(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Good morning gals!
Wow.. so much to catch up... lol...

Lok,
If you want one hand operated and light weight, have a look at Aprica, Combi, Lucky baby... Aprica is made in Japan and I was told it's more durable. Combi is Japanese brand, but made in China. Lucky baby is made in China... My neighbour has two strollers. Their first one is a Lucky baby and now in the storeroom collecting dust already... too flimsy to handle... Their second one is Aprica which they are very satisfied with...

After some search, I decided to get Aprica. In fact, this morning, I am waiting for the delivery

Serene,
Your gynae's package is rather cheap...

tinklebell,
I was told to bring the receipts that is about $550 from the antenatal visits and give to the reception during admission... We can only claim $450 rite?
I just need 2 receipts and that's it... lol... I already "collected" one that is $300+ during one of my visits, the the last one $200+...

serene, no lah i dont know him personally but my hub is a doc so he waived off everything out of professional courtesy. only need to pay for the scans at TMC ***so pai seh***
Actually, my previous gynae also did the same but he couldnt waive off medicine and the hospital facility costs. Anyway, first boy's birth was almost FOC cos eventually we claimed almost everything fr my hub's staff benefit and they didnt even bill me for my hospital stay (until today)!

Hi Serene,

My gynae is Dr Lim Teck Chye. Well known for expensive packages heee.. one of my hubby's colleagues whose wife pregnant wanted him to be the gynae too, but dropped the idea because he is ex.

Lyn,

Yup, if excluding the medisave deduction, the whole gynae package including c sec is around 3300.

tinklebell,

Wow so good! So, there's no need for 2nd thought about opting for 1 bedder....Last nite, i talked to my hubby again on this, he still think maybe more practical to take the 2 bedder.... I understand what he mean, maybe to stretch the dollar and save the $ for other more important usage. Esp, if there's so many incidential charges coming in, the charges may end up alot of $!

serene, agreed with u. it's good to stretch the dollar. i'm only afraid that there may be complications and will end up paying a lot more.

Aiya actually i rather spend the money on holidays then on hospital stay leh
$4k-$5k can bring us for another holiday somewhere for 4-5 days.

kk, not even in restructured hospitals? my BIL is also a teacher and my SIL managed to claim for part of her hospital stay at KKH... but that was like many many years back lah.

tinklebell, exactly lor! Me and hubby used to love travelling alot! So, hubby says if got extra cash, we will go for a short trip after my confinement, during my 12wks ML.

Oh, i'm extremely tired and sleepy today, thinking of taking a 1/2 day leave and go back.

kk,
wow ur gynae's package is so expensive.... oohh for mine case, my package starts from 5th mth which I paid $580 inclusive of detailed scan & all those multi-vits & calcium etc. As for delivery will be another sum & if i am not mistaken, max abt $800.

serene,
me to plan to have a short holiday during ML but dun know will i be "she de" to leave my bb with MIL. also come to think of BM will be cumbersome lor.

wah.. talking about travelling ah... I also used to travel a lot... I will bring baby wherever i travel :p

Can we travel at week 36? I feel like going somewhere during the vesak long weekend...

lyn,
think u need to check with ur gynae.. but not advisable to go for long distance trip. I also heard some places dont allow preggy mum at certain weeks to enter the country.

Oh ya hor... cannot enter another country by then hor? My hubby was suggesting we go HK... lol...

Yalor.. I think i will miss the "er ren shi jie" and this pregnancy leh... So nice to "carry" baby everywhere and talk to baby.. and no crying and no need bring too many things around... haha...

Gals, you think going to KL ok?

lyn...so nice of your hb...my hb already forbid me to go travelling when i was in my 2nd trimester...he say so ma-fun carrying the extra weight around...

lyn,

Me too, same as you, will be 36th week during vesak day week! My mum is going to genting during the vesak long weekend, i actually intend to join her, drive up but hubby disagreed, says already 9 mths then, better dun travel around...anyway, i dun have much energy to move around too but just feel like going away, esp thinking of the cool weather in genting, very siok! hmm.....cannot go lah! Better wait until after birth.

Oki,

Share the same thinking...Of cos, to make use of the long ML to go holiday is very good but wonder if by then, will i be bu she de to leave my baby behind....also, i'm concern about breastfeeding too! I dun wish to stop BF my baby leh... My neighbour told me can store up, but it there be so much milk in advance to store up then???? So all these ??? will have to wait till then to see....hmm....

Lyn,
most impt is whether ur body can handle the long journey & walking or not... cos i heard if walk too much will trigger labour leh (is it true or not i am not sure).
definitely will missed those "er ren shi jie" lor but bo bian also right.

spicegal,
me too, hubby has stopped all sort of long travelling when i hit 2nd tri.. my last trip was to KL with my mum & sis during my 1st tri.

serene,
true lor.. fully agreed so have to pend till the bb is out then decide. i am very gian to go travelling especially i see so many of my colleagues going holiday next week.. to HK, Taiwan, BKK etc.. haiz !!

serene,
hahaha... so "qiao"... my hubby also thinking of Genting last week...

hmm... now my hubby saying booking a nice hotel to stay. I am thinking of dining in some nice restaurant now... cos the hotel facilities not attractive to me already... lol... Got any recommendations for good food or buffet?

My last trip was to Penang at week 28... hee... I did not tell my gynae though... :p

Today very sian leh... Going to see gynae on Friday again... Gonna discuss birth plan then. Gynae wants me to go for C-section in the last visit

oki...me too loved travelling so much..my last trip also during 1st trimester..i went bangkok then...but actually 2nd trimester better to travel cos no MS...and also better appetite leh..1st tri quite tiring and also got MS...

Gals...
Do you all know which country is more "baby friendly"?
My parents just came back from their wonderful trip to Hanoi... I drool on looking through their photos... hahaha... Do you think Hanoi is "baby friendly"?

spicegal,
all of us are very gian on travelling but bo bian lor right !! actually my hubby forbids me for travelling in 2nd tri cos i get breathless easily tho' i dont hv any ms etc...

kk,

I'm thinking of bring my baby to bintan/beach resort in dec..by then, 6 mths liao, can swim, very fun hehe.

lyn,

hanoi not very suitable for baby rite? not very clean...

lyn..i think whether or not a country is bb friendly depends on the water and weather conditions of that country...if clean bottled water is easily available and the weather is not too hot/too cold, then should be ok...no comments about hanoi though cos i also have not been there...

lyn,

i'm also thinking of booking a nice hotel in sing during the vesak long wkend but seems very ex.!

i think shangri-la's and conrad's buffet is nice.

lyn, i heard that if u drive to msia, sometimes u can get turned away by the customs if u dont have a gynae letter.

I also v gian of travelling again but i think i want to til my girl is 1 plus. Easier to handle her then if she could take cereals and dont have to bring sterilisers etc. Prob to Australia next yr. keeping my fingers crossed

serene,
me too thot of going for a nite stay at local hotel... like rasa sentosa but supppose it can be quite ex hor.

allo

wahh.. now all gian go holidays..haha. my hubby goin to play golf tis sunday in JB.. dun noe wan to tag along not..keke. but tag along also nothin to do. so borin hor.

now i m getting tired liao.. cant really walk much. yest i brought my aussie friends ard.. wah at nite, i can see my feet swell abit during bathin.. mayb walk too much.. keke.

Mayb it's nice to check into a local hotel, enjoy the spa n food..LOL they sure got alot of promo rite.

oki,

Yes Rasa quite ex. Sometimes think about it, on practical sake, better save up the $ and stay home since will be spending big $ soon!

Dor,
u mean we still can enjoy spa meh.. keke !! i realised if we walked too much, we legs tend to swell alot hor. so better dont walk so much loh

okipoki,

Hmm, the fortune teller say my bb cannot go travel in her first 3 yrs heeee.. so this is also another excuse for us to go "er ren shi jie" :p

serene,
In Dec, the sea quite rough leh... Baby can take it on the boat or not? Or maybe baby sleep all the way in the rocking boat...
hmm... Conrad's buffet ah... Do you know what do they serve? Any theme?

spicegal,
Ya hor.. gotta consider the availability of clean water...

Dor,
Just go over to JB to eat... kekeke...

Is the Vesak weekend mother's day?