(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

afternoon gals.. wow.. u gals wake up so early... haha.. okipoki i oso like u, very giam to vote.. the joke is that my area got to vote, but my ic is still parent's address. so in the end my hb got his chance to vote 4 the first time, whereas me dun have..... so sad..

poohy, congras.. ur bb engaged.. do u feel pain below? i dun noe y i feel it so badly.. dr said got water retention at my v-part..

kk, chk with u whether u got rent the breast pump during ur stay in TMC? how much per day? me haven't bought my breastpump yet. Want to c got milk b4 buying.. but scare their 3 days rental cost equals to a cost of a pump.. must as well buy earlier.. tks alot

carebear,
u bb due date is my next visit to my gynae when i am in week 34.. getting excited for yah

I remembered sometime back few of u posted alist of things to pack for the hosptial bag.. I am starting to pack my stuffs but dont know what to bring. Can anyone of u share out that list again ??? Thanks

Hi Peng, it seems the bulk of the BM flow comes in on the 3rd day onwards. You may already been discharged by then.

I went to see Dr YC few days back, told me my bb head turned down liao ... but too big to engage ... haha ... so now my pelvic super sore even when I sleep.

Haven't been sleeping well at all, think I'm falling sick ... later I better asked hubby bring a big umbrella to shelter me from the heat (or rain), in case polling queue is long. (Btw, can pregnant women jump queue?)

My water retention is very bad too (due to weigh of bb), I've it the moment I stepped off my bed, and my feet will turn dark too ...

i'm now into my 35 wks and my gynae told at my visit last thur that i may be due early... instead of 8 june, i may be 'bombing' in another 2 wks' time! ah! so excited.. he said that baby's head is already engaged and near to cervic...

417642.jpg

carebear,
no leh, am with Mt A but gynae's clinic located at bishan

guess ur water retention is really bad huh, did ur gynae give u any mc before ur due ?

No, she didn't "volunteer". You mean I can get MC from her, and it's different from our maternity leave? I've planned to start my home rest from coming Mon, cos I'm like a zombie.

If yes, I will ask from her next week then.

Hi DuffyBuff,
Great, so u'll see bb earlier too. At wk 37/38, bb are generally healthy to pop.

carebear,
i hv a couple of friend requested that from their gynae. probably u just let u gynae knows that u are having difficulties in walking due to ur water retention.. suppose he/she will give lor. yes, the MC is diff from the ML. anyway, no harm asking for it.

Peng,

I heard of renting breast pump from TMC, but i didn't. I bought directly from TMC, cost $190. Errr, i think i read from okasan's (or another mummy) msg that need to change the parts if rent?

Dun worry about milk supply. I believe if we are consistent in expressing and BF, and also persistent, the MS would slowly come

It is always good to have a pump ready. Engorgement can really kill!!! And now i still suffer from it, although not that serious. Now main problem is if i dun pump regularly, the milk will wet my bra, bra pad, and my whole pyjamas wet!

kk,
for the rental of breast pump, u will need to buy a kit tat's abt $60....those parts are where there's skin contact or milk contact, so it's hygenie purposes.....

okipoki,
ya, if I never vote before, I will also wish to vote this time...but since I vote before, this time round, not interested liao, esp with a big belly..*LOL*

kk,
I got a friend who bf her 2 kids for more than 6mth each....she told me that if engorgement, shouldn't pump loh...coz engorgement means too much milk, so if keep pumping to relieve engorgement, the body will think the demand is there so will keep supplying loh....so the engorgement will not go away...

instead, should just try to tahan the engorgement and it will go away itself and the supply of the milk will be adjust accordingly......

okasan,
actually are u right, with a big belly will be very inconvenient to vote especially if there is a huge crowd. Hee !!

u noe where to get the cot mattress? those 4inch type?

i m talkin to my gf in the afternoon.. and juz now, her hubby sms that she had popped... wahhhh. her EDD is juz a wk ahead of me. better get everything prepared...keke

okipoki
my hosp bag consists of
1. 2 set of PJ n 2 bras
2. 1 pair of sock, disposable slippers
3. 1 shawl
4. 1 pkt of maternity underwear
5. 3 pairs of breast pads
6. 1 set of bb top and receiving blanket
7. hp charger, camera, batteries standby
8. receipts of all claimable items, cord bankin contacts
9. toiletries (i hven packed that)
10. 1 set of goin home clothes for myself
most impt.. ur IC, admission letter (marriage cert not bring cos not goin to register bb's name yet)

think that's abt all.. any i missed out..

dor,
thanks for the list

btw, i got my 4" cot mattress from cheong choon @ Chinatown paid abt $30+ for it.

your gf so fast pop ar... chat in the afternoon & within hours she delivered her bb smoothly without long hours labour. Good !!

I was so angry last nite that i cried and cried the whole nite.

Actually it had been happening throughout this confinement period.

My mil taking care of bb for me. I really cannot take it anymore. She keep saying that my bb next time won't recognise me and won't be close to me. How can she say that just because she spends more time with bb by bathing her, bottle feeding her, changing her poo poo more often??? She never consider how i feel when she keep saying that, almost everyday. Everytime before i let bb latch on, she will say "Ya lah, then bb next time will recognise u" !!!!! What is she trying to imply ah??

kk,
cool down cool down.... i understand it will be damn pek chek hearing such comments. actually rest assured cos there is definitely a bond between the bb & mother regardless of anything. anyway, tell ur hubby u will be geting post-natal blues soon if his mum kept commenting on that.

was wondering is ur MIL try to hint that u should clean, feed, bathe the baby instead ??

okasan,

Hmmm, which means i shouldn't pump if i have engorgement? But if i dun pump out and bb is sleeping and won't be latching on, will it lead to less and less MS?

I really hate it now!! My right side can leak and leak non stop sometimes. When i get really very very depressed, i just hope that my MS stop immediately!!

kk,
*hugz* *hugz*

how come your mil say such things?? in the first place, if she's here to help u for the confinement, then she should know that she will likely bath/feed/clean baby more than u mah....

dun let her remarks bother u...maybe she jealous u bf your baby, so she say these things to "console" herself that baby will not be close to u but to her instead?

kk,
not too such if u should pump or not to solve engorgement....but at least for now, if u have the supply, can pump out and store, no harm....if I'm u, I may also pump to reduce engorgement despite what my friend say...coz excess supply better than no enough supply...hehe.....

okasan,

Some time back, i already kind of realised that she is quite a possessive person. My hubby's friend and wife actually staying next block only (so the girl staying with in laws) but the wife let her own mum take care of bb. The bb is not brought back to in law's place often. Then one fine day, the in law met us coincidentally and talked to my mil. The in law commented that recently the bb came back often, around 3 times a week. Then my mil first comment was "Good mah, then the bb will be closer to u in the future". After hearing this, i roughly can engage how possessive she can be.

sometime, grandma will get jealous of the mother when baby is out.....first, they get jealous when another woman "claimed" their precious son....then when baby is born, they get jealous again coz they also want to "own" their grandchild and not let that other woman be the one close to the grandchild instead....

also, maybe like wat okipoki said, maybe she's hinting u should start to do the cleaning/bathing etc.....

kk,
ya, think your mil falls into the first category...she scare her grandchild not close to her...so when she see u bf, she knows she lose out to u....*LOL*

there are many women like that loh....one of my mum's friend also ask my mum who will take care of my baby, and my mum say most likely my mil...then she say that's the way mah coz where got daughter's mum take care of baby...muz be the son's mum to take care of baby...such old school thinking!

okipoki,
I also bring roughly the things that dor prepared...but slightly lesser...din bring anything for baby coz tmc will provide for my case...this is the list I posted last weekend after I packed my bag

3 pj
1 pair of sock
4 pc of disposable panties
6 pc of disposable breastpads
2 pc of Sanitary pads (those normal long wing one, to wear when discharge)
camera\batt\storage media

a few items that will be thrown into the bag just before going for delivery will be:
1. going home clothes
2. bras (din get nursing bra coz not neccessary)
3. NRIC and admission letter (not bringing marriage cert coz will do birth registration after discharge)
4. receipts for claiming medisave

as for toileries, not bring also coz hospital got provide basic...

okasan,
for mine case is slightly diff, my MIL will be taking care of my bb. my mum would love to hv a day with the bb cos she too afraid that bb wont be close to my family when she grows up. an eg is my sis' kids who are taken care by my mum.. they are not close to their grandparents.

anyway, i am not sure what is the plan ahead not till bb is out lor & probably by then, then can see MIL's true colours...*LOL*

Thanks for all ur support! Aiyah, my mood very bad today. This morning i woke up crying again. Then i finally able to tell my hubby what happened. He himself heard what his mum say last nite. And i told him not the first time liao. That time i also asked him same question before "u worried next time bb not close to u?" He said why worry. All children taken care of by grandmothers also end up very close to parents. He also stated examples. Which made me feel relieved for that moment.

okasan,
thanks for ur list...urs pretty similar to what dor has provided. btw, u are not going to bring any jacket or cardigan ?

i think i am going crazy today.. i hear her voice i really want to go and lock myself in the room and sleep.

Somemore, aidoi, i think my new fridge is going to spoil very soon. She bang the fridge door so hard each time she closes it. I tell my hubby if fridge spoil, he gonna pay for it.

kk,
dont cry too much... else will affect ur body & suppose bb wont like to see her mummy crying right? anyway, glad that ur hubby is supportive so dont worry too much

kk,
*LOL* ur case is similar to what i am having but for me is my FIL but bo bian lah, old ppl is like that. we will definitely sim tia over our things so let ur hubby talks to her

okipoki,
not bring any cardigan...coz I think I'll feel hot when pushing *LOL*....anyway, nowaday, I dun feel cold at all in cold aircon room...can even sweat inside aircon room.....

but I bring socks coz feet easier to get cold...so in case long labour, can wear if feet is cold...but I doubt I'll need it too...

okasan,
the jacket is for u when u hv given birth.. once bb is out our body temperature will return to normal. as for cardigan probably for bf

okasan,
nope i am not staying with ILs but they will visit us every sunday which means later i will need to hide in my room. hahahaha....

okipoki,
same here...my baby will be taken care by my mil too....my mum din ask to have a day with my baby...rather, I'm the one who is thinking of how to let my baby see my mum more often....I'll like my baby to be close to both grandparents instead of only one side loh....

okipoki,
oh, ya, maybe good to have one jacket coz even if not cold, when visitors come, can at least put on...

for bf, think I dun care, coz only me and hubby and maybe the nurse in the room, so no need to cover....if got visitors or family memebers, just ask them to go out and wait loh...

okasan,
agreed me too would love my bb to be close to both families especially to little cousins like my niece & nephew. i want my ger to mix ard with ppl as my ILs side dont hv small kids. anyway, i am going to be a weekend mum so it can be quite tough to arrange to meet my mum.

okipoki,
u so cute...see them only once a week, still need to hide huh?? how come they come over? I'm not staying with in-laws...but every week, I'll go over to see them and have a meal together...so far, so good...but I'm still worry abt staying together with mil next time coz "xiang jian rong yi, xiang chu nan"!

okasan,
yeah is better to pack rather than either freezing cold or not being presentable.
aiya, i realised some ppl dun know how to "zi dong" when bf in hospital cos my friend's MIL stay inside while she bf & is so uncomfortable.

okipoki,
so your mil will take care of your baby for the whole week at their own house....I see....last time my mil also got consdier this way, but we told her we prefer to see baby everyday and she stays so far from us...that's why we ask her to come over to stay with us....

okipoki,
your friend should ask her mil to go out...my friend also did that whenever she bf, her hubby will ask all the visitors to go out loh....

I don't mind my mum staying back, but I certainly mind if my mil sits there and watch me bf...I'll get my hubby to accompany her out for some drink or what...

anyway, think it's hard to cover when bf coz firstly, we still very green at it, also for the first few times, the urse may be present to guide along too....

okasan,
Once a week is not enuff for my ILs. My FIL is very possesive over his son & will complain if we dont go breakfast with them. Now that i am preggy & not convenient to go out, hubby is representing lor & they "shun bian" come to my house for mahjong session. (which i dont like)

okasan,
actually i also wish to see my bb everyday but not by choice cos we stayed very far from them. if we asked her to come is like asking the whole family to shift to my hse liao. My FIL would like to follow then will definitely ask my SIL to move along (his bao bei). haizz...

okasan,
true lor i mean thats the basic courtesy to ask mil or friends to go out when bf. me too dun mind if my mum is staying back but hubby thinks otherwise one leh cos he feels that since ur mum can stay why cant my mum.

can eat those cheese cakes made of cream cheese? Hubby bought 1 box of cheese cake from carrefour, not sure can eat anot.