(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,

ya collected my car more than 1 month ago... 1 week before chinese new year.

me too wanting to sleep, a bit no mood to work..

hi tinklebell,
me too feel very sleepy these days. last night went to bed around 9pm+.... 1st time! :D

i feel my tummy so stretched also.... like going to burst soon. cant stand upright for too long. i'm only into my 24 week now

poohy, that's fast... u tried driving that as well? does it come with the tinted windows? i find that quite useful on hot sunny days.

ms piggy, i'm also tired at ard 9 plus... but usually i cant get to sleep til 11pm bec by the time i come back fr my mum's it's already 830. Plus all the housework and story telling sessions for my son, i dont get to laze on my bed before 1030
worse thing is that i normally cant sleep much. like this morning, i woke up at 5 plus!

tinklebell,

nope... i dun have a driving license hehee.. so cant drive. It comes with window film but i choose not to have 75% tinting... just 25% light tinting. I dun want the car to be very dark inside leh
The window film reduce the heat inside the car though

me same as u... by the time i got back from fetching my boy from my mum's place is already 8:30... then will play with my boy (either crawl around with him or read story books with him.. though he will wanna snatch the book and eat it), then depending on what time he sleep... which can be 9 to 10:30... sometimes it may stretch as late as 11pm if he slept late in the afternoon. After that, then i can do my flashcards preparation, scanning printing and the cards to show the next day... these days i flash cards to him at my mum's place before i fetch him home... so one thing less to do at home...

but i dun wake as early as u leh.... i sleep till 6:30am-7am... depends also... my boy still wakes for night feed once a night... how bout yours ??

Recently my new baby cot (bigger one) is delivered, so there are 2 cot in my room now. hehee... my boy is learning to get used to his new cot... so the past 2 days woke up a little more often than once..
think he miss his old cot... cos at times he will wanna crawl towards it..

re: name

have u thought of a name for your baby already ? We will most likely call our baby girl Yi En (abundant blessings/grace). Wanna call her Yi Xin but my cousins feels that this may sounds too close to her brother's name. My boy is called Yi Xi (abundant hope). Still contemplating a good christian girl's name though...

Tinklebell, oops... I din buy DOM at the airport. How many bottles will we need? I have one bottle at home now.
And yes, I got my Rainbow already. We got the E1 model, paid $700. Hubby wanted to get another one for MIL, trying to negotiate for $500 for second E1.

Re liquors : are you referring to rice wine? What liquors do we need to buy for confinement other than DOM?

Kk, the front-buttoned pyjamas you got from Metro, is it a 2 pc or 1 pc pj? How much did you pay for it? Can't find 1 pc front-buttoned pyjamas in BKK lei...

I panda, me too, can't decide between the red PP pram or the black PP pram.
How much did you pay for your pram?

I also bought the Avent Milk Bags at a more expensive price at Kids Mall than the Taka BB Fair. Hmm...also, got my Avent Steriliser at $158, but mine's a digital one, so not that bad.

Okasan, re the rubber mat: if we don't use it for bb when sleeping, then if we are using cloth nappies, how? Will bb wet the bed? Not sure whether I should get the rubber mat for bb to sleep on, or invest in a better latex waterproof mat.

K ong, sorry to hear abt your back. Please do not bend down. Hope all is well.
Me too, have back aches these few nights. Hope will go away soon...

Poohy, re: maternity pad, do you think we need to buy this or use normal ones? Is kotex good? Which is better - the loop or stick ons?

Peng, wow...you going to HKG this wed? what do you plan to do/buy/eat there? Maybe can give you some suggestions, cos I worked in HKG 2 yrs ago.

Mummies, anyone know how Volf20 is? Hope all is well. Anyone has her no? Maybe can sms her to check whether she has recovered from her low amniotic fluid problem.

Re: Air Travel

Just a reminder for mummies who are intending to travel, please remember to get a doctor's letter with details of the no. of weeks of your pregnancy, and certification that you are fit for travel. I was asked to present this at the point of check in.

poohy, not easy handling one toddler and at same time being pregnant har? oic..u chose not to have the 75% tint... we opted for it bec i am the kind who is scared of the sun.

my son is also xx-En... i like the chinese meaning... it's not too strong.

We havent exactly thought of our dd's christian name though i have a few names in mind (maybe Shawna or Ashlyn or Anthea or Fiona..my boy likes the name Shawna though). Hubby says cant be something too difficult cos PIL will have problem pronouncing. chinese names are even more difficult to come up with. (i was thinking Shi1 -xxx or Xiang1-xxx). Will probably borrow more books from the library to explore on this further.

amy,

the maternity pad... at the first 2 weeks if the flow is more right, then use maternity pad lor
But its more pricey.. btw i am refering to the stick on... not the loop.. hehe
I also wear disposable panties at home in the first 1 month so no need to wash. if flow not too much especially in the day, then can wear normal by the 2nd week..
its really up to individual.. u can buy abt 2 pack first.. if need more than buy lor

re: flashcards

i do flashcards for brain stimulation... following mainly the glenn doman method. Its only done if u r into this method...
As to when to prepare, u can buy or do it yourself. Buying is very costly though. I buy the original sets and also do myself too...
My son had been on this flashcards method for the past 9 mths liao. He started slightly later when he was 2 months old. I am going to start right away for my coming baby girl though. Now with more experience, hopefully i can do it even better

poohy, can you tell me more about flashcards? are they pictures of items, with names of the items written on, with colors, and we just show bb and practise with bb? any tips on how to start off?

re maternity pad - maybe will get one pack kotex stick on first, also will buy the normal ones. also got 2 pack panties, washable, but will wear and discard. prefer cotton ones to disposable ones.

tinklebell,

i always find chinese name easier to come up with leh... for girls, biblical name with good meaning are rare... we are considering rachel (means little lamb), sarah (princess) <-- my cousins all dun like leh.. hehee

do u hire geomancer or someone to count the strokes for your children's name? I dun ..we just come with the name we want and like the meaning that's all.

ya the name too difficult, the older folks dunno how to pronouce
but my boy is seldom called by his chinese name yi xi, everyone call him samuel, sa-muel meul, muel meul <-- see how good we are at coming up with "nicknames" or "baby names"...
But it sounds so endearing and personal...

amy,

u can read up glenn doman's series of book. One of them is "How to teach your baby to read". You can borrow it from national library and u will know what this whole GD flashcard method is abt. For newborn baby, normally start with visual stimulation cards (with black/white/red) and must be very big ... later on, the flashcards are split into a few type, reading cards for english words (no picture), picture bits card for distinct picture (no words), dots cards for maths. generally, u need a few seconds to just flash each card to the baby a day that's all.

poohy, wow.. so cool. okies... will check out more on Glenn Doman's series of books.
Thanks for your tips.

Amy, i didnt know they sell E series now. They used to have only the SE series...but $700 is still much cheaper than the $3.2k for new model. u should try vacuuming the bed... you'll be shocked to see the amount of dirt in there!

re: DOM
I find 1 bottle sufficient.

ms piggy, where will u be going?

poohy, we dont hire the "you-long-zi" too... we rather come up with the names ourselves. our mandarin is not so good... so we will look out in newspapers or look out for names on tv, once we find a nice character, we will check the dictionary for its meaning and jolt that down for reference.

thanks for the air travel tip Amy, When i called SIA enquire about whether need letter for "fit to travel", they said don't need, but now that you kena. I think i better get 1 from doc just in case.

Wow Poohy the flashcards sounds interesting! is it very time consuming to make yourself? any website/thread that talks about this flash card theory?

disposable panties: friend also advised to wear that, but i think too hot and fitting not as nice as cotton ones le...

hi tinklebell,

hi josephine,
i think it's safer to bring along the docs... in case they dont let us thru. i checked with SQ too, they said as long as i'm not more than 30 weeks will be ok.

hi all!
doc says it's my nerve being pulled that hurts. so she gave me some vit B which will help - I hope !!!

Resting this afternoon, and am feeling better aleady.

baby is 700g at 25 weeks ! is that ok ?

Also heard robinsons sale is tomorrow. anyone going for it ?

k ong,

hope u will feel better soon... me got a pain in my leg joint area near pelvic on my left side for a few months already... as bb grow, the pain grew... i walk with slight limp now... cos when i walk and exert pressure on the left leg.. it hurts quite a lot.

my gynae went overseas and his wife took over our case... she wasnt in yet this week when i went for checkup so another doc took over.... and i was quite shocked when he just use doppler listen only .. din even scan and when i told him abt my pain, he just ask whether i took calcium that's all. really angered by such treatment... like subsidised patient in kkh... i mean the rate i paid is a private rate in a private clinic (and i think its quite expensive from my research) and he din even do ultrasound scan after a 3-4 weeks interval. I had wanna asked him about baby's weight cos till now, i dun even know how heavy is baby... so angry with them... so i am going to see my own in 2 weeks liao.. if still such treatment i will just complain big time and get them to refund my package price.... really upset. The treatment at private suite in kkh even better than this.

ms piggy, so good.. going to melb.. i almost went.. but cos of some reasons cancelled my flight, so going to HK instead..

Amy, tks for the offer.. think it's ok.. my hb n i want to make it very relaxing trip, no specific targets to go.. only shenzhen and disneyland..

k ong.. hope u r ok now..

tks tinkerbell, yeah.. going to hk this wk.. but after that, dun noe what to look fwd till birth.. so xian..

Poohy, i have the glenn doman cards, but dun noe how to teach the bb.. how old must the bb be to start this?? juz anyhow flash the cards n read to him quickly, right? how often and long shd we do each time? tks alot..

Hi Gina,

Hmm, actually i still enjoy coming to work. U know, only through work then i forget all my worries about pregnancy and also, labour pains that i am going to face real soon haha...

I just have so much to do at work, can't seem to put it down.. dunno how when i go to deliver.. my hubby say i will still continue to think of my work when i am deliverying our bb hahahaa..

peng,

for the first few weeks to months of your baby's life, their vision are quite blurred.... normally at this stage, you stimulate their vision and brain by showing black/red/white cards... these cards are generally big (eg. 11x11"). When u determine their vision are improved, try to show a word card, if the bb looks at the card, then try to move the card and see if they will follow. Once u determined they are able to look and see the content of your GD card, start the program. U can start with english, maths, chinese or picture BITS. Normally, good to start with either english or maths dots. GD has a recommended number of cards to flash a day and how often to flash it, how fast to flash it and how frequent a day before retiring the cards. So not really anyhow flash lah hehee
But for me, i adapt the program to my own schedule and flash by keeping track of the number of times my boy seen the card. 15 times for words cards, 30 times for picture cards. I think its best for u to read the GD book so that u understand the philosophy behind the method and will adapt the method to your timing based on your understanding of its purpose. I flash more cards than recommended by GD becos as a working mum, no time to split into multiple v short session. But i follow one important philosophy emphasised in this method, that is your baby should always be happy and willing to see it. If u or baby is cranky or not interested, dun force. stop and try again next time. Always praise and never test and compare.

btw which gd cards do u have ? u bought the kit from gdbaby singapore? very costly rite? I bought mine 2nd hand... the enhanced Gd reading, chinese, 2 set of maths and encyclopedic cards. The rest like chinese classic I print it myself.

Hi Amy - Thanks for remembering me. JUst to let you all know that I lost my baby Zachary on 27 Feb. My waterbag was leaking, and the docs put me on complete bed rest in the hospital with all the necc drips, antibiotic, tubes, taking lots of blood, etc..but it didnt help. I delivered my darling baby naturally. He was only 450g, but his features, hair were all formed.

Am very very sad - crying and all ..but at least I know he is with Jesus. I carried him in my arms and he looks like hubby. Am now trying to cope with the huge loss, and am very fearful of sex or even the thot of getting pregnant again.

Am happy for you ladies ...do treasure your babies....

KK i feel the same too! i prefer to go to work, no mood to buy bb stuff, confinement problem, long term caregiving problem...

just realised i am 25 weeks so in 15 weeks will need to deliver! the thought scares me tremendously! most mummies looking forward to it, but i'm not le... pre natal blues? i think after giving birth more worries...

volf,

really sad to hear your loss. Please do rest well and if you need a listening ear from people with similar experiences, pls visit the miscarriage/stillborn support group. It helped me cope with the loss of my very first baby Mark 2 years ago. Yes he is with Jesus right now... and one day we will reunite again. Praying for you and your family..

volf. i'm very sorry about loss of Zachary. He is safe and happy with Jesus. Please don't give up trying for another kid, and losing him is not your fault ya. Will pray for your speedy recovery, both mentally and physically.

Robinsons is a members only sale apparently 20% storewide but only selected members were notified of the sale - strange. From 6.30pm onwards.

Dear Volf - i am heartbroken to hear about your loss of baby Zachery. We are praying for you and your family and please let us know if there is anything we can do to help. Zachery is in heaven and you will see him again. Please take care.

Dear Volf, so sorry to hear abt your loss.... I hope all the best for you and your family. Don't feel discouraged.. keep trying.. if u need any1 to talk, we always welcome u to chat with us.. In the meantime, take good care of yourself...

Amy, tks for the reminder. have already asked gynae for the letter..

Poohy, oic..tks for the info.. i got the red english cards only... bought in bulk purchase, so not so ex.. so u mean for the red words, can only be used up to a certain age.. any idea up to how old?? i din noe GD has so many types of cards.. i initially thot can be used only at >6mths to a 5 yrs old kid.. din noe can start so early.. will go n borrow GD books

Anyone has been asked to go for the glucose tolerance test to check for GD? My yeast infection has not improved so far and got worse. Actually I seldom take sugary stuff since it encourages yeast to grow.
Oh ya, taking antibiotic will also make yeast worse. Now got to try to avoid bread, potatoes, rice, pasta, etc. So hungry without all these carbo.

RICE WINE
To be used for normal cooking. My mum says abt 8 bottles for the confinement. Making rice wine is not easy, there are many taboos during the making, eg, cannot talk rubbish or e wine will turn bad, etc. Got to pre-order from those "aunties".

hi K ong
My baby gal weighs 790g at week 26 day 6 and my doc is okay. Did ya gyn say ok?

hi volf20
Hugz hugz....many prayers for baby Zach. Pls take good care of yourself ok?

Dear Volf,
Am sorry to hear abt your loss. Would like to share these words from the book The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery with you, hoping they will speak to you and comfort you a little.

"In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars were laughing when you look at the sky at night."

Take care, recuperate well and don't go it alone. get as much support as you can from family/friends alright?

mummies:
Went for my gynac appt today. My bb girl weighs 530kg at 23 wks today. Gynac said i must control abit of my diet as i m petite n i gained 7kg in total. What is ur bb's weight at 23wks? Bb hicupped during e scan n i can feel it. Scan 1/2 way, she changed position n slp.

Tinklebell:
hehe our car also 75% tinted... for all 4 windows though its non compliance to do 75% for the 2 front windows but we just went ahead cos i very scare of UV rays.

Poohy:
the flashcards sound very interesting. i got a few of the flashcards given by TMC when i signed up the FBI card. So i can use it for my bb girl starting from which mth? just flash n show her daily wil do, need to tell her anyting? cos the flashcard is like pattern w colours....also wat is actually e purpose of flashcards at such a very young age?

Amy:
for confinement wine, my mum ordering from her fren, she gg to order 3 bottles, scare i cant take it as in rashes on my body. cos if i drink too much wine, wil hv rashes one.

Angeline:
I asked my gynac today regarding the numbness under my right breast. Gynac said its normal n actually the numbness portion is on our ribs. Cos when bb grows older n our tummy gets bigger n higher thus touch the ribs n sometimes when i didnt sit straight, then i wil get e numbness n its normal. she said numbness wil get worse during 3rd tri n if she said if i cant take it or pain, she wil give me some medications. i told her i can REN lol.

volf:
sorry to hear this. Sayang. Pls. take gd care of urself. Dun feel discourage, we will be always there for u if u need someone to talk to.

Babycare Festival at Singapore Expo Hall 5B:
10 - 12 March 2006
Fri &amp; Sat : 11am to 9pm
Sun: 1 am to 8pm

Got alot of activities leh.
1) Babycare Baby Idol contests
2) Baby Marathon Crawling Competition
3) Toddler Telematch
4) A Star is Born Photo Contest
5) Meet the stars ( Sat 3pm - Evelyn Tan, Wong Li lin, Allan Wu)
(Sun 3pm - Ivy Lee, May Phua)
6) Take Family Photo at Our Fairytale Theme Photo Areas
7) Free Goodies Bag for first 1000 visitors each day which includes Nestle corn flashes, babies inc n many more.

hi kk and josephine

yeah work is so hectic we will forget abt bb and all the issues that come with bb bearing. I am now worried abt whether I can still work after bb is born cos seems like besides infant care option, I have no other option when it comes to taking care of bb after my maternity leave.

but will leave that worry till later, now as long as bb is healthy and happy and moving everyday in my tummy, I am contented. Today I found out I have lost 1 kg, so down from putting on 3 kg to 2 kg in my fifth month... must be work cos I've been burning my weekend working. worried bb may not be taking in enuf nutrients so no matter how busy, we must eat regularly and as healthily as possible during 2nd trimester.

kite,

thanks for asking..lucky its nothing serious..but,i got another problem..see below :-

can i check has any of you got bad rashes on your tummy currently? mine is vvv itchy n red n patchy..made me cant help scratching it.the area is oso getting bigger..wonder wat did u all do? can apply tiger balm?

angeline
I got same problem and my doc gave me calamine lotion to apply. stops the itch well, but rash and itch may recur cos it's normal as skin stretches around our tummy. just apply the lotion when u cannot tahan the itch. but if calamine doesn't help u, it's better to check with your doc.

Volf, I'm sorry to hear about your loss. Rest assured that up there with the Lord, baby Zachary is well taken care of by the angels in heaven. Do take care of yourself now. We will be praying for u. We're always here to provide a listening ear. ***HUG HUG***

Volf,
Sorry to hear abt the loss of Zachary... You must take good care of yourself. We will be there if u need anyone to talk to. Hugz Hugz !!

Dear Volf,
I'm sorry to hear bout the loss of Zachary.....u must take gd care and have lotsa rest....*lotsa hugs*