(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Serene,

I'm not too sure about Drypers but brought a pack for my baby gal too ... Sealers has a cottony touch to it (so much softer than our maternity pads)...

re: FM
my hubby recently met up with a rep fr NAN. They said they have a new formula called Nan premium or something like that. She claims that it is quite good cos that formula is supposed to prevent the bb fr having cow's milk allergy / intolerance. i saw the retail price ...$31/-. quite ex hor.

pebbles,
icic... i tho' is to keep her hand inside & dont let her move so much. my mum said next time my baby i must wrap her up so that when she grows older wont have "alot of hands" haha...

hi Paula,

I'll also be delivering at KKH
Already signed up for the 1 bedder too. And was advised by the nurse doing the forms that ave bill size is abt 3K +. I can claim medisave $1.7K cos never make antenatal claim. So expecting to pay cash about 2k thereabout..

Currently seeing Dr Judy Wong at TPS

What abt u? WHo's your gynae?

Miz,

Hehe, another KKH companion. My gynae is John Tee. When are you due? Yes, I have a colleague who is seeing Judy too.. heard she is very patient... whereas John Tee is the chop-chop gynae...

Paula, my hb wanted to sign up the world cup package...do you know how much is it?

Also anyyone knows how much does the digital box cost?

kk, its good that you feel uterus contracting when you BF...then you sure tone down tummy quite fast...

As for hospital bag, I have started to pack mine over the weekend...seems like I packed more then its required..

paula, i'm due 10 June. now in wk 34. u?

it's true that judy wong is patient and nice and all smiley to her patients.. but i think she's very firm and strict with her nurses. I once heard her talking to a blur nurse and her tone was completely different! hehe.. i guess she must protect her rice bowl and sayang-sayang her customers la

Spicegal,

Are you subscribing to the current sports package from Starhub? If yes, you would have to pay an addition S$10 before end of April or S$15 - S$20 after 30th of April.

Serene,
me thinking of using drypers when bring bb go out and pampers at nite if i stop using cloth nappies

okipoki,
my mom's logic in wrapping bb up like bak chang during 1st week or so is dont want bb's hands to be waving around and scare themselves....*lol*

spicegal,
if u get the package from scv...they got those mandarin channels package, movie package, sports package etc...then the first digital set-top box is free
Additional set-top box i think is donno $3 or $6 per month

Hi Paula

Another KKH kaki here. I have opted for the 4-bedded instead cos the nurse advise that it's easier to upgrade later on than if we shd decide to downgrade to a 4-bedded.

oic...thanks for the info Paula & Celeste...i will call starhub tomorrow to subscribe for the service..

Tonight i'll be visiting my hb friend's wife at TMC..she just delivered this morning..

Pebbles..you have a beautiful gal..thanks for sharing her photo...

I am now 33-34 weeks...my gal is 2kg liao..

Hi, Stephanie,

Yea, the nurse told me the same thing too but my inlaws and hubby said go for one-bedder lah ... they dun want the fuss later on...

Hi, Miz,
Yep, but am expecting my baby to be a May baby instead ... got this weird intuition that she will be coming out way earlier than her EDD ...

Hi Paula

When's ur baby due? My EDD is mid June but gynae told me last weekend that most prob will deliver end May/early June instead

Celeste,

I forsee chance of using cloth diapers very slim since we be BF...bb poo so frequent, not practical to wear cloth type! But i will see how it goes, will let bb use cloth type once awhile since my mum says cloth type is breathable, cooler for bb's bum.

MOAP,

Nah, just wondering cos' I wonder if you are having less of BH now ... cos' I recalled you saying that you have regular BH contractions and your gynae is worried that you might have an early labor...

Serene,
during ML i will try my best to use cloth nappies if possible cos since we r at home we have more time to do the washing of nappies and changing for bb. But after returning to work i might use disposable diapers liowz

ya, my mom insisted on me using cloth nappies for bb...she even said if she see me using disposables she will change to cloth nappies...*lol*

kite, i will need to pay the $800 deposit next week (32 weeks). Confirmed 1 bedded and PD to be EK Ong. So, YC recommends 14 kg max weight gain is it? My bb is 1.1 kg at 28weeks (so far, mummy gained abt ~6kg) and YC estimates he shld be abt 1.5kg at 32 weeks.

Poohy, r u the one who bought the Combi NU500 stroller? The red/grey one with egg shock? I am interested in this model, heard it is one of their best selling model now. However, the canopy looks smaller than usual (does it shade the bb well?) and the wheels also quite tiny (dunno whether will get stuck in the drains!). Do u have any comments on the stroller?

Tinklebell, I agree with u. Cordlife seems more credible. We look at more than the initial upfront charges, cos what is more important is the quality of cordblood (if we unfortunately need to use it).

celeste,

During confinement, when confinement lady is around, maybe i will have chance to use cloth type diapers since she can help me to do the washing but once the CL left and i'm alone, i think i will use disposable type liao. I hope the drypers brand suits my baby cos it's really cheap. I got it at $11.50/pck (64 pcs)

Serene...i heard my friends say that its better to use better quality disposable diapers for your bb during 1st month cos bb's skin is most delicate at this time...you should use pampers/mamy poko premium...after the 1st month, you can switch to cheaper brands...

spicegal,

So mamypoko is considered one of the premium ones? I have mamypoko but since using pampers now, i thought should keep on using pampers until later stage when bb's skin not so delicate anymore. If mamypoko is ok, then i would open up that pack to use liao.

Yesterday morning i was pretty surprised that my tummy went down a lot! I asked my hubby whether i am seeing things. He say he also noticed, even when i was lying down on the bed. I tell him just now i wanna try later see i can fit into my working clothes or not hahaha.. i weigh myself, still have around 5 kg to slim down.

Serene,

i can't imagine taking care of bb on my own after confinement.. feed milk, change diapers, laundry to do!! Seems like lots and lots of laundry to do leh
Dunno can manage or not

lok,

ya i got that stroller... not bad.. no problem with the wheels so far... i only use it in shopping center. I find the canopy a little small but my hb think its ok... i would have prefer a full canopy actually... if the other more exp model which looks almost the same (green/orange one) with reversible handle and full canopy was out last year I would have bought that instead
But this stroller is not bad lah... light weight mah

serene, u have a CL? I had one last time but she insisted i use diapers instead of nappies cos she says v hard to wash off the poo. I also dont really want to argue with her.

Sobz sobz.. my stretchmarks are so ugly!!!!! I didn't know I have them until I decided to use a mirror to see my underbelly. Then Wham! Aiyo, so red, so raw, so ugly!!!! So sad.. boohoo...

I'm only at 32 wks, still got abt 2 mths to go. CAn't imagine how bad the stretchmarsk will be as tummy grows bigger.

BOOHOO...

Serene,

I heard that newborns grow fast. Hence i have bought the smallest pack (28 nos) of diapers for newborns. My frens advised that we will need to move on to s-size very quickly.

Hidora,

Rustic Nirvana has this cream or oil that will help in reducing the stretchmarks after birth ... not too sure if it works but they have been promoting it to me...

kk...my friend told me mamy poko new born quality is almost the same as pampers premium...i dun know about other sizes though...most likely will buy mamay poko new born for my bb since its cheaper than pampers..

yah..that's what my colleagues told me..cos most of them can fit into their previous work clothes after their confinement..they say should BF if can as you will slim down fast...

thanks Poohy. I didn't notice there is another green/orange model but reversible ones tend to be heavier. I don't see the need for that feature. Oh, is it easy to operate with just one-hand or we need both hands to manage? sorry, so many qns but I hvn't tried it myself.

Spicegal

Was told that mamy poko newborn diaper is specially designed such that the diaper arched inwards at the umbilical cord area. This way, there is less friction and abrasion to the wound. Not sure abt Pampers premium, cos the picture on the packaging didnt really show that.

Spicegal,

How big is ur bb now? if exceed 3 kg, then can stock up on S size liao

i am glad i only stock up one pack of NB size. The rest all S size.

Hidora,

yes, stretch marks are awful!! Now all over my tummy.. and they darken so much.

kk..i am 33 weeks and bb is 2kg..i will only buy 1 pack of new born and 1 pack of S size 1st..cos my friend say dun buy too many new born size as bb grow very fast..

pampers new born only has 36pcs in 1 pack so tend to finish very fast hor...mamy poko new born has a big pack 52pcs...so i intend to buy that..

yesterday also went to buy Similac new born to stand by for my bb

yah...decided to use Similac cos my niece working as nurse in Mount A and her gal is also drinking Similac...read up about Similac from other threads also...seems like its not too bad..many say the poo will not be too hard...and also not smelly..

spicegal,
me never buy any pampers newborn becos hospital will provide one pack, i only bought the S size pampers instead cos i heard ppl saying if ur bb is like 3kg or 3kg+ can use S size also liowz

Serene,
I also hope Drypers is gd...cos i bought 1 pack of S size drypers and 1 pack of S size Pampers...am thinking of using Pampers at nite occasionally and Drypers when going out