(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Peng,

It's quite dangerous to travel on 35 weeks. I traveled on week 32 to Hong Kong for biz, by the time when I'm back in Singapore, my legs are swollen due to the cabin pressure ...

wahh 1 week din come up here have difficulty following all your discussions liao.. took so long just to find out what has happened

first of all, must congratulate kk on the birth of your lovely baby gal. gosh she looks like a tiny rose in bloom! feel like giving her lots of huggz and kisses hehe
kao_kiss.gif
oh she resembles both u and your hubby leh... wow u have become a mean milking machine liao huh... makes me want to buy the medela mini electric too, but dunno me as fortunate as u to have no problem with breast milk letting down or not...
btw medela nipple gel is available at bb kingdom. i thought avent nipple gel is better leh... am using it everyday. now 31 weeks liao... getting more and more scared as d day draws nearer... kk, really pei fu u are so calm and cheery thru it all.

girls ! all that talk abt chocolates making me crave too !!!
i actually bought some yesterday but left them in the fridge of my parents place. today, went to pick it up but again left it on the chair when i was wearing my shoes ?!!!
how can i be sooo forgettful ?!?!! *smacks head* heeee

Peng: i dont think u sld travel. used to work in airline, and quite strict on allowing pregnant women after 35 weeks to travel. must consider also that you will be ina foreign land, no doc contact, ebtter not take the risk !

<font color="0000ff">k ong,</font>
your wedding cake also from pine garden! very nice hor! never regret spending the extra $$ to get a real wedding cake from them....*LOL*

when baby is 1yr old, I'll get them to customised the birthday cake for baby's party

but I din ask abt their full mth package coz I may order it from another shop which I got my wedding xi bing....the shop is nearer my house, so easier for collection......

<font color="0000ff">tinklebell,</font>

at my last 2 visits, both times, Dr Adrian was the one who told me my baby's head is down...but he din comment further....

I din ask further abt birthplan, etc....coz I myself dun really believe in coming out with a birthplan....I rather leave it to the expertise of the gynae to decide what is best mode of delivery...to me, as long as baby is healthy, that's most impt

Hi kite
I think it should be due to the cold press as I read from some websites that it should only be used with caution. I m currently using Medela electric pump
I eat minimal ginger and rice wine, dare not take the risk till baby is back from hospital. As baby is a preemie, I have to try to give her BM as long as possible. So kiasu that I bought Fenugreek herbs yesterday to increase milk flow. Today I could express the usual amount of BM already!

KK
So you are not on TBF? Then you supplement with FM? I express milk till my back is aching. Confinement very sianz hoh? I still have another 13 days to finish my confinement. Every day eat rice for lunch and dinner and the same dishes is driving me up to the walls. Hee, today I ta bulek tahan, went to eat creamy mushroom pasta haha. After my confinement, first thing I will do is to find sashimi and eat.

hi KK/Lok, I'm not too sure of Dr Ong's schedule @ Amk. The list that YC gave me din have Dr Ong contact, that's weird.

hi peng, yap, heh, we're abt same built ya. Actually, during my last gyn visit, the doc was still hoping I can go natural. I guess she must have assessed based on other factors.

Btw, are you ladies suffering from bad H20 retention? Mine is rather bad, I've it from am to night. @ nite it's even worst, my little toes are all swollen and stickg together.

Hi K Ong/Okasan, is the Pine Garden bakery you are talking about in AMK?

hihi...

hay .. me getting to worry leh... i oso small built.. 158cm . . pre-pregnant 40kg, now 33wks+ 49kg, during 32 wks bb is 1.95 kg,, \skally hv to c-sect.. i faint...

will update u all again as visitng gynae cuming tues...

hey celest

Dun worry, me almost the same height as you. At week 32 plus my bb was only 1.8kg. Actual weight is about 200g difference normally which I read from books n websites. When bb was delivered at week 32 plus, her weight was abt 1.6kg.

Hi Gina,

In the beginning, i think we are all milk production machines. Especially when u let ur bb latch on all the time heee.. but a bit disapporting with my left side.. seems to produce droplets only.. but right side is super productive, contributing to majority of milk supply.

carebear,

My swollen legs after delivery seem to die down a bit.. hope it really gets better, without going to swollen up again.

Some preggies seem to have more serious water retention during pregnancy. I dun have such problem, dunno why.. my swollen legs only come after pregnancy.

Anybody has website for the pine garden bakery?

Pebbles,

Hey, that's what i told my hubby too. After confinement, first thing i wanna to do is go sakae sushi and eat salmon sashimi! Haha! But u are lucky, only 13 days to go.. bear with it! Me still longg way ahead.. only 1 week has passed since birth of bb

Aiyoh, me backache too. Maybe our BF position not right? And worse thing is.. the more i pump, the more my uterus contracts, and the feeling is horrible haha.. do u feel that too? It is like pricking pain down there. But it seems like my tummy goes down a little liao..

By the way, do u still suffer from engorgement now??

Good Morning!

Lok, u interested in cordbanking? oic ..U've gone for their talk already. We will be meeting Cordlife's rep at Camden medical centre on Monday morning to visit the facilities. More or less decided to sign up with them. U have the FBI card right? That will entitle u to further discount of $50 per year (if i remember the fig correctly) over 9 years. I know there r limitations of Cord blood banking but signing up more as a form of insurance.

Carebear, yes, i also have water retention. esp on my left leg. one kind of strange feeling on the calves when the retention comes.

Pebbles, 2am plus u still awake? i heard a lot abt Fenugreek herbs in this forum. Actually what r they? where to get them fr? Hee ...dont worry... ur confinement is going to be over soon! Confinement cannot eat pasta? Maybe u cook some western food. Last time occassionally i will have fish fillet or beef steak with mashed potatoes for my meals for a change... so long as the fish/ beef is fresh and nutritious, i dont see any reason why cannot eat that.

morning ladies

its TGIF finally!
Was down was sore throat and a bit of flu yesterday n rested at home...feeling slightly better today

celeste(celk),
wah...u r super slim! at 158cm u are 40kg b4 pregnancy? *faint* My slimmest was only 48kg and i am the same height as u...*lol*

peng,
dont take the risk in travelling at 37 weeks liowz...not worth it...even for career i also wont do it, i dont wanna risk anything.

Dor,
Thanks probably will try my luck during the scan see if he can measure for me. Hope tmr wont be that crowded else he might be rushing for time

I hv a feeling my nx visit will be 3 wks time followed by 2 wks similar to yours.

kk,

me too... before delivery no water retention, after delivery, my whole leg swollen till sooooooo big! Drink more water, walk more, when lying down, use pillow to lift your legs higher. That will help

tinklebell,

what makes u decide on cordlife instead of stemcord? Me also trying to decide between the 2 leh... my hb told me stemcord cheaper .. is it ? My gynae's clinic seems to have some tie up with stemcord and can get a good rate... but i am still undecided cos have not even meet anyone of them yet

Morning ladies !!

Finally is Friday and a long weekend awaiting ahead... nowadays start to feel breathless even lying on the bed. jia lat

Poohy, the international accredition of cordlife makes me more assured of using them. True, their upfront cost is higher but they give discounts off storage fees for FBI and SBI holders. Also, I understand that if you recommend 1 friend later on, u get $100 off the storage cost per year. And they r giving us another 2 year free storage bec of my hb's membership association.

How much is stemcord charging? Arrange for meet up with reps from the 2 cos first to find out more if u want. I posted my contact with Stemcord previously but they didnt call me to follow up leh. Eventually, i dont think there is going to be much difference bet the 2. Just go for the one u feel comfortable with.

poohy,

my mum say cannot drink plain water haha.. so i have been surviving on red date and longan tea.

Yup! Swollen legs actually get better after raising my legs on a pillow when i sleep.

Today legs really seem better liao
Down by quite an amount

KK,

Pine website is www.pgcake.com.

I had a very bad stomachache last night and had sharp pains in the V area so worried that my baby decides to come out early I told her to be patient and come out only after week 36 so that all her organs will be fully developed by then pain subsides in the middle of the night.

kk, can one flask of red dates last for one day? Previously my CL would prepare 1 flask but then i would finish it by morning, leaving me with no choice but to drink water the rest of the day if not i will die of thirst. If i keep til afternoon, i find that it is not nice anymore. How often ur mum boil red dates a day? And do u keep it in the fridge first then warm it up when u want to drink?

Paula,

Dun worry.. i have such experience too. I think 2 nites before i go induce, i also suffer from very BAD stomachache. I just dunno what to do.. flip here also cannot, flip there also cannot. So miserable! Then sharp pains at V area on and off too. My hubby asked me want to admit into TMC or not heeee...

Well, in the end my bb still so comfortable inside, dun wanna come out on friday.

tinklebell,

How big is ur flask?? haha.. i am a heavy drinker of the tea. We use one 1.85 L water dispenser to hold the tea. To be continued... going to express milk now.. highly engorged haha

KK,

Do you think those are signs of impending labor? At one hand, I wish she would come out soon. On othe other hand, I wanted her to come out when she is ready and all her organs are fully developed... Sigh.

kk, haha, my flask is only 1Ltr but CL prepared enuf for 1 flask and 2 cups. but still, 1 ltr is like only 4 cups .... usually i finished everything by late morning.
do u eat the longgan too? i love eating the longgan...yummy! Perhaps i should go and get one more flask. Saw in NTUC those flask with attached heating coil.. $19 or something like that... donno good or not. Or can we use those electric airpot? I have one at home 2.2L but seldom use. We put aside cos hub says not good to keep reboiling water

Morning Mummies! Long wkend is here

Yest did u all watch the Channel U on Mama Mia. I miss yest episode. Any repeat of tis program again?

Carebear29/Lok (Cordblood w Stemcord/Cordlife):
Last sunday times, report on stemcord seems more popular than cordlife as there are more ppl bank w stemcord. For us, most likely we wil be banking w Cordlife as we have the TMC FBI card which entitles discount. But as for e issue on pulsating, stil yet to find e true ans. wil attend e seminar on 13 may instead of 6 may (postponed cos of poll day). Tmr also gg to ask Dr. YC abt cordblood w cordlife. Btw i hv spoken once w cordlife staff thr phone n they know Dr. YC n told me she is very experienced in handling this thing.

btw for cordlife, 1st yr $1400 (think exclude transport charges which is abt $300 - $600), then subsequently wil be $250 per yr.

(PD):
I have checked the PDs list that Dr. YC gave me. The list includes Dr. Ong. Carebear, How come ur list doesnt include him, strange? To enjoy discount using FBI card, the PDs that she gave me which can use e FBI card are mostly from TMC. other PDs no discount. Must make use of e card. hehe. cant decide which PD to choose leh. hv u shortlisted?
I wil ask her tmr that i want to opt for the Group B strep test. did she mention exactly which wks she wil conduct tis test for u?

Pebbles:
wow wat is Fenugreek herbs? u used it on breasts or drink it? so far did u go for any malay massage?

tinklebell:
wat is e limitation of cordlife as compared to stemcord? Those staff at TMC reception told me Cordlife is better n fast when collecting bb's cordblood. Stemcord wil delay, not sure how true. i downloaded some info fr cordlife n they really call me up once. very helpful n friendly.
During my wedding i was 41kg. then b4 pregnancy was 43kg, now think 53 -54 kg.

Paula:
me too yest 1st time encounter sharp pain at my V area. Not sure y leh. i m in my 30 wks.

kk:
when u boil red dated drink, how many red dates u put into e pot?

tinklebell,

hmm ok i think i better push my hb to settle the cord blood thing faster... sian i think maybe i will deliver in few weeks.. scared later like my first one... end up never bank the cord blood cos too rush

kk,

me dun follow any confinement rules. My mum and all my relatives will keep nagging at me..
I dun drink red dates tea... in fact i am a very fussy eater... thus i rather feel comfortable. during my prev confinement, I drink water... sometimes even cold plain water if i feel hot and thirsty enough hehee
Even the milo I drink are packet ones put in the fridge .... I never drank a single drop of red date tea... dun think i will like the taste. But I do drink some raspberry leaf tea 1 hour 1-2 times a day for breastfeeding purposes to increase nutrient level. For food, I also very picky... and thus end up every evening i eat mee sua with some meat... in the afternoon, i made my mum buy me packet char siew rice... cos i like to eat... plus i really dun wanna trouble her. By the 2nd week of my confinement, we eat at shopping centre everyday hehee.. cos very bored at home, so we go to the neighbourhood shopping centre to walk ard every noon. Hope can still do that this time... though must figure out how to handle both my 1 year old boy and my newborn girl together

re: sharp pain

i tink maybe our babies are starting to engage liao that's why experiencing sharp pain. Me too .. nowadays find it hard to walk fast liao cos painful... keep feeling like going to urinate... When I carry my boy, also must walk slowly... not as fast as last month.

btw, wondering how big are your tummies huh ? did u all measure? Everywhere i go ... everyone tell me they surprised I will be giving birth in abt 1 month.... thought me in 2nd trimester only... think i must go home measure .. but as per my prev pregnancy, i am still very agile (saved the pain that makes me move slower)... can cut my own toe nails still ... I did this morning.. etc

Good morning gals!

Have you gals got or shopped for a stroller? Which one have you gals got? Can share with me what to look out for?

Kite, Paula,
I also had V pain last nite. I think I walked too fast when I went out shopping. I was rushing around last nite...

hmmm... I still yet to buy a flask. Do we really need it for baby? Usually, when I need hot water, I will use an electric kettle and boil.

Tinklebell,
I also think the electric pot is not good cos keep boiling the water is not very good.

poohy,
I did not measure my tummy... lol...
When I visited my friend who has just given birth at Gleneagles two days ago, the nurse saw me and said I am due soon... I told her "see you next month"... hahaha... I also feel big when I look into the mirror
I guess can see that I am due soon.

Do you gals still take the public transport? I still take the MRT around
Sometimes gotta stand even at this stage... lol... And also kan cheong people (mostly kids and students) rushing in, but I usually let them board first...

Lyn, Poohy,

The sharp V pains are still bearable ... the stomach pains is a little unbearable ... I wonder whether will I be tahan when the actual labor comes...

V-pain:
actually what causes e V-pain? issit bcos bb has turn down? i stil dunno whether my bb has turned down anot since my last appt at 27wks. wil get to know tmr

Poohy:
every wk i wil measure my tummy n jot it down on e Spring Journal
Right now my tummy is 38 inches at 30wks.

poohy,
did u read the Simply Her May 2006 magazine? Junita Simon is 8mths preggie but her tummy is so small!! She said she put on 9kg but i think her tummy looks like 5 or 6 mths only...
...so dont worry bout tummy looking big or small as long as bb is growing well

I feel that my tummy like very big...tink it was 40inches the other time i measured...*sigh*

lyn,
I still take the MRT now when i come to work
Ya....sometimes i also gotta stand....bo pianz also....like today the train is so crowded...a guy behind me still trying to push in cos ppl behind him still trying to board...feel so sianz

Paula,

How many more weeks to go? Dun worry
I personally dun think those are really true labour signs. if not i won't end up caesarian

The stomach pains will come and go. I believe urs also like tat rite? And i get the pains mainly at nite, not in the day.

Lyn,

They say if want to give birth already, the tummy will be bigger at the bottom because bb is going downwards

For my stroller, i bought a lucky bb one from bb kingdom. Dunno good or not, yet to really try out on bb hahaha..

Tinklebell,

Wat my mil did was that she boil the tea first, then pour into the thermal pot to maintain hot for the whole day. She doesn't use the electric hotpot to reboil and reboil. Perhaps u can consider this method?

1 L not enough lah haha.. i normally dun drink too much beverage but yet can finish whole 2 L now. So definitely not enough for u :p

Poohy,

Wow, so u really enjoy ur confinement!! I am kept in the house for a week and feel very sian already. What i can do to kill boredom is to come into this forum and check school emails, that's all :p

Kite,

Heee, i dunno how many red dates my mil put. But be prepared to stock up lots and lots of red dates! I believe she use quite a lot, having to make 2L everyday.

Big improvement.. i managed to express 110 ml of milk just now!! Dunno why... just when i say my left side is not "working", it seems to function well just now. Hope this will continue...

And... stock up lots of batteries!!!! U need them for ur medela pump. I find that it consumes a lot of energy.

kite,
i didnt have a chance to meet up with Stemcord reps. I suppose in the end, what matters most is that the cordblood is collected and stored properly.
Some pp tell me Stemcord has higher contamination rate... donno how true. Anyway, marketing pp always have something negative to say abt their competitors lah.
When I asked my gynae.. he recommended Cordlife.
Anyway, Cordlife the rep told me that current research shows that the vol of cordblood taken can be transplanted to a person of maximum size 50kg. so if your child is >50kg or u r using that to save someone more than that wt, may not be that effective??

lyn,

i bought the quinny zapp and combi nu500 stroller (hope I got the model rite) last time. At first I bought the quinny zapp... cos I also have the maxi cosi infant car seat to attach to it. Look so cool and newborn bb shd be able to lie in it till 6 months and above where they can sit up and sits on the quinny zapp directly. But I found it too heavy for me leh .. so sad... i love it cos so easy to move ard... u cant feel the weight when pushing at all but when u carry it.. so heavy... so i go and buy a combi which can bi-fold and haversack carry. This one is very light (but i still find it bulky... hard to please lah)... and it can recline almost fully thus suitable for newborn too. But i find maybe my boy big size, thus its a little small for my boy leh... i mean when he sits in it these days, the spare allowance not big. The quinny zapp is bigger in terms of width but still.. the weight problem for me. Even though we drive everywhere we go, but i find it a little troublesome to carry such a heavy stroller. If only its very very light, then i can buy my favourite quinny buzz liao haha

right now i am thinking of buying a maclaren cos see many ang moh baby sitting in it and looks spacious... so my boy shd be able to fit in... but havent look ard yet ... my hb sure object... cos i hardly use the strollers in fact. We prefer to carry our boy.... but with my girl coming, prob need to put one of them in stroller else.. one person cant manage.

talking abt stroller? any comments on gacro citisport? metro got sales, selling for $169, instead of $269??

yeah, kite, paula n poohy, i oso got v-pain. going to ask the gynae y.. will tell u gals if i noe..

celeste,

i think our tummy size during preggie also inherited ... cos my mum tummy also v small when carrying us.... my tummy is small for both my pregnancies. if too big i also scared later i cant walk properly.... already i am having backache liao

kk,

u sound very cham being confined at home leh!!! alamak if me, i sure die wan. I need fresh air outside... need to see the outside world lah.. else like in jail hehee
I did enjoy my prev confinement (at least not tortured) cos at least my mum respect my wishes a lot... and dun force anything upon me.

btw, why u need to stock up batteries for ? I thought the medela pump is electric cable powered? U got experienced the grass cutting noise or not.... so noisy. Last time I pump during the middle of the night hor, I used to just sit up on my bed and express.... but this time I may need to go out to the living room cos scared wake my son up. My hb told me bb loves such grass cutting white noise alot so they wont be disturbed... which is true for my son when he was newborn... but with him being 1 year old now, i scared it will wake him and i will be in trouble with both babies crying and disturbing each other!

Lyn, i think so too... i know a lot of families with children use the electric airpot cos it's convenient but after thinking thru, i agree that it may not be good to reboil water all over again. maybe it's good to get a good thermal pot. For me i definitely need it bec of the 2 kids and to warm up EBM. so far, i think only Zorju (cant rem the spelling ..the one with elephant logo) and Tiger brands r good.

kk, prob i will get another thermal pot soon. with 2 kids, i think a bigger thermal pot will come in handy. ok, this time will ask CL to make more. Maybe 3kg of red dates not enuf ...kekeke ...anyway, if not enuf can easily buy also lah.

wow! so much milk! btw, how come need to use batteries for your pump? i thought u can use electricity?

hi Tinklebell
Cordlife is open on Monday (1May?) public holiday? i'm interested to visit too. Can i have the contact number?

the $100 off if we intro a friend is one time discount or annually?

I think it's time for me to get an electric air pot cos' I'm now using those electric kettle ...

should we get nursing bras if we are not nursing our baby?

poohy, wow u can still go out. i just hide myself at home cos i find myself still v fat after delivery and no nice clothes to wear out leh
Besides, i didnt want to bring my boy out cos he was still small... was afraid he may fall sick easily.
U can still reach your nails? i couldnt long time ago. haha!

Celeste, maybe it;s bec Junita Simon is tall that is why overall her tummy looks longer but not protruding ... so maybe that is why hers appears small. mine is like a big balloon compared to my height... pp say it looks very big! anyway, cherish this big watermelon... soon, you will miss it.

poohy,
hehe...tummy size also inherited? My mom's tummy was quite obvious last time also...cos i saw in the pix she's taken, mabbe tats y mine kinda big too...

tinklebell,
actually the airport reboils ah? I tot it juz boil once until 95 degrees and keep its hot at this temperature?
I have the Zojirushi one that u mentioned...5-litres type...really very gd to use
....cos dont have to refill so frequently.

poohy,
Using electric pot to reboil water is not good for health. Re-boiling causing some chemical which is bad for our body.

Best is to keep the red dates drink inside those vacuum hot flask/airport (non electric).

Morning Mummies..

Ask you all ah, when will we receive the poll card for those whose GRC are electing?

I have no idea that Woodlands got election going on until the PAP group came around shouting in their lorry just now.. >_>

paula,

u r not nursing your baby ah ? Hmm i think no need to get nursing bras if u dun intend to nurse. anyway there is those bra that open in front kind? maybe just buy those lah. That's why i do.

kk,

did they make u bfg your bb in the hospital ? I was thinking of expressing right from start. I hate latching on... its so stressful cos I never get it correct and it make the baby stressed also cos they will keep crying if they v hungry and cant latch on properly ... make me very very stressed.