(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Tinklebell,
My last check up i was already at 59.3kg. Wonder how much will i gain next week when i make my next visit.I tot craving is only first 3mths. Since 3mths onward,i do not have those craving like you all leh.

Re: BH
I still have the tummy tightening but not so frequent anymore. 1 day at least 2-3 times.

Grrr.....y i am still so sleepy even i went to bed last nite before 10. Still got 2mor mths to go.

Re: Employing maid
I still think employing a maid is all call for luck. My boy is suspected of HFMD, nobody to take care. Hopefully the maid will be here by next week.

moap,
not a good idea to let maid alone with your kids...esp with 2 kids...she may not be able to handle 2 kids well enough....

currently, who's taking care of your #1? if possible, have someone to supervise the maid, better loh...
u better dunh sneak out too often...need anything, get your hubby to buy back...dr adrian say bed rest, u must guai guai rest at home...

Josephine,
Another way to stop the cramp is by standing straight on the floor. Thats what i do almost every midnite.Do you drink plenty of cold drinks,that maybe the causes.I had cramps whenever i had cold drinks.

Dor, wat is baby positioner? I suppose the set u got is enuf. If u have a cot, then u will need the cot bumper to prevent bb fr knocking on the sides.

kk, yummy! ice cream!!! aiyo, u r making me hungry again!

Jojo, good thing u dont have craving like me! aiyo..donno how much wt i am going to gain.

Oh dear, i really feel like sleeping.... wonder how i am going to survive the next half of the day.

been eating ice cream every night lately...sweet tooth *LOL*

ya, i feel so tired too...have already increase my sleeping hours, but still so tired....every morning when I woke up, just wish it's weekend and can sleep more....

wow, looks like all the mummies here are very slim and small build. I'm ashamed to announce that i've already hit over 70kg!!!! At my 30wk plus now, i've already gained 13kgs! i'm never slim, my weight never below 50kg before i'm preg! So tinklebell, you don't have to worry yr weight at 61kg now. I'm the fattest of all here! But my gynae still say i'm on track, baby is normal size. i think this is most important of all. if i really put on alot, i just have to burn them off after birth, no choice lor! frankly, i only eat normally, also never crave for tibits!

hi okasan,
Though recently when my tummy gets heavier, i feel more tired esp my back ache but i'm still very stubborn, lead the normal routine life...sleep late! I always think, all preg women slept more than me, rest more than me, only i like to move around, walk alot....but yet hor, my weight increases everytime leh....funny rite?

Celeste, wow, the new aussino comforter set looks really cool.... so we are not eligible for any further discount with our aussino card?

maybe later will go to Plaza Sing to buy this set. i will be getting the air jet set for my bb... daddy will be pleasantly surprised... cos my hubby into planes... all sorts... including remote control toys...

re fetal scan, hmm... i saw my gynae yesterday, no mention of any need for fetal scan. in week 31 and 5 days now. my nx visit in 2 weeks' time. At wk 31 and 4 days, bb weight 1.8 kg. his weight now nearing to the normal curve... ha ha... maybe cutting down on food due to indigestion and heart burn helps... bb not so big liao... so happy.

bb head still down, no change in position since last visit. saw his hands and legs... no wonder i always experienced kickings on my right side, he is lying on my left... can see his pat pat and tummy... very cute. saw his face... v chubby... lovely... can't wait to cuddle him.

gynae visit very fast... scaned, then less than 5 mins, out of the room... hmm... nothing much to discuss with her...

re Strep B - i was diagnosed with this in week 16, so during labour, need to put on a drip with medication.

yesterday night, hubby and i made an impulse purchase, we bought a bravia lcd tv for our room... so bb can watch dvds with us... ha ha... waiting for delivery this afternoon...

serene,
I also walk alot...even walk more than my hubby...but weight also keep increasing....it's normal lah coz we also eat a lot and also baby is gaining weight too mah

amy,
wow, your baby so chubby liao....I also always feel my baby's movements on my right side too...sometimes he moves to the centre but most of the time, his hands and legs are moving on my right tummy....

okasan, thanks!

serene, ya lor, seems like the mummies here are so slim... some of them <55kg... envy envy! nowadays i try not to stock up too much food and drinks in the fridge esp MUG root beer. Once, i had craving for that for weeks!!! crazy right? i try not to think of food but very difficult leh. As for normal meals, i dont really eat a lot cos doesnt look appetising to me.

Amy, ya lor, the visits are usually chop chop finish and next.... haha... maybe wat we need is a scanning machine... no wonder Tom Cruise bought one. with that, no need to see gynae cos we can see our bbs everyday :p

Serene,
I am not slim either. I have been increasing 3kg every mth since preggie.Its just that i am small built.In fact i had gained about 14kg liao.If another 3kg gain when my next visit next week..wow..total 17kg gain liao...worried how to lose those weight after delivery.
But its good news we are gaining weight,that means bb is growing well too..rite! :p

Tinklebell,
Same here. I think my only craving is cold,fizzy drinks these days. Bought alot of coke,Mug root beer too. Can't go without fizzy drinks these day.

gynae visits chop chop means no complications...so good news mah!! more impt is to see baby via ultrasound scan...*LOL*

hidora, how to prepare confinement wine? i only asked my MIL to prepare brown rice, for drinking...

Medusa, you ok? try not to walk too long distance. me too... walk abit, tired. now only go out if hubby accompanies me.

tinklebell, my weight gain also 10 kg, now 60 kg.
still eating ice cream... ah... the ice cream selection at Isetan Scotts is fabulous... Japanese wafer choco and coffee... just had famous amos this morning... yum...

just rang aussino, the bb comforter set will only arrive in June. selling for $69.90. i just reserved my air jet set. hee hee... will ask hubby to pick up during confinement lo...

MOAP, better take good care. dun sneak out.... ask hubby to stock up goodies for you lo... all sorts, so when you have craving, can have a wide selection ma...

MOAP re maid, are you able to arrange for your mum or MIL to assist or supervise, at least for the first few months? better to have an adult at home.
also, you might like to consider ex Sin? there are some good transfer maids out there as well. will be interviewing some maids this Sat and Sun.

Jojo, tell us more abt your maid.... which agency? How did you select her?

Re: Weight Gain
I think i am one of the heaviest also...Now already around 63-64kg
And I am only 29wks 3 days *sigh*

amy,
Ya...the bb comforter set at $69.90 is discounted price already. I asked them before and they said not eligible for the aussino card discount or bday discount.
U bought Bravia LCD tv? That one is gd! My hb's eyeing on the 26-inch one to put in the bedroom...costs $1999 at those electrical stores rite? And we asked at those Queensway electrical stores they selling at $1750

Amy, oic, will only arrive in June... $69.90 is quite reasonable. Comes with bumper cot as well right? i saw some at Tom and Stephanie the other day, the design is not so nice and it doesnt come with cot bumper, blanket and pillow. Price is $39.90 already. I'm very keen to get one Aussino set soon.

celeste, i paid $2400 for my bravia 32 inch. got it from a neighbourhood shop. comes with free installation bracket...
tn can watch my einstein dvds on a bigger screen lo..

tinklebell, the bb comforter set comes with bumpers (x2), comforter, fitted sheet, bolster and pillow case. quite value for money le... just that the current designs not as nice. really like the new designs.

Hi joesephine,
hahaha... You are tempting me to go and stock up the ice-cream ah...

MOAP,
To me, sending to childcare will be better than maid. It's not a very good idea to leave your kids with maid alone. Best to have someone else around.
I got a nephew at 8 years old now. Can see the effects of being looked after by maid from birth till about 3 years old! Kids need attention and love from their parents. He needs some counselling now. It's a very long story. Wonders if he was being sexually abused by the maid when young. Maybe you may say it's luck to get a good maid or not... That maid certainly had abused this nephew, at least physically, cos my dad caught her red-handed. That's why she got sacked immediately. My sis also caught the maid feeding this nephew raw meat and overnite rice. My nephew fell from the table onto the floor before when the maid put him alone on the dining table. So... everything adds up to the problems now that his parents are facing...

amy,
hehe, my bedroom one is 29-inch tv...cannot tahanz..too big liowz...room too small...feel a bit farnie watching such a big screen so prefer to get a smaller tv...
...u using the installation bracket meaning u r fixing it on the wall?

Amy,
I prefered transfered cos they already have local experience. There are many things we don't have to teach them.We'll just give them routine of works to be done for daily,weekdays,mthly.They have to used their own initiative to do the work.Both my ex-maid and this one is ard 27-28 yrs old,both married with kids.The first one is Indo and this new one is Filiphino.Cos my son already knows how to communicate,so we have to get someone whom do not have communication breakdown with my boy.Personally, i still think employing a maid is by luck.Not all maid are as bad as what we see from the newspaper.There are good one like what Tinklebell said.The maid agency i am using is located in People's Park Complex.Her variety of maids come from Indo.As my SIL have been using her company for many yrs,so we'll just go to her as well.We had a face to face interview.Most important is you feel comfortable with her.I am also betting on luck too.You will never know just by interviewing.We'll have to monitor during her stay with her.We'll also let her know that she is given a probation of 3mths,should she perform well.We will increase her pay.This is one of the way to motivate them to work whole heartedly for you.

Oops! Did i type too long..lolx....

Jojo... wow... thanks for your advice on maids. i am also liasing with an agency at PP Complex. will drop by nx wk for new bios. did you have problem teaching your first maid? language wise?

Jojo/ Amy, how much r u paying for the agency fees? My friend recommended one agent to me but no need to pay agent fees... and i was wonder why. wat's the catch?

tinklebell, for the PP Complex agency, fee is $1. some other agencies i am looking at, range from 199 - 699.

amy, $1 only? how come the range can be so wide? i also dont understand. how many times they allow u to change maid over a year?

Tinklebell,
Better check any adhocs will be incurred.I am not aware of these regulation too.My agency charged us $480 for Fil maid.
Amy,
Which agency got $1 fee.Mine is situated on the 4th floor,very quiet spot rite at the corner.I think is call Friends something..

MOAP i agree with Amy i rather not put maid with kids. Better put maid + kids with elderly. If not, just get nanny/infant care?

Dor: thanks for the advice. I will wake hubby up everything the cramp comes, then he will flex it and resolve it. only last night it was not the normal "straight" cramp, my feet was twisted so he was at a loss which direction to flex... Any info on how to cure cramps?
i don't drink cold drinks le... i tot it was the coconut too "cooling"...

jojo, i just checked with my friend who got her maid half a yr ago thru the no-agency fee agent.. she says nothing extra leh. Just have to pay upfront the maid loan of $1.8k and deduct that fr maid's salary. somemore no limit on number of times u can change maid... sounds too good to be true too.

Really too good to be true.

Josephine,
Maybe is the cocount.It is a cooling drinks too ba.I think no cure for cramps when we are preggie.What coconut you drinking btw.Saw from other thread that drinking coconut helps during delivery,i am not very sure either.You got any idea.

Josephine_tan,
ya....if there's no elderly arnd to "look" at the maid...better not put maid alone with babies/toddlers. I've decided to do away with this option too. Trying to look arnd for gd nannies now...*sigh*

Same for me too, everytime when i visit my gynae, also very fast! My hubby asked how come the doctor dun talk much. I told him maybe fast means everything is fine and normal, it's good news too! My gynae also tells me everything is normal, fine.

Jojo,
Now let's not be affect by the weight gained. as long as we eat wisely, didn't overeat, i guess we really can't control the weight gain now, most important is baby is healthy and growing. Let's make a resolution to work hard to lose off those fats after birth...
Now just be happy and eat well!

Okasan,
Now i have slight diff on walking too long liao, maybe i'm heavier, backache, legs gets tired easily too! My feets are slightly swollen also.

Btw, anyone of you know where to get Carter's brand baby clothes? I wanted to buy some baby boy's 2 pc set, wonder where to shop. I've been to alot of places like taka, isetan, kiddy palace, tom &amp; stephenie, kidsmall, lesenphants etc.

Currently my sis-in-law will come to my hse to take care of my elder gal.she has been taking care of her since i went bck to work last year at jun... we paid her $600 include mopping floor and doing simple house work.. but sometimes she will forget this and that so my hubby have to remind her again... after i gave birth i think i wont increase her pay but will tell her if she free then mop the floor if not then weekend i will do it...
i don like the idea of having a maid.

Serene,
Yup. I know what you mean.Luckily i don't have much craving.

Okasan,
You are not alone.I think majority of us is facing the same problem..hehe!

BTW..any of you read from one of the thread about a young single mum (her hb commit sucide) when she is preggie.She is now under medication and she cannot BF her 6mths old bb.Worst of all,her bb cannot be feed on FM.She will throw out everything except BM.She is asking for BM contribution from all those mummies who have extra.Most of the mummies even go to the extend to help her on her financial.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/369876.html?1144383609

MOAP,
How often do you drink?By how many weeks is advisable to drink.Which kind of coconut shl we drink.Those bought from basa malam small hask one or big green one?

Re confinement wine:

For who who are intersted in the confinement wine recipe, I will post it on sun or monday after I visit my mom. It doesnt seem difficult to do from the way she did it, but it could be becos she had being doing it for decades. The ingredients are not expensive, so can always try it out. And you dun hv to bother abt it too. After the preparation is done, just leave it there to stand for 1.5mths before taking it out. But you would need a glass jug and a wooden long spoon/chopsticks for stirring.

kite,

I'm also not sure what causes Grp B strep leh. It's not written in the mag.

serene,

Yea, I got company finally. I'm also over 70kg. But I think I could be fatter than you cos my weight was never below 55kg even before I got pregnant. Lol.

MOAP,

Seriouly, a nanny/ infant care would be better than maid. Too many horror stories of maids around. On the news, from the relatives... If there's no elder in the house, I would say dun risk it. Although employing a maid is also luck-based, like my aunt's maid is very good. But there are also horror stories on nanny and infant cares. So really, all these are based on luck...

celeste,

Your current weight is not even near to mine. So dun worry! Lol.

jojo,

i think i start to drink on week 36..
1 per day..you can not drink those from parsa malam want...you must buy those big green husk type..ntuc got sell but they deskin it then it became white skin.

hidora,
me pre-preggie weight was bout 55-56kg liowz. The slimmest i ever went down to was 48kg...haha...but that was like 3-4 yrs ago liowz...*lol*...so dont worry...i am same as u too! Hehe, pre-preggie a bit meaty type :D

Thanks hidora, okipoki, Jojo and Amy
. Am ok now, think was just over-tired yesterday.

Wah reading abt food cravings create more cravings for me, LOL!

Maid- really depends on luck. Anycase I have trust issues, I wldn't trust a gd maid alone with my tod, nor even a nanny. Unless the nanny is close n reliable blood relations. Infantcare centre also must check carefully.

MOAP,

No wonder you sneaked out to buy goodies yesterday..

celeste,

At least you had the "4" in your life before.. My lowest weight starts with "5", before pregnant, I was "6" and now I'm a "7"! Ahaha.. And hor, from your weight before pregnant and now, you have not put on 10kgs yet leh. I've put on more than 10 kgs liao.. To the extend my gynae said: "You're very fat!" Then she ask me to eat 2.5 meals a day.. How can? Constantly hungry leh.. Lol.

Medusa,

Glad you are feeling better.

Ya, today the mummies are talking about ice cream.. Scary lah, this thread. =D

I think every mummy will have some extend of trust issues.. I remembered a few mths back, my MIL told us to get a maid, as she said having a maid is good. Can do housework lah, cook lah, look after FIL and bb lah, then cheap somemore. And omg, I got so paranoid! All the scary images started popping up in my mind.

Then luckily, my own mom decided to stop working and look after bb instead.. Phew..

hello ladies,
been a long time since i'm here chatting. gotta rush out some work stuffs

talking abt weight gain now. i'm so ashamed, before preg already hit the '6' and now already '7'!!!!

currently tummy like grow so much... diff to sleep and move ard fast fast.

hi hidora &amp; celeste
we sama sama....me also fleshy type before preg. when i'm at 6-8th wk preg, already weigh 58kg at gynae's clinic. I never dare to hope for much, just hope after birth, can slowly go back to 55kg, i'll most happy liao!

Lolx! All the ice cream melting in this thread. Luckily i also got 1 tub of haggen daze in the fridge.Tonite can finish it before you all start on others craving.

MOAP,
Noted. Will drink after week 36. If i were you,i will shout and yell at my hb for not buying the food i crave for. Dont even think of talking to me till i get what i want..lolx...

Serene,

I just want my "6" back, then very happy liao. Lol. The last time I weighed 58 was when I was in poly, donkey donkey years back. Haha.

JoJo,

Must think hb dun buy food for you is to help you control your weight. Lol. I can't imagine my hb buying all the food I craved.. So scary... KFC lah, butter cookies lah, durains lah... He dun buy for me, I already put on more than 10kgs... @_@ And luckily I'm not working too. No spending power, so cant splurge on tibits. Heng ah...

hidora,
i'm banned from durians, sigh. Been cheating with durian potong ice-cream, but it's not the same!
i refuse 2 weigh myself at home... but when at gynae, nurse will always exclaim, "gd appetite ah?".

Jojo, the $1 agency is at B1. Net Resources, unlimited replacement during 2 yrs. the best price i've got. however, of cos, if i can find a better maid bio from another agency, i dun mind paying abit more.. but not more than $300 lo...