(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Morning mummies...

seeing bb in the afternoon, so excited... now week 33 4 days...

glad i finished all my washings of bb's stuff (except his toys). feeling very tired these few days...

Morning Girls!

Hi kk,
Like to check with you, maternity leave is actually 12 weeks = 84 days yah? This 84 days, does it include non-working days and public holidays? My boss asked how long will i be on leave and when i'm coming back to work.... I'm also currently looking for temp staff to cover my absence.

Good morning mummies !

Just did my fetal growth scan yesterday. Very happy that baby is finally on his growth spurt. Now weighs 1.3kg at 30w. He's put on about 400g in 2 weeks ! Might be due to the durians I've been eating. Btw gynae has recommened I deliver at 37w by c-section cos cord is around baby's neck (apparently common) which is 7 weeks away. and also my placenta is not as optimal as some mummies. Still v excited and also did 3D scan yday so could see baby smiling.

Btw can someone remind me how much we can claim from medisave/govt again for antenatal and delivery charges ? And do we have to bring these receipts to the hospital ?

Okasan,
oh... memory dump is due to bad sectors? How can I test for bad sectors now?

Re: washing baby's clothes
I am almost finished with mine
Still got one more batch to go and that's it
unless I am going to buy more...

paula,
no lah the class on labor is part of ante-natal class, must register n pay one

okipoki,
yup, the class is part of antenatal class n must pay. the hospital tour is free, i'd say if u can attend the sat one is quite worth it, at least for me lah coz i never see the inside of delivery room/suite b4. so quite an eye opener. the delivery room is quite spacious w/ individual toilet, tv, and big digital clock. it's the bedroom (2/4-bedder) that is quite cramped. the nurse also showed the bath tub n goodie bag that will be given to all mother

celeste blur,

It is true. I have heard lots of cases of preggies on the verge of fainting in the MRT, especially when it is very crowded. There was one mummy who shared this with me having acquainted her in the MRT one morning heee.. she borrowed my HP to call her hubby at home.

Lyn,

Hmm, sounds like u got to change the whole hard disk haha.. My home PC also sot sot, sometimes give me all kinds of funny problems. At certain time, i will just lose control of the PC and the mouse cursor will go do whatever it wants. So i have to restart. Sometimes restart 3 times! I think kena virus start.

Joy,

I was told to bring whatever receipts we have, big or small, to the hospital for claims. Especially true for TMC.

Serene,

Are u in teaching line too???

i filled up this form with part A and part B. Part A indicates 2 mths leave - 2 mths x 28 days per mth = 56 days. So i take from tomorrow to somewhere around 15 June. If there are school events after 15 June, i got to attend lor

Then for part B, it is for extension for another 1 mth which is another 28 days. So i took the week when school reopen right up to 23 July. Like tat i only lugi half of school holiday.

Yup for my case, it includes everything - public holidays, sat, sun, etc. Unfair hor? Haha!

kk,

I'm not in teaching line. How come include sat, sun and public holidays, i thought these are official off days for everyone??? I will call CPF to check later on this. If like that, then my ML is very short leh, means before my baby turns 3 mths old, i will have to go back to workforce... I wish i can look after my baby till he's 3 mths old...

mum2b,
I think "surface clean only" is just use a damp cloth to clean the surface...

kk,
I dun think it's virus in my laptop unless I got it from the windows update... hahaha... cos I never install just anything on my laptop. And I do not open those forwarded attachments in my emails.

kk,

Actually, it is recommended to breastfeed our baby till 6 mths old but i'm not sure if i still can do it after i returned back to work. So my wish is to breastfeed my baby at 3 mths.

serene,

Ya, and worse still, one mth is counted as 28 days only, and it includes weekends!

That's why pple say it is unfair and cruel. We have to return to workforce at the time our bb can respond to us.

Ya, it is good to BF. But i foresee i definitely won't be able to do it, based on my school environment and workload. So even if i am productive in milk, can only do it till end July. So i definitely got to solve the problem using FM.

Lyn,

Hmm, laptop got problem really headache. hard to repair ya? That's why my laptop only used for teaching. I guess urs for work only?

My PC... sigh, virus must have come from emails and attachments. My hubby always scold me for opening such attachments :p

kk,
ya....like this morning i was on the mrt and it was crowded....feel a bit uncomfy although not dizzy or watever...and was standing...then still got a bad guy cough behind me (i dont think he even covered his mouth cos i can feel a wave of air directed towards my hair at the back of my head...arrrghhh)...cant imagine how much "virus" i kenna...*sigh*

celeste blur,

Haha, ya, such pple really disgusting!

Did u feel ur MS coming back? I dunno ever since when, wanna to vomit in the morning. And if too full also feel like vomiting. These few days even losing appetite. All these are what i experienced in my 1st trimester.

serene
I just got my ML and it is stated 84 days, including public hols, weekends.
Me got 3 public hols, good fri, labour day and vesak day in my leave, so lugi too.

mum2b,
thats to say we cant just join in isnt it ? i hv checked that the sat hospital tour is filled up. eh out of curiousity, the goodie include of what ? hehe

celesteblur,
u still taking mrt to work ar... my hubby forbids me to take bus/train if he is not giving me a lift to work. so normally i will have to take a cab to work..

okipoki,

i can understand ur hubby's point of view. It must be tiring for u to take mrt/bus to work too! Before our new car arrives, for march/april, i actually take cab to school despite 4 bus stops away from home haha.. i find that i get so much heavier, i can't possibly climb up the slope to catch the bus liao. I felt breathless easily.

Sigh, still very SCARED and WORRIED!

kk,
I dont feel MS coming back, but i realise one thing, if i am hungry and stomach is empty will feel slight "nauseous" feeling...as long as i eat and keep stomach full then its okies...*lol*

okipoki,
me still taking mrt to work...cos only 4 mrt stations away from my company. Sometimes if heng got ppl will give up seats to me, sometimes stand through the 10+mins journey hor. If train not crowded still okies, but i realise if the train is like packed sardines these days and i am standing seem to feel a bit like lack of oxygen

if my hb gives me a lift to work then i will reach office quite early a bit sianz also...and both of us will have to wake up quite early.

Re : Dizzyness
Today feel like dizzyness a bit bad....feeling dizzy on and off throughout the morning..
Anything we can do to feel better?

serene,
84 days include public holidays and non working days lah.. haha..

Went to my gynea yesterday.. Week 33, bb weigh 2.2kg while I put on 1kg only.. Very happy.. BB is standard size..

kk / celeste,
me too feeling breathless nowadays especially walking up slope... & sometime even walking while talking. anyway, if ur train-stop to your work place is just 4 stops away not so bad. for me, imagine taking a train ride from west to east followed by bus ride i will definitely faint.
actually hubby's work place locate in the west but no choice he has to ride up & down lor.

kk, be strong for your bb...we will all be rooting for you...

Paula, me too getting breathless...many times my friends/colleagues will comment that i am panting when i dun feel it...

kk,

I've checked with CPF, it's true that the 12 weeks (84 days) include sat, sun and public holidays! Bo hua hor....That means, to be exact, we have to return back to work in less than 3 mths. By then, my baby only 2 mths plus old!

Spicegal, yea, I was orientating my new colleagues earlier for 90 minutes and right now, I felt like I'm down with asthma attached.

BTW, you are giving birth at kkh too?

serene,
84 days include public holidays and non working days lah.. haha..

Went to my gynea yesterday.. Week 33, bb weigh 2.2kg while I put on 1kg only.. Very happy.. BB is standard size..

Serene,

Ya rite!! Lugi rite?? No wonder some colleagues took unpaid leave to spend more time with bb. But i dun wanna to, because too much work to handle in school and moreover, bonus etc will be affected for sure! I dun want to lugi on the money part too haha.. must earn more money to buy things for bb

Spicegal,

Aiyoh, sometimes i pant so hard in bed, my hubby ask me ok or not hahahahaa... especially last nite when i am down with heartburn

Paula,

Have u been taking too much cooling drinks??

Yah lor, feeling scared is normal i think.. first time mah.. no experience at all.

pebble, yve,
Thanks for confirming on the maternity leave issue. Really 'bo hua' ah....

kk,
U r rite, it's cruel and really can't bear to leave our baby when they have started to recognize and react to us....so sad! True enuff, not all working environment is environmental friendly with breastfeeding. I've heard of some government or pte sectors that the company are really considerate for their female staffs... They have a closed pantry area, some even have a spare room for nursing mums....so good! For me, if wanna express milk in company, only got the toilet to use! Also wonder if boss will be happy and understanding if we stop work halfway go toilet express milk and leave milk in the fridge......???? So that's why i mean by saying after resuming to work, may not be easy to continue breastfeeding... So i really wish to BF my baby for at least 3 mths during my maternity leave....

okipoki
it's me who had gone to the Mt A hospital tour 2wks back.. the tour is short like less than 30min.. so dun waste ur time to take day off. actualli i think we can juz pop in ourselve to see the diff in 2 n 4 bedderd. like wat mum2b said, 4 bedder is really squeezy. so i m takin 2 bedder too.

re: stretchmarks
sob sob... i found some underneath my belly... only can see when u shine a mirron underneath. but luckily only 3 lines.. but i m not sure more will come not.. keepin my finger cross.

serene,

i saw my colleague expressing milk before in the ladies. So pai seh!! I felt paiseh, so run out immediately after finishing wee wee hahaha..

And we have diferent teaching periods everyday, and sometimes no time at all when time table is hectic. So it is not conducive enough to BF.

fridge? Oh gosh, we only have one pathetic small fridge in the staff room pantry. i dun think it is nice for me to put inside also. Everyone using that fridge to store their food.

kk,
Ya exactly, i'm the only female here, my company not female environment...so it's quite paiseh to express milk in the toilet esp only 1 toilet here shared among man and woman.... Stored inside fridge, wonder what boss will think... sikali they have cheeky thoughts!!!

kk,
oh dear, u never applied enuff stretch mark cream. i started applying at my 3rd mth. So far, i'm using the 4th tube of cream now, i also used palmer oil for ichiness. But i forgotten to apply my buttock, so recently, i realised got stretch marks liao...sob sob!

kk,
Actually we have 2 toilets here, my company has 2 units of space, 1 toilet per unit but my boss refuse to separate man and woman's toilet the other time when we shifted in. Our office is on one side, occupy 1 unit, so he says the toilet inside office to be shared (unisex), the other one at the other unit (in warehouse) to be used by workers and outsiders. But our toilet is very clean and well maintained lah.

serene,

imagine if u want to express BM in the toilet, u gotta lock it up for quite some time haha.. pple will be thinking what u are doing inside :p

Celeste, i'm going to see him today. Har? No need to test for anemia? I'm feeling dizzy too leh though a bit better than in the earlier part of the week. Anyway, my hubby will be testing my blood for me this evening after my appointment. He just wants to make sure i'm not anemia cos if so, it means lower O2 supply to baby and can affect growth. Somehow diff docs have diff opinions on this ... i think better to find out to be on the safer side. In pregnancy, usually it is iron deficiency anemia.. though there could be other causes like Vit B12 or folate deficiency or due to thalesamia. if really anemia, then will have to take more iron, something wh i dont want to take in excess bec i get constipated easily. But then again, the iron level will not go up just overnight... it will take at least a week or 2 to see the results.

U try taking red date drinks. It did help me to be less dizzy over the weekend.

Today, i also took MRT cos i have a meeting away fr office... very crowded!!! almost cant breathe!

Hi yve,
your baby's weight is good!

Dor,
yeah stretchmarks are at the bottom... must ask hubby to see or use mirror to see from under else cant see. i also found 2-3 lines yesterday!!! so sad.

now my whole tummy feel so stretched after lunch... dont think anymore space to expand already!!! hehe