(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

re: sarong sling
I'm also thinking of using sling if going out alone...coz carry stroller very troublesome....but carry sling can be tiring if going out for a whole day, esp shopping...

board-post.cgi

tinklebell,
Carriers are gd also...cos i see a lot of moms/dads they let the bb sit inside and face the front...then bb will look here and there very fun....if using sling then bb is like "hidden" within the sling cant see much stuffs....haha...but like u mentioned...carriers can only use after bb's neck stabilizes, which is arnd 4 mths?

okasan,
me might end up BF for only 3 mths...cos when going back to work so far i heard most ppl dont continue BF cos due to work blah blah some ppl might find that lesser milk and troublesome etc....*sigh*

medusa,
wah....between pantyliner and sanitary pad...meaning pigeon one very thick? But if Tollyjoy one very thin meaning have to change a few times a day?

celeste,
ya, I'm more worried abt after going back to work...quite difficult to bf...esp none my colleagues tried that in office....

Okasan:
so the taka bb fair confirm starting from this fri or sat?
377789.gif

Celesteblur:
like tat i dun buy any milk bottles first. Hmm i m thinking what shld i grab from the taka bb fair leh? oni thinking of steriliser, car seat. playpen, pram might be using company pts exchange. u? wat u intending to get?
Me too, thot of bf for 3mths, cos after going bk to work, abit difficult leh. unless i pump at company but no facility for me to pump. toilet dun think suitable place hor.

k_ong:
oh really? graco brand sturdy. The playpen wont be unstable rite?

377790.gif

okasan,
yuppies...once back to work not easy to BF...depends on bosses also...some bosses might not like it if u mia to pump out milk etc...some bosses are fine with it..and also we have to bring the pump to and fro work everyday..a lot of things to consider....

kite,
me planning to get the manual pump from the taka bb fair...cos i have $130 vouchers to use...haha...as for car seat i saw on the 8Days magazine saying the Mother and Bb Care Expo thingy got up to $99 discount off car seats...so i will wait till that expo and see how

I know got moms pump in toilet also...but depending on ur Co's toilet also...if its clean and well-ventilated its quite okies...but if its like cleanliness not so gd then have to consider
....wat bout meeting rooms? Got any small meeting rooms can use?

peng, jo, i got my PP stroller from BB Hypermart. they are the main distributors for PP strollers. I paid $455 (stroller) $239 (carseat) and $95 (diaper bag) in total (after 20%). Check out the thread in marketplace, i think the mummies are trying to organise a bulk purchase for the diaper bag.

Breast pads: maybe i will get a pigeon and tollyjoy to try first, as i prefer to use panty liners, thinner and more comfy, dun mind changing often.

Cloth nappies: how many do you think we need to stock up if we intend to use nappies for day use only? 30 pcs?

377820.gif
Carebear,

hello, me also due on 10 Jun, boy boy also, & TMC too! But our gynae diff, mine is WK Tan. So qiao our due date the same...haha

377821.png

amy,

re: cloth nappies
i will be using cloth nappies for my bb oso...cos my mum who will be looking after my bb after my confinement, prefer to use that too! she used that for my 3 nieces/nephew. I just bought a pack yest, inside got ard 10 pcs. Then today my colleague pass me some also. How many u need depends on how freq bb do 'biz'... i will put nappy liner on top of the cloth nappy, easier to clean too. Buy more lor just in case cannot dry in time....

i panda, ya... i have already stocked up 6 boxes of nappy liners and 30 pcs of nappies. I think should be enough hor? My CL will use nappies, and will be using nappies during my ML, as I will have a maid to help with washing and drying till then.
Also, i have got some nappy rash cream. I heard Desitin Creamy is good. There is a bulk purchase going on now. Check it out if you are interested.

amy & i_panda,
u all also thinking of using cloth nappies...cool! I'm thinking of using cloth nappies too until recently when I get to know of bumwear...so now considering if I should use bumwear instead....

for cloth nappies, depend on how freq the washing is...if everyday, think no need so much, abt 30-40 nappies should be more than enough....beside, our due date in june, so hot weather, not so worry abt wet weather days

hi any1 noe how much is the inital fee for employing a maid? Heard that the initial cost is S$8K+, is it true? S$8K+ include $5k deposit bond, agency fees of $1K+, another $1k for maid's airtix and miscellaneous items..

u gals so good.. can meet up on this sat.. i can't join cos got lessons.. xian ah..

any1 tried to book the sia promo? juz checked.. still got seats.. so tempting.. but too bad i have already booked my HK trip.. wasted..ouch

celeste,
ya loh...the thought of carrying lotsa things to and fro office....also, imagine when it's time to pump, u need to bring lotsa barang, and everyone in office will know what u going to do...so paisay...hehe....

re: nappy cloth
i stocked up 20 pcs of nappy cloth. I find them quite useful even if u dont use them as diapers. eg can use it to fold into small pillow for bb, use as blanket, use to wrap bb up... i do recommend mummies to get some.

peng, no need so much to hire a maid lah. $5k is a security bond. I dont recall there is any physical cash movement unless u fail to repatriate the maid. Normally what most pp do is to purchase an insurance policy so that u dont have to physically give the $5k. Insurance cost will be included in the employer's agency fees.
As for employer's agency fees, ard $88-$388 depending on package.
For employee's agency fees, ard $1500 - $2200, depending on nationality of maid and agency. U have to prepay this one first. Then, subsequently deduct from the maid's salary.
Other costs:
* medical check ups (half yearly if i am not wrong)
* air ticket home : after maid finishes the contract or if u wish to repatriate maid

blur, okasan,
it's personal preference, I suggest don't stock so many of each- when time comes, just try and see which suits u better. Some people leak ALOT, some don't, too.

okasan,
unless like ur Co. there happens to have another mommy then can have kaki go and pump milk...*rofl*...and not so paiseh...haha

Re : Nappy Cloth
Was told by my fren if u planning to use cloth diapers at nite also...then shld buy 3 dozens (36 pcs)....cos she having 2 dozens now but not enuff to use if nitetime....

Celeste, same here, no kaki to pump milk here... somemore most of the rooms have windows... but i think i'll still try lor. my hubby just told me infant formula Enfalac and Similac selling at NTUC for $30 plus per can... price has certainly increased over the years... used to retail at $28 and we thought was quite ex already. can u imagine...1 can finishes in ard 10 days!

tinklebell,
formula now so exp? and one can lasts for 10 days only...*faint*
actually how much do we roughly have to set aside for bb's mthly expenses? Like consists of formula milk, pampers, food, blah blah?

Celeste, the infant care rates are quite ex. that's why i decided to go with maid. reputable ones like Babies Inc with Montersori, Kinder Musik and Gymboree classes cost $1500, after subsidy, $1100, no sat classes.

Celeste,
For us, these were the costs we incurred:
1) Diapers - $50
One day, bb can use 7 pcs. Each pc is ard $0.24. Roughly $50 per mth... will reduce as kid gets older
2) Milk Power - $120 (assuming not bf'g)
3) Maid - $700 (salary, FWL + living expenses)
4) Increase in mother's allowance - $200 (no choice, more pp eating so have to give mother more)
5) Misc - $50 :Wet wipes, breast pads

celeste,
ya, if got kakis, not so bad....but dun have loh...beside, my company so many males....so paisay also...each time pump also take quite a lot of time, what if that day busy schedule, so cannot pump....

Medusa,
ya, u r right...maybe just get some breast pads to standby and see how..who knows, maybe dun even have milk...hahaha....

re: cloth nappies
I dun think I'll want to use cloth nappies at night...use disposable diapers better coz baby can sleep longer at night loh....will just use cloth nappies during daytime....many mummies I talk to laugh and say most likely I'll drop the usage of cloth nappies after trying 1-2 days....haha....

josephine,
how much is the fare to bali? me so tempted...walk past SA roadshow at suntec during weekend, so tempted to book a tour....

Amy,
ya lor...i saw the PAts School House even more scary...$1785/mth hor! *faint*
But if i were to get a maid have to take the risk cos i can't leave maids with parents or ILs, maid will be alone with bb most of the time....i hope i can find a gd nanny instead

tinklebell,
hmmzz...so estimated is like set aside $300 for bb per mth as expenses (For Pt 1, 2 and 5) shld be enuff?

okasan,
I also dont have kakis to pump...haha

Celeste, i see, no help from parents or ILs, better get a good nanny. My fren paid abt $600 for a nanny in her area. So far so good. Maybe you can start advertising on notice boards in your vicinity?

celesteblur:
the manual pump u referring to Avent brand?
Hmm dun think will feel comfortable pumping outside, somemore need some time to pump. if manual one, stil okie not noisy, if electri one, ppl wil hear. me thinking of getting the Avent manual pump but not now. maybe later.

Okasan:
My fren who has a bb recently advised me to use diapers instead of nappies cos she gave up, too troublesome liao. just buy those good diapers will do initially. My co. here mostly all guys too, somemore lunch also together w them but most of them are married but stil paiseh if they get to know. so i was thinking b4 work pump once n after work, pump again? but scare if never pump between 8 to 5pm, the breast wil be painful?

talking abt travel.... so frus trying to find an agent that has confirmed tour to korea
most want 6 days but i prefer 5 days .... looks like if i want to go to korea, have to join the 6 day tour

diapers-
I suggest disposable at night. Cloth diapers have "wet" feeling, will affect bb's sleep unless u meticulously change in middle of night, hehe. I'm guessing with recovery, bfg... whatever sleep u can get at night, take it!
When half-drowsy at night also more troublesome to use cloth diapers compared to disposable ;) .

Please let me do some venting here...

As some of you know, I'm those kiasu type, so back in Dec, already make booking for the confinement lady. Told her my EDD, and she said she will be free for the whole of June for me. So I thought, well, one thing settled.

And when I called her last mth, she still confirmed with me that she will be free in June for me. Saying things that I have booked her so early, she will not pick up another job one. Also saying that people must keep to their promise, blah blah blah.

Guess what, she got the cheek to call me up yesterday saying that she has a job that will clash with my EDD. I mean WTH? I booked her so early, and she kept confirming with me that she will not picked up another job that's near my EDD. And now this? Then she told me she will intro me another confinement lady, which I said no to. I mean, I have no idea who the other person is, why should I trust her? Not to mention she herself is someone that can't be trusted.

Oh well, guess I will do without a confinement lady then. If my mom can, then she will help me with my confinement. And also, even if that confinement lady called me back to tell me that she's free to do for me, I'm not taking her back. Pfft.
kao_angry.gif

hidora, so sorry to hear that. your CL very naughty ah... my CL, also booked her way in advance, once i found out i was preggy.

booked her for 6 wks, two wks ago, she asked if ok if she work for 4 wks, so that she can take on another job after me, else i can consider taking her for 8 wks. i will be crazy if i take her for 8 wks.

anyway... now she has cut down her time with me to 4 wks rather than 6 wks. hope she will not try something funny nearer my EDD.

Hi Tinklebell,

Thanks for sharing the info on formula milk! I guess i will spend a lot on formula milk then because for me, thinking of feeding BM in the day but FM in the nite. Slowly slowly, switch to FM totally when i am totally 'dry' or when i get back to work after three months.

u are lucky! Can go to somewhere far during pregnancy. My mum objected to me travelling like ur mum did. So in the end i can only go on a short cruise dec last year. My mum think i will be safer on the ship heeee...

Sianzzz.. after the cruise, dunno when me and hubby can travel far again. We are still thinking of going aussie again, and also NZ, korea and Hokkaido

Hi Kite,

My colleagues who have kids told me they gave up on cloth nappies too, because too troublesome liao. I have nappies for hands-me-down, for my mil use. I see whether she can tahan or not hahaha... for me and hubby, think we are lazy pple :p might end up using diapers whole day long.

Hmmm, for me, definitely sure not going to feed BM after going back to work. Highly inconvenient for me. My ex colleague's wife went 'dry' after 2 mths and my colleague went 'dry' after a month. So i guess i will not be so "powerful" to be able to produce BM by the time i need to go back to work heeee...

Hi Kite, my hubby & I find her pretty to look at ;P ... she got this baby face, can't tell how old she is ... Anyway, my galfr who gave birth in Dec 05 with Dr Chan has good comments. She was in labor w epi for 7hrs, but Dr Chan con't to encourage her 2 try natural & not e-csectn.

My appt is 7th Mar (Tues). Is this your 1st too? U gog natural w or w/out epi or csectn? I was told she wld soon be askg us to decide.

Hi i_panda77, REALLY, so we MAY be huffing & puffing away a few rooms away if our boyboys pop at d same time!!! Cool! Let's exchange mobile nos. as the days draw nearer, I'll sms u when I pop, we can visit each other. I noticed MTBs of other threads notify the rest via smses...

Celeste/Tinklebell, a few of my friends told me their FM (Formula Milk) only last for 7 days as the consumptn of bb grows ...

Amy, told u ytdy will ask my SIL for u, she said her Thai fr says u can try "The Emporium" at Sukhumvit Soi 24, or there're several baby shops opp this mall.

Hidora, maybe u can vent by posting her name on a new thread, this'll avoid other future MTBs falling prey to an irresponsible CL too. When's ur EDD, needs recommendatn?

It's really not easy to be a working mum ... when I 1st got preggy, I was so enthus abt expressg BM after returng to wk, but now that faith's diminishg...

Was advised to express as much as we can during our confinement period, as we can keep a 3mths supply. After tat, if we start working, at least our BBs have drank ample BM to sustain their immunities ...

Hi Amy,

Ya, hopefully your CL will not do anything funny. It gets harder to find one near our EDD.

Hi Carebear,

I wanted to post her name initially, but she's also recommanded by a forumer in here. According to her, that confinement lady is really good, which is why I contacted her in the first place. So dun want to create any conflicts.

Do you have any recomendation for confinement lady? Care to share?

Thanks a lot.

OIC ... can understd your dilemma. When is your EDD, early or end Jun?

Anyway, a lot depends on the bb popping time too, if a MTB popped too early (touchwood), the CL may have difficulties as well since she maybe halfway thru @ another mum's place. Esp if the CL packs her assignments B2B.

So, no matter what, all of us here engaging CLs, must have contingency plans. I read other threads of Dec-Feb, some popped as early as 1mth.

tks tinkerbell for the info on maid.. great.. dun need to spend so much..

Josephine, yeah i saw it but cos so hard to mgr to convince hb to go to HK.. so dun think can go for another trip so fast... Bali is a nice pl.. look out for the beaded bags n shoes there.. very nice n cheap.. where r u going to stay? HRC is quite nice though abit old..

Tks Amy for the info on the PP stroller.. will go n chk it out..

Hidora, sorry to hear abt ur news on CL... some pple r juz not professional.. sigh.. nvm.. at least u noe it quite in advance.. still got a few more mths for u to have backup plan.

Hi Carebear,

My edd is 24 June. Do let me know if you have any confinement ladies for recommandation. TIA.

Hi Peng,

Ya, luckily she didnt tell me in June..

Good Morning!!!!

hidora, u can try agencies. Last time my agency charged me $1800 including FWL. I thought it was quite worth it cos they guarantee u that if confinement nanny is not able to come, they will automatically replace cos they have a pool of confinement nannies to choose from. This time round, i got mine thru SIL recommendation so not using agent but still paying same price.

Carebear, you are right. If bb is ard 4 mth plus, a 900g can can only last 7 days!!! We usually buy in bulk cos hubby knows the supplier. slightly cheaper only but still cheaper than retail price. Even now, my son drinks 1 900g can of Gain IQ per week!!!! PP keep telling me to switch to cheaper formula but we stick on to that cos we find that it contains good ingredients. I was just telling him last nite that i hope we can BF my girl girl for at least 6 mths.

kk, my mother was initially apprehensive but since she heard my PILs are also going, she is ok with it. My PILs are very easy going people so they also have no objections. In fact, my mother had always encouraged me to travel as much as I want before i had no2. i havent booked for my tour cos hubby still cant confirm his leave... worse thing is that he has reservist in Apr so no choice have to travel latest by end March. Star cruise is also nice but they have very strict travel restriction on pregnancy travel.

Amy/ Peng, remember to buy your liquor/ DOM for confinement when u go to BKK/ HK. My SIL just reminded me last night on this. Duty free.

Amy, u got ur Rainbow already?

Josephine, Bali is a nice place to relax ... but my parents bar me from Indonesia altogether ... they make noise even when my bro told them he would be going to Bali next mth. BTW, how much is the airport tax?

kite,
if u only pump once in the day and once at home after work, u don't have to worry abt being painful, coz most likely your worry will be that u will soon go "dry"....engorgement only happen for the initial stage after delivery, it don't happen throughout the bf period....

morning ladies

Amy,
yeah..and asking my mom to help me ask around now...*sigh*...hopefully can get a gd nanny

medusa,
me also planning to use disposable at nite...but my mom objected...haha..she said disposable very hot for the bb and uncomfy...some babies tend to get rashes at the butts? Not sure also..but she say she will "volunteer" to help me change bb's nappies...so if she dont mind then i will keep to cloth nappies throughout...hehe

hidora,
I think maybe the other person that tried to book her after u is someone she know's very well? But its still quite wrong of her to do that....try looking arnd for another CL bah....think of it this way...if she can be so irresponsible now...maybe she wont take gd care of u and ur bb during confinement also? So try to think of it as something "good" that happened...*hugz*

kk,
wow...at least ur mom allowed u to go on cruise...my parents objected to me leaving SG totally!
They said tummy so big liowz still want to travel....*sigh*

Carebear,
Agree with u....at first i was still quite "enthusiastic" bout tinking of feeing bb with BM or EBM....but now hor...i tink if i can tahanz for the 3 mths gd enuff liowz...dont tink i will be able to make it after i return to work...haha

hi tinklebell
can i have the contact for the agency you recommend, and any CL in particular to choose/avoid? my friend's agency can choose by photo, but we prefer to talk to her on the phone or meet her before engagin her.

Hidora: it is very frustrating and disruptive that your CL play you out. Don worry can still find nice ones now.

Peng: i book SQ $98 per pax ticket, with taxes and all come up to $185 per pax. Staying at Nusa Dua Nikko Bali, Jap owned hotel, look quite nice!
http://www.nikkobali.com/index.html

yesterday i went taka and saw them doing up the square for the bb fair! it's confirm from 2 mar till 19 Mar!

i am organising a meet up for June MTB on this Sat 4 Mar 10am at Crystal Jade Cafe. Interest MTB please add on to the headcount, and see you!! My handphone # is 96840543
1) Josephine

celeste,
if your mum volunteer to change the nappies even at night, then let her be loh...can save money, better mah...haha....

I don't think will engage CL, but if MIL cannot come over to help me, then I'll drop the idea of cloth nappies totally and go disposable instead....less work to do, else so dead tired....

Josephine,
thanks for organising a meetup session this Sat....but I won't be going....cos I booked my Co's corporate pass to Sentosa...hehe...prob going there for picnic

I might be going to the Taka fair either on Thur/Fri nite instead

okasan,
han-nor....but i dont think she can tahanz also...cos she's also working...guess will be tired at nite too....i see if i can tahanz myself...if cannot then use disposable diapers liowz....haha

tinklebell,
speaking bout DOM...I've already stocked up 4 bottles at home when we went on trips last yr...kiasu hor...hehe :p

celeste,
u mean your mum is still going to work when she helps u during confinement? then sure tired one if need to wake up at night...

I also have lots of DOM from my previous overseas trips....dun think will even finish one bottle for my case...hehe....

so fast, today march liao...soon will be apr, then may, then june....looking forward to maternity leave...hehe...
378216.gif

btw, are you all taking 3 mth maternity leave or 2 mth maternity leave with 1 mth flexible leave?

okasan,
yuppies...my mom doing her own biz so its like she cannot leave her work juz like that...but her hrs are flexible and her working place is nearby...so she can like come back n cook meals for me etc and pop by to visit me

I also wonder if i will finish my DOM...haha...:p

Re : Maternity Leave
I shld be taking 12 weeks at one go