(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

For confinement,

So far what i learnt is this:

(1) If c sec, no pork liver for the first one week or so.

(2) No peanuts allowed in soups and all other dishes.

(3) no chicken and eggs for the first one week or so.

(4) "Yao Zi" (pig kidney?) is good but dun have to take so often.

(5) Black fungus is good.

(6) Be careful what fish to take e.g. bai cang yu is not allowed.

(7) Take lots of vegetables e.g. spinach

(8) No prawns, and other seafood

Hi Tinklebell,
I'm also thinking of getting Ameda electric pump later on. Maybe we can get together, will try to contact Mickey to see if we can get better deal

lyn:
lol i dunno which radio station my mum listens, but i think is 95.8FM cos my dad always tune to that station.
Yes Shen Hua Tang is to cleanse esp we wil hv lochia. Heard its not cheap.

kk:
u mentioned u drink alot of longan drink rite, no wonder due to tis drink, ur bb's cheeks very rosy. hehe

wow! most of your mums know a lot abt confinement n chinese herbs. btw, how old r your mums or mil? my mum is 55 this yr. my mil is ard 60 plus. she is more experienced but v busy looking after 2 of her maternal grandchildren so i decided not to bother her too much. anyway, we have many valuable exchange of info here too

lyn, oic so ba-zhen is same as dang gui? i have bought one small pack dang gui. if dont need to take, just keep for cooking soup later on. anyway, i know nuts abt chinese herbs. only thing i know how to make is red date tea. my favorite! i make it once a week for myself and hubby.

ms piggy, i heard mickey increased the price already! anyway, my friend is selling me hers. she is thinking of stopping bf'g soon. She says i just need to buy a new set of hygiene kit if i am particular abt it being hand me down.

spicegal,

i went to metro paragon but dun have leh.they onli selling those breastpump n accessories..nothing on cream etc..

Serene/kite

Thanks..will need to get soon..coz my hands always went to peel b4 bathe..haha

ms piggy, alamak!! i just called my friend again and she says she having second thoughts abt selling cos it's so easy to pump with that.

hmm.... maybe have to bother u to check with mickey again...pai seh.

Tinklebell:
my MIL is 55 while my mum is 56 yrs old

Lyn:
Dang gui and Ba zhen the same meh? thought different? b4 pregnancy, i always drink ba zhen boiled by my mum.

Tinklebell,
Oh really! I havent contact Mickey since then... hope the increase isnt too much! *heartache*

I remembered he told me before that only if I can get 10 sets from him else disc will not be much. *sigh*

Anyway, will check with him again in May. You dont need it urgently right?

tinklebell, kite,
Ba zhen is the root, danggui is the top stem.
I love red dates, longan
I just boiled it today again. Later will add some fermented glutinous rice to see if nice or not

How much is Ameda electric pump?

kite,
"Sheng hua tang" very expensive ah? Do you know how much? I am thinking of bringing my recipe book down to a medical shop and ask them to pack. Got lots of herbs involved in "sheng hua tang"... If I did not remember wrongly, gotta drink at least 10 sets.

Lyn,

Thanks for the advices. Ill hunt for the adaptor. It seems like the breast pump is a must-buy.

KK,

Thanks! Eh, I know nuts about breastfeeding if we were to feed the baby via express milk: do we store the expressed milk in the freezer and warm it using the cooker?

Did you take a lot of bird nest during the last trimester? Heard that will contribute to your babys rosy cheek

Amy,

Thanks! I will get a small cooker since the CL will be cooking for me only yes, I will be due end of May see how fast the baby grows loh I would like her to come out when she is ready as opposed to having a C-section.

Serene,

There were some whitish spots on them and I tried to clear them when I cleared them, there are holes and it looks like crack so I think it must be cracked loh.

Angeline,

Yep, I think you can get a pack of 2 at S$11.00 You may want to try out the nipple cream from Mothercare too (S$12 per tube).

Celeste,

My MIL told me that all babies are born with cradle crap wonder how true it is and when I asked the Robinsons sales lady, she said yea and asked me to get Mustfela.

Do get Gripe water as a standby too heard it fights off wind and colic.

Dor,

Where will you be giving birth? Im due in KKH.

Mspiggy,

Pls keep me updated if you are organizing a bulk purchase for the pimp.

ms piggy, no hurry actually lah... just hope i dont give birth earlier than expected.

but how to get 10 sets unless u hold a bulk purchase.

the other time i checked with another friend. she says if u join one b-f'g support gp, the price is the same as mickey's bulk purchase price. not sure if she can buy 2 for us for not. let me ask her again.

lyn

What i know is dang gui is more 'bu' (nutritious) than ba zhen. Ba zhen is drank after our period over, to regulate our period flow. Dang Gui is to 'bu'/recuperate our red blood esp we loses alot of blood during labour. Then again, i've beard dang gui will reduce the amt of breast milk supply... TMC's nurse told me. When i told my mum this, she says then i dun get to 'bu' for myself already, cos breastfeed cannot drink DOM, cannot eat dang gui, i'll be weak!!! I also dunno, maybe eat minimal dang gui, as for DOM, drink only at nite b4 sleep, discard the breast milk after, dun let bb drink.

lyn:
not sure but my mum said not cheap. She has yet to buy, gg to buy soon. my mum wil settle n help me to buy the Sheng Hua Tang. Actually most of the stuffs she wil settle.

paula,

Then, i think mine also same like yrs. Sometimes, i also tried to clean those whitish spots, but it's quite sensitive so better dun bother it, if not, later, infection how? Don't you think the nipples looked ugly now? :p Those pores are the opening for milk flow. My galfren told me the milk doesn't come out from 1 hole/pore, it come out from many pores....like shower hose haha! :D

Serene,
I think I will still take DOM as alternative to dang gui. Add into very hot soup, and the alcohol will evaporate...
I used to avoid dang gui and ba zhen after my gynae adviced me to, so did not find out a lot about these herbs... I only know these two are from the same plant, but different parts. And both can "bu" women...

lyn

Yes, if add DOM into soup or other form of cooking, the alcohol will evaporate but my mum says in such case, not 'bu' anymore compared to drinking it neat....hmm, also dunno lah. Anyway, i dun like the taste of DOM! yucks!

How come yr gynae advised u not take dang gui and ba zhen leh?

ms piggy, seems like there is some interest in the pump here in this thread.... i mean if we can all get it at discounted price, then i will join the bulk purchase instead to make up the number. The other time i think mickey quoted u $280 when his retail pr was $300 or $320 (cant rem the exact). But now, i saw his website, retail pr is $350 so maybe he could have increased his bulk purchase price.

Angeline...my friend say metro paragon dun have...

Tinklebell...thanks..haiz so i guess i may have to stop BF earlier cos i dun have time to pump at work..

Paula,

U know, the nurse told me our breasts will not resume back the previous look. The dark area will look as dark from today onwards! sob sob!

ms piggy, donno can get fr US or not hor? now the ex rate only ard 1.59. Saw in US websites US$199 (after conversion S$316) and it comes with tote, extra bottles. But i think warranty may not be valid and need to pay for postage and electrical adaptor. but got substantial savings leh cos cooler bag alone costs $105 already. ie the whole set bought in spore will cost $455 without bulk purchase and it doesnt include the extra bottles and tote.

serene, aiyo...talking abt the "Bs" makes me sad
it will never go back to the original shape and color. once u stop b-f'g u will see that they shrink drastically
and becomes super saggy

tinklebell,
really that bad one ah? aiyo... gonna miss my original Bs already...
My cousin also told me when the breast is full of milk, will look nice.. When the milk finish, will become saggy wor..

kk,
I think maybe TMC not cheap. Cos hb's colleague wife also gave birth at TMC. Had natural birth, stayed 1-bedder with the hb bunking in. Ended up paid bout $2k cash in total bill. She didnt even have epi lehz....as for assisted delivery boh i not sure. But imagine natural also need to pay bout $2k in cash liowz...*faint*

Paula,
I think I will check with my frens whom have given birth becos so far I neber heard of babies born with cradle cap.

Gripe water? Where can i find it? Can buy now one ah...expiry date?

hi tinklebell,
yeah initally i thought the price he quoted for 1 pump is $290 and if i get 10 orders will be $280, hence see not much benefits organizing a bulk purchase. But if he really increase his price, i can check with him again.

getting from US will be cheaper but not sure how the freight charges will be.

Hi lyn,
the Ameda electric pump cost abt S$350 outside according to Tinklebell

Celeste,

You can but it from NTUC or pharamcies ... I will check the brand that I have for you.

Hidora,

I'm not too sure what is cradle crap ... based on the description that I read on Mustefla packaging, it seems to be whitish color flakes...

ms piggy... so only $10 difference bet bulk and non bulk. Agreed that it is quite troublesome to org a bulk purchase esp since the pump is quite expensive. since he up his pr to $350, donno if he will still sell u at $290. if it's $350, then it may be worth organising bulk purchase.

For freight, u can ship via vpost. the other time i calculated it to be ard $50.

Adaptor costs ard $20 according to some mummies in another thread.

Hi celeste Blur,

Best is to have natural delivery hor.. afterall pay lesser.. but then not everybody has the privilege

For assisted delivery, i think hospital will extra charge.. then gynae will extra charge again *faint*

Hi tinklebell,
yeah I will check with Mickey again regarding the price and also abt bulk purchase.

if the freight is only S$50 then it's quite worth it. maybe if Mickey's offer not attractive we can buy together from US.

Paula,

Oh, what i did with express milk is i pump, then i transfer to NUK bottle, then keep the bottle in fridge (not freezer). After some time, bb wakes up and she drinks
Oh ya, before that, we just put the bottle in a container of hot water to warm it up, that's all

Paula,

Hmm, so it those whitish flakes ah. I think I heard b4 that if we drink coconut juice during the last tri will help to reduce the flakes.

Paula,

I took only a few times of bird nest and stop around 1 mth or so before delivery. i dun think bird nest leads to rosy cheeks because i dun take much of it, compared to some ladies here. As we heard that too much bird nest will be too cooling for bb and leads to asthma, my mum did not really encourage me to take much.

Kite,

Hmmm, yah lor, that's what i think just now.. i drink lots of longan and red dates drink.. maybe the red dates help heee...

Yesterday went for my 36weeks appt wif Dr Adrian. He very funni leh ask mi whether im preparing a not .. i thought he is refering to delivery. Den he say not the process of giving birth as giving birth is easy .. is the process of taking care bb after birth and ask me now can watch midnite show better go if not no time liao when bb is out..

next appt is next week so will be weekly..
bb wt is about 2.5kg in wk36. hope not too small.

sigh, took half an hour to express milk at every 2-3 hours interval.

Took 1 hour to bath with herbs just now..

Took more time staying in toilet...

First week of confinement really not easy.. hopefully it gets better when my wound gets better...

Hooray! Able to pump out 40 ml of milk just now.. hope it keeps improving.

A joke to share.. while bathing just now.. the milk keeps dripping out from both sides.. feel that all is wasted haha.. keep bathing keep dripping.. how to bath like tat??

Hazel,

Ya lor.. on looking back, i think it is not the process of giving birth that's painful because that is only for some time only. What's really hurts is the recovery process and also, taking care of bb in initial stage. Imagine leh, bb cries pretty regularly last nite, i also worry, dunno what happen to her.. then my mil say her last feed was 3am then she sleep till 830 am this morning haha..

kk,

so we must stop taking any 'bu' or bird nest liao lor as im now 36weeks already.. so can start to take coconut? for the longan n red dates drink.. can we drink instant one or must boil one ar ...

kk,

ya lor .. after reading so many abt bfing .. kind of stress dunno got milk to bf my bb a not ... as i din really take fish .. only daily drink those HL or sometime fresh milk..

Went 4 my gynae's follow-up yesterday...Guess wat?? I saw my baby yawned a few times n kept on opening n clozing her mouth. She's such a darling...so cute..2day i'm 32 weeks pregnant. So excited!! :D

Hazel,
Wow... maybe the next to pop will be you... You are very close to EDD already...
Instant red dates drink not so good, cos they do add sugar.

kk,
Can use those breast milk collection holders while having shower? kekeke... I saw Medela breast milk collection thingy at Robinsons... Find it quite interesting...

KK,

Thanks! Any idea if the express milk should be of a specific temperature?

Save up those dripping milk and use it as shampoo? Heard its really nutritious for our hair especially when we are prone to lose them after pregnancy?

Hidora,

Not too sure about that though K I buy it since I already spent so much on the baby K in the event that she does not have cradle crap, I could use it as a shampoo for her. So, okay lah K just buy it on standby K or else, might not be able to shop during the confinement period.

Linda,

Thats so sweet. My little gal posed with her hands rubbing her nose when we saw her on ultrasound yesterdayK luckily my gynae took the ultrasound pic on time and we are saving that in the baby journal.

Hi KK,
that's becoz of hot water you used during bath. Try not to massage them during shower unless you have engorgment

Hi Josephine,
Good! Now we have 3 orders... I can check with my friend if they are keen to get it. Then I will start bargaining with Mickey

Paula,
Thanx for helping to check

spicegal,
'fei zai shui'? Hmmzz, i go and ask my mom..haha...hopefully she knows

kk,
ya....its like anything can happen during delivery....so bo pianz also....can only hope...*sigh*
tat day i was asking my gynae bout bb's position. Then he told me bb head is down and he asked me "why lehz, u want natural delivery ah?"...Then I answered "IF can, of cos i want natural delivery". Then he replied and said "Try lor"....aiyo..make me a bit sianz....*sigh*....donno he got any hidden meanings boh...