(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk,

i thought its common for bfg bb to poo more ... so no worries.. its normal. The bm is easily digestable by bb thus they tends to output more lor and less strain on their digestive system.

josephine,

ya tmc gives out glass bottles.. u can request for more when discharge if u need more. They gave me 6 glass bottles during my discharge on top of 3 glass bottles of unopened enfalac A+ for my son. ya no caps for the glass bottles so gotta buy if u wanna use to contain your bm.

re: tmc bill for 1 bedder

in fact we only paid few hundred dollars upon discharge after 2 nite stay at tmc for normal delivery without assistance/epidural last year. It came out to 1k+ cos we paid some outstanding gynae delivery charges on top of that few hundred. But generally it will be 1k+ lah

serene,

no no ... dun let newborn bb wear cheaper disposable diapers lah .. so poor thing! Wear pampers premium better! the poo from bm are wetter... thus very easy for bb to kena nappy rash.... also must remember to put nappy cream... kena nappy rash is very painful and no joke especially for newborn.... u will be so heartpain!

my son only use pampers premium for the first 2 months of his life... give me better peace of mind knowing its cotton and more breathable. Cant use cloth diaper cos we change a lot .. will add to the household chore to wash unless got maid

btw, TMC got all kinds of FM for baby lah... when u gave birth... they will ask u which FM u wanna give to bb... I choose enfalacA+.

tinklebell,

if not enough 1 bedder, think they will give u a 2 bedder room... and the other bed wont be occupied.. happened to one of my hb's fren.

me using starhub maxonline to surf... we got a few computers at home so me and hb surf our own stuff.... can play network games mah...

kk, even though i am still in IT, but me too a nerd ok! even though I was a network engineer years ago... nowadays i dun keep up with these stuff liao ... so gotta depends on my hb to do up the connection etc too...

Celeste,

Yea, her kicks are very weird these days too ... at times, it feels like powerful punches, at other times, it seems to me that she is 'drawing'

tinklebell,

i wonder why guys are so obsessed with car forum! My hb too!!! he keep reading the same car forum dunno for wat!

I did the same lah... most of the time after my son goes to sleep, my hb will finish the housework and surf his car forum... while i will be surfing motherhood forum or doing flashcards hehee

poohy, my hub doesnt just talk online, he even goes down for their meet ups!!! i went with him on sat to kallang...so hot! and those guys there just talk and talk non stop abt their cars!!! luckily there is MacDonald's there... brought my son to the playground to play instead.

Tinklebell,

Didn't know guys can also be addicted to forums! Haha.. looks like they are as ba gua as we ladies heee..

Poohy,

ya lor, then the bb poo poo so much and makes my mil so busy haha..

Yah rite, i won't save on diapers too! After listening to my colleague's story, i rather spend more money than to spend the money on bb's medical fees. Plus heartpain as well

That's the problem of being in the IT line. Got to constantly upgrade ourselves. That's why i choose to quit early haha..

tinklebell,

So far my hubby still mentally sound haha.. he is not crazy over cars despite having our own car lately. I hope *cross fingers* he won't develop that degree of interest like ur hubby do! Hee..

hi oki and tinklebell,
my gynae oso asked if i want to keep my placenta. apparently he said that some patients actually asked him to return the placenta so that they can cook and eat.. eerks.. they said that it's full of collagen which is go for complexion and women's hormones. not sure how true it is. BUT sorry not for me..

hi paula,
i'll be delivering at kkh too..
u r not the only one. I hv opted for 1 bedder but that's bcos i'm working in the healthcare and my medical expenses are all covered.

kk, i think he not yet reached that stage or havent discovered the correct website yet. Hahaha! Just recently, he told me maybe we should go to BKK to buy car parts since it is much cheaper there.

hi paula,
kkh not so bad lah - attended the antenatal classes and apparently the nurses are pro-bf! they encourage bf. so dun hv to worry.

tinklebell,

hm my hb dun really meet up with the car forum guys ... he spent all his weekend time with me and bb driving us ard... in fact he seldom meet his own friends even.

MOAP:

Yea, I remembered paying S$1800 from my Medisave and am expecting to pay another two to three thousands after giving birth.

Tinklebell,

Im using Starhub at home; 2 laptops and 1 station. Working well for me

Serene,

I brought Sealers and Pampers ... will let the baby wear Sealers in the morning and pampers during bedtime as Pampers is more absordant...

duffybuff, u mean your gynae actually asked u abt it? hmmm.... not something for me ... i cant imagine eating a part that comes fr myself
u fr Singhealth or KKH? The staff benefit is quite good right?

Tinklebell,

I only hated it when my hubby crazy over his soccer. And he will take the remote control and switch to SCV channel 22, 23 and 24. He watch all kinds of sports, except golf and rugby haha.. i asked him what is so good about soccer, all chasing after one ball and same pattern everytime. Yesterday he crazy over table tennis.. was some kind of world cup tournament i think. Then i teased him say big ball watch, small ball also watch, so crazy.

poohy, mine doesnt meet them until recently when started having the idea to decorate his car with body kit etc etc. he meets them up to see how the rest decorate theirs too. Hope sat's meetup will be last cos he more or less decided which body kit to buy.

kk, haha, then i must say luckily mine doesnt like soccer :p dont understand what's so interesting abt many men chasing after 1 ball.

paula,

No i dun think so. He say waste money, somemore he can't keep himself awake to watch at nite :p heeee.. maybe recently he is being drained of too much money liao. Paid so much on bb :p

Tinklebell,

ya lor, then can get so excited over it. Can scream all by himself hahaa.. crazy fellow rite.

hi paula,
ya my gynae asked me if i want to my placenta back. i was shocked when he asked me.. hahaha! then he explained that his patients actually acked him. eerks.. the thot of cooking the placenta irks me.. hee i'm working in singhealth not kkh. ya staff benefits are good here.. i only hv to pay 10% of the entire bill.

tinklebell,

I also heard from friend that if take whole starhub package - internet, phone, tv.. got discount.

I think i paid around $56 for my starhub broadband.

tinklebell,

ya my hb not crazy over sports too... i also dunno why people so crazy over chasing after 1 ball... hmm

tinklebell,
My hb's colleague wife took 1-bedder at TMC. She had natural, not sure with epi or not but her bill came up to bout 2k cash payment even after medisave. Thats y i tink for 1-bedder shld be prepared for at least 2k in cash bah...cos it includes bb's bills also. My gf at GlenE had 2-bedder, natural with epidural think she forked out around $800-$900 in cash after medisave. So I dont think 1-bedder at tMC will be anything below 1k in cash.
Haha...but TMC only got 2 VIP suites rite? How to upgrade? Scarly they downgrade u to 2-bedder but pay 1-bedder price? *lol*

okipoki,
ya...scoopz at parkway parade having offer...$2 per scoop. As for Andersens i not sure izzit only parkway branch having offer or other branches also have
I ate the Macadamia nuts...so yummy! :p

kk,
my hse oledi got network up...having a laptop and a PC although laptop is kinda old..hehe, we use a router to share our scv internet connection :p
my hb so hooked on MapleStory nowadays...he one day dont play his whole body like will "itch"...arrghh, i sometimes feel like "destroying" the PC...*lol*

poohy,
ur hb quite nice....spend more time on u all then on the computer
My hb ah...sometimes i tink during working days he spends more time on his comp games than on me...*sigh*

Thanks for the info Poohy and KK
any idea where to buy caps for glass bottles?
intend to use the glass bottles to keep EBM, that's what my SIL advice.

Celeste, ya lor, just now poohy mentioned that her fren got "downgraded" to a 2-bedder but one bed is left empty.

haha! luckily mine is not addicted to computer games

Looks like Star Hub is more popular hor.

tinklebell,
yuppies...if u subscribe to scv maxonline. The modem u upgrade to the special modem (tink i paid an additional less than $100 for that modem), then u get the residential line free. But one thing is u have to on ur cable modem 24-hrs in order for ur residential phone to work

And yes...if u take scv maxonline + handphone + scv cable tv got discount

moap, i also dont have any pre-admission letter. U due soon right? better ask the nurse abt it. In case u need help, he says call the number on the card. 68931227. If it is office hrs, the nurse will pick up. If it is after office hr, it will be diverted to his HP. There is another emergency no 63335550 but i donno who it will be diverted to.

moap..

alamak.. talk abt cake... me these few months keep wanting to eat my favourite butter cream cake (those small pieces for 50-60 cents) found in neighbourhood confectionary type? When we were young, these cakes are the in thing. I love them so much.... i eat at least 2 piece a day... i think tats how my bb grow heavier than my boy now.. at the same gestation week
sinful cake cos butter cream are v v fattening.

Tinkle,

Im paying S$60++ for Starhub broadband.

KK,

Haha, I was telling my hubby that he can go ahead to sign up for the package then he could babysit baby at night! Haha.

Duffy,

Hehe, my gynae at KKH is John Tee. He didnt ask me that question but I know I will give him a weird look if he ever asked me I heard some Hollywood actors does eat placenta because they believe in the benefits.

BTW, what does SIL stands for?

Poohy,

u make me think of that...aiyo lucky compasspoint got many cake shop... got polar which selling the butter cake also...kekek

tinklebell,

i also don no when i will due leh..for my first gal i only gave birth in week 39..so i oso don no when my second gal cummin out.Maybe early coz i heard second bb will be early.

re: glass bottle cap

think last time i heard the mt alvernia hospital pharmacy sells the cap for the glass bottles given free. But the cap should be just normal standard bottle cap... can get from kiddy palace also...i go look ard kiddy palace this week to see if they sell

moap, hmmm .... Adrian didnt say if he will induce u earlier? cos u keep having contractions right? maybe u can check with him what is his plan. at least u can be mentally prepared.

Thanks! Guess all babies are cute. Soon we will be able to see other mummies' babies' pics

RE : Glass bottle cap
I took many glass bottles from Mt. A, more than 30 I think. We bought the caps which comes in pink and blue from e pharmacy @ Mt.A, about 70 cents each.

Let me know if kiddy palace is selling as I did not manage to find there.

poohy, kk, paula,

How about drypers brand? I bought drypers and pampers premier. Intend to let baby wear drypers in daytime and pamper in night time. Drypers 1/2 the price of pampers.

kk,

Wow your 3.5k cash hasn't include doctor's c-sect fee ah? wow total 4.5k is very expensive hor???

poohy,
Thanks for sharing with me your hospital bill...hmm, less than 2k cash is cheap. but again, no one can predict n know what will be our individual case... If only normal delivery with no other incidential charges...

peng, yes, i hired a maid. you will need 3 weeks from time of selection to get the maid. my maid will arrive 13th May. looking forward. you can contact my agent Lucilla, Net Resources, B1-28 PP Centre. So far, she is the best - no agency fee. free replacement for 2 years, and she has been very helpful in helping me screen the maids.

poohy,

Enfalac A+ is good huh? Frankly, i also dunno which brand is good. My gf who gave birth at Gleneagles, the PD recommend Friso, she just take.

tinklebell,

yah he did say that lah...maybe i check with him tonite..but my hubby wan bb to choose her own time to cum out.recently my contraction oni cum in the nite time when i resting on the bed. i have stop taking the med aready...

What lau for the last few week i can't sleep well and felt breathless...heng ah all this goin to be over in few weeks times.

MOAP,

Excited for you! Do share with us your experience okay... Btw, are you going for normal delivery...Adrian says ok? For me, Adrian says got to wait till about 36th week onwards to decide/confirm on delivery option.

serene,

is friso a soy based milk ? I am not so sure about other brands of FM... cos my son only takes enfalacA+ all the way. I din bother to research other brand since all my doctors said enfalacA+ good. Hm but there are some controversy over the use of soy based milk... so if friso is soy based, then maybe u wanna do some research on it and make an informed decision before using it

wah thread moves fast.

kk, BM baby poo is different from FM baby poo. Normal to have bit by bit, and frequent, cos BM easier to digest and eliminate. Also the reason why BM bb feed more frequently than FM bbs. I recall my gal was pooing almost as often as she was feeding.

placenta, hmm I think I'd only dare if it's untainted. But I'd probably be pumped with painkillers and what not, I don't think safe to consume with so many drugs.

poohy

I didn't do any research on formula milk too. My gf didn't say that friso is soy based leh. Is just recommended by the hospital upon her discharge. I think during the hospital stay, our babies will be fed on formula also yah. So maybe if he's used to that brand, i will just follow the same.

EBM
At Mount A, they will provide the hospital-grade pump, sterilised cup. Normally we do hand expression for the first time to collect the colostrum since very little only. I used the hospital pump one day later.

Hi kk
For BF babies, they poo an average of 8 times, more than FM. How much are you feeding ya gal now?

re. placenta

Gals, i was telling my hubby that the placenta looks so awful, disgusting and scary to me! maybe i won't dare to see during delivery.... but hubby says placenta is very 'wei da' tissue or something...err

serene,

hmm ic... soy based milk are normally fed because bb are lactose intolerant i think. i am not vv sure but i read some articles saying soy based milk may have hormonal effect if used long term ... so just make sure lor
better to make informed decision mah.

hi okipoki
I have to measure my baby's temperature about 8 times daily before she has her milk as she cannot regulate her temperature well like full term babies. So most times I wrap her up like "ba chang" so that she is warmer