those market/neighbourhood shops

kk, tinklebell,
My kitchen tiles also get dirty easily... think i gotta hide in my room and close one eye liao.. I so scared my mum bring more big big pots/utensils or ask me go and buy... she likes everything big big in the kitchen... *faintz* I like minimal things...

tinklebell,
Yap, I have decided to go with gynae's advice
My womb got high chance of rupture during contractions cos last time the surgery cut is rather big to remove the 12cm fibroids... My gynae said even for people with smaller fibroids, the risk is also high, and mine so big... so sad hor? I prepared to go through natural birth, now gotta change...

lyn, oic, your surgery previously involved cutting of the wound. in that case, it's safer if u do a c-section. my cut is big but i didnt have to open up the womb. hopefully still can go thru natural birth.

celeste, i didnt get any special towel for bb. got fr Guardian. But those i bought are not too rough. so i think should be ok.

Celeste Blur

No need for special towels. but it's best to get those super 'thin' ones so that you can actually wipe away the water from baby's neckline which can be pretty fine.If you use those thick ones, u might not be able to reach the folds on the neck.

okipoki,

Any discharge i think it is best to inform gynae. Every time i went for my gynea visit, first thing the nurse ask me is "any discharge?" so i guess it's important to let them know

Lyn,

Haha, ur mum same as mine. I think they got used to cooking for big families, so want every utensil to be big big :p

celeste blur,

We are using normal face towels/handkerchiefs from neighbourhood shops for bb

Re: Baby bathing towel
The ones that i am using currently seems a bit rough....thats y donno if can buy the same ones for bb anot....but i tink its better to get those softer ones for them?

celeste,
i bought normal bath towel, but for face towel bought baby towel from ikea, supposed to be soft. though i haven't opened yet so don't know..

re: baby bathing towel
i bought a few during the isetan sales... pretty soft... also afew from john little & ikea

hihi kk

Dun bother abt ya MIL, jus make yourself happy. I am oso terribly sick of confinement food. SOOOOOOO sianz to eat rice lunch and dinner that I wanna puke! I only have about 5 dishes to rotate throughout the whole confinement!!! Somemore they say BF mummies cannot take chillies after confinement, I think I die liao. I keep reminding my mil that I am only going to do 28 days confinement which is going to ead this wed!!!!!! Hooray!!!!!! Off I head for my pasta and buffet!!!!! Not forgetting sashimi!!!!

kk,
Yalor... everything big big... big pots, big frying pan, big stirrer... aiyo.. my kitchen no space already. And also want big drying rack for my plates... I like to keep my plates when dry neatly inside the cupboard and not leave on the drying rack kind... :p
Aiyo... I told my hubby a house cannot have two women using the kitchen one ah... hahaha... Kitchen = women's territory... kekeke...
Last nite, she asked me to go and buy those black pots for soup cos she saw her friend using that to boil soup for her daughter's confinement... **faintz** and I already got two pressure cooker pots meant for soup... I scared if I dun buy, she will bring... hahaha... gotta close one eye, else will sure boil...

lyn,

Oh, u mean the older folks wanna a big drying rack as well? Heee.. ur mum will be very happy to use my kitchen. Everything in my kitchen big big because my mum bought all the utensils for me when we got married. And i was happy lah because no need spend money mah heee.. and till now (we will be married for 4 yrs next wed) we haven't bought a single pot and pan yet :p

Yah lor, they take boiling soup as main big issue. I have one slow cooker, one small slow cooker, my mil still brought another one over to my place, and also cook other soups using other pots.. aiyoh, sometimes in 1 day dunno how many soups she boil haha..

pebbles,

Har?? 28 days only?? I 40 days leh!!! *FAINT*

Yesterday i so sad, i told hubby i dun care, vesak day i am going out shopping HAHA! Maybe say say only, see how..

Yesterday i really eat very little leh. Now i eat until halfway will have nauseous feeling.. dunno why.. after delivery still got MS ah? HAHA! Today weigh myself realise i lost another kg

Pebbles,

My hubby say he wanna treat me buffet at paris restaurant next week. Then i say how can, my confinement 40 days then my mum say cannot eat seafood at all
So if go buffet sure lugi.

poor kk, how come your mum make u do 40 days confinement? tell her cut short to 28 days can already lah :p But since u had c-section, i think it is best u stay away fr seafood for sometime first. some pp's wound can develop v bad allergic reaction to sea food.

lyn, kk, i think your mils will faint if they come to my kitchen. everything is miniature inc drying rack and stove. haha! i'm thinking of getting a slow cooker... is it really useful?

kk,
My mum wanna give me her big big pots, but I dun want.. kekeke... No space to store leh... My MIL is opposite, pots and pans small small and she gave me 2 small pots... lol...
I have one small slow cooker enough for 2 people, and one big one that can put one whole chicken inside... lol... I have not used my slow cooker, just inside my cupboard "pai siu". hahaha...

tinklebell,
My mum even complained the fire on my stove not "big" enough.. lol.. last time she was a chef for a restaurant, so used to the "big" fire... hahaha...
My drying rack is those plastic kind I got from Robinsons, one layer and put beside my sink. I just need the plates and utensils to drip dry there and then put inside cupboard nicely...
hmmm.. for slow cooker, I hardly use. In fact, I have never used my two slow cookers. I prefer to boil soup over the stove. I even double boil over the stove.
I think just buy when you need it... else gonna be like white elephant like mine... collecting dust and occupying space inside my cupboard.

kk,
Better stay away for seafood... I dare not touch seafood for half a year last time after my surgery. Actually, my gynae also adviced me not to take seafood for a month...

tinklebell,

how fast was your labour last time huh? These few days I am getting a bit worried that I might not be able to reach hospital in time to deliver... my last labour was 4 hours but that time my waterbag din break and i was only 2 cm dilated ... went to hospital and the active labour only start after waterbag break and lasted abt 2-3 hours.... this time, i dunno whether it will be shorter cos people always say subsequent birth even faster...

lyn,

i bought the big white cardboard they sell at the paper corner... going to paste black paper on it to make checkerboard. i prob will use blue tag to paste shapes on the black boxes later on... cos need to change the shapes frequently mah

poohy,
Oh I see... Maybe you can consider getting a bottle of spray glue called "spray mount" from 3M. Spray, paste already, can still remove... Neat and easy...
When will you be going to Ikea to have a look at the wooden planks? I think it's a good idea. I might do that instead
Do you have any idea how to make or where to buy the padding and cover?