(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk:
oic. i was thinking whether to continue BF my bb after 3mths maternity leave but i wish to. But one thing is my bb confirm wil be taken care by mum but maybe at her own house leh or at my house. I m thinking of asking my parents move in totally into my hse together. So if take care by my mum at her own hse, then i got problem BF my bb liao leh. how ah? how abt u? who is gg to take care of ur bb after u go back to work? at ur hse or ur MIL's hse?

so how much u giving confinement $ for ur MIL? for my mum, she said give her a Ang Bao can liao, any amt also can, my XIN YI. Also my mum wil bbsit my bb too and she said she dun want to accept any $ from me. WOw i m so....touched by my mum. But of cos i wil give her a token of appreciation n some $ monthly. Parents really very wei da to their children.

379132.gif

Carebear29:
Yes it is my 1st pregnancy. how abt u? I think Dr. Yvonne Chan abt late 30s but she really look young hor as her complexion is real gd. Heard she is a nutritionist. Also Heard her stitches done is very good and she used to train by the best doc at kk hospital b4 setting up her own clinic at TMC. This is wat i saw e posting at another forum on her. I m planning to go for natural, hopefully, w/o epidural. u?
huh? express milk can store up til 3mths supply?

Okasan:
i plan to take 3mths maternity leave at 1 go though i hvnt discussed w my boss. Need to inform boss earlier regarding this?

Tinklebell:
i heard alot of good reviews on Ameda pump. Really good? so SG doesnt sell this brand, hv to order from overseas? Avent or Ameda better? Manual or electric pump better?

BB Fair:
Think i will go down this wkend w hubby to get the Avent Steam Steriliser or Pigeon steriliser. Hopefully still got stock leh.

Celesteblur:
Wow how come u got so many freebies one ah? how u got them? lol. Avent steriliser at $129 is the one using steam rite? Sorry to ask, what is rubber cot mat & insulated bottle carrier? for wat usage?

Joy:
Which model of the Graco Stroller u bought, w carseat? me going to Asprisin to view the Graco playpen and stroller this sat b4 confirming exchange the points for both items.

379133.gif

hi ladies!
wow so much updating abt Taka BB Fair. Will be going down to have a look on Sat but prob won't buy yet coz I want to compile a list of things to buy b4 splurging... are things really cheaper at the fair? still have abt 4 months to go b4 bb pops, but already feeling a bit out of breath if work gets too hectic... been running ard a lot and hardly sits down.

regarding confinement, I also booked my CL months in advance and her son promised to call me end of Feb to arrange for a meeting but till now no news from him yet. heard she is doing confinement for somebody for the month of Feb and we s'pposed to meet up b4 she goes back to m'sia. hope wun be like hidora's CL, suddenly change her mind... anyone trying TMC's CL service?

sorry josephine, can't join on sat cos got to work in the morning. btw finally I can feel my bb's movement this couple of days (at 22 weeks plus) it's like bubbles bursting inside my tummy and also some rumbling like when u r hungry... happens mostly after dinner, so must be bb and not hunger

Good Morning!!!

Gotta wake up at 5 plus this morning cos have to take co transport today since my bro is driving the car.... still in a daze.

Josephine, i emailed u my contact no...most likely will be going for the Yum Cha. sms me yours as well.

re: taka fair
I'll most likely not buy anything much since i already have most of the things fr my first born. I suppose there shouldnt be too many pp on Sat mornings... btw, what time the fair starts?

Kite, I think Ameda is comparable to Medela... i still havent decided which to get. My good fren is using the Medela dual pump and she thinks it is very lasting. What i am afraid for Ameda is that spare parts may be expensive and difficult to get.

Yeh! I finally managed to find a package which sets off n comes back during the days i could take leave....confirmed my tour yesterday...was q cheap somemore since it is promotional price....will be going down to make pmt this evening

Kite - my Graco is the Literider Travel System. Think Robinsons was selling it for $359 during their sale.

Tinklebell - Taka opens at 10am so that's when the fair should start.

Anyone knows when Robinsons having their next sale. Still like their baby selection best.

Josephine,
ya...yesterday i was doing a "stock-take" realised i have bought bout 65% of the stuffs oledi...but hor...all still sitting in my spare bedroom...havent go and unpack...all nicely in their paper/plastic bags...haha
but its gd to finish shoppnig also...cos starting my antenatal class on 18th March....every sat...so meaning will take up sometime...so gd to finish buying some stuffs first

okasan,
I also donno lehz..they juz gave me a small paperbag containing all the small trial packs of freebies....maybe they only have it for like first 100/200 customer for the day? Cos I spent $172 which is bout same as u....

My hb still say so worth it...save quite a fair bit liowz still got so many freebies...haha

kite,
ya...parents are very wei-da, my mom might be staying over at my place occasioally to help me take care of bb also..and during confinement althought she not helping me fulltime, but she helping like part-time and buying food and cooking for me...she never ask for any $ from me also...but i tink i shld also at least give her an angpao

i also donno y got the bag of freebies, maybe like wat i explained to okasan above...haha..first 100/200 customers?
As for Avent steriliser, i tot all sterilisers are using steam one? (Pardon my ignorance if i misinterpret...hehe) But the one at Taka bb fair one is the one w/o the digital thingy so cannot set timer as to steam the stuffs for how long

For the rubber cot sheet i also not sure...but hb said its to put on the cot so that when u changing bb nappies or watever it wont soil the bedsheet/mattress?
Insulated bottle carrier is like when heat up EBM b4 going out can store in the containter to keep it warm? Then when outside u can directly feed bb? Dont have to warm up the milk? Haha...cos i not very sure also..this one is my hb say want to buy one :D

gina,
For me i wanna start getting the things before i become too heavy to shop for long..and also attending antenatal class soon so might not have so much time to shop

<font color="0000ff">gina,</font>

I think prices at baby fair is not any cheaper than any other sales loh...for eg, steriliser is selling at 20% discount at robinson and it is still 20% at taka baby fair....

baby fair different is there's freebies if u have certain amt of purchases, and there's lucky draw loh...other than that, not much different...

like Joy, I also prefer Robinson sale

anyway, I bought my steriliser and breast pump at taka fair coz since the prices all the same, might as well buy and get some freebies....beside, I'm getting tired easier these days, so better to settle baby stuff asap so that next mth onwards, dun need to shop too nuch....

btw, if u think there's still 4 mth to go...then u should also note that from 3rd tri onwards, there's a possibility of popping anytime...so better to prepare baby stuff now

kite,
good to discuss with your boss so that at least he/she can do some planning on who to take over your work when u on maternity leave loh...

celeste,
ya, I guess so..maybe coz u go during the day...so got more freebies

ya, I agree with u on the savings....regardless, the savings are there...actually I believe the max discount is 20% so any sale also the same...only different is the additional freebies

Wow, so much update on the taka fair. Seem like not much diff from those sales held by Robinson / John Little. Frankly speaking, also dont know wat to buy but will go to hv a look.

Josephine,
Count me in for tomorrow's yum cha. I will PM u my contacts.

Josephine,
Doubt u accept PM. Anyway, I have dropped u an email.
Btw, the Crystal Jade Cafe is it the basement one ?

Good morning gals!

Are you gals bringing your hubby along for the "yum cha"? My hubby will be working tomolo nite, so he will be with me during the day... I am interested to join you gals
Yesterday, I went to the Taka fair. I only spent slightly more than $30. I bought maternity pads, Pigeon breast pads, and 4 velcro nappy. I think the prices there are not cheaper than the John little or Robinsons 20% sales.

I am curious how big we have grown... haha... Yesterday when I was at the fair, I saw many others having tummy bigger than mine and I wonder how many months are they already... Really "peifu" those that are already so big.. still got energy to go shopping..

MORNING mummies!
Lyn join us la, i try to get my hubby to come too.

Ya we all same month due, it will be interesting to see how much we all put on. Most impt, it's fun to shop together! share tips on which brand as well!

anymore mummies interested in Yum Cha 11am Crystal Jade (Basement One taka).

have rec your PM oki and tinklebell!

379283.jpg

Taka Baby Fair
Thu 2 Mar to Sun 19 Mar
Calling all mothers and mothers-to-be! Come on down to the Baby Fair where you can find an exciting range of baby's products from wheel goods to baby clothing to sundries. Also stand a chance to be our lucky winners and walk away with baby hampers worth up to $6,000 when you purchase $30 and above at the fair.

http://www.takashimaya-sin.com/index-sg.html

hello gals...
Ok.. my hubby said ok
kekeke... It will be really interesting to meet all of you

1) Josephine
2) K_ong
3) Tinklebell + boy boy
4) Okipoki
5) Lyn + hubby

Today, I dunno why my baby wants attention... He keeps kicking, then when I talk to baby, he will stop kicking...

Lyn: great that you and hubby can make it! wah your bb very guai. listens to you!

we always try to get him to kick to show that he know we are talking to him. He also responds, so cute!

Good morning everyone !

Tinklebell, I dont need the pump so early too. Might use my SIL's hand-me-down Avent manual pump first.

Hi all ! it's Fri !
finally the weekend. Ok, i'm going to quickly compile as much info as I can get on prices at Taka fair (from those lovely mummies who have updated) and share the info tomorrow.

11am is fine with me, Taka basement - Crystal Jade

Hubby probably has to work, so doubt he will come, but will still ask him :)

1) Josephine
2) K_ong
3) Tinklebell + boy boy
4) Okipoki
5) Lyn + hubby
6) K Ong

Hi Josephine,
haha.. that website is very interesting.. thanks for sharing...

Anyone else bringing hubby?

allo good morn gals

all gathering for yum chai tomm..wahhhh. me working tomm lei
mayb if u gals still there, i can join u all cos my office is in town.. Lyn, i will sms tomm, okie..hehe.

anyway, can 2nd-time mother enlighten me on the Avent sterilise bag. We need to pump the milk into the Avent bottle, then pour into the bag izzit or can pump straight into the bag huh??

We can only use avent breast pump w avent bottles rite, does Nuk bottles fit not??

went to taka bb fair yesterday n also do prenatal massage at rustic nirvana. the massage is quite good, by a malay lady. esp like the facial massage, kinda clear/relief my synus temporarily.

can i ask, is it necessary to use bb oil/powder/lotion on newborn bb? when to use it, is it every after bath? i read from other thread that bb powder is not advisable since it can cause allergy (if the powder inhaled by the bb), and also because it contains starch (can't remember corn/potato starch?) which contains sugar, and sugar breeds bacteria exp ard nappy area. but always see my SIL n friends using bb powder.. maybe experienced mums can enlighten me?

okasan,
yuppies....and cos i got taka voucher might as well utilise it...otherwise put at home also wasted :p as long as we buy those stuffs that are on our checklist then it wont be wasted

lyn,
when i was queueing up at cashier to pay....in front of me was another lady her tummy kinda big too...tink she prob 8mths liowz...haha

mum2b,

i never use baby powder for my son.... at most i will use baby lotion... especially when my son was having eczema... to moisturise the skin only.

re: taka fair,

i was on leave yesterday so was possibly one of the first few there.. at 10plus or something like dat...after visiting gynae at orchard also. I feel the fair not as good as last year's.. but i did managed to grab quite a few packets of cotton ball ... i used them quite a lot when my son was first born.. so i gather it will be useful my girl this time too. And I got a little tikes car for my son. Some other misc stuff... not much though
Dun think nuk was there... i wanna buy some bottles but none was found leh.

Mum2B,
I'm not sure but I never used any powder on my #1. I used some freebie satchets of bb oil for massage on her, that's all.
I have heard cornstarch or something is effective for nappyrash, I think, but I've always used Desitin Creamy or Drapolene instead.

mum2b,

i never use baby powder for my son.... at most i will use baby lotion... especially when my son was having eczema... to moisturise the skin only.

re: taka fair,

i was on leave yesterday so was possibly one of the first few there.. at 10plus or something like dat...after visiting gynae at orchard also. I feel the fair not as good as last year's.. but i did managed to grab quite a few packets of cotton ball ... i used them quite a lot when my son was first born.. so i gather it will be useful my girl this time too. And I got a little tikes car for my son. Some other misc stuff... not much though
Dun think nuk was there... i wanna buy some bottles but none was found leh.

hi poohy

U are using Nuk brand izzit? Ask u hor, I noticed they have 3 sizes of teats (S,M &amp; L holes) for 0-6mths &amp; 6mth &amp; above. So for newborn only get small holes 1st or do we need to buy other sizes? Not sure how many to buy too.... And those new bottles also comes in different teats sizes, do u notice?
I find those bottles in Robinson do states the size but not in John Little.. hv yet to racki Taka's one

dor,

ya me using nuk teat for my boy... and will use it for my newborn girl too. Dun buy the M and L size first... u will be using the S 0-6mths for 6 mths according to the recommendation leh
U change my boy's teat according to the recommended age of usage. Frankly dun buy too much teat... 1 for each bottle u buy shd be good enough. Else later your baby dun like the nuk teat... u will waste money liao

for a start, u can buy 2 small 4-oz bottle and 1 bigger 8-oz bottle.... though for my boy... for the first 6 mths of his life, he only used the 4-oz bottle only... cos he drink at most 4-oz of milk mah
Get one S teat for milk feed, and one S teat for thinner feeds like water. You wont need those for thick feed cos not feeding cereal yet.

When my boy was a newborn, i always use 2 small 4-oz bottle only.. and whenever i go, i just carry these 2. One bottle is for containing normal temperature water (put on the thinner feed S teat so that in case bb needs water, can also drink direct from this bottle) and the other bottle is the actual milk bottle.... and i bring a small hot flask with me... when i dun breastfeed, but am feeding formula, i just pour 1/3 hot water, mixed with 2/3 normal temperature water, put in the FM and mixed for my baby to drink.

hope this helps... just dun buy too much at first unless u r sure your bb likes the particular teat...

Hi Mummies:
Sorry wont be joining u all. Bringing my dog for vaccination in e morning. afternoon then gg w my hubby.

Tinklebell:
In that case, how abt Avent pump? heard not bad as well? Since Ameda not easy get, then might as well buy something more convenient to get from e store like avent?

Joy:
u bought this model? How much u paid? Aprisin selling at S$399.
http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&amp;cPath=2_9&amp;products_id=412&amp;zenid=3380d49107a6c0c101cbed34ca3040ab

Celesteblur,
My antenatal class also start on 18 mar but think ours different timing. mine 7 to 9pm

Yaloh even my dad also very nice. He said during confinement he wil help me mop e flr and etc while my mum helps me look after my bb n cook for me. So touched.....
How many wks are u now? me coming now 22, next wk 23wks

Okasan:
Which brand og breast pump and steriliser u bot? My boss already arrange n plan for my colleague to replace me liao. But as for leave, hvnt discuss yet.

allo poohy

wahhh.. thks for the abv info
so far i only bought 1 4oz small bottle. Luckily i didnt stock up yet cos juz found my corlic had new Nuk bottles and he is passin all to me cos his wife prefer Avent. So a few more teaks will do.

Anyway, when i see the 3 sizes, i dun find any difference lei..haha.

hi name list for meet up @ taka Crystal Jade B1 for bb shopping! can i change meeting time to 11.30am?
1) Josephine
2) K_ong
3) Tinklebell + boy boy
4) Okipoki + friend
5) Lyn + hubby
8 pax altogether!! Sms me 96840543 if more mummies can make it see ya !!

Hi Kite - yes that's the one i have. But i got it second hand although looks very new @ $180. I've checked around and I think Robinsons had the best deal during their recent baby sale. Do you drive ? Must warn you that it looks big when folded up but has an easy one-hand open and close mechanism.

Hi Kite,

My MIL will be taking care of the bb after 3 mths. Will be at her place because she dun wanna stay at our place leh heeeee... she prefer her own "dog house". We will bring the bb back every nite and have dinner there as well before we go home. That's why we bought a car recently lor, else all these trips can really kill.

Oh, my mum told me to give ang pow of around $800 to my mil. She say give too little not nice lor. For ur case, its ur own mum, so easily settled

Joy:
yes i drive if hubby not using the car

the one u bought is very worth it. Where u got the 2nd lobang from?

kk:
where is ur MIL's hse, near or far from ur hse?
Ya easily settled. even bbsitting $, my mum said she dun want accept $ from me but of coz wil give some as a token of appreciation. Even my dad also willing to help out during my confinement like help me do hsework.

i received this email from my fren regarding maid. not sure how true it is. anyway just read n be careful.

Hello All,

I am writing this to warn everyone of you who want to hire a maid. My sister hire an Indonesian maid to help out at the house.

Seeing this is the third maid she is hiring (she had hired 2 before and after 2 years she get a new maid, she treat her like the other two. To her
surprise she found this maid is really really stupid.

My sister had told her what need to be done and how to do it. But eventually what the stupid maid did is totally different from what my sister told
her to !

Fine, that's not a very big problem (besides getting heart attack and heart burn looking at the end result). My sister can still handle this, she had given the maid a list of what to do and how to it (even drawing pictures) from Monday to Friday. But after 3 months the stupid maid still get the routine job wrong ! Everytime, if you ask
her why she is doing a job in a total different way from instruction given, she has 2 actions, either cry and cry or she will give some stupid
excuse like "I forget" or "I thought this is the way", ... This stupid maid is very good (damn good) in telling lies. Fine, my sister can still deal with this.

But the worst thing is when my sister open the letter that she sent home (luckily she did !) She is surprised to find this stupid maid attached her and her husband photo plus her youngest son photo. She is so furious to find that this stupid maid actually asking her mom to bring their photo to the "bomoh" and "kerja" them (my sister's family) so they will love her more and follow what ever she said ! And ask the stupid mom
to do "it" (whatever bad stuff) remotely so my sister won't know about it !

Luckily my sister "stop" this mail from mailing out else can't imagine what can happen. My sister had sent her back to the agent and hopefully this stupid maid can be sent back to Indonesia and no one will employ her.

This is serving as a warning to all who want to hire maid. If you are so "unfortunate" and get her, you should know what to do or she will "kerja" you remotely !

kite,
my class is at 2-4.30pm
. Me now 24wks+ liowz....next tues will be 25wks

Aiyo...the message u post on maid really scary...but i guess if we have no choice we still have to make do with a maid

Kite I got it from my friend's friend. Actually had my heart set on a Maclaren but since it was so cheap thought I'd just use it for the baby first and see how. I also read that the infant carrier car seat is better support for new born rather than the convertible car seat which is too big for nb. Btw Aprisin has reps at the Taka baby fair so dont need to go all the way down to their showroom. The discount at the fair should be better than the website price. This was the case for the Aprica stroller where they lowered the price from the website by about $70.

kite,
I bought Pigeon steriliser and Avent manual pump...

the maid thingy that u posted...I heard before too....my relative's ex-maid also send their family photo back home but as my relative always inspect her envelope, so the photo din manage to go back to indonesia....that's why it's good not to let them have any photos that have any family memebers...develop only those photos of her ownself to give to her....

mum2b,
regarding the question on using baby powder, I found this on the net, not sure if useful or not

<font color="0000ff">Question: Is baby powder really unsafe for my baby?</font>

Answer: Baby powder may smell good, but it can get into your baby's lungs, swelling and irritating them, and lead to breathing problems. It can also cause an inflammatory reaction in some children when exposed to the broken skin of a diaper rash. A better choice all around for reducing rubbing and preventing diaper rash is cornstarch, which is coarser and safer than talcum powder.

Whichever you decide to use, dump a small amount into your hand and then apply it to the diaper area. Never shake the powder directly on or near your baby. Also be careful to wash away any powder that may have accumulated in her skin folds. If it cakes there, it can create a breeding ground for bacteria that can lead to infections.

okipoki,
i've got gift cert so can try for free
but normal price is $120 (100 mins), quite ex.. except if u sign up package then it will be ard $55/session they said. but i didn't take up the package.

okasan,
thanks for the info. since i'm probably going to use cream for diaper rash prevention, then bb powder is not necessary i reckon. glad i didn't buy it yesterday