(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hidora,
if too many guests, then good to hold outside...for our case, we are thinking of dividing the guests loh....some will come in the afternoon, some come in the evening....

that's what we did for our house warming last time....

tinklebell,
creative bake got any website? is it the ecreative one? not sure if they are the same bakery....wanna take a look..I love mango cake...yummy...

okasan, yes creative bake and ecreative r the same...last time was creative bake, now ecreative. but then hor... for mango cakes, u got to make sure u deliver to destination quickly. if not, may spoil.

okipoki, yap, feeling refreshed
i made sure i enjoyed everything i do there bec it will be a long long time til the next long vacation...so cannot take for granted lor.

Hi Okasan,
Ooopss... It should be this year.. kekeke.. Type too fast.. hahaha... Sorry for the confusion. This year 6th month of chinese calender is "po yue".
June baby born in 5th month, but "man yue" in 6th month. "Man yue" celebration is very important to baby, but since it's in "po yue", gotta be more careful. My "fengshui" master told me unless baby come out on "po ri", then use "po yue" to celebrate "man yue" to counter... I was told not to celebrate "man yue" this year, but hold a one year old celebration next year in 'jiu lou"...

Hi Gina,
Your baby is inside your womb, surrounded by water...
So it's well protected. Dun worry too much
If you are worried, you can talk to baby and ask baby to cure himself before coming out. I read that from the "tai jiao" book I am following.

Hi tinklebell,
Wow... Korea sounds very nice... Welcome back
Do you feel hot when you touch down last nite?

lyn, so u r into chinese feng shui. For my family, we r not so much into such.

ya lor, finally perpired after 6 days... hee... was wearing halter neck but still feeling a bit warm at the airport.

okipoki, with 1 bb still ok to travel... with 2 is costly and can be a headache ... my mum was telling me i can go for holiday with my hubby during the 3 mth maternity leave but i suppose i wont do that cos i dont think i bear to be separated with my kids... hee heee .... maybe that's what pp mean by "MU-AI" lor

tinklebell,
i see...ecreative is the same as creative bake...their cakes very nice...not only mango cakes get spoilt easier...if go for those fruit tarts, also got to ensure the delivery is fast coz fruit tarts also can get spoilt easily....

lyn,
i see...no wonder I was wondering why u say next year....so if u not planning any full mth celebration for your baby, then will u still be giving out full mth cakes?

okipoki,
same here...no holiday till baby pop and old enough....don't think I can bear to leave my baby in singapore if I go overseas loh...

Hi Gina, thanks for the info on dizzy spells. read in a preg book that some mummies will have this in Week 28 due to low iron level. will check with gynae next week.

Re: one month celebration, me too, been thinking of my guest list, i think we will have about 100 ppl, mum said must invite relatives, MIL also the same... aiyo... how to host so many ppl? maybe split the timing... 3-5 pm colleagues and frens, 5-8 pm relatives, all in one day... most likely will hold at home, more convenient. i am sure the guests will 'zi dong' and will leave if the house is getting packed.

Will you all be buying cakes in addition to the catering? Like that, very expensive rite?

Hi tinklebell,

Welcome back!
Glad to know you had fun!

Hi Okasan,

Yesterday was asked by my colleague to be the judge for 3 class performances on stage. One of them is a rock band. Wah sai, i so worried the noise will affect my bb girl heee... they are so loud!! I can feel her kicking away. I guess she got woken up from her sleep :p

Hi Amy,

My hubby say we need cakes for close relatives. I am still thinking whether we should get for colleagues. Recently there are other fresh ideas like giving chocolates. And my hubby like the idea of giving rocher
He received once from his colleague

Wow, 100 pple for buffet?? I think the most i cater for minimum number of pple - 30.

Most likely going for continental delights because my school always cater from the company and the food is great!! Perhaps i go for the menu $15 per pax. The food menu simply looks great!

amy,
what my friend did for her baby's full mth celebration is to have catering and invite relatives and friends...only those that she did not invite or did not come, she will give full mth cake....

another friend give full mth cake to all relative regardless whether they come for the celebration or not, but only give the cakes to friends who din come. friends who come, she did not give cake anymore....

aiya, such thing also very headache hor....giving out full mth cakes is just like that time when we have to distribute the xi bing to the relatives....tedious and troublesome

lyn,
but my mom told me otherwise lehz...she said as long as bb not born during "po yue" can liowz...doesnt matter whether the full-mth celebration is during the "po yue" month anot...haha..i guess different ppl got different beliefs

tinklebell,
welcome back....hope u had fun
korea is a nice place ;)
But food wise i dont really like when i went that time...haha

okasan,
my hb planning to give full mth cakes to his colleagues...so its like our full-mth celebration will be more towards relatives and frens

tinklebell,
Yalor.. my family into chinese fengshui...
NOwadays my hubby gotta start suffering being too cold already... kekeke.. cos now I feel hot. I need the fan plus the aircon at nite... So I suppose you also starting to feel hot...

okasan,
No giving out of full month cakes also... If baby comes out early, then got chance, if not, gotta wait for one year old celebration. I dun really fancy the idea of giving out Bengawan SOlo cards. So many people doing that already cos I got stock of the cards to go and collect the cakes! In the end, throw into the bin... I dun wanna give people something and they throw away... lol...

celeste,
actually, even if baby born in po yue, also no choice...not as if baby can choose when to come out unlike our wedding dates

think coz some people think po yue is not suitable for celebration....

anyway, I think I'll hold the celebration regardless coz our family dun have deep beliefs in these and also coz being the 1st grandchild, our parents will want to show him off to relatives and friends

lyn,
ya, the bengawan solo card really not a good idea...coz if people throw the cards away, it's wasting our money also...I also have many such cards, dun even feel like eating their cakes...

okasan:
yaloh that ex colleague didnt know i m preggy leh, maybe he never really notice cos i m sitting down plus i was wearing a black batik dress yest. LOL. he only mention i put on weight though i m already 6mths+ liao.

celesteblur/lyn:
wat if bb born on chinese mth of june and what if bb celebrate full mth during that mth?? not good? reason? hmm this kind of things difficult to predict when bb coming out leh. some wil be early, some wil be late.

Leg cramps:
on n off in e middle of e nite, i also hv leg cramps. heard u are not suspose to touch e leg during cramps else got green veins? just straighten the leg wil do e trick? anyone can confirm this?

lyn:
wow u stil can wear ur low waist jeans? for me, during 1st tri, i already cant wear my Levi low waist jeans liao

Full mth celebration:
eh hvnt decide, wil need to discuss w my hubby. if holding, wil prefer to hold it at home. Last time for my new hse's hse warming, we also ordered buffet for 50 ppl in our new hse. Just that we organized ppl to come at different time slot n it wont be that cramp
but bb full mth celebration, must celebrate at e same time cos need to cut cakes rite? if not, wil arrange different time slots of my guests in 1 day, dun want separate into 2 days. troublesome.

okasan:
my colleagues here all use bengawan solo's cards one, dunno y. maybe colleagues wil give cards, relatives n close frens wil give cakes. cos b4 bb's full mth, hv to come back to company to give out cakes or cards, abit troublesome cos my department got more than 30 ppl leh! see how. wil decide then.

kite,
full mth celebration dun need to cut cake...only give out full mth cake...cake cutting is when baby 1yr old

some of my guy friends also got comment that they dun really know how to see if a lady is preggy coz they say maternity clothes are so fashionable these days...hehe.....

alot of people give bengawan cards coz easier....imagine carrying boxes of cakes and travelling everywhere to distribute them, tedious...

okasan,
are u suppose to distribute the cakes just like wedding ?? I dont think so right cos will only give to relatives who come to our house isnt it. For colleagues, i will bring the cakes to office then at the same time show off my ger to them. Hehehe....

okasan:
yaloh somemore colleagues very standard one, wil give only $10 per person. So wil only get the bengawan solo cards for them plus troublesome to deliver alot of boxes of cakes to more than 30+ number of colleagues.

then relatives, frens wil give them better ones, wil deliver and send boxes of cakes to their house.

eh if holding full mth celebration at home n invite relatives, no need to give cakes to those relatives attending the celebration?

okipoki,
as my ealier post, there's many methods of giving full mth cakes out loh....so far, most of my relatives will distribute the cakes just like wedding whether they got come for the celebration or not......as for my friends, some they distribute but some don't give to friends, only relatives...

think it's up to your family practices loh....

kite,
it's easier to give cakes to colleague, I think...coz colleagues all in the same office mah...just choose one day and bring all the boxes there....relatives tedious, have to do to their house.....

actually, there's no hard and fast rules abt giving cakes...if u want, u can give relatives even if hey come over for the celebration....think it's better to check with your parents on this...

okasan,
agreed lor....we cant choose dates for our babies also...maybe the older folks will have some "method" to counteract with this? Also donno...cos neber ask my mom also...*lol*

kite,
ya...sometimes this kind of superstition thingy donno better...me also not superstitious type but my mom mentioned this to me...haizz....if she never mention then we wont go and wonder bout it also.

Re: Leg Cramps
Yes...I was told when having leg cramps in the middle of the nite, never ever jerk ur leg becos its painful. It will cause the creation of those ugly purplish/green spider veins. Make sure u slowly straighten ur leg and massage it lightly instead

Re giving cakes, i think i would prefer a hassle free celebration, but of cos, if our parents want to give out cakes, we have to oblige.

my gynae rang me just now. she said not to worry too much re the dizziness, just gotta be careful when i get up and sit down...

okasan,
true lor but find it tedious to deliver cakes to relative especially we can still recovering & dont wish to bring bb out at such young stage. Guess I will only give to those relatives who attend....keke regardless my ILs or mum object. Bochap !! ;p

okipoki,
so far, if we ever recieve full mth cakes from relatives, we never see the mummy & the baby one...only the grandparents of the baby do the distribution of the cakes...

so maybe if your parents or in-laws wanna give to every relative, ask them to do it themselves...and if the relatives want to see the baby, come over for the celebration loh

okasan,
like that my mum sure dont want cos she will be alone delivering probably with the help of my brother. to save the hassle better invite them to my house. will ask hubby to pyscho his parents not to go thru' these hassle. hehehe....

okipoki, yes okasan is right... normally only the grandparents / daddy do the delivery... mummy and bb dont follow.

some pp have celebration and dont give cakes... some pp just give cakes and have no celebration... other have both... really depend on your family practices and also not forgetting your budget lor.

haha cos all of us are excited on our little ones... looking forward to meet my ger & cos the maternity leave at well..;p

okasan:
for my side, my own department's colleagues are scattered from basement to level 1 and all different office locations plus i also giving to some other department staff besides my own department. so wil be a headache taking e lift up n down to find them holding 30+ boxes of cakes. so best thing is using cards
lol
for relatives, wil check w parents on which are e more important relatives to distribute the cakes.

celesteblur:
actually i also didnt know abt all this. hmm maybe just know for knowledge also gd
so far no one mention to me regarding the chinese mth june.
ya me always try to straighten it n wil shake my hubby up to massage for me. poor him. me wake him up from his slp.

Amy:
ya me too, actually i also prefer giving out cakes n thats it. for full mth celebration, probably wil invite both side parents, siblings n thats all. small n cosy one
see wat hubby said, shall discuss cos we hvnt discuss abt this.

okipoki:
tat time when my cousin distributing the cakes to my parents, his wife n bb never come along, said rest during confinement, only him n his auntie, thats all

ya if best way, ask parents pass to relatives. heehee

actually i prefer no full mth celebration cos we r stil weak n fat (hvnt go for grooming yet) .....hehe rather gives out cakes. then 1 yr old wil then throw a BIG celebration
if really hv to hold full mth celebration, then wil invite both side families only.

allo gals

woh.. today topic is full mth celebration. keke. if i pop early, my ger will be born in the 4th mth & celebration will b in 5th mth. well shall see then.. think it's tedious to hv so many pple comin over for the celebration... i cant imagine the no. of guest i hv now, hven includ my MIL side.. i thinkin to hv 2 seperate ones but it's too tiring.

hey lyn
i fall in love w the 3-wheel stroller.. but their px are damn ex.. the quinny buzz is $799 (faintz) still sourcing for a nice but at a more reasonable px one. i m wondering who will be the kind uncle/aunt to present me that as my bb shower.. fat hope, i think.keke..LOL

kite,
for leg cramps maybe u can try wearing socks when u go to sleep
Previously i kenna leg cramps twice before, but ever since i started wearing socks to sleep i never kenna already

Me back from shopping. Went out to buy toliet papers just now.. So heavy.. Abt 4kg for 2 packs. Nowadays keep gng toliet, the consumption for toliet papers very fast.

I'll be RSVP-ing the guest lists, and order the cakes accordingly. Will only give those who come.

I didnt know must choose dates for full mth celebration one. I thought if baby's born on 10th, then we hold it on the 10th? Wa.. hao da yi men xue wen.

I think we will stick to the chalet. Cos my hb's frens can then stay over night in the rooms after drinking. Or they can gamble if they want to. But if at home, then it isn't very convenient since PILs will be around too. Just gotta make sure his frens really will come lah, cos 70% of the guests are from his side.

My mom was suggesting to hold one session at her area, one at our area. I told her dun want lah, so troublesome. I cant imagine rushing from woodlands to pasir ris...

Oh ya, I feel like reborning my hair after bb is born leh. But after reborning, we cannot wash hair for 3 days. Then we also cannot bath... And my hair is rather long. How to not tie it and leave it there for 3 days? Ahaha..

Hidora, me too! i also feel like reborning my hair after birth! looks like a big mop now
But i'll probably do it after confinement.

wow! u got so many relatives and friends! Then chalet is a good idea... at least if u mess it up, no need to clean up. Hee Hee

kite, re: chinese 6th mth .... i heard abt it last time... thought it is applicable only to weddings.... didnt know it applies to full mth celebration as well... anyway, i got married during the chinese 6th mth ... so i dont think our parents will be pang-dang abt celebrating bb's full mth during this period. actually, if they dont want to celebrate, all the better.... save all the hassle. very cumbersome arranging the logistics esp my in laws' siblings cos we r not close to them but still have to invite them.

kite,
nope...juz those low-ankle length socks will do
Make sure they are not too tight incase they hinder blood circulation
I think the logic behind is more like to prevent "wind" from entering thru the feet bah...cos i normally on the fan at nite to sleep

hidora,
same here...now i almost every nite will wake up once to visit toilet...sianz

re: toilet trips
I seem abnormal then...during 1st tri, always need to wake up in the middle of the night to go toilet...but since 2nd tri, no more night toilet visits...slept throughout the night....

Hi Tinklebell,

Ya, reborning after confinement is a good idea. But I wanna be pretty mama during the full mth celebration. Guess I can dream on.. Hehe

Hi Celeste,

You only once leh.. For me, sometimes, every hr wake up. 2plus, 3 plus, 4 plus, 5 plus... Can die ah.. then next morning eyes like panda. Was telling my hb that in 3rd tri can just sleep in the toliet. Easier. (now you know why my toliet papers run out so fast. ;p)

Hi okasan,

So envious! I also wanna sleep throughout the night for once.

Re: Leg Cramp

What can I do about these cramps?
Try these tips for keeping leg cramps at bay:

Avoid standing or sitting with your legs crossed for long periods of time.

Stretch your calf muscles (see below) regularly during the day and several times before you go to bed.

Rotate your ankles and wiggle your toes when you sit, eat dinner, or watch TV.

Take a walk every day, unless your midwife or doctor has advised you not to exercise.

Avoid getting too tired. Lie down on your left side to improve circulation in your legs.

Stay well-hydrated during the day by drinking water regularly.

Try a warm bath before bed to relax your muscles.

There's some evidence that taking a magnesium supplement in addition to a prenatal vitamin may have some benefit. But check with your provider before taking any kind of supplement during pregnancy.

If you do get a cramp, immediately stretch your calf muscles: Straighten your leg, heel first, and gently flex your toes back toward your shins. It might hurt at first, but it will ease the spasm and the pain will gradually go away. You can relax the cramp by massaging the muscle or warming it with a hot-water bottle. Walking around for a few minutes may help, too.

Hee hee hidora, u'r like me like to look "sui sui" kind har? i hope can do a major makeover after birth (haha)... these 9 mths look like aunty ... esp these 2 weeks i notice that my face has kind of swelled... even the eyes and lips are puffy

Hi okasan,
I got the same feelings about the bengawan solo cakes... I eat for the sake of not wanna waste others' money, but when too much, it became quite a torture.. lol... I can be getting like one to two cards per month!