(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk:
u better take gd care of urself n rest more is more important. ya heard c-sect wound's recovery is slower than natural delivery. u take care okie. u must be very touch when u see ur bb. so did u cry in e hospital? think i wil cry n feel touched when i see my own bb

May i know wat causes e bleeding? bcos of bleeding, which is y u went for emergency c-sect straight away?

u hv chosen a 1 bedded ward rite? me too. how much is ur total bill?

tinklebell:
lol ur hubby's underwears all turn pink. keke. so far all the bb's clothings n etc i wash, no colour staining.

Hi kk,
Congratulations on your new born!
Your baby is at a very healthy weight...

Hi kite,
I wun iron the small baby's clothes.. kekeke... too lazy :p I just dump them into the washing machine and wash and spin dry... When I hang, I will try to pull them a bit.

Hi peng,
Oh.. are the dots with pus?

Hi Josephine,
So you getting a CL ah... I also do agree with your CL, buy the herbs when closer to due date. Or show your hubby where to buy now, then ask him go and buy when baby is out... But buy early and put in the fridge is also a good idea...

Hi serene,
Wah.. you are hardworking... kekeke.. I throw all my baby's clothes into the machine.. I find it very tiring to handwash... Then still gotta hang out, and keep, and fold and keep in the cupboard. A lot of work...

Hi kk,
Maybe you can consider using an abdominal binder.. It will help with the pain...

KK i'm glad the pain was bearable and c-section went smoothly. Why put on epi immediately when you admitted? don't we have to wait for dilation or more contration pain then put on epi? mid wife suggested one?

Hi serene,

medela pump from TMC.. around $179 i think. Charged to total bill. Hmmm, all in all, we need to fork out around $3900 in cash. I think still need to pay my own gynae $1000 extra for c sec.. so total after medisave deduction may be around $5000 in cash.

Lyn,

Yup, had the abdominal binder on since sat. It does help a bit. But troublesome when go toilet haha..

Kite,

No lah never cry haha.. just feel very happy and actually, can't really believe it that our bb is borned!!

Bleeding is part of the reason for c sec, to avoid complications.

Oh, after medisave deductions, we need to fork out around $3900 in cash. Plus owe gynae $1000 for c sec, so total in cash should be around $5000.

hi LYN
ya hubby gave up on CL man idea due to relative and friends scaring him that he will not be able to manage. It's not just determination, but whether he can manage something that is quite specialised. I told him he has to 100% in charge i cannot help him as i need complete bed rest haha/ anyways my neighbour's CL was available, and we have interviewed and observed her and get to know her, so he felt comfortable to engage this coming June./

kk:
wat is abdominal binder? u bot it b4 hand? how much? or u can buy those float to sit at home for e timebeing?

ur bb ger ger must be very cute rite? newborn babies are so lovely
thats gd ur bb dont hv jaundice, u are lucky. i m afraid my bb has cos i got jaundice when i was borned

did gynac tell u wat caused e bleeding?

wow! $5k cash, that is really a huge sum of $. partly cos u stayed for 4 days plus c-sect rite?

paiseh u better go n rest more, take ur time to reply us. hehe

hanging of bb's clothings:
do u all hang bb's clothings on bamboo stick or those bb's clip hangers?

kk,

wow so expensive! 5k cash! actually for normal delivery with epi (if no emergency or other medicial complication involved), cash portion should be around 2k.....oh gosh! I better relate this info to my hubby....we must be prepared to fork out more if things pop up!

My gf who opt for c-sect direct, only spend cash $3600 +/- (gleneagles). Nevertheless, we cannot predict and foresee things that gonna happened....

Hanging BB's clothing,
Kite,
I use those hangers tat u usually can see outside saloon where they hang their white cloth. they can be place at the corridor. I bought one from Giant..oni $9.90..quite useful..

Anybody got any idea i can find Avent Milk Bag in West area..

kk,
Last time I wear low cut panty... kekeke... or wear my panty over the binder... else go toilet really troublesome...
hmm... I assume you got the Medela mini electric... I just bought from Robinsons on Saturday for $148...
wow... 5k in cash!

kite,
I hang on hangers and bamboo sticks...

Hi serene,
Did your friend opted for the single or 2 bedded ward?
I am delivering in Gleneagles... and my gynae suggesting C-section to me...

jojo:
thanks. wil take alook at Giaint. Cos right now i have already used up 6 bamboo poles/sticks to hang all my bb's new clothings n towels.

kite,

abdominal binder is a elastic binder that we place round the abdomen so that the wound hurts less from what i heard. I got it from the TMC pharmacy. Anything u need, the nurse will get for u and charge to ur bill. Before discharge, they settle bill with u

I can't remember how much binder cost liao.. got to check my bill.

float.. where to buy float ah? now i am sitting on cushion haha..

Oh, actually my bb has slight jaundice.. they measure by a level called billiburin (something like tat) level. My bb was diagnosed with slight jaundice and that explains the extra night stay yesterday. Actually can be discharged yesterday already. Today she took another blood test and the level dropped to 8 which is safe so we can bring her back

My gynae say asian bb more or less will have jaundice and will only appear 2-3 days after delivery because when they are borned, their cheeks are rosy red due to many red blood cells and rich in iron. But slowly, the red pigment disappears and uncovers jaundice.

treatment/prevention for jaundice: Sunbath the bb between 9 to 10 am every morning under light (not direct sunlight! It burns the bb haha) and evening around 5 pm.

My neighbour's treatment for her bbs for jaundice: boil 1 cup of water with 7 red dates (remove seeds) to form 1 teaspoonful of fluid. Feed the bb and the bb will be cured immediately
I am trying out both methods

Plus c sec, i stay 3 nites. Oh, my hubby also stay overnight mah.. one nite for him is $75 with all 5 meals provided.

I hang my bb clothes on normal bamboo poles

Spicegal,

TMC cooks nice soups haha.. everyday got 3 soups which stimulate BM.. fish + payaya, pig stomach soup, longan red date soup etc etc. I feel engorged again
pumping out again later. BB still sleeping leh.

lyn,

my gf took 1 bedded. she told me her total bill end up 6k (include bb's bill) but after medisave deduction, she paid 3k plus cash.

yah, that time during my 5-7th mths, i still have alot energy to do alot shopping, hsework and prepare bb's stuffs. I even iron the bedsheets, pillow/bolster case and some bb clothes that are wrinkled after washing... now not much energy like before liao. luckily i did it early!

kite,
I had a surgery before with a big cut... gynae said dun take the risk... but I am still quite determined to go for natural. He did not say "no" to natural, but we discussed about the birth plan for the past two consultations.. and his recommendation is C-section. Then he said gotta depend on the scan in two weeks' time also... Fingers crossed...

Lyn wish you best of luck, and that your bb can be born "naturally"

Hubby not football fan so he prob be on half day during the one month, just to help out/learn the ropes. usually it's 2mth then quite stressed as no more CL. And i prob have to go back immediately after one month, then do part time (work 3days rest 2 days or vice versa)...

kk:
wow ur bb ger so cute leh, guess she resembles u more? wow cant wait to hold my own bb
btw the booties n mittens are all provided by TMC?

thats gd ur BM flow is gd. did u give ur bb's colostrum straight away after delivered? afraid i got prob let bb's latching. think TMC's staff wil teach us.

my hubby wil be staying overnite w me too. Wow $75 for his overnite stay plus 5 meals provided, not bad ah. guess ur hubby must hv also enjoyed e meals

engorgement really painful hor, u didnt express in time? probably ask ur hubby to buy those big cabbages n take those outer layers only, put inside e fridge let it cool, then place it n cover e whole of ur breasts to help relieve e pain.

eh paiseh me not sure where to buy e float but mum told me she wil buy for me. probably wil ask her. think market got sell? its better to sit on e float rather than on sofa cushion which is soft.

lyn:
oic. dun worry, best is to listen to ur gynac's advise, his/her advise is best for u

Hi Josephine,
After my surgery, I am very scared of C-section... cos it's another surgery to me... :p

Hi kite,
I was reading about expressing breast milk. It seems like if we want to express more, gotta use warm towels... If want milk to reduce, gotta use something cold.. So I am wondering if the cold cabbage on the breasts will reduce the milk flow.. Dunno what the experienced mothers reckon...

lyn:
eh me not sure too, just that i know chilled cabbages can help to relieve e pain but dun put too long. ya let experience mummies share w us

KK, she is sooo cute... she's got v nice red lips
seeing your bb makes me wish to see mine sooner

Lyn, i keep telling myself n bb that i dont wish to have c-section cos i am scared of surgery. hope bb listens.

Hi Lyn,
according to KKH prenatal class, cold cabbage will actually reduces our flow. Midwife said use only when we've stablished the flow, else use moisturer/gel to relieve pain. Or go take a hot shower and massage them.

lyn..yah you were right...i heard my friend telling me cold cabbage will reduce your milk flow...should use warm towel to ease the engorgement...

tinklebell,
I am also telling my baby to come out naturally... I started telling baby since second trimester... My last two surgeries did not leave me good memories... Hope our babies will listen
Have you discussed about natural birth with your doc?

kk, c-section so expensive????? my eyes almost popped out when mentioned the amt u have to pay!
so much?? anyway my prev hospital seemed to have lost my last bill... til now havent billed me...kekeke

Hi mspiggy, spicegal,
Thank you for the clarification...
I was reading about the massage of our breasts with warm towels before expressing using a pump... It was also recommended to go for a warm shower to reduce the pain from engorgement...

tinklebell,
I think kk paid for the epidural as well... plus emergency c-section...

I was reading a pamphlet on neonatal hearing test... Will you gals consider? Do you gals know whether the polyclinic do the hearing test? How much is it? It's $50 at Gleneagles...

lyn...yah my colleague had to massage her breast during warm shower cos she had blocked ducts..

anyone knows how long can one go without expressing BM? cos I have a part time job during weekends day time...may not have time to EBM...

lyn, but still, it quite expensive. it that the norm? havent discussed my birth plan with my gynae yet. anyway, he didnt ask. but i did ask him during my first visit and he said shouldnt be a prob having natural birth even though i had an op. But hubby was discussing with me last nite. actually, he hopes that i could find a date and induce bb (something i dont wish)
cos in his job, it may be v hard for him to abandon his work and accompany me to the hospital when i have labor pain

kk, actually, a warm bath helps to relief engorgement... but if u dont believe in bathing, then maybe use 2 plastic bags to store warm water and place them on the "B"s.

tinklebell,
For me, I am preparing 5k cash just in case I need emergency c-section, and in single room. Emergency C-section is the most expensive of all births...

I also read about the risk will be higher for vaginal birth after caesearean... and the risk is even higher with epidural and epidural is not recommended... I wonder how true it is... Probably I will ask my gynae about that cos I want to go for natural birth... I was quite disappointed when gynae recommended c-section.

How about talking to baby telling baby to come out on the date you want and when your hubby is free? It might work...

Hi, Celeste,

I brought Johnson & Johnson Top to Toe baby wash read that its one of the mildest in the market (good for baby skin). The other brand that you could consider is Mustefla. Do remember to get the cradle crap kit

MsPiggy,
Yep, Ive washed the bed sheets and blankets but am wondering whether the bumper mat could be washed too

Moap,
I do feel sore infact my hubby commented that it looks swollen might be because baby head is down already. Sleep on your side and that will alleviate pressure off from our pelvis.

KK,

Congratulations!! Rest well these few days thanks for sharing your birth story! Why do we need to administer epidural twice? Seems like I better get myself a breast pump. Have been asking myself do I need one

Josephine,

Try getting Pureen liquid detergent it comes with softener (sort of 2-in-1) and I felt that the clothes are softer after its washed might be good for baby?!.

Angeline,

Try getting it at Mothercare they have 3 different designs with different price ranges.

tinklebell,

me using towel dipped in hot water for massage. managed to get another 30 ml just now. But hubby say bb drink more than that. Got to support with enfalac. So now bb drinking 50 ml of milk! Now sleeping again haha! I think she loves to sleep like me

Dun induce lah! It is very stressful leh!

Actually i am prepared for high cost for c sec liao, because 2 colleagues gone through c sec and they told me they fork out around $7K!

Lyn,

I talk to bb tell her come out fast on friday but then.. SIGH!

My hubby say after this "trauma", we are not going to have the second one for another 3 yrs haha.. me too.. i tell him i need time to adjust life being a mother.

Oh yah, i paid for epidural + anaesthetist. Total raound $600. $300 for epi, $300 for anae.

Hearing test available at TMC
BB did it tis morning and pass the test!

Cold cabbage is used to reduce engorgement pain. Not useful for BF at all i think.

Kite,

I think bb resembles daddy more leh.. daddy come and tell me bb got double chin *faint* The mouth is small small like the father haha..

TMC's staff very pro towards BF. I pretty scared today liao because they keep pushing and i am still trying to overcome my wound pain and also sore nipples. Luckily discharged today hahaha..

They will teach u how to BF asap when u can do it. They even teach how to massage and latch on. Good for me! Because i did not attend any classes before.

Wahhh, hubby hor, i ask him dunno i give birth or he give birth. Sleep more than me and eat more than me. He even finish some soup for me hahahahahaa... first day must eat soupy dishes.. after that u can choose malay or western dishes or chinese ones

kk:
ur bb ger really cute w yi tao xiao jui wor n she is chubby.
thats gd ur hubby pei u all e way n took leave to help u out. Since u took 1 bedded ward, ur hubby slpt on e sofa? hehe he really know how to relax n enjoy at e hospital ah LOL. wow e soups u talking abt seems really delicious
Remember to eat more fish from now for ur milk flow. U are lucky that u really got milk flow tat fast

so did u manage to bath n wash ur hair?

littledreamers:
someone bot the WARMING body wash for confinement use earlier on. Issit to replace the Da Feng Chao n less hassle? i feel tempted to order
really gd?

paula,

so far ok.. Keeping fingers crossed!! I find it more relaxing than latching on. Latching on very stressed leh! Especially when my wound is on healing stage now. I rather not put stress on it yet. But then i am prepared liao. If u dun let bb latch on, i dun think she wanna latch on already, cos used to bottles.

Yes, my bb use NUK bottles!!!! I dun have to buy other bottles, i hope

paula,
What pump did your friend use to express the milk? I read about those not so good pump causing bleeding... It sounds quite scary... cos it can lead to other problems as well.

Thanks, KK. Will get an electric pump. Your darling princess looks so adorable ... she was smiling in one of the pics! Can't wait to hold on to mine ...