(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Amy,

Oh yes, do pack bra pads to the hospital. My colostrum already flowing on second day, and very heavy too. Initially i didn't know and didn't put, next morning i wake up my pyjamas all wet heee..

tinklebell,

Yup, they use loop maternity pad in TMC.

But can we use adhesive type? If natural, stitches will be there. And if c sec, will have catherer on. So i believe loop pad is more convenient.

Ya lor, loop type pad if give way, very chiam. adhesive can stick properly and won't give way.

kk, oic, so if i dont want to use loop pad, i have to bring my own. But each loop pad is very narrow right? i dont like it cos it is not broad and tend to stain the clothings.
ur milk supply comes quite fast hor. previously i didnt have any until 3rd or 4th day.
They provide bb diapers? i havent bought any for bb yet.

Hmmm, can't remember.. think it is narrow.. and they actually tie two together to make longer :p

Aiyoh, i still remember when i woke up to walk for the first time, blood flow profusely and i stain the whole floor :p

Yes, they use pampers premium for New Born
I brought the leftovers back but last only for 2 days only heee.. now we are not using nappies, we are using all pampers premium diapers.

Hi Paula,
yeah Aprica is cool but the price is also very cool! hehehee

Hi Josephine,
Baby Hypermart is offering the standard S$490, I've checked with them before. Cheong Choon Store is offering better.

Paula,
sounds gd
And at $128 seems like a gd bargain, the one that me and hb saw at bb hyperstore is around $299 if we didnt remember wrongly.

amy,
must air the cot one ah? Hmmzz, but me wont really be airing it, cos i will bring the cot directly to my new hse and not staying there yet, so not opening the windows to air.
As for nursing bras, i thought Mrs Wong said dont buy before u deliver...buy only after u have delivered? Cos by then ur BM comes in and u can get the correct fitting?

kk,
ya lor....tats y me only left the cot to buy, carseat might buy later and still got nursing bras. Btw, heard that Carrefour got not bad nursing bras and quite reasonable pricing...thinking of going there to take a look

tinklebell,
I checked this morning liowz...$ in...but so little

celeste blur,

haha, my hubby returned the bb monitor to kiddy palace and exchange for a car seat and $80 vouchers. So we finally have the car seat liao

Ya ya, the part on nursing bras is very true. u find ur bras all seem to be tight liao! Because the breasts will grow bigger due to engorgement and they are as hard as rock when that happens!

But actually, after delivery, also no need to buy nursing bras. If u are going to do BF in the bedroom, u can remove all clothes mah
In ur own privacy

Hello gals...
Wow... I got so much to catch up.. I went to my neighbour's house to see see the Aprica they got.. kekeke... and also chat chat a bit

Kite,
Wah.. you measure and jot down weekly ah... I think maybe it's baby squeezing some blood vessels or nerves that cause the V pain ba...
I also dunno if my baby turned down. Has been telling him to turn by next week for the past few days. Yesterday, he has been making lots and lots of movements inside... lol...

kk,
My tummy has been looking bigger at the bottom...
Wow... you got lots of breastmilk...

Hi poohy,
I did considered Quinny Zapp, but I can't lift it up, so gave up the idea...
It indeed looks very nice... Can your boy still fit into combi NU500 now?
What about Peg Perego? They looked spacious. They have a very light one, but still 1.5 times more heavy than Aprica...

Tinklebell,
Yalor... Gotta cherish the final few weeks of watermelon... I think I might miss it after baby comes out and all the kicks and hiccups... Dunno how's the feeling going to be like hor?
Where to get the lobang for trial formula milk? Can share share?

Celeste blur,
The airpot will reboil automatically when the temperature goes below the set temperature. These airpot runs using a thermostat.

Hi Mspiggy,
Are you getting the Classico? P3 got two models... Peg Perego looks sturdy, spacious and nice... I quite like the design... Where will you be buying P3 from? Cheong Choon seems to be the cheapest around... But Aprica gotta order in advance... I am eyeing on Aprica for it's light weight...

kk,
hahahaha... My hubby told me he will help me to hold the milk bottle on the other side... lol...

Aiyoh Lyn, that's what my hubby did lor hahaha.. hold milk bottle for me at the other side. Or, i will hold myself and he do massaging for me hahaha.. he better than me lah, because he use strength to massage, so more milk flow out :p

My hubby very chiam leh. Got to wake up in the middle of the nite to pump with me haha.. it was like 2-3 times in one nite.

kk,

think its the norm for them to massage like dat for engorgement... always bring tears wan... hehee.. i too got slight engorgement and i slowly massage with hot towel.. cos too painful i cannot tahan.

paula,

me pain also can continue shopping wan. i am in week33-34 now liao still rushing to sale everywhere
So fun... I bought lots of toys for my son. Last preg, i shop like crazy till the day before i gave birth... my cousins said becoming a mummy makes me an auntie liao rushing around sales to buy toys.

tinklebell,

ya FM soooooo exp these days
especially that enfalac A+ ... so exp and suddenly increase their price so drastically.... i am still searching for a good medicine hall which sell much cheaper than ntuc.

in tMC, when they help u with latching on, they will be there to watch or help u... so cannot be shy hehee.
i experienced the same thing like kk... they come in throughout the nite a few time to take temperature, and stuff...

Hi Lyn,
Yeah should be getting the classico P3... you're right Cheong Choon is the cheapest. I've checked with Cheong Choon, the stock will arrive in June. Hence just in time for us becoz 1st mth dont think will go often.

Aprica is very cool but very expensive too. I told my hubby if we strike TOTO then will get Aprica... hahahahaa

poohy,

I can't remember how much enfalac is selling at ntuc.. before discharge, i tell hubby we bette get one tin to backup, just in case i dun have enough BM to satisfy bb's hunger. So he bought from TMC pharmacy. Everything so expensive there. One tin cost $31. I think more expensive than ntuc.

And yesterday brought bb back for follow up. Then bb wipes running out, i see bb wipes in the pharmacy, ask hubby to buy. No price tag. Then it cost around $12. I dun remember bb wipes so expensive leh heeeee..

kk,

ya everything is soooooooooo expensive! enfalac A+ in ntuc if i din remember wrongly cost $31.90. I bought from medicine hall cos normally cheaper... and that is abt $31 too. I heard some medicine hall sell at $27-29... must go search ard.. cos i buy in bulk... else keep running out. my boy drink at least 1 tin a week!

For bb wipes, I uses johnson bb wipes... very exp too so i also wait till some sale to buy in bulk

kk,
baby monitor no use one? Haha, me not buying car-seat yet cos waiting to see if can manage to get any hand-me-downs boh...:p...and moreover bb during first 2 mths i prob wont let her sit inside car seat also bah

Btw, the TMC pharmacy so exp ah? Didnt noe tat...I was still tinking of getting the bb bath lotion from there.

poohy,
I still waiting for my Similac sample tin of 400grams to be sent to me. Waited so long liowz...tat time filled in the request for sample tin like 5 weeks ago...till now havent come

poohy,

wahh, ur boy drink so much?? Or the older they gets, the more they drink? heee.. cos i heard bb can drink 1 tin in 2 weeks. Now at least i have BM to express to supplement, next time then see how hahaha..

I have been using pigeon wipes. So far so good.

celeste blur,

Dunno leh, the monitor we bought a lot of interference.. then pick up other pple's conversation.. end up so noisy at nite. And worse still, when bb cries, hubby never wake up!!! Then i tell him forget it hahaha..

We checked liao.. no hands me down for car seat
That's why we buy lor.

i think the things at TMC pharmacy very expensive! i suspect the tummy binder i bought also more expensive than outside heee..

lyn,
I hv been to cheong choon bought bb mattress for both cot & playpen. Also a bouncer for baby... so far I saw alot of ppl went there for stroller. However, the variety in her shops (0ther than strollers) are not much mah so thot probably BB Hypermart/Kingdom got more to see.

okipoki,
it's better to go for hypermart than bb kingdom.. understand that some of the pdts/ brands at kingdom do not hv warranty coverage. And realise that hypermart is more open for price nego.

i bought the peg stroller and baby cot there.

duffybuff,
thanks... probably will drop by next week after work to hv a look. actually they are located very near to my office

kk,

ya as they grow they drink more. My boy used to drink 1 tin a month when he was younger. Nowadays he drink a lot... plus we throw a lot away too!!!! Sometimes we make the milk and he cant finish it, then gotta throw cos i wont let him drink left over milk...

celeste,

No leh, the woman is a chinese. Can always see her on tv one. Last time she was the judge for the super host contest.

Re: Cordlife
kite, I thought the $300-600 transportation fees is only for those delivering outside of Singapore. My bb has already turned downwards and YC says unlikely to turn back up. I was also 41kg when i got married, ~43kg when i checked at 5weeks pregnancy and now abt 50kg at 28weeks. Think my tummy is abt 33 inches. YC says bb size now is just nice for petite mummy.

tinklebell, did u attend the talk on 19 April as well? Cos I overheard a couple asking abt why 21 years, so thought it may be u...

I remembered from the talk that the Lab Mgr mentioned that the more blood there is, the greater the chance of success if it needs to be used. That's why it is perhaps better to use on a child (smaller mass) than on an adult. Btw, I saw on TV that in the month of May, Ch 8 is running a series of documentary. Think there is one on cordblood blanking (Thurs 8.30pm).

Re: Ikea furniture
Just a word of caution: I had a bad experience with their shelving unit. One of the bookshelves collapsed barely 3 months after installation. My contractor says they use mainly compressed wood (rojak wood). So to be safe, better check on the materials used before purchasing.

Mummies, hee hee ... use BM lah ... can save $$.

Lyn, right now we dont have samples for infant formula. Clinics are not recommended to promote it anyway. The price for IF fr the suppliers are not much lower than retail. But for subsequent stage FM, hub get to buy them slightly cheaper. I don't want to promote any form of formula milk sales here lah... if u r interested later on, PM me lor.

poohy, my son also drinks milk like drinking water. we finish 1 900g tin of Gain IQ in less than 10 days!

celeste, Abbott will not send u so quickly one. The nutritionist will note your EDD and i think they will call u for a chat before they actually send down the sample.

KK,

Hehe, thats a funny sight to behold pumping one side and collecting one side. Like water rationing itll be my turn soon! Im not too sure how much does the dual pumps cost but am thinking of checking it out at Causeway Metro after work today. Will keep you ladies updated.

Do keep us posted on the quality of My Treasurebox items, okay?

Thanks for the tips of Bpads Pigeon here I come

You may want to call up BB Kingdom and purchase the BB wipes in bulk? They do home delivery and I believe if you were to purchase in bulk, you are able to get a better deal?

How much did you pay for the baby monitor?

Amy,

Nothing is for sure :) I have been studying the trend of mummies popping seems like mummies are popping out two to three weeks earlier than the EDD so be prepared for the surprise!

Okipoki,

Personally, I prefer the services from BB Kingdom

Poohy,

Enfalac is selling at S$31 whereas Similac is selling at S$29. These two brands seem to be highly recommended.

tinklebell,

they dun encourage promotion of infant formula these days.... my family doc also offered to buy the subsequent stage FM for us .. should be cheaper i think... but i am still trying to switch my son from enfalacA+ to enfaproA+ with no big success

poohy, Enfapro A+, isit the one with the the different flavour? My son used to take that too but he didnt like that and always cannot finish his milk. Then we switched to Gain IQ and he had been drinking a lot since then. So, still sticking to that lor.

Paula,

Well, i call it milk rationing haha.. every drop is precious! They should do a campaign for BF and then use this as slogan HAHA!

Yah sure, so far i correspond with treasurebox via email and the service sounds ok

BB Kingdom do delivery for wipes?? Then i think have to buy a lot from them leh! Haha! But then i dun wanna stock up too many also. I want "fresh" ones heee..

BB monitor is around $170 i think. I think no need to get bb monitor now. When u really think u need it, then buy

Me too.. love the services from BB KIngdom
So i bought all my bb stuff from there

Oh ya ladies. the fortune teller got back to us last evening. And the cost is $88.

He come out with a list of names. We settled with Liaw Yu2 Jun1

He say my bb girl, in her first three years, cannot go to temples and no swimming too.

KK,

Being a woman not easy hor?

Yes, they do delivery and they did ask me to call them if I am stocking up washing detergent or any baby items ... you may mix and match your selection ... Pigeon baby wipes can last for 3 years ...

Paula,

Haha, i always told my hubby why not we switch roles. Put the bb inside him and he go deliver. But obviously my hubby very stressed when i was in labour. I think not easy on the men too
I feel so much better with him around these few days. Bored when he go back to work today!!!

How good if bb kingdom have online website where we can do online shopping!!

tinklebell,

not sure what flavour is enfaproA+ leh ... its the stage 2 of enfa series. My boy dun like the taste... and if i put in 1 entire feed of enfaproA+ for him, he dun drink at all. Very jialat... 1 month already and only managed to mix in 1 oz in 1 feed then he drink. increase to 2 oz, he dun want liao.... so picky (like me !). Is gainIQ good ??? heard a lot of abt it leh... if really bo bian i may switch to gainIQ ... but dunno whether its good or not... cos I am afraid if he keeps drinking enfalacA+.. may not get enough nutrient needed for his age group... cos the infant formula is for newborn to 12month... he 13month liao :p

poohy, why dont u buy the small 400g can to try first. Or get samples from Abbott. I also have Gain IQ samples at home. If u want i can send some to u too. Actually, it is ok to drink IF all the way. my nephew is allergic to goat, cow and soya milk so there is this special infant formula wh they import fr Holland. He is now 5 plus and still drinking IF. Super big sized boy. Only thing is that IF is very expensive.

kk, which Yu2 is your dd's name? wow! so many rules? cannot go swimming and temple? why temple also cannot?
haha! i wish i have a name wh bans me from work.... .kekeke ... :p

tinklebell,

Yu2 is the Yu2 in "Zhong1 Yu2" (finally).

Jun1 is the Jun1 in "Qian1 Jun1 Yi4 Fa1".

Oh, sometimes if bb go a certain place, after coming back, the bb will show very weird behaviour, like crying non stop for no reason and look panicky etc etc.. hokkien say "man zang".

tinklebell,

wow i dinnno that its ok to drink infant formula all the way leh... means my son can drink enfalacA+ all the way ah... hmm maybe i shd just stick to enfalacA+ and save myself the headache of switching to stage 2 and subsequent... but your nephew drinking a specially imported one leh... i dunno whether it applies to enfalacA+ too... maybe i shd ask the PD when i see him for my boy's 15month assessment.

Wow so many postings! Can't catch up liao!

Celeste,
I've heard many ppl says that water left in pot for too long is no good so i gave my new one away. My mum also stop using the reboil type airport.

Serene,

Hmmm, i think there are around 7 names, including this one.

We gave him a few, but he say no good, so he generated these 7. But they do sound around the same, just that characters different.

I told hubby shouldn't have given him our list because that stifles his creativity hahaha..

kk,
I agreed with what u say. Should wait till he gave us his list 1st, then if nothing to choose from, we then gave him our list....

Just now, one of my girlfriend just told me there's a 15%-20% sales in Seiyu now, she told me alot of infant clothes at attractive price, good buys!