(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Jo, no not opened. i arranged with their rep to go down privately. i will sms u her contact details. $100 is a one time discount. can be used to offset the next annual fee. We will most likely go down late morning though havent fixed the exact timing. u want join us?

poohy, scientific reason... cant rem why now.

Celeste,
I heard water left too long inside the airport also no good. Maybe left it 1 day is fine, after then just transfer the water to tupper ware or throw it away...

hidora,
I think it was reported in the news yesterday that if u dont receive the poll card by 2nd of May 2006, then u must call a number they indicated to report

Haizz...me no chance to vote this time round...under Hong Kah GRC bo competitors lehz...last time was under Jalan Besar GRC and i managed to vote once before...*lol*

poohy,

i use batteries, i dun use electricity supply heeee.. i want the mobility, then i can shift here shift there :p

Oh yes, if the batteries very strong, the grass cutting sound very loud haha.. if the sound softens, meaning batteries running out liao :p

Tinklebell,

yes, the elephant brand is very good
And expensive too heee..

Me using an electric hotpot at home too. It is for the convenience

Paula,

I heard from colleague metro having sales now on medela pump. Single pump $200 comes with free gifts like 4 feeding bottles and cooler bag. Check it out

I was using an electric kettle when we first got married.. find it very siong.. boil and boil water because my hubby drinks a lot of water! So luckily we got a free electric pot as housewarming gift from mil's friend so we are using that until now

For now, i am no longer using any nursing bras already because i am not direcly latching on the bb. I wear normal bras. But these few days i learn something.. to wear bras which are super soft!! Dun wear those hard fabric ones. It hurts when engorgement comes. Or rather, it causes engorgement to come!

Poohy,

My mum also believe that reheating water is no good. because the minerals or whatever in the water will be reboiled and reboiled. They say toxic heee..

tinklebell,

u r very rite!!!! Must cherish the watermelon.. when I just gave birth to my boy hor.. i tell u i wish i can have another bb right away... i dunno why i miss having my boy in my tummy leh!

ya me still very agile... can do anything. never need my hb to do anything for me... same for prev pregnancy...maybe becos my tummy not big lah... how tall r u ?? I am 1.56m not tall too i think.

so the airpot will keep reboiling ah... alamak... i been using it all along and dunno leh

Serene,
really? I still tot cos its left at 95degrees temperature it shld be fine. We normally finish the 5-litre airpot of water within 2 days one. Becos for my airport i can select to keep the temperature at 95 degrees throughout

kk:
y need to stock up batteries? u can buy those rechargeable batteries mah, save $. Also at home no need use batteries, use electricity better.

Tinklebell:
well, hard to say cordlife or stemcord is gd. Btw cordblood can be used for silbings, how about use for parents? Also i heard the maximum age to use cordblood is til 21yrs old, else after 21yrs old, the cordblood wont hv much effect liao, not so sure on tis. think there is a limit of period. The best thing is this cordblood focus more on newborns or young babies if really need it.

celeste,

If can I dun want to vote lah... lazy to go out..

I thought Sembawang GRC always walk over one. So I nv go read any news on the elections.. I dun even know whose's competing against who until I checked another forum..

By 2nd May ah, okok, will keep a look out for it. ;p Thanks!

Poohy,

Where are u giving birth? TMC very pro towards bf... i hate it too when i was there!! I complained to my hubby i already feel so painful in my csec wound, yet there was this senior midwife that keeps pushing in my bb girl for me to bf!! And if i say "feed her FM", she look at me and make me so guilty!! It is like not bf is a sin! So i feel so stressed during my stay there haha..

Once i get home, i dun latch on anymore. I just express everyday now. More relaxed and bb get all the nutrients she need from my expressed milk.

I agree latching on will build up the bond. But then i also truely believe that without latching on, doesn't mean bb will not be close to me in the future. Our mums were not really into BF, but my relationship with my mum is so good heee..

celeste,

u still managed to vote once. I never vote before
The whole family only me never vote before. Cos when I changed my name to my new addr, my GRC got walkover last round, then my mum address got voting... my hb havent change his addr, so he also got to vote. I wish I can vote...

Morning ladies!!!

RE: V pain
I dont experience V pain but I can feel the "stress" on my V and feel it's like stretched. I checked with Gynae during my last checkup, she said body is preparing for the big day hence it's normal.

RE: stroller
anyone getting Peg Perego? I quite like P3, more or less decided to get it.

Poohy,

I would say my bb girl doing very well right from the start of bf.. but it is really really painful when she was really hungry and she sucked hard!

hidora,
hehe...true that lazy to go voting...but its fun seeing those pickups going around with the candidates on it waving hands...jin cute one...

poohy,
hehe....Jalan Besar GRC always got competitors one...so if u stay there u always get a chance to vote...*lol*...i still remember the previous election round i stand at the window looking at those pickups going round the neighbourhood...quite interesting...but i never went to listen to any rally before, mabbe this time round shld go other neighbourhood and listen..cos CCK there got competitor and they got rallies near my hse...*lol*
Actually sometimes i wonder how they draw up those GRC constituency thingy...i stay at CCK but i am under Hong Kah and not CCK....hmmm

Re: Buying baby cot
Anyone of u all think its pantang to get bb cot early? I am coming to 33 weeks soon, thinking if i shld buy the bb cot already...
....and i heard ppl say can buy the bb cot but dont setup the bb cot yet?

kk,

totally agree with u! I am very stressed when I was in TMC too... they make me feel guilty if i dun latch bb on and bfg... when i say i wanna express, they ask me why like cannot like dat. I think this time I must be more affirmative... afterall, its my life, my bb, my choice. I will either express or give FM. wont wanna stress myself over nothihg. Besides I want my boy to stay over in the hospital with us too... cos i want the whole family including the bb to be together right from the start. So I wont appreciate having additional stress from external parties hehee.

i agreed with u over the bonding part. My mum never bfg us a single time and we are very very close to each other. By feeding bb with a bottle ... the bb will know that we are the one feeding and caring for them every day ... the bond will grow and will be there too... else everyone no bonding with daddy liao cos daddy sure cannot latch on haha

I am not hard on myself when it comes to bfg... thus i only bfg 1 month plus only... and my boy is v v healthy. He does not fall sick easily and no major sick episode for the past 1 year. And I had been bringing him to shopping and everywhere right from 4 days old. Including going hospital high dependency isolation wards everyday when my grandpa was v sick. I was telling my hb... maybe its because he is exposed to a certain amt of bacteria etc since young, his immunity also higher.

celeste,

Haha, ya lor. That pick up just went pass. Saw the female lawyer who always appear on tv waving her hand vigorously.

poohy, ya lor, i heard that it can be toxic to drink reboiled water. So hubby banned me fr using. Anyway, it uses a lot of electricity.

Celeste, wow ! what a BIG airport u have!!!! 5Ltrs??? Can keep warm for 2 days meh? normally i will pour the water out after 1 day and add in new hot water. If u put it at 95deg, it means that if temp is abv 95 deg, pot doesnt boil. Once it falls below, the pot will reboil til it reaches 95 deg. So, the process keeps continuing. When it is boiling, some pots have an indicator and the "reboiling" sign will light up.

Hi celeste blur,
I've already ordered a baby cot, will delivered in mid May and they will assembly for me. If we dont setup early then how to prepare the beddings for baby? We might be too tired later on.

celeste,

never heard of this pantang leh. hehee... anyway i bought my cot real early both time. They set it up right away when they deliver. This time, the new cot has been taken up by my boy and is on the right side of my bed. the older cot is on my left now ... waiting for my bb girl

hidora,
izzt the PAP new lady candidate the one wearing spectacles? Think its an indian lady?

tinklebell,
haha...that time when we bought the airpot hb was kiasu, he say buy 5-ltrs one better cos next time got bb if need hot water can use...dont have to keep refilling...*lol*
Ohhzz....i didnt know the airpot works this way...i still thought its like first time it boils till water boils then the heating element inside the airpot will still be on to maintain the temperature consistently at 95 degrees......i think i better go check the manual liowz...
..becos so far i havent seen the indicator "reboiling" lighted up before...thanx for ur advice

mispiggy,
I was thinking of buying when i am around week 36....haha...but i also worried what if bb decides to pop during week 36 although *touch wood* lah...hopefully she comes out after week 37
But if buy too late like no time to setup bb cot hor....hmmm

kite,
i was also wondering why the companies mention 21 years old so i asked the rep. she says that when they mention 21 years old, it is for legal purposes. Abv 21, the kids r legally no longer kids. So, they have to re-sign a new agreement as what was signed by their parents previously r no longer valid.

Celeste, ya ...me also wonder how they draw the boundary. I stay at Bukit Panjang and now my dad tells me that we dont have to vote cos we dont belong to Bukit Panjang but Holland-Bukit Timah. Confusing. Anyway, cant be bothered cos i dont think it's going to have any big impact in my life.

kk/ poohy, u mean the nurses r so intrusive? i better keep them out of my boundaries. can lock the door or not?

celeste blur,

Should buy the cot liao
Ask for later delivery if want to

My hubby set up the playpen for bb around 1 week before she is borned.

Poohy,

I agree with u!! haha, looks like those mummies who are determined on BF will scold us liao :p

Right from the start, i tell my hubby i am not going to stress on the BM part. If i have milk, i will be happy. But if not, then FM to bb haha.. no need to feel so disappointed or sad over it. We must feel happy at this moment! No need to feel stressed over so many things ya?

And due to work environment and commitment, i can only feed BM to the most 3 mths. So based on that, i won't be too hard on myself.

My cousins' children are all very healthy although not drinking BM for long. Another cousin of mine has been BF for 2 yrs and her son is very weak! I presume that subsequent feeding of kids are important. What we feed them does matter, not solely dependable on BM only.

tinklebell..

hehe so funny u wanna lock the door... but they would need to come round to do routine stuff leh... i also dunno can lock the door or not .. hehe... i wish can!!!!
I guess they are just very very pro bfg lor... if u r those really wanna bfg hor.... u will love them.. i mean they will help u..

tinklebell,

i think the door cannot be locked leh hahahahaa.. they come in and out... and i can't sleep well those nites also, because the nurses come in and out to take pressure, take temperature, etc etc.

poohy,

so for me, i find the senior midwife very irritating!

And u know what happen? She realise i got engorgement on the morning before i get discharged. Wah, she massage my breasts until so PAINFUL!!!!!!!! I tell my hubby she crazy, not her breasts she anyhow massage until like tat HAHA!

KK,

Thanks! Does your normal bra come with wires? I was told that we should not wear wired bras during confinement period due to engorgement and we should start wearing them when engorgement is gone

Would you advise us to get single or dual pumps? Hehe, you could play the role of an advisor to us now that you have given birth. Tried and tested. Haha. :)

Have you decided on Choe or Sweet Surprise yet?

Poohy,

Im around your height was very agile and flying around till week 33 thats when I felt that my stamina is not as good as before, my legs are giving ways and fatigue is eating into me if I over exhaust myself enjoy while you can! :)

MsPiggy,

PregPrego is really heavy lei

Celeste,

My baby cot is ready and all set up. Haha.

For those who are planning c-section, my friend advised me to alert the nurses in the hospital that we would like our baby to go on mixed (BF and Forumla) so that they wont push the baby to us for BF every few hours

Poohy, i would welcome them to help me but not to the extent of being intrusive lor. I'm very scared of pp forcing me to do this and that when i cannot. :p anyway, the scenerio is opposite of what i experienced in NUH. haha! last time wanted the nurses to help me with BF'g but not much help.

Aiya, bf'g can save $ mah. Nowadays, formula milk so expensive... ard $30 per can right? So many brands in the market. Just yesterday, one co offered to give us 12 cans for trial when i give birth. We also cant decide wh one to use cos everyone claims they r good in some way.

tinklebell,
dont have to vote then can sleep in on saturday and still get a credit off-in-lieu! Gd mah...hehe

For locking of the ward door..haha...mabbe u bring a "Do Not Disturb" sign and hang it at the door? *lol*...mabbe can lehz :p

kk,
me and hb thinking of bringing back the cot ourselves and assemble ourselves...cos its cheaper if we dont use their delivery...:p...tat time i bought our stroller we also brought back ourselves, i tink managed to save $16 or something like tat...hehe...mabbe i juz go and buy liowz...but dont assemble yet

Paula,
Wow...tink i better go get my bb cot liowz
I wanna finish preparing all the stuffs b4 36 weeks

kk, u mean she massaged your "B"???? argghhh shy lah... i dont think i want her to do that to mine

Why need to take temp so often? u got fever is it? but in NUH, i know they wake u up super early ...like 6 plus in the morning cos they have to prepare for the doctors' ward rounds

tinklebell,
My Co. have...either a credit off-in-lieu or the following Monday they will declare as non-working day
Cos Saturday supposed to be non-working day and since now is election day and supposed to be a PH so they will compensate for it

Hi Puala,
P3 is abt 7 kg, yeah agree it's heavy but it's also very steady and spacious.

I saw Combi ones but my baby is only abt 6-7 mth old and feel it's quite crampy for him. So thought of getting those spacious one instead.

Got this e-mail from Mothercare

------
We are pleased to inform you that from Friday 28th April 2006 to Tuesday 2nd May 2006, there will be a discount of 15% on Mothercare fashions, and also buy 2 get 1 free for our toiletries.

Don't miss out on this event, join us at Mothercare and enjoy savings.

The Mothercare Marketing Team

Paula,
the IKEA one convertible to junior bed also?

But the other time i bought a shelving from IKEA the quality not so gd...so donno if their bb cot gd boh....

celeste, me too... got the cot very early. was set up in my nursery long ago. mattress also placed in the cot. i think you should buy your cot soon, else bb no place to sleep. also, you need to air the cot... my cot had the wooden smell... aired for about 2 wks, then the smell disappear. same for the bbsafe mattress, got this latex smell, must air for nearly one month, then the smell disappear.

ms piggy, re: Peg Perego P3, i got that as well as the infant car seat. also got the diaper bag... very cool set, but think can be quite heavy if you dun drive.

Paula,

No no, i dun like bras underwired heee.. and lucky, else the wires will make me very uncomfortable now!

Sigh, yesterday i was saying my engorgement phase over. After that came back again and it was so bad! I think i did not give enough time for all milk to be drained. This morning i really sit down and devoted 15 min to each side, after that feel so comfortable and able to express that much

How much does a dual pump cost actually? Actually may be good to get dual pump. Because if one side starts to milk, the other side starts to drip! U know the funny thing i do now is i pump one side, and i will hold a milk bottle under the other one. My hubby say dun waste hahahaa... and u know, by then the milk bottle will hold at least 10 ml when the other side finish pumping :p

Oh, i intend to give chocolates to my colleagues, hubby's colleagues as well as those who attend buffet for first mth celebration. So for my colleagues (80 of them), i need to have a basket to hold them, probably wrapped, like a hamper
As such, i will be ordering from MyTreasureBox instead of sweet surprises. Sweet surprises wanna charge me $1.50 for 1 bar of chocolate. TreasureBox will only charge me $1.20 each. I have yet to confirm the number, so will order from them next week

Yooo, first and second half day the midwives will feed FM, but after that, they come in gajiao me liao!! And non stop somemore. I tell them FM, they look at me ask "Why not BF???" making me so guilty!

Tinklebell,

Wow, why do u have sponsor for ur FM? Heee...
My bb girl now on enfalac A+.

Yah lor, i got fever already while waiting for natural delivery after induced. Then fever still there after c sec. The next day die down, but fever up again. Then take medicine lor.

Ya, she massage breasts lor!! Horrible rite!! Just because i am new mummy, doesn't mean she can do that mah.. so bad. The other midwife is not that pushy like her. She means no harm lah, and trying to be helpful but she should consider our feelings as new mummy too.

celeste blur,

Yah, go and buy the cot now when u still have the energy haha.. when comes nearer to delivery, i dun even have energy to go out shopping. Nowhere interests me.

Celesteblur:
i bought my playpen liao n even assembled once to show my MIL, then after that demantled again n keep it 1 side
Never heard of this pantang thing that u cant buy bbcot/playpen now. must prepare everything in advance mah.

Tinklebell:
yaloh til only 21yrs old. Think after 21yrs consider adult liao plus the cordblood might not be so effective anymore. Which means it cant be used on parents rite since max wght allows 50kg?

Airpot:
last sat, i bought e Toyomi Airport costs $84 that comes with 3 temperatures kind (60/85/95 degree) if i remember. I bought it mainly bcos it has 60 degree for bb's milk.

Hot water flask:
I bought two zojirushi flasks from OG few weeks back. on promotion - only $10 each. also got an aiport from zojirushi - can keep water at 60 degrees. just nice for me. hubby also got an ikea flask - 2 litres, for about $20. i consume alot of water, hence should have enough flasks to hold my longan and red dates tea as well as brown rice water.

anyone packed hosp bag already? me feeling lazy... still need to wash my nursing bras...

i dun think will deliver before week 36 rite?

oh by the way.. another experience of mine.. i brought nursing bras to TMC.. end up during BF, i remove whole bra hahaha.. so i think, nursing bras may not be necessary.. just bring normal soft non-wired bras along.

Oh ya, stock up lots of bra pads!!! i have started on my second box of 48. Need to buy somemore i think.

kk, ya lor... mrs wong also mentioned no need nursing bras.... maybe can use that as normal bras, as the ones i got from triumph are non wired.

do you need to pack bra pads to the hosp?

wow thread moving very fast today! difficult catching up!

Ms piggy: i bought Peg Perego already from Hypermart. but no discount! charged me $490. i also bought cot. They gave me $20 discount on that one.

kk, not sponsor lah... just some milk-reps trying to promote their brand. my hub is a doc so every now and then they call him to chat and promote their product lor. He doesnt want to bring in infant FM but he brings in the milk like pediasure and gain iq. i got a lot of free samples at home and they come in handy esp when we go out during weekends.

my boy was on Enfalac A+. quite good also.

kite, i'm not sure how well it works in adults. so far, havent read anything on that.

kk, were u the one who mentioned that they use kotex loop maternity pad in TMC? Are there alternatives? cos i dont like the loop kind leh.