(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Mum2B,
Thanks.. Initally was tempted to go Rustic but found it too expensive. Thus, went to Goldenwellness instead... Anyway, have heard good comments on them.

Kite,
Wow really scary on hearing ur sis's incident. My sis also encountered the same thing. Infact, thats my parents' maid & she kept a "cut off" picture of my sis (who is married & not staying with us). When we questioned her, she said she admired my sis & wanted to keep the pic... ooh thats really weird. Was thinking she might have the intention of what us sis's maid does. Luckily, we managed to send her back to Indonesia before anything happens.

Anyway, I do believed there are some good maids around. My family used to have one maid who went back to Indonesia & to Taiwan. She even called my dad before she left for Taiwan to send her regards to him. So sweet of her.

Hi kite,
My family experienced that before... Sending photos is one of the ways only... Still got other methods such as lemon and making into a drink to let you drink, or putting some indon "fu" under your mattress... They can also use your clothes or hair or nails or whatever.. lots of methods...

Hi Dear all, I've gone down to the BB Fair too ... yup, a little disappointed w d limited collectn ... but to think of it, may be d 4th level BB section also have offers. But left early cos this really bad gastric pain hit me and I've to buy antacid from nearby Guardian.

I bought the following:
- Pigeon stuffs (Power Laundry Detergent, bottle cleanser, lots of wet wipes, disposable breast pads & sterilisation tablets.)
- Avent - 6 Washable Breast Pads ($12.90)
- 3 packs of Cotton balls
- 2 packs of Drypers S64 (got a wet tissue pack as a freebie.)
- Cot Mattress (but can only pick up next week from their warehouse, cos no stock!?!?!)

Hi Kite:
Yup, 1st preg, heard d same stuff abt Dr YC. Only thing is she doesn't participate in the FBI under TMC. Planning to go for natural WITH epidural, can't tahan pain. But Dr Chan keeps telling me my BB is M-L size, so with me being so petite, I better be prepared for ... ah ...

Yap! EBM can store up til 3mths in d freezer, gd for periods just in case the mummy fall sick, which shldn't BF.

Enjoy your wkends!!! Happy Shopping!

Hi Joy,

It's $49.90 (aft dis, orig $79.90), foam mattress. It's a must-buy for us, becos we've been lookg for one tat fit our cot size of 28" x 52".

<u>RE: Tonight's News on Channel 5 - MMR Vaccine Jab &amp; Autism</u>

Hi, just watch the news just now, and was once again reminded on d recent fear outbreak between the measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccination jab (for nb bbs during their 3rd mth) and autism ... sounds serious &amp; scary, esp since now we have bbs who must face this compulsory MMR jab coming Aug/Sept ...

hiya ladies

I bought the pigeon baby wipes too and found out that they are selling at $8plus at Metro Paragon. Yeah, not many things to see but some rompers are pretty cheap. Tops for 0-6 mths are limited too.

Last nite went back to the BBFair with Hubby. I managed to buy a pax of washable breastpad, pigeon mat, teats and pram fans. Nothing much tho', hopefully the BBfair @ Expo will be better.

mornign okipoki ! wow, u wake up so ealy on sun too ??
i had to make breakfast for hubby cuz he is going to work today too ... sigh ...
did someone mention that robinsons is having their sale soon ?
wanna check out their baby stuff before deciding on what to buy from bb fair.
only bought avent nipple cream yesterday.
but am eyeing these items:
1)graco pack and play
2) graco travel system. either the aeroport or the literider. have not decided. but i checked aprisin and the aerosport is cheaper there.

BTW, if anyone is interested in Palmax baby cot, Tangs is bringing it in April. Retails for $200. Saleslady said it's quite popular and has an automatic swinging ?? motion to lull baby to sleep.

since hubby at work, i think i will go walk walk in orchard

Hi KOng,
Yup, morning birds mah. Hehe !!

Wow, u still can go walk walk in orchard again !! ANyway, enjoy &amp; have a frutiful dae.

yar, i had to leave yesterday cuz had facial appointment ... got nothing to do at home la ... if i stay home, i will surely do housework - fingers itchy ... heeheee

hi there
k ong, same same here, hubby working today too. used to grumble but now have to accept the fact that his work is really busy. so will not put unnecessary pressure on him to spend time with me and bb if his mind is on work. I guess men tend to prioritise work, even if they try to be as family oriented as possible. but then, there are guys who are really family men I suppose, like those guys I saw at the Taka bb Fair shopping for bb stuff with their wives and bbs. they look so committed and baby wise...
well at least my hubby took time from work to go down to the fair with me yeasterday

I bought newborn bibs, bb nailclipper and an infant head support. other than that i just walked around to check prices. there's this japanese branded stroller called Aprica which costs a bomb. Gracco is more affordable for me I guess, but the colours a bit dull. Kiddy Palace sells Combi which is even cheaper. so which is the best buy? will get stroller for 6 months onwards cos frd says infant strollers can use up to 6 months only. will use bare arms/sarong slings and carriers to carry my bb till he is 6 mths. besides MIM slings, saw another brand called Born and Bond at Kiddy palace which has checks design, quite nice... dunno which one to buy. swinging cot sounds interesting, may check it out.

yesterday after work went Taka, then went Tao payoh Kiddy Palace, been out standing and walking whole day till belly a bit painful... so scared may risk bb... I think after 5 months can't walk for more than 2 hours liao. will shop and buy as much as I can this March, maybe 70% of the stuff and leave 30% till May/June(there's another huge bb fair in June). getting heavy and tires easily... bb suddenly so active, keeps doing exercises in my tummy whole day ever since the first day i start to feel his movement

oh okasan, thanks for your advice on buying bb stuff now while we can still move about... quite true... btw did anyone come across any compiled list of best buys (with brand names specified) anywhere in this forum? I am very confused with so many choices of everything. but I heard medela still the most solid breast pump in the market. my frd has promised to lend me hers.

Gina,

MIM silk sling from their website is better. those type you saw are cotton which is very very warm..i bought the cotton type from kiddy palace too but end up still need to buy the silk type coz too warm aready.

good afternoon!

i went to the fair as well yesterday.. bought pigeon bottle steriliser, it seems the same as avent in terms of function but since $40 cheaper so bought pigeon instead. bought a rubber mat, one baby cap and pigeon laundry powder. that's all.. ya clothes a bit limited.

as for pump, i decide to buy later.. not sure if i hv milk. kekeke

gina,
there's a few baby stuff checklists that u can get hold of...but I think there's no such thing as best buy list coz everyone thinks differently mah....what u see as best buy may not be best buy for another mummy....also depend on needs and your baby's preferences too....

for electric pump, medela is good...for manual pump, avent is good....if u can afford, better to buy new one...coz commercial pump are not meant to be re-used again by another user...only hospital grade pump is for multi-users....

as for other baby stuff, perhaps u wanna list out what u looking for and we can help give opinion for u to consider loh....

all the brands have their pros and cons....u just need to map the pros and cons to your own needs and preferences to decide which one suit u loh

Hi Gina,

U are in ur 5th mth now? When i was in my 5th and 6th mth, i could still fly hahaha... but now SIGH! Once i hit my 7th mth, I get tired sooo easily.. at work, i wannna faint after teaching continuously for 3-4 periods. I dunno how i am going to survive teaching for another 1.5 mth or so. Luckily there is now a trainee teacher from NIE who is teaching my 2 sec 3 classes till early may. He can at least ease some of my workload.

Hi Kite,

My mil lives very near us in fact, also in sengkang. Within walking distance, but can kill if the weather is very hot like the sun nowadays. If take LRT, 1 stop away. But it is quite inconvenient to take the LRT there and then down to work for us. Moreover, thinking that weekend bringing bb back to my mum's place at paya lebar area. So may be a really good thing to own a car then

Envy u all, continue to do more shopping now. Now big change in my body system. Get tired real easily, just wanna sleep most of the time. Sometimes whole body just go "numb" making me lazy to move. Dun think going to the taka fair since all ladies here say nothing much to buy except for a few basic items. I think i will try to go to the fair at expo next weekend

Hi mummies! Yest sat went to Taka BB fair, enjoyed shopping there. wow bought quite a no. of things and got some freebies. hmm i find the fair not bad leh, we shopped fr 2 to 6pm, hmm stil didnt shop the whole area cos we too concentrate on each section was deciding which to buy. This monday noon will go down again after gynac appt.
380346.gif

Stuffs i bought:
1) Avent ISIS iQ UNO Breast Pump - $279
It comes w a electronic breast pump whereby u can set your own rythmn either fast or slow, find it worth to invest. Besides that, it comes w a manual pump as well. Find worth it.
http://www.aventamerica.com/products/breastfeeding/breastfeeding_iquno.asp

This Avent breast pump comes in a big transparent bag with lots of freebies. Freebies include:
a) Avent Teddy Bear
b) Avent Baby Wipe - 1 pack
c) Avent Thermal Bag (similar to insulated bottle carrier can put 2 bottles n its very compact)
d) Avent Sunshade for car (2 pcs)
e) Avent Baby Moisturising Cleanser (1 bottle)
f) Avent Baby Soft Pillow
g) Avent VIA Refull Cup 180ml with lid (1 sample)
h) Avent Face Towel
i) Avent Ultra Comfort Nursing Pad (1 sample)

2) Avent Extra Soft Slow Flow Teats (1m+) - $4.12 (Avent just came out with extra soft teats if not wrong).

3) Avent 3 x 125ml Milk Bottles w Extra soft Newborn teats ($13.90)

4) Avent VIA Refill Cups for storing Breastmilk (10 x 180ml) - $7.70 (Initially i wanted to buy milk bag but milk bag very troublesome, need to buy a bottle to support e milk bags n clips to clip on the bottle, so i bought e VIA cups instead). Though instructions on the box said VIA cups can used for only 4 times but Avent staff told me can used up to 6 to 8 times once the lines disappeared.

5) Avent VIA Lids of VIA refill cups - $7.70

6) Pigeon Disposable Breast Pads (36+6 pcs) - $8.90

7) Pigeon Baby Wipes w Refill Plastic container - $5.30 (good for storing the baby wipes)

8) Pigeon Baby Wipes (3 packs) - $9.95

9) Pigeon Nail Cutter - $7.20

10) Pigeon Nail Scissors - $7.20

I spent total for e 10 items above for $350. If u spent above $100, $300 n $500, u wil get different gifts according how much u spent. Too bad the $300 gifts already out of stock, so i got the $100 gift instead, it is a KidII Development Plush Toy, Pigeon Anti-Mosquito Wet Tissues and Pigeon Hand &amp; Mouth Wipes.

I havent bought the steriliser, cant decide between Avent n Pigeon. Avent one looks more sturdy. But maybe wil buy Pigeon one cos $40 cheaper.

Regarding the Pigeon rubber cot mat, if i m using playpen, do i need it? or its better to buy one?

hmm what else to buy over there as i gg down tmr again.

380347.jpg

Celesteblur:
hmm we cant meet liao since our lesson r of different timing
anyway hope we enjoy the lesson conducted by Mrs Wong.

Joy:
I saw some of the Graco stuffs but quite limited, hvnt see finish, tmr go down to taka again. guess wil stil go down Aprisin if got time.

Okasan:
initially i wanted to get the Avent manual pump but i seriously thinking abt BF so bot the electronic rythmn one as i want to BF my bb as long as i can. Keep my fingers crossed that i wil hv milk. As for steriliser, tmr gg down to buy Avent or pigeon one. maybe wil buy pigeon one cos cheaper n can just use vinegar to descale. If using avent, abit troublesome, need to buy descale powder from Avent office.
Btw heard the electric Medela pump very noisy like grasscutting.

okipoki:
hey that maid thing doesnt happened to my sister, its just an email forwarded by my fren to me. lol

Carebear29:
Pigeon Powder Laundry Detergent, bottle cleanser good anot? E laundry detergent only in powder form, no liquid form?
Hmm is Dr. YC e most ex female gynac at TMC, heard rumours on that but not too sure. Last appt, she told me my bb is medium size and i m petite size one. Tmr i wil be seeing her, finally after 1 mth can see my bb again

Did Dr Y.C suggest u that after give birth, must go for Rubella and Hepatitis B jabs? she said she wil arrange for me n my bb for e jabs.

k_ong:
me getting Graco playpen n pram too.

Gina:
hmm my hubby also busy man w work during wkdays. Then yest asked him accompanied me so he went. Then dunno y the Avent staff asked me how long we married, I told her 1 yr. I asked her y she asked tis qs. Then she said cos she see us very loving n En Ai....lol. Hehe but me very neutral. maybe we always behave like tat one.

kite,

the avent uno pump looks good... though quite exp.... me too very tempted to buy one thought i already have a medela dual pump from my prev pregnancy. Slight concern is the motor attached to the pump... i am concerned abt its weight as we will need to hold it to the breast while we pump. but the pump looks good... u got any frens use and got good comments abt it ? I like it cos its v quiet.. but ameda also not bad leh. I find my medela pump too noisy too.... with 2 babies going to sit in the same room... think if i stick to medela, i better pump in the living room
hehehee

hi kite~
hehe good for you that ppl think u and your hubby newly weds. me and my hb used to be like that but now kinda cool off cos in a different stage of married life liao mah

mother_of_a_princess,
thanks for your tip regarding sling, had thought cotton is better for bb but now will look for silk sling. our weather so hot, bb will be cranky if too warm...

okasan,
hmm... u got a point there, but products that are tried and tested to be good usually will not disappoint I guess. Will definitely consider price and need plus practicality b4 I commit to buy anything other wise will go broke
hey so cannot share breast pumps is it? sigh... thot can save a bit when frd offered to lend me hers... I have a lot of hand me down clothes though, so will not have to spend on bb clothes for now. need to buy cot/mattress, changing table, sling and carrier, steriliser, milk bottles, bb clothes detergent, bb wipes for now. hey u girls heard of the brand Bayb slings? quite nice with padding, is it better than MIM? MIM sling abt$ 45. Bayb costs abt 20 bucks more.

hi kk,
I will be in my 6th month in 4 days' time. everyone keeps telling me must take care not to over exert myself cos all this while I still go about as usual even though preggie. a few times when I carried heavy books and boxes when in my 1st trimester and felt sharp pains in my belly, I kinda freaked out. I am also in the teaching line so gotta stand and rush here and there a lot, plus projecting my voice in class everyday to a bunch of noisy kids
kao_dizzy.gif
and often i forget abt bb in my belly... until my body gives me pain signals then I remember I must take care...

so now I dare not shop and walk for too long, even though I feel energetic. by taking care of myself and resting as much as I can, I also protect bb

Hi Gina,

Oh, u are in teaching line too!

Ya, and sometimes i suffer from serious heartburn in the morning. So much so that it affects my throat. There were 2-3 occasions that i almost taught until i almost lost my voice totally. Luckily i got my voice back after drinking water.

And yes, sometimes my time table is like 9-10 periods consecutively, no time for break. Even if there is break, it clashes with recess time for the kids. So to avoid the crowd, i have to delay my makan hour. So i only get to eat after school hours, which is already around 2pm. Sometimes i only get to eat around 330pm. Can imagine??

Hi Kite,

Wow, u have really done some amount of shopping at taka

Me... dunno got energy to go to expo fair next week or not. So i told my hubby forget about all those fairs, just buy at kiddy palace. So we popped by kiddy palace just now and bought a few things like Pigeon wipes, Pigeon hand and mouth wipes, Mdm Pureen maternity pads, Tollyjoy disposable breast pads, safety pins, nappy liners, cotton balls, etc. Then we also dropped by Metro to get my 4 front-buttoned pyjamas. Spent around $120 today.

Hmmm, at least feel more at ease when the necessities have been bought. Now only waiting to see when we buying diapers for the bb.

380463.png

Went for my checkup on Thu (2-march)...baby now weighs 800+ grams. Hahaa...dr said i managed to control my weight well (last checkup i put on 3kg in a mth!)

Went to BB Hyperstore after that, paid $50 deposit for PP pram/stroller..still deciding on the colour..<scratch> the stock for these 2 colours will come in 10 March...

380464.jpg
380465.jpg

kite,

me also may get the Avent ISIS iQ UNO Breast Pump $279...saw the salesperson explain at the Taka fair, find it not bad. Comes with manual parts too! and somemore got a spare battery pack. Before this, i am eyeing the ISIS IQ Duo $799. but find it very expensive. Good thing is that can pump both side at the same time. But don't come with spare battery. The ISIS iQ UNO more compact..easier to bring to office too!

Bought a Avent Food warmer $56+ (UP $70+), cotton wool, mittens &amp; booties, a packet of cloth napkins &amp; a box of liner. Got a free Avent pillow. Saw the avent milk storage bag selling only for $13+....regret not waiting for this fair cos bought earlier at kidsmall for $14.85

kite,
wow, seem like u enjoy your shopping trip to taka

for rubber mat, it's not abt whether your baby sleep in cot or in playpen....but rather, if u want to change your baby's diaper at your own bed, rubber mat will come handy as you can place the mat on your bed and then place baby there to do the changing....so in the event that the baby pee, at least the rubber mat prevent the pee from going into the mattress.....also good if you place baby on the bed to change clothes after bathing, so the rubber mat will prevent your mattress from getting wet....

please dun use the rubber mat for baby to sleep coz it's gonna be very HOT for the baby...very uncomfortable.....

kk,
yeah used to be like you, ate only after dismissal time. colleagues would put foodstuff on my desk so that i can take a quick bite during short 1 period breaks. then when I saw that i didn't put on any weight during the 1st 4 months and even lost weight (only started to put on 2 kg during my 5th month checkup), got quite worried and made myself eat whenever I have breaks no matter what. yeah even went down to the canteen to squeeze with the kids, haha... now coming to 6 mths and put on another 3 kgs liao. now i am beginning to look kinda bloated. will eat till I reach 3rd trimester than cut down. heard 3rd trimester if eat more than usual will grow fat and the fat stays with us, not bb
kao_scared.gif

I have 5 consecutive periods in a row also, sometimes almost can't take it. but then still have 4 more months to go... so must hang in there. actually other than work, I am enjoying every moment of my pregnancy

Good Morning!

Hi! Was nice meeting some of u mummies on Sat morning

wow ! so many postings on taka fair .... like most of u gals, i bought the Avent washable breast pads, Pigeon disposable b-pads, Avent milk bag, looney toones clothes and some of the essentials... also bought some apparels for my son. after that, my son insisted we take a bus home... my... he fell asleep in the bus and refused to wake up! I have to carry him as well as the big paper bag of things! my arms and neck are aching even until now

How many bottles of liquor will u gals be getting? in my previous pregnancy, i used 3 bottles of liquor and 1 bottle of DOM... my Sil said she used 9 bottles for her "dun-tang"! I was quite shocked. Any idea how much is the norm?

tinklebell,

i think i use 1.5 bottle of rice wine and some DOM in my previous pregnancy only... din wanna take too much... plus breastfeeding mah... err 9 bottles is really quite a lot hor

poohy, true, my sil was also b-f'g... but i suppose if u cook the alcohol for one whole day in slow cooker, it would have lost its effect. I have alcohol allergy but wasnt allergic to the "dun-tang" CL made. Anyway, i dont intend to get so many bottles. Prob 3 at max.

tinklebell: wow, i really admire u, can carry son !!!
i did a bit of hse work, mopping floor over weekend, and think i sprained my back now. very pain when i put my weight on my left leg
feels terrible.
trying to make appointment wit gynae so that i can ask if it's better to see a back specialist or will the pain go away ...
in the end, didnt buy any big item from the fair.
We quite like a cot from tangs, so will be exchanging credit card points for vouchers !

Hi KOng, i got no choice... the stop i alighted is at the bus interchange... he simply refused to get up and hubby was away that afternoon. The nearest taxi stand was also quite a distance fr the interchange.

Hope your back is better now... can try rubbing fastum gel for now... it helps to some extend.

tinklebell: going to see gynae at 11 ... she's so busy that the recep said that i can only go there and "wait" ... *sigh*
ok, will try to see if got fastum gel at the pharmacy ...

i'm ok if i dont move, but when i walk, or bend down, it hurts ...

hi kk
i am also looking for front button pj. The ones at metro are sleeveless/with long sleeves? cotton/silk? how much each set?

hi tinklebell! wow you better don exert yourself! should have called hubby to wait/carry everything for you!

what type of liquor to drink during confinement? is it for the soups? if you bf, then still can drink DOM/liquor?

i_panda - PP only these 2 colours coming in? i remember the brouche got orange/baby blue which are more unique..

Jo, no choice lor, hubby was in a seminar wh wont end till much later so i couldnt wait for him to come

U looking for those pyjamas? i got mine from this shop that sells ties and scarfs ...cant recall the name... i remembered it was quite cheap (<$10 per set)... they have an outlet at causeway point.

I didnt drink liquor direct since i am allergic to alcohol. I suppose it's not advisable if u are b-f'g. I had DOM cooked with the confinement dishes as well as had black chicken cognac soup, cooked in slow cooker. I like the "dun-tang" ....was delicious

Morning mummies... wow... the thread has moved really fast. Will catch up on the readings later.

Just came back from BKK over the weekend. Had a relaxing trip, bought Carter rompers for bb, very cheap and lovely designs... S$10 for 3.

Went to Taka fair yesterday, nothing much to buy, got most of my stuff already. Just bought a box of Gerber breast pads and pigeon wipes. Also got BB Einsten CDs.

hi mummies would you get maternity pads or just normal pads?

a friend shared that during the first week of confinement, need to use 2 maternity pads together at the same time, as lots of bleeding!

re: maternity pad

think it really depends on individual on the flow of lochia after birth but mine wasnt that much till need 2 maternity pad leh... but mine lasted for a long time ... abt 6 weeks (or more .. cant remember exact) i think.

Jo, mine also not much flow and lasted 6 weeks. First week, i used the maternity pad cos i find it softer ... subsequently i just use those overnight use sanitary pads.

Hi Amy, looks like u have enjoyed the trip
I certainly look forward to mine.... only worry is that whether i'll be too tired to walk then.

mummies:
today me on leave, gg for gynac appt, then go taka shopping again
380757.gif

poohy:
ya avent uno quite ex but me serious of BF so bought. The motor sound is quite quiet. And its come w 2 kinds of pumps, manual n electronic. Also if i dun want use the power source, i can use batteries to operate n bring around. So far, i m e 1st one to buy this among my frens, so no comments yet. wil give comments after i start to use then.

kk:
for cotton balls, heard that its better to buy sterile ones for newborn to clean the eyes, ears n etc. TMC pharmacy selling $1 per pack if not wrong. later me gg there n see....

i_panada:
wow ur bb 800+grams! so did ur gynac say ur bb considered big size? urs is a boy rite, maybe if i were u, wil choose e grey over e red one.

Ya thats wat i like, got extra manual pump n spare battery pack. convenient. hehe me also got e free avent pillow, quite cute but oni comes in blue color. no pink hehe. As for avent milk storage bag, if u buy the Avent uno pump, inside got free avent thermal bag to keep warm.

Okasan:
thanks wil get e pigeon rubber mat later on.
380758.jpg

poohy, I have the Avent manual pump. Am also thinking of getting the Ameda or Medela pump to cut down on pumping time.

Hello ladies!
I went Taka Baby Fair on Sunday, didnt manage to buy much. Choices quite limited. I only bought Pigeon bottle cleanser, Avent dispoable milk bags (heard it's really useful) and 1 milk bottle and teats.

Anyone know when is the Expo Baby Fair starting?

amy, welcome back.. glad tat u have a good trip..
me going to HK this wed. can't wait to go..

Sigh.. these days have been wking at home over the wkend.. no time to rest.. was so stressful that i lost my appetite.. think i have lost some wt.. feel so gulity towards bb.. hopefully can have a good rest during the trip

hi peng,
the baby care festive at expo will start from 10 of march - 12 of march.
there will have another motherhood exhibition in 31 of may - 4th of june at expo too

poohy, u collected your car already?

peng, hope u enjoy your HK trip. I wish i could go for my trip right now too
better take good care of your health ....

Amy, did u manage to get the Rainbow?

I'm feeling so sleepy today... the z-monster is catching me fast and i even find myself dozing off for a second in the office.

I just went to Expo website.. didnt see any Baby festival, instead there's a Kiddy festival on 17 - 19 Mar.

Don't think they will see much baby items.