(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Medusa,
Wow your MIL pissed off to see your hub clean the floor? Hmmm .... mine is the typical da-sao-ye... at his mother's house, u will NEVER ever see him lift a finger to help. even getting water, he will tell me to get a cup for him!!! Finish eating, just pass the plate to me and ask me to tongpang the plate to the kitchen! Argghhhh!!! At least at home, on rare occassions, he will help me out. If i stay with MIL, i think this will drive me mad someday. .. good thing we stay on our own.

Jo Jo, agree... maybe need to discuss with my hubby again. this weekend interviewing a transfer maid with 7 yrs exp working for the same employer. she worked in a bungolow.. and hubby wary of her, cos she might compare her lifestyle with her previous employer with her lifesytle with us... hmm.... ya lor.. all down to luck...

okies... gotta go... see you ladies tmr!

Amy, i personally dont like maids to have handphones. If u are employing her, better to tell her that u do not allow hps until after certain hr of the day. can u imagine she using one hand to sms and then the other carrying your bb?
I agree with Jojo that $350 for 1 day off is a bit higher than normal. But if she is to work in 2 double storey houses, maybe $350 is still ok.

But what is more important is that u yourself is comfortable with the maid. why dont u interview a few more and make comparisons?

Agreed with Tinklebell too.Maybe of her previous employer,she had better offer and employer living in double storey houses have different lifestyle like us living in HDB flat.Maybe she eats bird nest for breakfast..haha!!Read from the maid and expense forum that no handphone for the maid.True what if she is bathing the bb and suddenly the phone ring.She difinately will leave the poor bb naked and run for her phone first.Can you imagine that.I think you better read up that thread.Most of the mummies are experience mother of 5 to 6 maids liao.So their advise is very useful to us.I learnt quite alot from them too.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/306115.html?1144041604

Amy, JMO weighing pros and cons:
- (Educated) Filipino can talk more, read more to ur baby/ tod. Indo unless exceptionally educated, cant. So depends on whether this is a priority requirement. H/e, generally Filis are said to be less receptive to instruction compared to Indos. We engaged Fili more than a decade ago and my sis got an asthma attack arguing with her. H/e my previous wkly PT cleaner was Fili- it was easier cos she was on auto-mode.

- the pay is not really an issue to me if maid is gd lor. But note that Filis start on higher scale, therefore will ultimately need more performance rewards than Indos.

- Personally I dun like maids to hold a mobile, unless they r proven to be mature and sensible. Seen alot of maids chatting on mobile instead of keeping adequate eye over charges, dangerous if charges are young babies, tods.

- Sounds like she's competent in household chores for a huge space, but that may not be what u need/ not a priority?

- ability to cook is a great relief, u wldn't want to have raw/ overcooked, inedible food to look forward to. ;)

- her build is very slight, more like Indo maid build. I'm surprised she can physically handle 2-storey housechores. When tod is older, she may not be able to carry... depends on whether u think ur tod will be big-build? My gf has a tod who needs to be carried, thankfully she's small-built or her small-built helper will definitely fall over!

Allowance for ur MIL is so subjective, but perhaps wait-and-see how much the maid can cope on her own? If maid ends up being unable to cope with both chores and baby, it'd be more tiring for ur MIL.

Haha JoJo!

It seems that we are intersted in the same type of bulk purchase. I was just talking to Wenna with regards to the collection point.

Hidora,
You mean you also bought the pillow.LOlx.But compared to normal bean sprout pillow,the bolster is more secure for bb when they sleep.After all,we will be back to work.Leaving the maid and bb.So have to give more special item to bb lor.If im a SAHM,i may not spent that money.I myself will be 100% concentrate on my own bb mah..What color did u choose.

For mummies who have order BW bulk purchase,

Email from RITA:

Hi Lynette,

Thought I'd drop you an email in case you get asked by your forummers on why we wouldn't be able to offer the discount of 20% the next time.

We have been steadily increasing the quality of our diapers since we started 4 years ago. Moms who have been with us ever since we started on our cloth diapering adventures can attest that our diapers have gotten a LOT better over the years.

We have kept our base price at S$25 all these years despite the upwards pressure in terms of costs. The price of materials, printing of batik and lamination of material have all steadily gone up. The increase last year in fuel surcharges spiked up our transportation costs (of the materials from the USA) by a huge margin.

We will keep the price at S$25 as long as it is viable to. We are happy to provide mums who are keen to cloth diaper their babies a local brand
alternative to the other American alternatives which are also available here.

Thank you for your support and we're glad there are so many mothers out there willing to give cloth diapering a try :)

Best regards,
Rita

For mummies who intend to buy Medela PUmp!

There is a shop call First Few Years.This is the only shop that does not take the stock from SG distribution company.In another words,it doesnt come with the warranty card which other retails shop and hosital pharmacy have.With the warranty card,at least,you can service or repair your pump within the warranty period.If im not wrong, this retail shop is located in KKH.Don't mistake me for a Medela promoted..i am only sharing info on what i have learnt from the previous company i work with.

Fyi also.The company also rent those lamp or lights for jaundice bb.Exactly the same hospital is using.You can have it at home rather than having to separate the bb from you in hospital.Didn't want to be a spoiltspot.As i say,just sharing what i noe.

JoJo,

Yup, I bought the pillow too. Hehe. Got the blue colour. Was looking at the other type of beansprout husk pillows, and realized that this is more special.

Hehe,
I'm quite amused by that BW email. :p I bought a batch (quite alot of $$$!) for #1 and have nothing gd to say- I know other mums who were similarly *burned* by their BW purchases. I won't RISK another cent to try their new batches, so I can't comment on their statement "Moms who have been with us ever since we started on our cloth diapering adventures can attest that our diapers have gotten a LOT better over the years." A LOT better? LOL, I would hope so :p cos my BWs and some other mums' were crap!

BTW mine were the pretty batik ones which fall apart from the waterproof inner lining (doesn't matter I suppose since the waterproofing didn't work- all those leakages!), with unreliable button snaps that wouldn't button! :D

tinklebell:
okie let me know if u are going on 6 May for the Cordlife Talk. We might bump into each other hehe

okasan:
my hubby can iron clothes better than me, alamak cos guy's office shirt so big, i find it difficult to iron nice nice leh. therefore, he always iron his own clothes n some of my clothings as well
And if my hubby really put in effort to do something like hsework he can do even better n cleaner than me.

jojo:
since u posted the pillow n bolster set, its seems better than those normal beansprout pillows cos i m planning to order normal beasprout pillow for my bb. As for the pillow n bolster set, both are not attached together rite, only 2 bolsters are attached rite? for e pillow, it meant to put it over e chest or head rite? cos i dun intend to use pillow for my bb initially.

amy,
thanks for the info on the books

thought kinokuniya just had a sale recently?

re: allowance to parents
there's no market rate for allowance to parents for them to spend loh...it depends on many factors such as how many siblings are giving the parents allowance, whether the parents solely rely on the allowances or they have their own income, etc....

jojo,
ya, I don't understand why some women tend to pamper the men in the house...luckily, my MIL is opposite...she always ask my hubby to clean the house, and now that I'm preggy, she ask him to do more...hehe....

ya, it's very bad if the kids cannot take care of themselves loh....muz train them from young...

hidora,
thought u organise one bulk purchase for beansprout pillow before?

I got the normal one coz prefer to put the pillow on the baby...the bolster one, u put the cloth over with bolster at the side, may not be so secure coz the feeling of a cloth and a pillow is different...dun know how to explain...hehe...

kite,
u cannot let baby sleep on a breansprout pillow...thought I mentioned that before? the pillow is uncomfortable and hard for infant's head...

Good Morning ladies!

re: beansprout pillows
How much r they selling in the bulk purchase? i got mine for $17 with casing and delivery from this lady at Bb supplies forumn.

kite, okie will let u know when i will be attending. seems like my hubby cant make it on 6th May.

Anyone of u have trouble cutting your toe nails? Yesterday i tried to cut and paint mine but i realised i cant really reach them without feeling the strain on the tummy

morning ladies

Jojo,
I will make sure my kids knows how to do hsework irregardless of boy or ger. Cos this is my mom's method. Even my brothers know how to cook simple stuffs like fried rice, do their own laundry, mop/sweep the flr, iron the clothes, etc. Cos my mom's mentality is even if u are lazy to do it, u must at least still learn. Therefore since young we were taught to do hsehold chores like from primary 1. Wash our own sch shoes, even if not so clean also nmind...blahblah...then when i was in sec sch, my mom started to teach us to cook simple stuffs
Although we cant be a gd cook, but we can at least whip out simple dishes
And yes, she apply this method to both my brothers and myself.

Hidora,
Yours is a boy.Congrate!

Kite,
You only use the pillow on bb chest,not head.

Okasan,
You are lucky wor having a good helping hand at home.I have to train mine like Medusa did..lolx.

Tinklebell,
The pillow and bolster is $20/set.I will be collecting this Sat ba.

Celeste,
You have a very good mum.And hope your child will be proud to have a good mum like you too.Sometimes asking the child to do hsework with you can be fun too and he enjoy it.Me and my son share the hsework together.But sometimes when his lazy,he will go:Mummy so lazy,everytime ask me do for you..lolx.

Have 'disappeared' for a long while. Got a new boss on board about a month ago and he is super on the ball. So have no time to log in since...He just went out for meeting so can 'eat snake'....

Have been having problem with my 4 years old girl for the past week. She has been behaving funny, telling me she is scared of her 'fierce-looking' toys. So spent half a day to get her to select all the scary toys to throw away in front of her....

Then still see her sitting by herself, tears dropping non-stop for no reasons. Talked to her for very long time but she was just not talking. Last nite claimed she has headache. This morning refused to go school. Cry and cry outside the school.....

The teacher then told me that my daughter has revealed that she's afraid that everyone (me, my husband, my parents) will not want her anymore after her baby brother arrived! Said we talked alot to baby and never talk to her (which is not true lor).

After hearing that, I feel very sad. Itz like I tot these will only happen after the baby arrive....lucky thing is now I still have about 2 months to sort things out before I pop.

Dunno why my daughter feels this way coz we have been giving her a lot of attention. Anyone ever faced such situations before?

Hi Starfish,
I had joined in this group recently.I also have a boy age 5.So far he got no problem with his coming arrival of little sister.But wont know how it will goes.But during these period.We always tell him how much we will have to put attention to the newborn as bb don't know everything.He is big enuf to understand everything.Luckily my son seems to accept what we tell him.My boss advise is to buy your elder child a gift when the bb is born (that is what he did when his wife give birth to a #2) and they were telling the #1 that its a gift from #2 for thank you to accept and will love him as part of the family.Maybe u can try tat when your bb arrive.

hi hi no time no post.. how's every1?

yeah.. hidora, think have placed order for the beanspout pillow from u, but so far any news?

hmm.. talking abt cord life. i juz went to the talk last sat.. at first b4 going, i wanted to sign up, but hearing the talk, abit hesitant cos the use of cord blood is still at very preliminary stage... still no concrete proof of how cord blood can be used medically.. plus after finding out that not many pple sign up (think they have only 4500 customers since 3 yrs of establishment), i am not sure how useful this thing is..

Perhaps u gals want to share with me how u feel abt the cordlife talk cos i am still considering this..

talking abt maids, me too not sure shd hire or not.. want to have indo cos used to have indo maid at my moms place, feel that they r more trustworthy n simple but haha my malay std is very poor.. but then the best is that i can cope w/o a maid cos oso sian to stay with some1 else..

tinklebell, i noe what u mean..i oso have difficulty of cutting my toe nails.. in the end need my hb to do it for me.. I feel like a big buffalo

okasan/Jojo:
oops i left out the word "bb's head". thats y misleading. Well, yes i know bb initially cant slp on beansprout pillows n i m not gg to let her slp on a one. Just that for e bulk purchase of the pillow n bolster set thread, e organiser has posted a pic of her bb's head being placed on the beanspout pillow plus 2 bolsters at the side and i find it curious whether the pillow + 2 bolsters are attached together or wat. how come they use beansprout pillow for bb's head?

tinklebell:
no problem
i m stil thinking to get e bolster set or just the normal beansprout pillow. hmmm

yes i hv difficulty in reaching out to my toe nails esp during nail trimming and bathing time. quite strain to my tummy leh. u are not alone. even wearing panties, also strain tummy leh! lol

Starfish, my 3 yr old son had been quite whiny ever since he knows that he is going to have a mei mei soon. He told us he is not willing to share his toys with mei mei. So not too long ago, we told him that mei mei will be coming to give him a big present soon. He is looking forward to the present. so sometimes when we go to Toys r us, he points us to the present he wishes mei mei to give. we took note and will probably get something his likes. We also told him to get mei mei a present and he told us he has decided to get her a Barbie doll. I guess all these make him feel less threatened of the little one's coming. Occassionally, i tell him to apply cream on my tummy and feel mei mei moving... he seems to enjoy that too.

It is inevitable for the elder one to feel threatened esp if they have been the apple of mummy's and daddy's eyes for such a long time.

Hi JoJo,
Thanks for sharing. Actually I have also been telling my girl that baby dunno how to do everything when he is born so thatz why mummy and daddy need to her help coz she's big sister, can do many things liao. Dunno whether she thinks too much into it or not.....

I have brought my girl to buy a present for her baby brother and will be getting her a present to say that itz from her baby brother. But cannot bring her present out before the brother arrives...my girl very mature, dunno she'll believe or not. The last time I pretended to be her doll speaking to her, she just looked at me and said 'mummy, you are talking. Doll doll is just a toy and toys dun talk'. Almost faint when I heard that!! haha!

Wow...that is amazing to have such a bright daughter.Wonder my little princess will be as clever as yours mah.Maybe u can try when bb arrive,let her share in taking care of her little bro,just those simple one.Make her one of the part to be involve will help ba.We are all like you,praying hard things won't go wrong when two comes together.ZZzzz

tinklebell,
u not alone..me too, cannot reach my toe nails without strainging the tummy...

starfish,
din "see" u here for a while...maybe u can get your girl to be involve when u prepare for the baby's coming? sometimes, parents unknowingly left the older kid out....

kite,
didn't misunderstand your question...I knew u mean baby's head...my reply also say baby's head

oh, u mean the organiser put the baby on the breanspout pillow? then I pity the baby...infant dun need pillow initially but even when baby is older, still cannot sleep on beansprout pillow coz the pillow is meant to give sense of security to baby by placing on the chest, not sleep on it....dun know if u ever feel beansprout pillow before...if u do, u will know what I mean coz the pillow is rough with all the husks, how to sleep on such pillow loh...

Okasan,

That bulk purchase was canceled due to some problems between me and the seller.

Peng,

I sent out mass email in Feb, you didnt rec anything from me?

Medusa,

You are scaring me leh w your comments of BW! Aiyo... When was the last time you used BW?

Tinklebell,

Me too. Hard to cut my toenails.

Starfish,

Aiyo, your girl so smart! Hopefully you wun have a hard time trying to convince her that the present is really from her brother.

JoJo,okasan,tinklebell,

ya, have to be extra sensitive now when dealing with my girl now.....think a trip to toys 'R' us will be fun

Hi mummies! FYI.

For the brand-new mum, wed like to give you and your new bundle of joy something to get you both started on your new lives together.

If you have delivered at KK Womens & Childrens Hospital, Singapore General Hospital, National University Hospital, Thomson Medical Centre and Raffles Hospital, you would have received our Motherhood Bag of Love from the hospitals.

If you have not, you may wish to check with your hospital to receive your Bag of Love.

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/bag_of_love/

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

MOTHERHOOD EXHIBITION 2006
31 MAY 4 JUNE 2006
12 NN 10 PM
SINGAPORE EXPO HALL 5A
FREE ADMISSION

Well be kicking off our biggest event of the year Motherhood Exhibition 2006!

Therell be all kinds of products and services relevant to your needs,

great bargains to enjoy, contests to join and prizes to be won!

So mark your calendar and join in the fun and activities with us!

Exhibits

Mothercare Products
Maternity Wear
Nursing Wear
Milk Bottles, Sterilisers & Feeding Accessories
Childrens Apparel
Diapers
Baby Cots, Strollers & Playpens
Milk & Beverages
Educational Books & Learning Aids
Interactive Toys, Games & Multimedia for Children
Health Products & Services
Home Needs
Beauty Products & Services

And Many More

Contests

Gorgeous Mum Competition

Mother & Child Look-A-Like Contest

Little Miss Glamorous & Little Prince Charming

Superstar Kid Contest

Baby of the Year Contest

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/exhibition2006/

tinklebell,
I still managed to cut/paint my toenails but i dont bend fwd directly, instead i sit down cross-legged like lotus-style and bring up my feet to paint/cut the toenails...*lol*

Jojo,
yuppies....i tink training them from young is gd...so that they at least know how to take care of themselves

Haha! 2 over mths to go and we can cut our nails properly again

Peng, i'll be signing up as a form of insurance lor... i think a lot of pp dont sign up bec it's true that it is expensive. But there r already success stories of children undergoing bone marrow transplants fr their siblings. Best thing we hope is that such things wont even need to happen in our family. Anyway, after the talk, will decide again.

Hidora, after i received ur email, i emailed the seller to buy separately but she also never reply
so i bought from another source lor.

Starfish, your girl is quite smart har? she is 2002 or 2001 baby? mine is end 2002 baby. seems like he is the bb of the class ...everything also blur blur one.

tinklebell, wah.. the maid i interviewed, asking for $350 for one house, plus my MIL, need to pay her $370. the agent just asked me to confirm her asap, as someone else is also interested in her. no choice, i have to say no. maybe should interview few more to make comparison.

Medusa, Jojo, thanks for your advice.
Have read up on the maids thread...

MOAP, the smell of the little dreamers products is quite nice. Hubby said too strong for him.. ha ha...

Kite, thanks for the info on the exhibition, popped already lo... on confinement then. maybe you can update me on how fun the event is...

yesterday enjoyed watching my new bb einstein DVDs... very fun.. various languages to choose from, the DVDs also very clear. very happy with my purchase...

Okasan:
yaloh u go n see e pic at the thread posted earlier, there is a pic of a bb. Hmm me stil decide whether to buy the normal beansprout pillow one or this pillow/bolster set?

cos if i buy, wil buy 2 sets as 1 set put at my hse n e other set at mum's place as she wil be taking care of my bb

yes i know roughly know how is e feeling like. when i was young, i also use pillow contains green or red beans made by my Ah mA. very rough one. i use it whenever i hv headache n etc.

Kite, think we won't be able to get the bag of love rite. Sounds like only for mummies who have delivered already. So much goodies hor.

Tinklebell, My girl is a 2001 Nov baby. So around one year older than your boy

Sometimes I wish she is more blur, then can bluff her. so bad of me hor?

trying to upload her picture, dunno can bor?

397953.jpg

tinklebell,thanks! Ya, she is a very cheerful girl. My colleagues call her 'hahaha' coz she laughs alot. Tatz why I m so worried when I see her tears keep dropping this past week.....

kite,
I personally prefer the traditional beansprout pillow than the one with the bolster...coz the bolsters one, it's the cloth that's over the baby's chest, so not much sense of security loh...in fact, some babies may feel restricted coz of the 2 bolsters at the side....

whereas the normal pillow, u place on the baby's chest, the light pressure from the husk give the baby a sense of security...

thanks for the info on the motherhood fair...hopefully there's more things...been disappointed by the taka fair and the expo baby festival....

starfish:
ur girl looks so cheerful

btw the bag of love is applicable for 1st mums and for those never receive the bag during discharge, u can actually remind them n request for it hehe

okasan:
oic. hmm ya the cloth between the 2 bolsters might cause hinder n restrict to the baby. might consider e normal ones

Amy, u'll be getting a CL right? If so, i think no harm waiting and interviewing more candidates.

Kite, u just reminded me that i also need to get 2 of everything. I'll prob get the essentials first- will need to get another set of milk bottles, pillows and cot. The rest, I'll leave it til after i give birth.

Tinklebell,

That's one of the problems with the seller. She nv reply to anything I asked. Worse still, people are coming back to me telling me that she said this and that and I have no idea abt it.. >_<

Starfish,

Your girl looks so bubbly. Can imagine your heartache when she cried.

Kite,

I think Motherhood 05 got say that ESH, and GlenE (hopsitals under Parkway Grp) are entitled to the goodie bags too.. But this year, no more leh.. Sobz. Was looking forward to the goodie bag.

Amy,

Did you order the healing spray from littledreamers? It smells nice?

kite,
I saw the pic liao..the organiser din put her baby 's head on the beansprout pillow...I think the pillow is a normal pillow and it looks like pigeon brand one....she only demo how the bolster work on a baby...hehe....

amy,
does the warming wash smell like ginger?

tinklebell,
last time when your mum took care of your boy, u din get another set to place at her house? actually quite xiong to buy 2 set of everything...