(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MOAP,
I have a pack of raspberry tea from MIM from my fren. But thinking of starting taking it prob when i am 32 weeks bah

Btw will the tea spoil one? Dont tink so rite? As long as we keep it air-tight in the ziploc bag?
Ya ya...SAF i think will be strict on this. Cos Adrian last time gave me 1 week hospitalisation leave before and my company recognises it. I tink depends on Co. But on the printed out thing, it states as hospitalisation leave.

kk,
my mom is anti-sesame oil during pregnancy, she believes it will cause jaundice...so i am barred from eating too much chicken rice...*lol*

Paula, I am from Raffles and took my antenatal classes from TMC. You just have to pay a bit more than TMC patients. I think $210.

Hmm... is it a bit late for you to enrol in antenatal classes? I was told by the TMC staff to start when I was 5 mths preggy.

Celeste,

u sure there got state ah..cause if he don have hor then tmw i must go bck to work aready...i can't even walk for 10mins coz i will get contraction..if is true then i must go and check with them tonite.. will keep you update my bb gal weight and the outcome..

i don no weather the tea will spoil a not leh..last time i bot the nursing tea..i only drink a few times ...i bought it to camp end up the stupid rat eat all the tea leave..i think they trying to bf their bb rats lor..hahah

moap, oic... can buy the herbs now? yesterday i was walking past hock guan and wondering if i should buy the red dates and longgan first but afraid later on not fresh. any shops in particular in si-ma-lu recommended?

tinklebell,

don buy from hock hua...u will be the cai tao kana chop ah... the shop there selling all the same thing..but you can compare between all the shop lor.. put the herbs inside the fridge.it won't spoil want.your mum should knw mah..ask her to go with you lor... must buy more longan and red dates.. heard that drinking it will increase milk supply leh..

re: washing baby clothes

I washed most of my baby's clothes using 2 days few weeks ago...coz better to wash now in case we go into labour much earlier than EDD loh....

anyway, I intend to wash my baby clothes twice...so I already sone one round of washing using normal detergent...intend to wash the clothes again when nearer to EDD, and this time round, will use baby detergent to wash the clothes......

re: confinement stuff

someone posted a list of confinement stuff to buy...but hor, I think it's better to check with your confinement lady first....coz if u buy liao, but she never use, will be quite wasteful loh....

confinement herbs
==================
1) Tang(1) Kwei(1): 1kg
2) Dang(3) sheng(1): 2kg
3) Gou(3) qi(2) zi(3): 1kg
4) Red dates: 3kg
5) Black dates: 1kg
6) Nan zao: 1kg
7) Da feng cao: 28 packets
8) Longan meat: 1kg
9) Ba zhen(package): 7 packets
10) Mi(4) zao(3): 100g

MOAP,
Try and confirm with Dr. Adrian, cos i remember mine was like tat last time. But I am not sure is it because I had a DC done and before that I had a official hospitalisation letter but I wanted another 1 week to rest so Dr. Adrian printed out another copy at his clinic printer to extend another 1 week but stated as hospitalisation leave.

If really cannot recognise, u try taking unpaid leave? Because if u walk for 10mins and u will get contraction then its better for u to rest *hugz*
haha, u so cute toking bout bf their bb rats...*lol*...maybe i ask hb to try first...make 1 cup of raspberry tea and let him try, if taste ok everything then i will drink the next day...let him be guinea pig...*lol*

okasan,
me oledi finished washing those hand-me-downs with dynamo few weeks ago. But now i wanna start washing with the bb detergent liowz
cos normally weekdays at work no time to bring out laundry to sun...so only got weekends to do it

MOAP,
how to make the longan red dates tea hah? I asked my mom she said last time she confinement never drink this kind of thing also...*lol*

MOAP, i heard the raspberry tea from MIM is out of stock. intending to get some from Plant and Planet @ Centrepoint.
Should start drinking hor... now week 32 lo.

tinklebell,
don't buy at hock hua, coz u need to buy in large quantity...so go si ma lu cheaper....during chinese new year, si ma lu also a good place to get all the goodies and mushroom coz cheaper loh....

Celeste, the red dates longan tea, just throw one handful of red dates and longan, add hot water, leave in flask. can alternate between red/black dates. also, can drink fried brown rice with ginger. but must prepare beforehand. will ask my MIL to prepare for me in early May.

celeste,
ya, I also intend to start washing the baby clothes again with baby detergent this time round...also making use of weekends...lucky this month and May got holidays, more time to prepare

for longan and red date tea, it's not really to increase milk supply...what I understand was that when we are doing confinement, we cannot drink plain water at all, so we should be drinking red date & longan tea, or rice water, etc to replenish our body fluid....

it's easy to make this drink...just throw the red dates and longan into water and boil for 30-40min, add rock sugar and the drink is done

moap,
u doing confinement yourself, then different, muz shop for the confinement stuff yourself....

for those with confinement lady, better to ask her coz she may not use the herb u buy, end up wasteful...but red dates and longans are standard items for confinement so can stock up these first

MOAP... I intend to go there this week. Just rang them, they sell this. No worries, will buy for you. Can send to you via postage. I am not sure how much it cost, and how much we need. They sell tea leaves, so I estimate, from week 32, one cup a day, from week 36, 3 cups a day... will ask the salesgirl to advice me on how much we need.

okasan,

wake up loh...remember your red date tea cannot add rock sugar..if not you will get diabitics ah...i don no hw to spell..coz it aready very sweet...
i drank a lot of plain water coz i bf mah if don drink will die wan..

i read from other forum hor..they say TMC told them that drink red dates tea hor will increase milk supply leh...but i not really belived lah..i belived in demand and supply.

Amy,

i aready week 32...hehhe.. i think don need to help me buy lah... i will drink coconut juice instead of that...hhehe Thank you..
so have you bought bb carrier??? or sling?? or you prefer pram

wow okasan! so many types of chinese herbs... see already also blur. okie, will prob go si-ma-lu this weekend to check out. but where r the shops? near the temple?

moap, my mother says she also blur on wat herbs to buy...may most likely go with mil. phew, luckily yesterday never buy fr hock guan.

Hi Mother of princess,

Yah, herbs are troublesome. My mum say must boil 2 packets with water. Then pour into one pail of hot water. Then reboil the herbs second time and pour into another pail of water. So one day can only bathe one time with 2 pails of herb water. My mil has to do all the boiling for me liao heeeee...

i am drinking lots of longans and red dates now, so will i have more milk then? :p

I get to know from neighbour that red dates help to prevent jaundice. That is when i start taking lots of red dates with longan tea. My mil makes the tea for me

There is one type of fish when cooked with payaya will increase milk supply. ANd it works for lots of mummies!!

Hi Okasan,

Ya, i also heard of that from my mum too. Longan and red date tea for confinement. So my mum will be getting more red dates for me

Hi Tinklebell,

Yah rite, i agree with mother of princess. Can buy herbs and leave in fridge. Perhaps u can buy later lor. My mum only bought two weeks back when i was in my week 34
They will take up lots of space in ur fridge, so dun buy too early also.

Why do we need to drink raspberry tea??

Hi Tinklebell,

My mum always frequent the shop on level 2 (i think so) above the market at si ma lu. There is this shop called "Yun Shan". "Man Ji" also belong to the same boss. Together the boss own the chain of 3-4 shops there. One shop run by herself, one shop run by her son-in-law, another shop run by daughter, etc. Their prices are reasonable and service is good.

Celeste,

i don wan to take no-paid leave..bo hua... tonite i will go and c dr adrain and ask him abt it... i tell you hor ..i can feel my bb just on top of my "V" leh coz when walking i fell very very heavy at there and when she kick..wah can u imagine that..

Longan & Red Dates Tea
Ingredients:
10 pcs Dried longan flesh
10~20 Dried red dates(seeds removed)
10 pcs dang sheng
can add ginger if you wan to

Method:
1. Boil & simmer ingredients in 4~5 cups of water for 45 minutes to an hour until liquid is fragrant & tasty.
2. Drink throughout the day.

here is the recipes for the fish and papaya soup.

Fish & Papaya Soup
Ingredients:
200g green(unripe) or semi-ripe papaya
1 no. fish bones(carp, snakehead, seabream, pomfret, Kurau fillet)
4 slices ginger

Method:
1. Scale & clean fish.
2. Simmer together with pieces of papaya & ginger for 1/2 hour or till soft.
3. Remove bones before serving.

Hi mother of princess,

How do u feel when ur bb kicks, cos u mention u suspect the bb is right on top of that area?

I can still feel my bb above my belly button area. It bulges out there when i sit down, especially. Below the belly button seems to be flatter.

moap,
I do add rock sugar coz I put little longan and red dates and a lot of water...so the drink is quite "thin"...so need a bit of rock sugar to sweeten the drink...I din put a lot of longans to boil the drink coz it's very heaty...once I put a lot of longan, the drink sweet sweet, very nice, but the next day, sore throat loh...

but for confinement, maybe can add more longans since we can take in more heaty food during that period.....so no need rock sugar...hehe...

kk,

my bb kicks is above the belly button on the left side...everytime right side of my tummy will pop up a bit.. i think is bb back side.. then every time i will get to see wave like movement...or when she gave a punch at my "V" .. it is so painful..

Hi mother of princess,

Ya ya! My bb kicks are about the same as yours
Good thing is she dun really punch me at my "V" lah haha..

kk,

i think my bb head is very very low.. tonite i will ask my gyna abt it. imagine the head is just there .. then how i enjoy intercourse with my DH...HAHAHAHHA....pai sey to said this....

okasan,

still got do since first tri... but recently not in the mood leh it could be scared of contraction and bb head too low...but still got to do it for the sake of doing it lor....hehehhe

last year i had it just 1 day before my gal is born... heard that having intercourse is a natural way to induce labour naturally ...

Paula - is the fetal growth scan same as detailed scan ie they give you a report of baby' measurements as well as the range for 5-95% percentile ?

Hi jojo,
Probably your new maid has "ai xing" that's why your boy likes her. Babies has this inherent sixth sense on who will treat them good and who not.

Hi MOAP,
Wow.. buy so early ah.. I scared will spoil so dare not buy. Nowadays, I already started drinking red dates with dried longan drink

I bought a confinement recipe book. There's some "recipes" for herbal drink. I will follow that
. "Du zhong" seems to be quite important. Has anyone heard of it? Or is going to take "du zhong"?

My mum has done a trial to make "mi jiu" and was successful. hahaha... Now she asked me to start taking that...

Okipoki,
Do you have UOB card? There's one-for-one high tea at Orchard hotel. But not valid for weekends. I like the high tea at Marriott and Mandarin Singapore

MOAP: yep, have started working on the hospital bag last nite ... :)

Joy: re. the fetal growth scan, they scanned for the volume of blood flow, heartbeat and baby size ... less detailed than the detailed scan. Yes, they do provide me with a report on the baby's measurement

MOAP,
"Du zhong" is a type of herb. I read from the recipe book, got two sets of herbs recommended, especially to avoid any "side effects" of not doing a good confinement. I have selected two herbal drink recipes... I am quite KS... to protect from the "side effects". It's from a Taiwanese recipe book for confinement. I dunno if it will apply to Singapore context since our weather is different...

amy,
fried brown rice? First time heard of that...wat is that for?

My mom will be helping me with confinement..she is more or those chin chye type...she doesnt even drink longan + red dates tea during her own confinement...haha

okasan,
so much herbs?!?! I think i juz stick to red dates + longan tea. The others i wont be taking..cos i dont really like herbs a lot and my mom whom will be preparing the food dont really use herbs too...

MOAP,
my bb i think prob the head is facing down oledi...i feel a lot of movement and kicking juz around the ribcage below my chest.....wah liew...so active...*faint*
Haha, as for intercourse ah...me ever since preggie never do...hb scared of hurting bb....hmmzz...*lol*

Celeste,

this few weeks at hme hor. i keep spending money leh..join in so many bp.. first is bumwear then the cream then nw is avent milk bag..hubby asking me when i goin to stop buying.

okasan
Thank for posting us all the herbs needed. The nurse in TMC told us that Dang gui will stop the milk supply. If breastfeed, maybe cannot eat dang gui but my mum says dang gui supposed to recuperate for red blood. Is good for our health esp we lose so much blood during delivery...

Celeste,
Same for me, hubby worried intercourse will hurt baby so we actually only had twice so far...and i think my hubby seems to be super/extra careful, not natural...I thought my case is the only one who's not active in sex during preg! It was recorded in the book, it's safe to have sex during preg as long as we aren't too rough...